View allAll Photos Tagged in_future
PizzaBuzz is, in a city so full of new restaurant openings, a very good idea indeed. The concept can be summed up (crudely) as âDIY Pizzaâ or "we have the toppings, you do the rest!" or "Subway, but with pizzas!". This doesnât really do it justice however and there is, obviously, much more to it than that - which Iâll now try to elaborate upon:
Essentially the idea is semi-self service pizza/food assembly. You take your place at the start of their "DIY pizza assembly lineâ and prepare yourself a pizza entirely of your own devising (though you donât have to do anything really asides from tell them what you want your pizza to be made of - it arrives pre sliced too, woo!).
You choose from 5 types of bases (gluten free options are available). These range from a âregularâ Margherita (cheese, tomato etc) to the Bianca (white sauce, mozzarella, parmesan) - plus a pretty fkn extensive range of toppings, divided into vegetables, proteins (i.e meats, fish) and cheese. Said toppings include such gastronomic curiosities such as bacon jam and wild rock shrimp. The recommended number of toppings for a pizza is about 4-5, though apparently one guy came in (drunk) on a Friday night once and ordered a £20+ pizza that contained EVERY SINGLE topping they offered. It ended up looking like a pyramid (hahahahaha!)
And, if you donât fancy coming up with your own pizza, their âsignature collectionâ of pre-designed pizzas come in around £10, and have names like Middle Earth and Etna. Once youâve picked your combo of ingredients, it takes them about 1-3 minutes to cook the whole thing in their wood fired ovens - so you might even be able to describe it as fast food. Takeaway is also an option. In the Southern Italian style, you can also get a burrata (and choose what ingredients to have it with, which is the recurring theme...)
As for the ambiance - PizzaBuzz lives inside the brand spanking new Alphabeta development on Worship street. On the inside it has a minimal vibe - almost the feel of an industrial space about it. Except theyâve made it more friendly with offcentre animal illustrations drawn onto the walls (pictured) plus their colourful logo and a recurring love of hexagonal things. Plus staff singing along to the music (not sure if this is an actual feature or if I just came in at the right time ^_^)
I must also tell you about the dough - which took a yearâs development and is quite something (theyâve got a video called âJane Doughâ in which the dough explains this all to you in a Yorkshire accent, lol). Anyway, it comes from a small mill in Oxfordshire and is, unusually, 50% spelt. I am told that this results in better texture, digestibility and mouthfeel than regular pizza. This is a big claim to make, and Iâm not sure I agree - the pizza I had, however, WAS very good and thatâs all I can say about that.
All in all, Pizzabuzz is taking a very good idea from another restaurant (*ahem*) and applying it to pizza very, very well. I wasnât surprised to hear that they have another site opening soon and can see them doing pretty well in future. Inherently, itâs fun, a bit silly, and provides you with a lot more choice than most of the (pizza based) competition. Definitely a place Iâd recommend to everybody (because who the hell doesnât like pizza, really?!)
Rudolf von Alt (Wien 1812 - 1905 Wien)
Interior of the Prince of Liechtenstein's Residence on Jägerzeile, Vienna
Interieur im Wohnhaus des Fürsten Liechtenstein in der Jägerzeile in Wien, 1841
Aquarell/Watercolour
Liechtenstein. The Princely Collections, Vaduz-Vienna
The Art of the Viennese Watercolor
Till 13. May 2018
Transparent lightness, brilliant colours, and a generally atmospheric impression are the special qualities of 19th-century Viennese watercolor painting. Virtuosic city views and landscapes, detail-rich portraits, genre paintings, and floral works comprise the rich motivic repertoire featured in this glorious blossoming of Austrian art.
The Viennese watercolor’s heyday was the Biedermeier era: Jakob Alt, Matthäus Loder, Thomas Ender, and Peter Fendi number among its most important artistic figures.
Likewise outstanding are the exquisite works by Rudolf von Alt from his over 70-year career. His masterful watercolours run from the Biedermeier era all the way to the rise of the Secession movement around 1900.
This exhibition presents a veritable parade of exceptionally beautiful pictures, including the ALBERTINA’s own treasures as well as important loan works, all of which pay impressive tribute to the high standing of the Viennese watercolor in the context of 19th century art.
www.albertina.at/en/exhibitions/viennese_watercolour/
On view from 16 February until 13 May 2018.
The Albertina
The architectural history of the Palais
"It is my will that the expansion of the inner city of Vienna with regard to a suitable connection of the same with the suburbs as soon as possible is tackled and at this on Regulirung (regulation) and beautifying of my Residence and Imperial Capital is taken into account. To this end I grant the withdrawal of the ramparts and fortifications of the inner city and the trenches around the same".
This decree of Emperor Franz Joseph I, published on 25 December 1857 in the Wiener Zeitung, formed the basis for the largest the surface concerning and architecturally most significant transformation of the Viennese cityscape. Involving several renowned domestic and foreign architects a "master plan" took form, which included the construction of a boulevard instead of the ramparts between the inner city and its radially upstream suburbs. In the 50-years during implementation phase, an impressive architectural ensemble developed, consisting of imperial and private representational buildings, public administration and cultural buildings, churches and barracks, marking the era under the term "ring-street style". Already in the first year tithe decided a senior member of the Austrian imperial family to decorate the facades of his palace according to the new design principles, and thus certified the aristocratic claim that this also "historicism" said style on the part of the imperial house was attributed.
It was the palace of Archduke Albrecht (1817-1895), the Senior of the Habsburg Family Council, who as Field Marshal held the overall command over the Austro-Hungarian army. The building was incorporated into the imperial residence of the Hofburg complex, forming the south-west corner and extending eleven meters above street level on the so-called Augustinerbastei.
The close proximity of the palace to the imperial residence corresponded not only with Emperor Franz Joseph I and Archduke Albert with a close familial relationship between the owner of the palace and the monarch. Even the former inhabitants were always in close relationship to the imperial family, whether by birth or marriage. An exception here again proves the rule: Don Emanuel Teles da Silva Conde Tarouca (1696-1771), for which Maria Theresa in 1744 the palace had built, was just a close friend and advisor of the monarch. Silva Tarouca underpins the rule with a second exception, because he belonged to the administrative services as Generalhofbaudirektor (general court architect) and President of the Austrian-Dutch administration, while all other him subsequent owners were highest ranking military.
In the annals of Austrian history, especially those of military history, they either went into as commander of the Imperial Army, or the Austrian, later kk Army. In chronological order, this applies to Duke Carl Alexander of Lorraine, the brother-of-law of Maria Theresa, as Imperial Marshal, her son-in-law Duke Albert of Saxe-Teschen, also field marshal, whos adopted son, Archduke Charles of Austria, the last imperial field marshal and only Generalissimo of Austria, his son Archduke Albrecht of Austria as Feldmarschalil and army Supreme commander, and most recently his nephew Archduke Friedrich of Austria, who held as field marshal from 1914 to 1916 the command of the Austro-Hungarian troops. Despite their military profession, all five generals conceived themselves as patrons of the arts and promoted large sums of money to build large collections, the construction of magnificent buildings and cultural life. Charles Alexander of Lorraine promoted as governor of the Austrian Netherlands from 1741 to 1780 the Academy of Fine Arts, the Théâtre de Ja Monnaie and the companies Bourgeois Concert and Concert Noble, he founded the Academie royale et imperial des Sciences et des Lettres, opened the Bibliotheque Royal for the population and supported artistic talents with high scholarships. World fame got his porcelain collection, which however had to be sold by Emperor Joseph II to pay off his debts. Duke Albert began in 1776 according to the concept of conte Durazzo to set up an encyclopedic collection of prints, which forms the core of the world-famous "Albertina" today.
1816 declared to Fideikommiss and thus in future indivisible, inalienable and inseparable, the collection 1822 passed into the possession of Archduke Carl, who, like his descendants, it broadened. Under him, the collection was introduced together with the sumptuously equipped palace on the Augustinerbastei in the so-called "Carl Ludwig'schen fideicommissum in 1826, by which the building and the in it kept collection fused into an indissoluble unity. At this time had from the Palais Tarouca by structural expansion or acquisition a veritable Residenz palace evolved. Duke Albert of Saxe-Teschen was first in 1800 the third floor of the adjacent Augustinian convent wing adapted to house his collection and he had after 1802 by his Belgian architect Louis de Montoyer at the suburban side built a magnificent extension, called the wing of staterooms, it was equipped in the style of Louis XVI. Only two decades later, Archduke Carl the entire palace newly set up. According to scetches of the architect Joseph Kornhäusel the 1822-1825 retreaded premises presented themselves in the Empire style. The interior of the palace testified from now in an impressive way the high rank and the prominent position of its owner. Under Archduke Albrecht the outer appearance also should meet the requirements. He had the facade of the palace in the style of historicism orchestrated and added to the Palais front against the suburbs an offshore covered access. Inside, he limited himself, apart from the redesign of the Rococo room in the manner of the second Blondel style, to the retention of the paternal stock. Archduke Friedrich's plans for an expansion of the palace were omitted, however, because of the outbreak of the First World War so that his contribution to the state rooms, especially, consists in the layout of the Spanish apartment, which he in 1895 for his sister, the Queen of Spain Maria Christina, had set up as a permanent residence.
The era of stately representation with handing down their cultural values found its most obvious visualization inside the palace through the design and features of the staterooms. On one hand, by the use of the finest materials and the purchase of masterfully manufactured pieces of equipment, such as on the other hand by the permanent reuse of older equipment parts. This period lasted until 1919, when Archduke Friedrich was expropriated by the newly founded Republic of Austria. With the republicanization of the collection and the building first of all finished the tradition that the owner's name was synonymous with the building name:
After Palais Tarouca or tarokkisches house it was called Lorraine House, afterwards Duke Albert Palais and Palais Archduke Carl. Due to the new construction of an adjacently located administration building it received in 1865 the prefix "Upper" and was referred to as Upper Palais Archduke Albrecht and Upper Palais Archduke Frederick. For the state a special reference to the Habsburg past was certainly politically no longer opportune, which is why was decided to name the building according to the in it kept collection "Albertina".
This name derives from the term "La Collection Albertina" which had been used by the gallery Inspector Maurice von Thausing in 1870 in the Gazette des Beaux-Arts for the former graphics collection of Duke Albert. For this reason, it was the first time since the foundation of the palace that the name of the collection had become synonymous with the room shell. Room shell, hence, because the Republic of Austria Archduke Friedrich had allowed to take along all the movable goods from the palace in his Hungarian exile: crystal chandeliers, curtains and carpets as well as sculptures, vases and clocks. Particularly stressed should be the exquisite furniture, which stems of three facilities phases: the Louis XVI furnitures of Duke Albert, which had been manufactured on the basis of fraternal relations between his wife Archduchess Marie Christine and the French Queen Marie Antoinette after 1780 in the French Hofmanufakturen, also the on behalf of Archduke Charles 1822-1825 in the Vienna Porcelain Manufactory by Joseph Danhauser produced Empire furnitures and thirdly additions of the same style of Archduke Friedrich, which this about 1900 at Portois & Ffix as well as at Friedrich Otto Schmidt had commissioned.
The "swept clean" building got due to the strained financial situation after the First World War initially only a makeshift facility. However, since until 1999 no revision of the emergency equipment took place, but differently designed, primarily the utilitarianism committed office furnitures complementarily had been added, the equipment of the former state rooms presented itself at the end of the 20th century as an inhomogeneous administrative mingle-mangle of insignificant parts, where, however, dwelt a certain quaint charm. From the magnificent state rooms had evolved depots, storage rooms, a library, a study hall and several officed.
Worse it hit the outer appearance of the palace, because in times of continued anti-Habsburg sentiment after the Second World War and inspired by an intolerant destruction will, it came by pickaxe to a ministerial erasure of history. In contrast to the graphic collection possessed the richly decorated facades with the conspicuous insignia of the former owner an object-immanent reference to the Habsburg past and thus exhibited the monarchial traditions and values of the era of Francis Joseph significantly. As part of the remedial measures after a bomb damage, in 1948 the aristocratic, by Archduke Albert initiated, historicist facade structuring along with all decorations was cut off, many facade figures demolished and the Hapsburg crest emblems plunged to the ground. Since in addition the old ramp also had been cancelled and the main entrance of the bastion level had been moved down to the second basement storey at street level, ended the presence of the old Archduke's palace after more than 200 years. At the reopening of the "Albertina Graphic Collection" in 1952, the former Hapsburg Palais of splendour presented itself as one of his identity robbed, formally trivial, soulless room shell, whose successful republicanization an oversized and also unproportional eagle above the new main entrance to the Augustinian road symbolized. The emocratic throw of monuments had wiped out the Hapsburg palace from the urban appeareance, whereby in the perception only existed a nondescript, nameless and ahistorical building that henceforth served the lodging and presentation of world-famous graphic collection of the Albertina. The condition was not changed by the decision to the refurbishment because there were only planned collection specific extensions, but no restoration of the palace.
This paradigm shift corresponded to a blatant reversal of the historical circumstances, as the travel guides and travel books for kk Residence and imperial capital of Vienna dedicated itself primarily with the magnificent, aristocratic palace on the Augustinerbastei with the sumptuously fitted out reception rooms and mentioned the collection kept there - if at all - only in passing. Only with the repositioning of the Albertina in 2000 under the direction of Klaus Albrecht Schröder, the palace was within the meaning and in fulfillment of the Fideikommiss of Archduke Charles in 1826 again met with the high regard, from which could result a further inseparable bond between the magnificent mansions and the world-famous collection. In view of the knowing about politically motivated errors and omissions of the past, the facades should get back their noble, historicist designing, the staterooms regain their glamorous, prestigious appearance and culturally unique equippment be repurchased. From this presumption, eventually grew the full commitment to revise the history of redemption and the return of the stately palace in the public consciousness.
The smoothed palace facades were returned to their original condition and present themselves today - with the exception of the not anymore reconstructed Attica figures - again with the historicist decoration and layout elements that Archduke Albrecht had given after the razing of the Augustinerbastei in 1865 in order. The neoclassical interiors, today called after the former inhabitants "Habsburg Staterooms", receiving a meticulous and detailed restoration taking place at the premises of originality and authenticity, got back their venerable and sumptuous appearance. From the world wide scattered historical pieces of equipment have been bought back 70 properties or could be returned through permanent loan to its original location, by which to the visitors is made experiencable again that atmosphere in 1919 the state rooms of the last Habsburg owner Archduke Frederick had owned. The for the first time in 80 years public accessible "Habsburg State Rooms" at the Palais Albertina enable now again as eloquent testimony to our Habsburg past and as a unique cultural heritage fundamental and essential insights into the Austrian cultural history. With the relocation of the main entrance to the level of the Augustinerbastei the recollection to this so valuable Austrian Cultural Heritage formally and functionally came to completion. The vision of the restoration and recovery of the grand palace was a pillar on which the new Albertina should arise again, the other embody the four large newly built exhibition halls, which allow for the first time in the history of the Albertina, to exhibit the collection throughout its encyclopedic breadh under optimal conservation conditions.
The palace presents itself now in its appearance in the historicist style of the Ringstrassenära, almost as if nothing had happened in the meantime. But will the wheel of time should not, cannot and must not be turned back, so that the double standards of the "Albertina Palace" said museum - on the one hand Habsburg grandeur palaces and other modern museum for the arts of graphics - should be symbolized by a modern character: The in 2003 by Hans Hollein designed far into the Albertina square cantilevering, elegant floating flying roof. 64 meters long, it symbolizes in the form of a dynamic wedge the accelerated urban spatial connectivity and public access to the palace. It advertises the major changes in the interior as well as the huge underground extensions of the repositioned "Albertina".
Christian Benedictine
Art historian with research interests History of Architecture, building industry of the Hapsburgs, Hofburg and Zeremonialwissenschaft (ceremonial sciences). Since 1990 he works in the architecture collection of the Albertina. Since 2000 he supervises as director of the newly founded department "Staterooms" the restoration and furnishing of the state rooms and the restoration of the facades and explores the history of the palace and its inhabitants.
Purana Qila, is the inner citadel of the city of Dina-panah, founded by the second Mughal Emperor, Humayun in 1533 and completed five years later.Purana Qila and its environs flourished as the sixth city of Delhi. Sher Shah Suri defeated Humayun in 1540, and renamed the fort as Shergarh, and also added several more structures in the complex, during his reign that lasted for the next five years until his death in 1545.
Subsequently Islam Shah took over the reins of North India from this fort, but later shifted his capital to Gwalior, as it was supposed to be a safer capital in that period. After Islam Shah's death in 1553, Adil Shah took the charge of North India, and this fort remained neglected. Adil Shah shifted his capital to further east to Chunar in present day Uttar Pradesh. Humayun, who was based in Kabul got an opportunity to re-capture the citadel and the seat of Delhi in 1555, fifteen years after he had to leave it, though his reign didn't last long, he died only a year later in Jan. 1556, due to a tragic accident, within the fort complex at Sher Mandal.
Hearing about re-capture of Delhi by Humanyun, Hemu, the Hindu Prime Minister - cum - Chief of Army of Adil Shah Suri rushed towards Delhi from Bengal, where he had just quelled a rebellion, defeating and killing Muhhamad Shah, the ruler of Bengal. After capturing Agra, Itawah, Kanpur easily, the battle for Delhi took place in Tuglaqabad area on 6th Oct. 1556, and Hemu, who had won 22 battles spanning entire north India, defeated the forces of Akbar which were led by Tardi Beg Khan. Hemu had his 'Rajyabhishake' or Coronation at Purana Quila on 7th Oct. 1556, declared 'Hindu Raj' in North India, and was bestowed the title of Samrat Hem Chandra Vikramaditya. Hemu, who was slain and killed at the Second battle of Panipat in Nov. 1556 had his torso hung outside this fort to create terror among Hindus.
The walls of the Fort rise to a height of 18 metres, and run on for about 1.5 km, and has three arched gateways, the Bara Darwaza (Big Gate) facing West, which is still used today, the south gate, the 'Humayun Gate' probably called so because it was constructed by Humayun or that Humayun's Tomb is visible from there, and lastly, the 'Talaqi Gate' or forbidden gate. All the gates are double-storeyed sandstone structures flanked by two huge semi-circular bastion towers, and decorated with white and coloured-marble inlays and blue tiles, and replete with detailing, like ornate overhanging balconies, jharokhas, pillared pavilions chhatris on top, reminiscent of Rajasthani architecture as seen in the North and South Gates, and which were amply seen in future Mughal architecture. Despite the grandeurs of the exterior, few of interior structures have survived except the Qila-i Kuhna Mosque and the Shermandal, both credited to Sher Shah.
A chence meeting with a warden deep in an ancient beech wood revealed how to access the church, she even showed me which way out of the wood to emerge nearest the church.
Quits some difference to my last visit, on a cold a dreary February day last year. This time sprng had fully sprung, the churchyard fill of new growth and the air full of bird song.
----------------------------------------------
Hidden down narrow lanes this surprising church offers much to the churchcrawler. Norman in origin but thirteenth century in form, the piers of both arcades have surprisingly detailed capitals. The rood screen still divides nave and chancel, though the coving and much of the rest is replacement. Its upper and lower doorways survive, the lower one having its original medieval hinges. The font is thirteenth century but at some time has had new piers – old photos show it with a solid base. The north tower dates from the 20th century and was designed by Bensted of Maidstone – a gothic fantasy if ever there was one compared to the plain structure it enhanced. A ledger slab in the chancel commemorates a senior lawyer at the New Inns of Court and describes him as ` ancient ` - not in age but in seniority!
www.kentchurches.info/church.asp?p=Stalisfield
-----------------------------------------------
TQ 95 SE STALISFIELD CHURCH ROAD
(east side)
6/121 Church of
St. Mary
24.1.67 II*
Parish church. C13 and restored 1904. Flint and sandstone with
plain tiled roof. Chancel with south chapel, nave with aisles,
north tower. Exterior heavily restored, tower topped by weather
vane dated 1904, over a wooden belfry with tiled roof.- Three
light C15 east window, otherwise C19 fenestration. Double
chamfered west doorway. Interior: nave arcades of 2 bays, on
square piers with chamfered corners and trefoiled archlet to
heavy moulded abaci, Roof of 3 tall crown posts. Single
chamfered arch on imposts from chancel to chapel and blocked
arch to demolished north chapel. Double chamfered chancel arch.
Fittings: trefoil headed piscina in chancel. Rood screen:C15
perpendicular. Five bays, each with four-light traceried openings-
with crenellated oblique transoms. Vine motif frieze above blank
tracery on lower panels, with angels, eagles and roses in
spandrels. Attached shafts support frieze of Tudor flowers with
renewed cove. C13 font on 5 shafts with 4 blank arches on each
side of bowl. Royal coat of arms (obscured at time of survey)
carved in high relief on nave south wall. (See B.O.E. Kent II,
1983, 465 and illus. 65.)
Listing NGR: TQ9673852434
www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-176527-church-of-st-m...
---------------------------------------------
COMMONLY called Starchfield, adjoins to the parish of Easling south-eastward. It is called in Domesday, Stanefelle, which is the same as Stonefield, a name well adapted to the flinty soil of it.
THE PARISH is an unfrequented and obscure place, situated in a wild and dreary country, near the summit of the chalk hills, just above Charing, its southern boundary. It lies on high ground, exceedingly bleak, and exposed to north and north-east winds. The land in it is in general a red cludgy earth, of very stiff tillage, very barren, wet and flinty, and the inhabitants, as well as the country, are equally poor. It has continued hill and dale in it, the greater part of it is coppice wood, which is mostly beech and oak, usually felled at sixteen and eighteen years growth, and even then from its sort, and its out of the way distance from markets, is not of any great worth; what village there is stands round Starchfield-green, lying near the summit of the hill, on the road to Charing, at the south-west part of the parish, the church in the opposite part of it, and the parsonage midway between them. Near the north-east boundary of the parish, next to Throwley, is an estate called Holborne, but its proper name is Holbean, belonging to St. Bartholomew's hospital, in London; it is said formerly to have belonged to the north chantry of this church of Starchfield.
THIS PLACE, at the time of the taking of the general survey of Domesday, in 1080, was part of the possessions of Odo, bishop of Baieux, under the general title of whose lands it is thus described in it:
The same Adam (de Port) holds of the bishop Stanefelle. It was taxed at two sulings. The arable land is four carucates. In demesne there is one carucate, and ten villeins, having two carucates.There is a church,and six servants,and two acres of meadow.Wood for the pannage of sixty hogs.In the time of king Edward the Confessor it was worth sixty shillings, and afterwards forty shillings,now one hundred shillings,Turgis held it of earl Godwin.
On the bishop of Baieux's disgrace, about four years afterwards, this, among the rest of his possessions, came into the hands of the crown, so that Adam de Port before-mentioned, became the king's immediate tenant of it, of whose heirs it was again held afterwards by Arnulf Kade, who gave this manor, with that of Ore and its appurtenances, to the knights hospitallers, and it was assigned by them to the jurisdiction of their preceptory at Swingfield.
This manor continued part of their possessions till the general dissolution of their hospital, in the 32d year of Henry VIII. After which this manor did not remain long in the hands of the crown, for the king, in his 36th year, granted it to Sir Anthony St. Leger and his heirs male, to hold in capite by knight's service, who by the act of the 2d and 3d of Edward VI. procured his lands in this county to be disgavelled. After which, Edward VI. in his 4th year, made a grant of this manor to him and his heirs, to hold by the like service. (fn. 1) He immediately afterwards passed it away by sale to Sir Anthony Aucher, of Bishopsborne, whose son Sir Anthony Aucher, about the beginning of king James I.'s reign, sold it to Salter, whose descendant Sir Nicholas Salter, possessed it at the restoration of Charles II. They bore for their arms, Gules, ten billets, four, three, two, and one, a bordure engrailed, argent, charged with sixteen burts and torteauxes, alternately. His son Nicholas Salter, esq. of Stoke Poges, in Buckinghamshire, died in the reign of king William and queen Mary, leaving one son John, who was of London, surgeon, and three daughters, towards the raising of whose portions, he by his will ordered this manor to be sold, which it accordingly was, in 1699, to Mr. Richard Webbe, of Eleham; he, in 1711, after some controversies at law for the possession of it, alienated all his right and title to it to the trustees, for the periormance of the will of dame Sarah Barrett, widow of Sir Paul Barrett, serjeant-at-law, who had died in the beginning of that year.
She was the only daughter and heir of Sir George Ent, M. D. of London, and president of the college of physicians, and widow of Francis Head, esq. eldest son of Sir Richard Head, bart. who died in his father's life-time. She had by her first husband one son, Sir Francis Head, bart. of and a daughter Sarah, married to John Lynch, esq. of Groves, father of John Lynch, D D. dean of Canterbury, who left issue Sir William Lynch, K. B. and John Lynch, LL. D. archdeacon and prebendary of Canterbury.
Lady Barrett, by the trusts of her will, devised this manor to her male issue by her first husband in tail male, remainder to the issue of Sarah her daughter by the same husband in like tail, remainder to her several daughters and their heirs in fee; by virtue of which limitation, her grandson Sir Francis Head, bart. at length succeeded to it, and son his death in 1768, without male issue, his next brother Sir John Head, bart. and archdeacon of Canterbury, became possessed of it, and died s. p. in 1769, leaving his widow lady Jane Head, sister of Dr. William Geekie, prebendary of Canterbury, surviving, on whom he had settled this manor in jointure; she died in 1780, on which the property of it, under the above will, became vested in lady Barrett's next heir male Sir William Lynch, K.B. of Grove, who was her great-grandson, being the eldest son of John Lynch, D. D. dean of Canterbury, the son of John Lynch, esq. by Sarah his wife, her daughter by Francis Head, esq. who, to bar all further remainders, with his brother Dr. John Lynch, suffered a recovery of this manor, and died in 1785, s. p. After which it was alienated to the Rev. Wanley Sawbridge, who dying unmarried and interstate in 1796, it came to his two nephews and heirs-at-law, Samuel-Elias and Wanley Sawbridge, esqrs. who are the present possessors of it. A court baron is held for this manor.
DARBIES-COURT, is a manor situated in the northwest part of this parish, which took its name from a family who resided at it, and were of the rank of gentlemen in very early times, for in the antient registers and rolls of Kentish gentry, their coat armour is thus described, Party, per chevron embattled, or, and azure, three eagles counterchanged. In the 20th year of king Edward III. Sara de Darbye paid aid for lands here, which William de Darbie and the heirs of Thomas Franklyn held before in Winsfield, of Reginald de Cornhill, by knight's service; and there is a hamlet and valley adjoining to Darbies-court, once part of it, called at this time Wingfield, and Wingfield valley. Of this family was John Darbie, who was alderman of London, and sheriff in 1445, anno 24 Henry VI. who built the south isle of St. Dionis Backchurch, in that city, and was otherwise a good benefactor to it; in memory of which, the above-mentioned coat of arms was put up in the windows of it. (fn. 2)
But the manor of Darbies court was alienated by one of that family, in the beginning of the reign of Henry IV. to Sir Ralph St. Leger, of Otterden, who died in the 10th year of that reign, leaving a daughter Joane, then the wife of Henry Aucher, esq. of Newenden, who entitled her husband to the possession of it. In whose descendants this manor continued till the reign of queen Elizabeth, when it was alienated to Sir Michael Sondes, then of Eastry, who was the second son of Sir Anthony Sondes, of Throwley, and on his elder brother Sir Thomas Sondes's death, in 1592, without male issue, succeeded him in his seat at Throwley, as well as the rest of his intailed estates in this county. He afterwards resided at Throwley, where he died in 1617, anno 16 James I. Since which this manor has descended, in like manner as Throwley and Lees-court, in Sheldwich, both which the reader will find described in the future part of this volume down to the right hon. Lewis-Thomas, lord Sondes, the present possessor of it. A court baron is held for this manor.
Charities.
ROGER PAYNE, ESQ. late of Otterden, by his will in 1706, gave 20l. chargeable on his estate at Otterden, to poor housekeepers of this parish; which is placed out at interest at 4l. per cent. the yearly distribution of it being vested in the minister, churchwardens, and overseers.
The poor constantly relieved are about thirty; casually thirty-five.
This PARISH is within the ECCLESIASTICAL JURISDICTION of the diocese of Canterbury, and deanry of Ospringe.
The church, which stands near the centre of the parish, is dedicated to St. Mary. It is built in the form of a cross; the steeple stands in the middle of the south side. In the north wall of the north chancel is an antient tomb, with the effigies of a man in armour lying at length on it. In the east window are these coats of arms, Sable, a chevron gules, between three clothworkers handles, or; another, the coat broke, impaling, Quarterly, azure and argent, per fess indented, surmounted by a battune, or, and azure.
The church of Ore was antiently accounted as a chapel to this of Stalisfield, but it has been long since separated, and become a distinct church independent of it.
The church of Stalisfield belonged to the priory of St. Gregory, in Canterbury, perhaps part of its original endowment by archbishop Lansranc, in the reign of the Conqueror, and it was confirmed to it, among the rest of its possessions, by archbishop Hubert, about the reign of Richard I. (fn. 3)
In the 8th year of Richard II. it was become appropriated to the above-mentioned priory, and a vicarage endowed in it, the former being then valued at twelve pounds, and the latter at four pounds, on the taxation of them.
The church, with the advowson of the vicarage, remained part of the possessions of the priory till the dissolution of it in the reign of Henry VIII. when they came into the hands of the crown, where they remained but a small time, for an act passed that year to enable the king and the archbishop of Canterbury to exchange the scite of the late dissolved priory of St. Radigund, near Dover, with all its possessions, lately given by the king to the archbishop for the scite of the late dissolved priory of St. Gregory, and all its possessions, excepting the manor of Howfield, in Chartham.
This church becoming thus part of the revenues of the see of Canterbury, was demised by the archbishop, among the rest of the revenues of the priory, in one grands beneficial lease, in which, all advowsons and nominations of churches and chapels were excepted, and it has been continued under the same kind of demise from time to time ever since, renewable in like manner as such leases usually are.
¶Philip, earl of Chesterfield, was lessee of this parsonage as part of the above premises, as heir to the Wottons, after whose death in 1773, the lease was sold by his executors to George Gipps, esq. of Canterbury, who is the present lessee under the archbishop for the parsonage of Stalisfield, among the rest of the possessions of the priory of St. Gregory, but SamuelElias and Wanley Sawbridge, esqrs. as heirs of their uncle the Rev. Wanley Sawbridge, late vicar of this parish, are the occupiers of it, at a yearly reserved rent under him. The parsonage consists of a house, buildings, yard, and small orchard, ninety-four acres of land, and nine acres of wood, let together with the tithes of corn, at 75l. per annum; besides which, there are sixteen acres of woodland more in the hands of the lessee of the parsonage, worth 3l. 10s. per annum. It pays 7s. 6d. procurations to the archdeacon, and 6s. 4d. to the archbishop at his visitations.
The vicarage of this church appears to have been endowed before the 8th of Richard II. by the taxation then made of it. It is valued in the king's books at 5l. 6s. 8d. and the yearly tenths at 10s. 8d. and is now of the yearly certified value of 33l. 18s. 3d. In 1587 there were sixty-one communicants here. In 1640 it was valued at only 35l. and the communicants were the like number.
Archbishop Juxon, by indenture anno 13 king Charles II. and by another anno 28 of that reign, augmented it with 25l. per annum, to be paid by the lessee of the great tithes. The archbishop continues patron of this vicarage.
THERE WAS a portion of tithes in this parish, of the value of ten shillings, which was given soon after the conquest to the priory of St. Andrew, in Rochester, by Humphry Canute; and this gift was afterwards confirmed by D. de Monci, his descendant, to be holden in like manner as the same was held of his ancestors; and it was likewise confirmed to it by the archbishops Richard, Baldwin, and Hubert. (fn. 4)
St Mary stands on a hill overlooking what was once the sea and sand spit of land that Sandwich still sits. The sea has receded, but St Mary is still there, its wooden cupola topped tower visible for those who look for it, or notice these things in the 21st Century.
This was my third visit to the Blessed Mary, first time I found it locked, second time wardens were preparing it for the Nativity service.
It was open, and even had a welcoming sign hanging near to the gate to the churchyard, always welcome.
-----------------------------------------
The tower makes this church one of the easiest in Kent to identify. It is capped by a little cupola and wooden balustrade of eighteenth-century date that replaced a medieval spire. During the Middle Ages the church was owned by Leeds Priory which invested heavily in the structure, and was no doubt responsible for the excellent sedilia built in about 1350. The canopy is supported by a quadripartite vault in turn supported by angry little heads. Above the sedilia is the cut-off end of a prickett beam. The east window, of Decorated style stonework, has a thirteenth-century hangover in the form of a shafted rere-arch. There are two excellent modern stained glass windows designed by F.W Cole, which show the Creation (1980) and St Francis (1992). The good altar rails are of Queen Anne's reign, as are the splendid Royal Arms.
www.kentchurches.info/church.asp?p=Woodnesborough
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WOODNESBOROUGH,
¶OR Winsborough, as it is usually called, lies the next parish northward from Eastry, being written in the survey of Domesday, Wanesberge. It took its name according to Verstegan, from the Saxon idol Woden, (and it is spelt by some Wodensborough) whose place of worship was in it; however that may be, the termination of the word berge, or borough, shews it to be of high antiquity.
art of this parish, over which the manor of Boxley claims, is within the jurisdiction of the justices of the town and port of Sandwich, and liberty of the cinque ports; and the residue is in the hundred of Eastry, and jurisdiction of the county of Kent.
There are three boroughs in this parish, viz. Cold Friday, Hamwold, and Marshborough; the borsholders of which are chosen at the petty sessions of the justices, acting at Wingham, for the east division of the lath of St. Augustine.
THIS PARISH is large, being two miles and an half one way, and upwards of a mile and an half the other. The church stands nearly in the centre of it, on high ground. At a small distance from the church is Woodnesborough hill, both of which are sea marks. This hill is a very high mount, seemingly thrown up by art, and consisting of a sandy earth, it has been thought by some to have been the place on which the idol Woden from whom this place is supposed to have taken its name) was worshipped in the time of the Saxons; by others to be the burial place of Vortimer, the Saxon king, who died in 457, whilst others suppose this mount was raised over those who fell in the battle fought between Ceoldred, king of Mercia, and Ina, king of the West Saxons, in the year 715, at Woodnesbeorb, according to the Saxon chronicle, which name Dr. Plot supposes to be Woodnesborough. Vortimer, as our historians tell us, at his death, desired to be buried near the place where the Saxons used to land, being persuaded that his bones would deter them from any attempt in future. Though authors differ much on the place of his burial, yet this mount at Woodnesborough is as probable, or more so, perhaps, than any other, for it was near to, and was cast up so high as to be plainly seen from the Portus Rutupinus, which at that time was the general landing place of the Saxon fleets. Some years ago there were found upon the top of it sundry sepulchral remains, viz. a glass vessel (engraved by the Rev. Mr. Douglas, in his Nænia;) a fibula, (engraved by Mr. Eoys, in his collections for Sandwich;) the head of a spear, and some fragments of Roman vessels. Much of the earth of sand has been lately removed round the sides of it, but nothing further has been found.
At a small distance northward from hence, at the bottom of a short steep hill, lies the village called Woodnesborough-street, and sometimes Cold Fridaystreet, containing thirty four houses. The vicaragehouse is situated in the middle of it, being a new handsome building; almost contiguous to it is a handsome sashed house, belonging to the Jull family, now made use of as a poor-house; through this street the road leads to Sandwich. West ward of the street stands the parsonage-house, late the seat of Oliver Stephens, esq. deceased, and now of his window, as will be further noticed hereafter. Besides the manors and estates in this parish, particularly described, in the western parts of it there are several hamlets, as Somerfield, Barnsole, Coombe, with New-street, Great and Little Flemings, Ringlemere, and the farm of Christians Court.
In the north east part of the parish, the road from Eastry, by the parsonage of Woodnesborough northwestward, divides; one road, which in antient deeds is called Lovekys-street, going towards Ash-street; the other through the hamlet of Marshborough, formerly called Marshborough, alias Stipins, to Each End and Sandwich, the two windmills close to the entrance of which are with in the bounds of this parish. Each, Upper Each, called antiently Upriche, and Each End, antiently called Netheriche, were both formerly accounted manors, and are mentioned as such in the marriage settlement of Henry Whyte, esq. in the beginning of queen Elizabeth's reign. After the Whytes, these manors passed in like manner as Grove, in this parish, to the James's. Upper Each, or Upriche, has for many years belonged to the family of Abbot, of Ramsgate, and is now the property of John Abbot, esq. of Canterbury. Each End, or Netheriche, belongs, one moiety to the heirs or devisees of the late earl of Strafford, and the other moiety to John Matson, esq. of Sandwich.
¶It cannot but occur to the reader how much this parish abounds with Saxon names, besides the name of Wodens borough, the street of Cold Friday, mentioned before, is certainly derived from the Saxon words, Cola, and Friga, which latter was the name of a goddess, worshipped by the Saxons, and her day Frige-deag, from whence our day of Friday is derived; other places in this parish, mentioned before likewise, claim, surely, their original from the same language.
This parish contains about 3000 acres, the whole rents of it being about 3373l. yearly value. It is very bare of coppice wood; the Old Wood, so called, in Ringleton, being the only one in it. The soil of this parish is very rich and fertile, equal to those the most so in this neighbourhood, particularly as to the plantations of hops, which have much increased within these few years past. The middle of the parish is high ground, and is in general a flat open country of arable common fields. West and south-westward the lands are more inclosed with hedges. North and north-westward of the parsonage, towards Sandwich, they are low and wet, consisting of a large level of marsh land, the nearness of which makes the other parts of this parish rather unhealthy, which is not otherwise very pleasant in any part of it. There was a fair held here yearly, on Holy Thursday, but it has been for some time disused.
In Ringleton field, in this parish, there was found about the year 1514, a fine gold coin, weighing about twelve shillings, with a loop of the same metal to hang it by; on one side was the figure of a young man in armour, a helmet on his head, and a spear over his right shoulder; on the reverse, the figure of Victory, with a sword in her hand, the point downwards.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Mary, consists of a nave, and two isles, having a square tower steeple at the west end, with a modern wooden turret and vane at the top of it, in which are five bells, made in 1676. It had a high spire on the tower, which was taken down some years ago. At the east end of the chancel is a marble tablet for John Cason, esq. of this place, justice of the peace, obt. 1718; John Cason, esq. his son, obt. 1755; arms,Argent, a chevron, sable, between three wolves heads, erased, gules, on an escutcheon of pretence, sable, a chevron, between three fleurs de lis, of the field; another for Thomas Blechenden, of the antient family of that name, of Aldington, in Kent, obt. 1661; arms, Azure, a fess nebulee, argent, between three lions heads erased, or, attired, gules, impalingBoys. On the south side, an antient altar monument with gothic pillars and arches, having had shields and arms, now obliterated. Against the wall, under the canopy, two brass plates, which have been removed to this place, from two grave-stones in the chancel; the first for Sir John Parcar, late vicar of this church, who died the v.day of May, a°o dni m° v° xiij° on the second are Latin verses to the memory of Nichs Spencer, esq. obt. 1593. In the middle of the chancel, a gravestone for William Docksey, esq. of Snellston, in Derbyshire, a justice of the peace, obt. 1760; Sarah his wife, youngest daughter of John Cason, esq. obt. 1774; arms,Or, a lion rampant, azure, surmounted of a bend, argent. On a gravestone on the north side of the chancel, on a brass plate, On a chevron, three quatersoils, between three annulets, quartering other coats, now obliterated, for Master Myghell Heyre, sumtyme vicar of this churche, who dyed the xxii day of July, m° v° xxviii. In the north isle are several memorials for the family of Gillow, arms, A lion rampant, in chief, three fleurs de lis. At the entrance into the chancel, on a grave-stone, on a brass plate, John Hill, gent. of the parish of Nassall, in Staffordshire, obt. 1605. A mural monument for William Gibbs, of this parish, obt. 1777; arms,Argent, three battle axes, in fess, sable. In the church-yard are altar tombs to the memory of the Julls, and for Sladden; one for John Verall, gent. sometime mayor of Sandwich, obt. 1610; and another for John Benchkin, of Pouton, obt. 1639.
There were formerly painted in the windows of this church,Or, a chief indented, azure, for John de Sandwich. Several coats of arms, among which were those of Valence and St. Leger,Argent, three leaves in sinster bend, their points downward, proper.— On a canton, azure, three crescents, or, for Grove.— Argent, three escallops in chief, or, in base a crescent, gules, for Helpestone, usually called Hilpurton, bailiff of Sandwich, in 1299. A shield, being Helpeston's badge, another On a fess engrailed, three cinquefoils, between three garbs, for John Hill, of Nasall, in Staffordshire, who lies buried in this church. —A fess engrailed, three lions rampant, in chief, on the fess, a crescent for difference, for Spencer, customer, of Sandwich. — Quarterly, four coats; first, On a chevron, three quaterfoils; second, Per pale, ermine and argent; third, A cross, between four pomegranates, slipped; sourth,Three bars, wavy, for Michael Heyre, vicar here in 1520.
The church of Woodnesborough was given, in the reign of king Henry I. by a religious woman, one Ascelina de Wodensberg, to the priory of Ledes, soon after the foundation of it; to which deed was witness Robert de Crevequer, founder of the priory, Elias his son, and others; which gift was confirmed by the said Robert, who by his charter, released to the priory all his right and title to it. It was likewise confirmed by archbishop Theobald, and several of his successors, and by king Henry III. by his charter of inspeximus in his 41st year.
Archbishop William Corboil, who came to the see of Canterbury, three years after the foundation of Ledes priory, at the instance and petition of Ascelina above mentioned, who resigned this church into his hands for this purpose, appropriated it to the prior and convent, for the finding of necessary cloaths, for the canons there; and a vicarage was accordingly endowed in it.
There was a controversy between the prior and convent, and Adam, vicar of this church, in 1627, anno 14 Henry II. concerning the great tithes arising from the crofts and curtilages within this parish, which was referred to the prior of Rochester, who was the pope's delegate for this purpose, who determined that the prior and convent of Ledes, as rectors of this church, should receive, without any exception, all the great tithes of wheat, barley, oats, beans, peas, and of every fort of corn arising, or to arise from all lands, crofts, curtilages, or other places whatever, situated within the bounds, of this parish; and that the prior and convent should yearly pay to the said vicar, and his successors, half a seam of barley, and half a seam of beans, at the nativity of our Lord. (fn. 10)
¶After which, this parsonage appropriate,(which appears to have been esteemed as a manor) together with the advowson of the vicarage, remained with the prior and convent of Ledes, till its dissolution in the 31st year of king Henry VIII. when it was, with all its lands and possessions, surrendered into the king's hands, who by his dotation charter, in his 33d year, settled both parsonage and advowson on his new-founded dean and chapter of Rochester, with whom they remain at this time. On the dissolution of deans and chapters, after the death of king Charles I. this parsonage was surveyed in 1649, when is appeared that the manor or parsonage of Woodnesborough, with the scite thereof, and all manner of tithes belonging to it, with a garden and orchard of one acre, was valued all together at 300l. that the lessee was to repair the premises, and the chancel of the church; that the vicarage was worth fifty pounds per annum. The then incumbent was under sequestration, and there was none to serve the cure; and that the church was then quite ruinated, and in great decay. (fn. 11)
Image: The AGC Military band put on a wonderful performance for the crowd at this years Imjin Proms.
More than a thousand people enjoyed the first Imjin Proms on Saturday.
The concert and outdoor festival event raised money for three military service charity associations with entertainment ranging from a musically choreographed Spitfire display to children's activities.
"The weather's held off and it's been a fantastic evening, with a fantastic range of music, with parachutists, and airplanes, and it's all just been going very well from my point of view," said Simon Footer, the main event coordinator from the Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund.
Imjin Barracks, a Royal Air Force base that served for decades, has been home since 2010 to the event's other main host, NATO's Allied Rapid Reaction Corps
Lt.Gen. Tim Evans, ARRC commander, welcomed the crowd with gratitude, wishing everyone a splendid evening, and thanking Aramark and other sponsors. The general envisioned the event more than a year ago to be a way for Imjin and other nearby military communities to share a memorable evening with Gloucestershire.
Sharing the experience of the Spitfire display brought many emotions to the diverse crowd. Presenter Peter Dickson said he was moved by the arial display, as that plane holds a special place in British hearts, answering a call in the 1940's with young pilots when "our backs were really against the wall, it delivered the effect we needed." Remembering them and the sacrifice of so many is important and one theme for the evening, he continued. The whole night has "surpassed expectation."
"I've painted many of them as a kid, but that's the first time I've ever seen one," said presenter Lewis Macleod, in a sincere moment backstage when he wasn't keeping the crowd laughing with his voice impressions between acts. "It was really beautiful."
The plane flew to classical music played by The Band of the Royal Air Force College, who also lit up the evening with a finale and fireworks around 10 pm. Other music included a pop-music cover set by the Adjutant Generals Corps' Band who got people up and dancing from their picnic blankets and chairs. The crowd also witnessed the precision of The Royal Marines Band and 19th Regimental Royal Artillery Pipes and Drums.
Children representing their school's talent, the Innsworth Military Wives Choir, and many others performed during the evening to the local crowd. The event succeeded in opening the gates of Imjin to the community and there is a hope to see more of these kinds of events in future.
I cooked sous vide (or actually, not sous vide, just submerged in a ziplock bag):
3 octopus tentacles with:
½ onion, thinly sliced
15 black peppercorns
1 bay leaf
5 T olive oil
3 octopus tentacles with:
½ onion, thinly sliced
15 black peppercorns
1 bay leaf
6 leaves of fresh oregano
½ t smoked paprika (picante)
100ml white wine (viognier)
3 T olive oil
Cooked both bags for about 3 hours at 80C.
Then plunged in cold water to cool down.
Dress a plate with:
500g boiled potato in slices (still warm)
Octopus
½ t smoked paprika, picante
½ t smoked paprika, dulce
4 T olive oil
Coarse seasalt
Freshly chopped parsly (I used cilantro or rocket)
I made two plates, but because of the strong taste of the paprika I couldn't tell the difference anymore between the ways I cooked the octopus! I still have some octopus in the fridge and will taste some, without the rest, tomorrow. Anyway, I liked this salad! More than I sort of expected. I sometimes think this smoked paprika can be very heavy, but it was really a nice dish. In future I will prepare some tentakels in a ziplock bak or vacuum-bag and freeze them, so I only have to plunge them in a warm waterbath, cook some potatoes and have a nice dish. I liked the rocket too.
The Finale to the BARC Club Car Championships Weekender at Brands Hatch and after a Very Thrilling set of both Qualifying Sessions and Races which took place on the Saturday it was Time once again for each Driver to strap in and get ready for some high speed Racing Action thought the Sunday.
In Tribute to the Marshall who was Tragically Killed on the Saturday Some Car and Driver Pairings were Racing with Orange Hearts on their Cars as a Tribute to all of Motorsports Family of Marshalls for who without Racing would not be possible. Thank You!
So Lets get started and see what the days events Haver to Offer and who can Push their Machinery to the Limits and beyond for a Victory.
Britcar Endurance Championship - Trophy Category (Race 1 Results FINAL)
The Britcar Endurance Trophy was the First up and it was time to see who could claim that elusive Pole Position and to see if anyone else could challenge the Top Three Drivers Lets see how things turned out.
In First Place was the Pairing Of (Datum Motorsport's Axel Van Nederveen and Adriano Medeiros) in their Ginetta G55A with a Best Lap Time of 52:193 and an Average Speed of 64.75mph. Congratulations Axel and Adriano a Really Fantastic Drive and A Super Victory.
In Second Place was (SVG's Mark Lee) in his Ginetta G56A with a Best Lap Time of 52.086 and an Average Speed of 64.70mph. Amazing Drive Mark Keeping that Ginetta on the Track and Taking Second Place while Nearly Matching the Speed of Axel and Adriano. Well Done.
In Third Place was (Terry Stephens) in his Peugeot 308 with a Best Lap Time of 53.421 and an Average Speed of 64.50mph. Well Fought Terry a Fantastic Finish in Third Place and Staying Ahead by just over 11 seconds to the Pair of Jasver and Bryan in 4th. Amazing Job.
A Really Enjoyable and Exciting First Race of the Sunday with High Speed Action and Incredible Victories on Track. Congratulations Axel Adriano Mark and Terry. Lets see what Race 2 Brings in terms of the Action.
Britcar Endurance Championship - Trophy Category (Race 2 Results FINAL)
Race 2 For Britcar Next and after a Very Fast and Action Packed First Race Will we see a New Face on the Top Step of the Podium? Lets find out.
In First Place was the Pairing of (Woodrow Motorsport's Simon Baker and Kevin Clarke) in their BMW 1 Series with a Best Lap Time of 51.837 and an Average Speed of 78.22mph. Amazing work Simon and Kevin who have Beaten the Pairing Of (Datum Motorsport's Axel Van Nederveen and Adriano Medeiros) to Victory. An Incredible Drive by Both of them Well Done.
In Second Place was (SVG Mark Lee) in his Ginetta G56A with a Best Lap Time of 52.281 and an Average Speed of 76.89mph. Again a Huge Congratulations to Mark Lee for hanging onto that Second Place Despite Fierce Competition during The Race. Amazing Drive.
In Third Place was (Simon Green Motorsport's Pairing of Jasver Sapra and Brian Branson) in their BMW M3 E46 with a Best Lap Time of 52.718 and an Average Speed of 76.88mph. Congratulations Jasver and Brain Brilliant Drive and well Defended to keep that Third Place in Tact.
Two Incredible Races with Two Very Different Outcomes of Race Winners and Runners Up The Britcar Endurance Trophy is Proving to be Very Competitive this Year.
A Huge Congratulations to Simon Kevin Mark Jasver and Brain for some Amazing Racing and Victories and Good Luck to All Other Drivers. Keep working Hard and Pushing for that All Important Victory.
CTCRC Edmundson Electrical Classic / Historic Thunder Saloons (Race 1 Result FINAL)
Next Up was the CTCRC Electrical and Historic Thunder Saloons and After a Thrilling Qualifying Session Yesterday Lets see what Each Driver has got and who can Push to the Limits for that All Important Victory.
In First Place was (Jason West) in his BMW E46 M3 3200 with a Best Lap Time of 51.907 and an Average Speed of 59.84mph. Congratulations Jason for Another Incredible Drive for First Place and a well Deserved Victory Amongst some Stiff Competition.
In Second Place was (Andrew Wilson) in his Holden Monaro 7000 with a Best Lap Time of 52.418 and an Average Speed of 59.96mph. Well Done Andrew Fantastic Driving and a Super Defensive Drive for Second Place.
In Third Place was (Samuel Wilson) in his Aston Martin V8 Vantage with a Best Lap Time of 52.699 and an Average Speed of 59.50mph. Amazing Work Samuel and a Beautiful Example of the Aston Martin V8 Vantage on Display Showing its Raw Power and Racing Pedigree to Finish in Third Place.
A Fantastic Finish to The Historic and Electrical Thunder Saloons Racing at The Weekend. A Huge Congratulations to Our Top Three Finishers Jason Andrew and Samuel. Fantastic Racing from all Three of you and Good Luck to all other Drivers Keep Tuning and Working Hard and I'm sure Victory Will not be too Far Away from you.
CTCRC JEC Saloon & GT Championship & Burton Power BOSS (Race 2 Results FINAL)
Next Up CTCRC Saloon and GT Championships and with some Fierce Competition on Display during not only Qualifying but also Their First Race on the Saturday Which saw Malcom Harding Storm to an Insane Victory who Will be able to Take him on and Potentially Steal his Crown during the Next Race Today? Lets See.
In First Place was (Malcom Harding) in his Ford Escort MK2 Zakspeed 2500 with a Best Lap Time of 53.888 and an Average Speed of 78.49mph. Another Incredible Victory for Malcom that Highly Modified Zakspeed Escort Really Shows off the Power and Performance of a True Champion and a Fantastic Driver. Congratulations Malcom.
In Second Place was (Steven Goldsmith) in his Ford Anglia 105e 260 with a Best Lap Time of 54.335 and an Average Speed of 78.21mph. Another Storming Drive to Achieve Second Place for Steven. Fantastic Driving and Amazing Car Control through Every Corner. Congratulations Steven.
In Third Place was (Tom Robinson) in his Jaguar XJ6 4000 with a Best Lap Time of 55.481 and an Average Speed of 55.481mph. Congratulations Tom Superb Display of Driving Ability behind the Jag and a Well Deserved Third Place for Him.
Another Incredible Weekend of Racing for the CTCRC Saloon and GT Championships with Some New and Some Old Drivers Stepping onto the Podium. Massive Congratulations to Malcolm Steven and Tom for their First Second And Third Place Finishes. Keep Up the Good Work and Never Stop Trying.
CTCRC Laser Tools Pre 93 & Simply Serviced Pre 03 Touring Cars (Race 1 Results FINAL)
Now Its Time for The Laser Tools Pre 93 and Simply Serviced Pre 03 Touring Cars to make their way back onto The Track for what Looked to be a Spectacular Race. A Whole Range of Different Cars to Race Against and Stiff Competition after Qualifying Proves that This Race will be One not to be Missed. Lets See what Unfolded.
In First Place was (Gary Prebble) in his Honda Civic EG 2000 with a Best Lap Time of 54.100mph and an Average Speed of 78.60mph. Well Done Gary a Really Well Deserved First Place Victory and an Amazing Drive to the Flag.
In Second Place was (David Griffith) in his BMW E36 M3 3058 with a Best Lap Time of 54.558 and an Average of 78.42mph. Incredible Drive their David Pushing that BMW For Everything that it Has got to Achieve Second Place.
In Third Place was (Kam Tunio) in his Honda Civic EK9 1595 with a Best Lap Time of 55.347 and an Average Speed of 77.05mph. Well Driven Kam Super Driving on Display and a Well Deserved Third Place Finish.
Another Amazing Race for The Pre 93 and Pre 03 Touring Cars and a Huge Congratulations to Gary David and Kam for their First Second and Third Place Victories. Keep up the Hard Work and Good Luck to everyone Else wherever your Next Races take you.
CTCRC Poultec Classic Race Engines Pre 66 Touring Cars (Race 1 Results)
Now it was Time for the Fan Favourite to Enter onto the Brands Hatch Circuit with the Pre 66 Touring Cars Championship. With Mini's Lotus Cortina's and Ford Falcons. This was One Race that No One Wanted to Miss. After a Very Fast Paced Qualifying Session on the Saturday Which saw (Alan Greenhalgh) take Pole Position who Will be able to Challenge Him During the Race and Snatch Victory Away from Him.
In First Place was (Alan Greenhalgh) in his Ford Falcon with A Best Lap Time of 58.707 and an Average Speed of 72.63mph. Congratulations Alan A Beautiful Example of the Ford Falcon and Certainly a Very Fast One too. Congratulations on Your Victory.
In Second Place was (Robyn Slater) in his Ford Anglia 1550 with a Best Lap Time of 58.992 and an Average Speed of 72.06mph. Very Good Drive their From Robyn to Secure Second Place in The First Race of the Day for the Pre 66 Touring Cars.
In Third Place was (Barry Sime) in his Morris Mini Cooper S 1293 with a Best Lap Time of 59.116 and an Average Speed of 71.95mph. Fantastic Work their Barry Keeping that Little Rocket on The Track looked to be Very Challenging but A Very Well Deserved Third Place.
What A First Race for The Historic Pre 66 Touring Cars showing The Power and Pride Each Driver takes in Both Racing and Preservation on Their Beloved Racing Machines. Congratulations to Alan Robyn and Barry on their First Second and Third Place Finishes. Lets See what New Challenges Await Them in Race 2 The Final Race of The Day for Them.
CTCRC Poultec Classic Race Engines Pre 66 Touring Cars (Race 2 Results FINAL)
The Epic FINALE To The Pre 66 Touring Cars Race was A Race in Wet Conditions Making it even more Challenging for The Top Three Drivers. Who would Win and be able to Retain if not Take on thease Three Giants of Touring Car Racing in thease Conditions. Lets See How Things Concluded.
In First Place was (Barry Sime) in his Morris Mini Cooper S 1293 with a Best Lap Time of 1:11.482 and an Average Speed of 58.62mph. Amazing Work Barry to take Home a Superb Victory and a Brilliant Bit of Wet Weather Driving in The Mini Well Done.
In Second Place was (John Davies) in his Austin Mini Cooper S 1293 with a Best Lap Time of 1:11.416 and an Average Speed of 58.38mph. Amazing Work John Racing A Mini in thease Conditions is Very Tricky and Yet both You and Barry made it look Easy.
In Third Place was (James Ibbotson) in his Hillman Imp Super 998 with a Best Lap Time of 1:11.518 and an Average Speed of 58.12mph. Well Done James Sliding that Imp around in the Wet for a Magnificent Third Place was Well Deserved.
What A Race to End the Day for the Pre 66 Touring Cars and with So many Old and New Winners Lets Hope we Get to see More Races like This One Thought the Rest of the 2021 Season. A Big Congratulations to Barry John and James on their Respective Victories and Keep Trying Everyone Else The Hard Work will Pay off.
CTCRC Shell Oils Pre 83 Touring Cars (Race 1 FINAL)
Up Next The Pre 83 Touring Cars took to the Track for Their Only Race of The Day and from what We Have Seen Already This Race also looks like its going to be a Very Strong Battle for First Second and Third Place. Lets See who Came First and Took that All Important Victory.
In First Place was (Mark Lucock) in his Ford Escort MK1 RS2000 2040 with a Best Lap Time of 57.687 and an Average Speed of 74.53mph. Amazing work there Mark Pushing All the Power the RS2000 Engine Has and Keeping it on Track to Score an Amazing Victory.
In Second Place was (Stephen Primett) in his Ford Escort MK1 2037 with a Best Lap Time of 57.503 and an Average Speed of 74.52mph. Another Brilliant Drive from the Likes of Stephen Keep the Pace with Mark and Making for some Fierce Competition Thought the Race.
In Third Place was (Mike Luck in his BMW E21 320 1998 with a Best Lap Time of 57.236 and an Average Speed of 74.46mph. Super Driving there Mike to take Third Place and a Very Classic Looking BMW Indeed.
What A Race from the Pre 83 Touring Cars showcasing Speed Power and What a Touring Car was Made to do around a Race Track. A Big Congratulations to Mark Stephen and Mike on their First Second and Third Place Finishes. Keep Racing and Keep Having Fun Out There.
Junior Saloon Car Championship (Race 1 Result FINAL)
The Junior Saloon Car Championship was Up Next and Even Though the Age Range of thease Next Drivers Taking to the Circuit Might Shock you at The Fact that Many of them are as Young as 15 Years of age don't be Fooled Because thease Guys Know how to Race Having been brought up from Carting since the age of 4. They are always a Fan Favourite and After Qualifying on the Saturday its Anyone's Game as to Who Wins and Who Losses in Thease Races.
In First Place was (Ruben Hage) in his Citroen Saxo VTR 1600 with a Best Lap Time of 59.967 and an Average Speed of 65.65mph. Congratulations Ruben What A Drive and an Incredible Run for First Place Fending off the Other On Coming Drivers. Truly a Championship Winning Drive.
In Second Place was (Harvey Caton) in his Citroen Saxo VTR 1600 with a Best Lap Time of 59.629 and an Average Speed of 65.64mph. Very Well Driven there Harvey Staying very Close to Ruben in First Place and Keeping Him on His Toes Thought the Entire Race.
In Third Place was (Charlie Hand) in his Citroen Saxo VTR 1600 with a Lap Time of 1:00.006 and an Average Speed of 65.57mph. Solid Third Place there Charlie Keep Up the Momentum and Never Give Up Chasing Your Dreams.
What a Fantastic Race from the Junior Saloon Car Championship with New Winners on the Podium and Some Close Wheel to Wheel Action Thought the Race Thease Guys will be Fantastic To see in Future Racing Series All Over The World. Congratulations to Ruben Harvey and Charlie for First Second and Third Place and Good Luck to All Other Aspiring Young Drivers Following in the Footsteps of Your Greatest Racing Heroes.
Kumho BMW Championship (Race 1 Results)
Finally it was Time for the Last Two Races of the Day the Kumo BMW Championship. Featuring The Makes and Models of Many BMW'S taking to the Circuit for Race 1. After a Busy Day Qualifying on Saturday Lets See what Each Driver Cando in The Frist of Two Races for their Championship.
In First Place was (Niall Bradley) in his BMW E46 M3 with a Best Lap Time of 50.920 and an Average Speed of 83.60mph. Brilliant Driving There Niall Pushing the Power of the BMW Engine to Max and Putting the Pedal to the Metal the Whole Race. A Superb Victory.
In Second Place was (Michael Vitulli) in his BMW E36 M3 3200 with a Best Lap Time of 51.158 and an Average Speed of 83.45mph. Another Incredible Driver Pushing Hard and Taking Second Place. Well Done Michael.
In Third Place was (James Card) in his BMW E46 M3 3200 with a Best Lap Time of 51.154 and an Average Speed of 83.42mph. Very Well Done their James Keep Pushing.
Three Fantastic Drivers in Niall Michael and James all Fighting for that Victory and Showing The Racer Inside each and Everyone of them. Lets see what Their Final Race of the Day Brings Them.
Kumho BMW Championship (Race 2 Results FINAL)
In First Place was (Niall Bradley) in his BMW E46 M3 with a Best Lap Time of 53.581 and an Average Speed of 77.79mph. Another Well Deserved First Place Finish to Round of The Days Racing. Congratulations Niall Go and Celebrate with The Team In Style.
In Second Place was (Darren Morgan Owen) in his BMW E46 M3 3200 with a Best Lap Time of 53.200 and an Average Speed of 77.43mph. Super Drive There Darren for Second Place and a New Winner onto The Podium.
In Third Place was (Brad Sheean) in his BMW E46 M3 3200 with a Best Lap Time of 53.227 and an Average Speed of 77.13mph. Fantastic Drive there Brad and Some Incredible Car Control thought the Entire Race to Finish Third.
And That Concludes Racing for the Kumho BMW Championship with 4 Different Winners Across two Races and A lot of Really Fast Action you could not Have Asked for a better Finish to The End of The Days Racing. Massive Congratulations to Niall Darren and Brad and Good Luck to all Other Competing Drivers who are still Looking for that almighty Victory.
That Concludes Racing for The BARC Club Car Championships Weekend A Big Congratulations to All of the Drivers of Every Team and a Huge Thank You to Marshalls Far and Wide as Without Your Support Events like This and Champion Drivers May Never Get to Achieve Their Dreams.
See You All At The Next One!
"Now that is what I call a Re-enactment!
Bartimaeus the blind beggar
May the Peace of the Risen Christ be with you! Easter is here.
We had a most successful Re-enactment of Our Lord's Passion. After so many months of preparation, sewing machines running hot updating costumes, actors learning lines, sound systems being upgraded and more, there we stood at 11am on Good Friday with microphone in hand: "Welcome to the 2018 Re-enactment of Our Lord's Passion!" And so it began.
How do we measure "success" in regards to our re-enactment?
On one measure you can use crowd numbers, donations, "Likes" and Shares and that would be appropriate if this was just a normal play. Even on that basis our event would certainly be considered a success with somewhere around 5,000 people participating and lots of great feedback and support.
But how do you measure success for a play that tries to be an authentic re-enactment of the Passion of Jesus Christ based on scripture and tradition of the Church? In this case we were told by the Pauline Fathers that many people came back and they were hearing confessions the whole day.
We saw many people following the play and praying along with us.
Crowning with Thorns
Many came up to us after the play thanking us for such an invigorating presentation of our Lord's Passion. Here are some of the early tales we have been told of the day.
One of the biggest challenges with a moving play is the safety of actors, crew and pilgrims as the play moves from scene to scene. We try many methods such as fixed tape and ropes as well as rope held by our marshalls. Enforcement for keeping the crowd back tends to fall towards the soldiers who, like in a theatre restaurant, instruct the crowd to move back for their own safety. Our photographer, eager to get "the photo", allowed a little old lady to sneak past the barriers so she could touch the cloak of Jesus. As the Centurion swung his arm giving orders to his soldiers, this lady who stood upright under his swing moved forward. "What the?" cried the Centurion and firmly moved her back with instructions. I thought she would be concerned at the firm treatment but she was grinning ear to ear and holding her bag telling her family, "I touched his cloak!"
I touched Jesus' Robes!
Some of our Marshalls volunteered to help on the day. Often these had not experienced the fluid intensity of a moving play like this and even though they were holding on to the rope barrier, found themselves sucked into the crowd. When the Centurion or one of the soldiers noticed their lost marshall and we heard the cry, "Get him out of there!" as they reached in and brought him back into line.
Our marshalls and soldiers request people to stay back for their own safety. When the Roman soldiers and Jewish guards broke out into another scuffle we heard the cry, "They're fighting again!" and the crowd suddenly made space. "Please stand back for your own safety," we once more cried as the procession moved on.
When Jesus was being scourged, the process started with one Roman making a few lashes. Then he gets moved back with the cry, "Let someone do it properly!" The primary flogging Roman soldier let fly with the whip dipped in the fake blood. Drops of blood flew in an arc and the soft straps struck Jesus with a satisfying slap and Jesus cried out. The crowd stopped chattering with an audible gasp.
One of our new actors had not actually attended the play in past years so this was all an amazing experience. When Jesus was being scourged and mocked, tears came to her eyes, but the Woman of Jerusalem in charge held her and said, "Don't cry yet. We have to call for his crucifixion in the next scene." So she held back her tears and like a trooper joined the crowd calling for Jesus' crucifixion. As she said afterwards, it won't be the same contemplating the story of Jesus' Passion in future.
At the start of the play we made sure the actors and crew knew that this was a "Live" play. That meant no retakes, no pause to re-do the scene, no stepping in to try again. "The play must go on!" we instructed. "After all, the pilgrims haven't read the script and the story won't be affected if your lines are not exact. So long as we get the important bits in the right order, no-one will know." That was good advice.
When Pontius Pilate was standing majestically on the balcony addressing the crowd, the sign of Roman Superiority detached from the balcony railing and fell to the ground with a crash. Pontius Pliate's eyes opened wide for a brief moment and then he turned his gaze back to the Crowd and Caiaphas and the Jews and continued as if nothing was wrong. The crew quickly removed the sign and all moved on as if this was part of play. We were told afterwards how clever this was, the falling of the sign representing the fall of Roman Justice. The play must go on.
Although we have a script which covers all the main dialogue and actions, the flavour comes from the interactions and improvised dialogue of the actors. Insults between the Jews and Romans provided occasional humour too. At the crucifixion, one of the Jewish Chief Priests called out "How many Romans does it take to Crucify someone?" Being sick of their taunts a Roman Guard approached them and said, "I have room for one more. Are you ready?" The Chief Priest stepped back behind the Jewish Guards and replied, "I have an appointment tomorrow and can't today."
We will report further tales as they come to light, but I want to end this post-play post with some heartfelt thanks. When organising an event like this where there are months of preparation involving over 100 cast, crew and support organisations, the whole thing only works when people do their part. This year worked so well because everyone did their part, no matter how small that part may have appeared. The actors didn't just remember their lines, but they also worked with their fellow actors and added their own ideas for their character. For example, the actor playing the blind beggar Bartimeus had the idea of having a blindfold and sat in his spot near the start of the play, begging for alms for about 20 minutes before the play reached him. Then he improvised with many calls for alms and requests about what the commotion was. It was a great job which really brought out the character of the blind beggar. It may have only been a bit part, but it formed part of the greater whole.
The same applied for each of the roles, from the primary speaking parts through to the behind the scenes actors of the Women of Jerusalem and Apostles before and after the abandonment of Jesus.
So many people have done their parts and done them well I am very proud to have been able to assist in co-ordinating and directing the play. An event like this generates a great camaraderie and fellowship and fosters a deeper understanding of not just this critical point in salvation history, but also the very human element that is the point of the whole Passion. Every actor and member of the crew and supporters must know that all the work and effort has been worthwhile to so many people.
Thank you.
~David Bruggeman"
Copied from goodfridaypassionplay.blogspot.com.au/
For more information please visit www.paulinefathers.org.au
No need to meditate or imagine, this event will take you to Calvary!
Images by Giovanni Portelli Photography © 2018.
A model of the Ostergotland Class Destroyer HSwMS Ostergotland at the Swedish Maritime Museum, Stockholm, June 2010; 4 ships of this class were launched in 1956-57 and completed in 1958-59. The Ostergotland was launched in 1956 and completed in 1958. She had a displacement of 2,150 tons, measured 367.5 ft. x 37 ft. x 12 ft., had a maximum speed of 35 kts and was armed with 4x4.7” DP (2x2), 7x40mm AA (3x2, 1x1), 8x20mm AA guns (8x1), 6x21 TT (1x6) and 1 Squid A/S weapon. They were the last Swedish destroyers built and were a smaller, flush-decked and less capable variant of the preceding 2,630 ton Halland Class completed in 1955-56, which had represented a step change in Swedish destroyer design – but a very expensive one which could not be afforded beyond two ships.
The Ostergotlands were heavily modernised in 1963-71 including the installation of Sea Cat AA missile launchers. They and the Hallands were all discarded in 1982 following Sweden’s controversial decision to abandon their blue water navy and only build coastal forces in future. Thus ended a long – and impressive - tradition of destroyer design in Sweden.
St Mary stands on a hill overlooking what was once the sea and sand spit of land that Sandwich still sits. The sea has receded, but St Mary is still there, its wooden cupola topped tower visible for those who look for it, or notice these things in the 21st Century.
This was my third visit to the Blessed Mary, first time I found it locked, second time wardens were preparing it for the Nativity service.
It was open, and even had a welcoming sign hanging near to the gate to the churchyard, always welcome.
-----------------------------------------
The tower makes this church one of the easiest in Kent to identify. It is capped by a little cupola and wooden balustrade of eighteenth-century date that replaced a medieval spire. During the Middle Ages the church was owned by Leeds Priory which invested heavily in the structure, and was no doubt responsible for the excellent sedilia built in about 1350. The canopy is supported by a quadripartite vault in turn supported by angry little heads. Above the sedilia is the cut-off end of a prickett beam. The east window, of Decorated style stonework, has a thirteenth-century hangover in the form of a shafted rere-arch. There are two excellent modern stained glass windows designed by F.W Cole, which show the Creation (1980) and St Francis (1992). The good altar rails are of Queen Anne's reign, as are the splendid Royal Arms.
www.kentchurches.info/church.asp?p=Woodnesborough
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
WOODNESBOROUGH,
¶OR Winsborough, as it is usually called, lies the next parish northward from Eastry, being written in the survey of Domesday, Wanesberge. It took its name according to Verstegan, from the Saxon idol Woden, (and it is spelt by some Wodensborough) whose place of worship was in it; however that may be, the termination of the word berge, or borough, shews it to be of high antiquity.
art of this parish, over which the manor of Boxley claims, is within the jurisdiction of the justices of the town and port of Sandwich, and liberty of the cinque ports; and the residue is in the hundred of Eastry, and jurisdiction of the county of Kent.
There are three boroughs in this parish, viz. Cold Friday, Hamwold, and Marshborough; the borsholders of which are chosen at the petty sessions of the justices, acting at Wingham, for the east division of the lath of St. Augustine.
THIS PARISH is large, being two miles and an half one way, and upwards of a mile and an half the other. The church stands nearly in the centre of it, on high ground. At a small distance from the church is Woodnesborough hill, both of which are sea marks. This hill is a very high mount, seemingly thrown up by art, and consisting of a sandy earth, it has been thought by some to have been the place on which the idol Woden from whom this place is supposed to have taken its name) was worshipped in the time of the Saxons; by others to be the burial place of Vortimer, the Saxon king, who died in 457, whilst others suppose this mount was raised over those who fell in the battle fought between Ceoldred, king of Mercia, and Ina, king of the West Saxons, in the year 715, at Woodnesbeorb, according to the Saxon chronicle, which name Dr. Plot supposes to be Woodnesborough. Vortimer, as our historians tell us, at his death, desired to be buried near the place where the Saxons used to land, being persuaded that his bones would deter them from any attempt in future. Though authors differ much on the place of his burial, yet this mount at Woodnesborough is as probable, or more so, perhaps, than any other, for it was near to, and was cast up so high as to be plainly seen from the Portus Rutupinus, which at that time was the general landing place of the Saxon fleets. Some years ago there were found upon the top of it sundry sepulchral remains, viz. a glass vessel (engraved by the Rev. Mr. Douglas, in his Nænia;) a fibula, (engraved by Mr. Eoys, in his collections for Sandwich;) the head of a spear, and some fragments of Roman vessels. Much of the earth of sand has been lately removed round the sides of it, but nothing further has been found.
At a small distance northward from hence, at the bottom of a short steep hill, lies the village called Woodnesborough-street, and sometimes Cold Fridaystreet, containing thirty four houses. The vicaragehouse is situated in the middle of it, being a new handsome building; almost contiguous to it is a handsome sashed house, belonging to the Jull family, now made use of as a poor-house; through this street the road leads to Sandwich. West ward of the street stands the parsonage-house, late the seat of Oliver Stephens, esq. deceased, and now of his window, as will be further noticed hereafter. Besides the manors and estates in this parish, particularly described, in the western parts of it there are several hamlets, as Somerfield, Barnsole, Coombe, with New-street, Great and Little Flemings, Ringlemere, and the farm of Christians Court.
In the north east part of the parish, the road from Eastry, by the parsonage of Woodnesborough northwestward, divides; one road, which in antient deeds is called Lovekys-street, going towards Ash-street; the other through the hamlet of Marshborough, formerly called Marshborough, alias Stipins, to Each End and Sandwich, the two windmills close to the entrance of which are with in the bounds of this parish. Each, Upper Each, called antiently Upriche, and Each End, antiently called Netheriche, were both formerly accounted manors, and are mentioned as such in the marriage settlement of Henry Whyte, esq. in the beginning of queen Elizabeth's reign. After the Whytes, these manors passed in like manner as Grove, in this parish, to the James's. Upper Each, or Upriche, has for many years belonged to the family of Abbot, of Ramsgate, and is now the property of John Abbot, esq. of Canterbury. Each End, or Netheriche, belongs, one moiety to the heirs or devisees of the late earl of Strafford, and the other moiety to John Matson, esq. of Sandwich.
¶It cannot but occur to the reader how much this parish abounds with Saxon names, besides the name of Wodens borough, the street of Cold Friday, mentioned before, is certainly derived from the Saxon words, Cola, and Friga, which latter was the name of a goddess, worshipped by the Saxons, and her day Frige-deag, from whence our day of Friday is derived; other places in this parish, mentioned before likewise, claim, surely, their original from the same language.
This parish contains about 3000 acres, the whole rents of it being about 3373l. yearly value. It is very bare of coppice wood; the Old Wood, so called, in Ringleton, being the only one in it. The soil of this parish is very rich and fertile, equal to those the most so in this neighbourhood, particularly as to the plantations of hops, which have much increased within these few years past. The middle of the parish is high ground, and is in general a flat open country of arable common fields. West and south-westward the lands are more inclosed with hedges. North and north-westward of the parsonage, towards Sandwich, they are low and wet, consisting of a large level of marsh land, the nearness of which makes the other parts of this parish rather unhealthy, which is not otherwise very pleasant in any part of it. There was a fair held here yearly, on Holy Thursday, but it has been for some time disused.
In Ringleton field, in this parish, there was found about the year 1514, a fine gold coin, weighing about twelve shillings, with a loop of the same metal to hang it by; on one side was the figure of a young man in armour, a helmet on his head, and a spear over his right shoulder; on the reverse, the figure of Victory, with a sword in her hand, the point downwards.
The church, which is dedicated to St. Mary, consists of a nave, and two isles, having a square tower steeple at the west end, with a modern wooden turret and vane at the top of it, in which are five bells, made in 1676. It had a high spire on the tower, which was taken down some years ago. At the east end of the chancel is a marble tablet for John Cason, esq. of this place, justice of the peace, obt. 1718; John Cason, esq. his son, obt. 1755; arms,Argent, a chevron, sable, between three wolves heads, erased, gules, on an escutcheon of pretence, sable, a chevron, between three fleurs de lis, of the field; another for Thomas Blechenden, of the antient family of that name, of Aldington, in Kent, obt. 1661; arms, Azure, a fess nebulee, argent, between three lions heads erased, or, attired, gules, impalingBoys. On the south side, an antient altar monument with gothic pillars and arches, having had shields and arms, now obliterated. Against the wall, under the canopy, two brass plates, which have been removed to this place, from two grave-stones in the chancel; the first for Sir John Parcar, late vicar of this church, who died the v.day of May, a°o dni m° v° xiij° on the second are Latin verses to the memory of Nichs Spencer, esq. obt. 1593. In the middle of the chancel, a gravestone for William Docksey, esq. of Snellston, in Derbyshire, a justice of the peace, obt. 1760; Sarah his wife, youngest daughter of John Cason, esq. obt. 1774; arms,Or, a lion rampant, azure, surmounted of a bend, argent. On a gravestone on the north side of the chancel, on a brass plate, On a chevron, three quatersoils, between three annulets, quartering other coats, now obliterated, for Master Myghell Heyre, sumtyme vicar of this churche, who dyed the xxii day of July, m° v° xxviii. In the north isle are several memorials for the family of Gillow, arms, A lion rampant, in chief, three fleurs de lis. At the entrance into the chancel, on a grave-stone, on a brass plate, John Hill, gent. of the parish of Nassall, in Staffordshire, obt. 1605. A mural monument for William Gibbs, of this parish, obt. 1777; arms,Argent, three battle axes, in fess, sable. In the church-yard are altar tombs to the memory of the Julls, and for Sladden; one for John Verall, gent. sometime mayor of Sandwich, obt. 1610; and another for John Benchkin, of Pouton, obt. 1639.
There were formerly painted in the windows of this church,Or, a chief indented, azure, for John de Sandwich. Several coats of arms, among which were those of Valence and St. Leger,Argent, three leaves in sinster bend, their points downward, proper.— On a canton, azure, three crescents, or, for Grove.— Argent, three escallops in chief, or, in base a crescent, gules, for Helpestone, usually called Hilpurton, bailiff of Sandwich, in 1299. A shield, being Helpeston's badge, another On a fess engrailed, three cinquefoils, between three garbs, for John Hill, of Nasall, in Staffordshire, who lies buried in this church. —A fess engrailed, three lions rampant, in chief, on the fess, a crescent for difference, for Spencer, customer, of Sandwich. — Quarterly, four coats; first, On a chevron, three quaterfoils; second, Per pale, ermine and argent; third, A cross, between four pomegranates, slipped; sourth,Three bars, wavy, for Michael Heyre, vicar here in 1520.
The church of Woodnesborough was given, in the reign of king Henry I. by a religious woman, one Ascelina de Wodensberg, to the priory of Ledes, soon after the foundation of it; to which deed was witness Robert de Crevequer, founder of the priory, Elias his son, and others; which gift was confirmed by the said Robert, who by his charter, released to the priory all his right and title to it. It was likewise confirmed by archbishop Theobald, and several of his successors, and by king Henry III. by his charter of inspeximus in his 41st year.
Archbishop William Corboil, who came to the see of Canterbury, three years after the foundation of Ledes priory, at the instance and petition of Ascelina above mentioned, who resigned this church into his hands for this purpose, appropriated it to the prior and convent, for the finding of necessary cloaths, for the canons there; and a vicarage was accordingly endowed in it.
There was a controversy between the prior and convent, and Adam, vicar of this church, in 1627, anno 14 Henry II. concerning the great tithes arising from the crofts and curtilages within this parish, which was referred to the prior of Rochester, who was the pope's delegate for this purpose, who determined that the prior and convent of Ledes, as rectors of this church, should receive, without any exception, all the great tithes of wheat, barley, oats, beans, peas, and of every fort of corn arising, or to arise from all lands, crofts, curtilages, or other places whatever, situated within the bounds, of this parish; and that the prior and convent should yearly pay to the said vicar, and his successors, half a seam of barley, and half a seam of beans, at the nativity of our Lord. (fn. 10)
¶After which, this parsonage appropriate,(which appears to have been esteemed as a manor) together with the advowson of the vicarage, remained with the prior and convent of Ledes, till its dissolution in the 31st year of king Henry VIII. when it was, with all its lands and possessions, surrendered into the king's hands, who by his dotation charter, in his 33d year, settled both parsonage and advowson on his new-founded dean and chapter of Rochester, with whom they remain at this time. On the dissolution of deans and chapters, after the death of king Charles I. this parsonage was surveyed in 1649, when is appeared that the manor or parsonage of Woodnesborough, with the scite thereof, and all manner of tithes belonging to it, with a garden and orchard of one acre, was valued all together at 300l. that the lessee was to repair the premises, and the chancel of the church; that the vicarage was worth fifty pounds per annum. The then incumbent was under sequestration, and there was none to serve the cure; and that the church was then quite ruinated, and in great decay. (fn. 11)
EXHIBIT RULES, REGULATIONS AND GUIDELINES
ALITUNTUNIN AT BILIN PARA SA PAGTATANGHAL
1.Organizers will only provide one (1) table per image. Image owners may opt to bring fresh / artificial flowers for the image as decoration. Owners who shall be bringing their own or additional pedestal should inform organizers in advance and declare said items in their registration form. Due to the limited space given by SM, allotted area for each image is 3x3 feet only.
Ang Radyo Veritas ay magtatalaga lamang ng isang (1) patungan/lamesa para sa bawat imahen. Ang mga recamadero ng mga imahen ay maaaring magdala ng mga sariwa/artipisyal na gayak para sa kanilang imahen. Kung magdadala ng sarili o karagdagang patungan, dapat itong ipagbigay alam sa komiteng nagsasaayos at isaad ito sa Talaang Sipi (Registration Sheet). Dahil sa limitado espasyo na ibinigay ng SM, ang takdang sukat ng bawat altar ay 3x3 talampakan lamang.
2.There will be a common background design for all images. Only the image of Our Lady of Veritas will have a different background design. Table cloths shall be provided only for the tables that the organizing committee shall be assigning each image. Recamaderos bringing their own table are asked to bring also their own tablecloths. Color for ALL tablecloths should be ecru or off-white only.
Ang Radyo Veritas ay nagtalaga ng disenyo, kulay, uri ng background ng lahat ng imahen. Tanging ang imahen lamang ng Mahal na Birhen ng Veritas ang magkakaroon ng natatanging pondong dibuho. May mga telang kasama ang bawat mesa na ipapagamit ng komiteng nagsasaayos. Para sa mga magdadala ng sariling patungan, hinihiling na kayo ay magdala din ng inyong sariling tela. Ang kulay para sa lahat ng tela ay ecru o manilaw-nilaw na puti.
3.Start of ingress and set-up of confirmed images is on October 13, 11pm (night before the opening) to 4am the following day. However, image-owners or their representative are requested to be at the Mall of Asia by 7pm to redeem their registration sheets, registration tags, and other pertinent documents prior to registration. Please coordinate with the organizing committee on the place of registration.
Ang simula ng pagdadala at pagsasa-ayos ng mga naitalang imahen as sa Oktubre 13 sa ganap na ika-11 ng gabi (bisperas ng pagbubukas) hanggang sa ika-4 ng umaga kinabukasan. Gayunpaman, ang mga recamadero o ang kanilang mga kinatawan ay hinihilingang magtungo sa Mall of Asia simula ika-7 ng gabi upang kunin at punan ang kanilang pilyego ng pagkakatala, etiketa ng pagkakatala at iba pang dokumento kaugnay ng inyong pagkakatala. Makipag-ugnayan sa komiteng nagsasaayos para sa lugar ng talaan.
4.Upon ingress, please don’t forget to submit completely accomplished registration forms in DUPLICATE to the registration committee. The registration committee shall be releasing tags for the images to ensure the orderly flow of registration and to aid the inventory of items brought in the exhibit.
Sa pagdadala ng mga imahen, wag kalilimutang ibigay ang pinunuang Sipi ng Pagkakatala sa dalawang kopya sa komite ng talaan. Ang komite ng talaan ay magbibigay ng mga etiketa na ididikit sa mga imahen upang mapanatili ang kaayusan ng talaan at upang matulungan ang wastong imbentaryo ng mga gamit na dadalhin sa exhibit.
5.Image owners are requested to submit a short tagalog history of their Marian Image on or before October 1, 2010. Please send information at this email address: tamagsu@yahoo.com/ reneejose70@yahoo.com.
Hinihilingan ang lahat ng recamadero na magbigay ng maikling tagalog na istorya ng kanilang imahen bago mag-Oktubre 1, 2010. Mangyaring ipadala ang nasabing impormasyon sa email address: : tamagsu@yahoo.com/ reneejose70@yahoo.com.
6.Radio Veritas and its organizing committee has the sole right and responsibility to screen, accept and/or reject images and images owners according to internal policies and themes predetermined by the administration. Their decision and underlying reasons behind it shall be final and does not necessarily be discoursed to the public.
Ang Radyo Veritas at ang komite nito sa pagsasaayos ay tanging may karapatan at tungkulin na suriin, tanggapin at/o tanggihan ang mga imahen at may-ari ng imahen ayon sa mga panloob na alituntunin at tema na pinili ng mga namamahala. Ang kanilang desisyon at ang mga kaakibat na dahilan sa likod ng mga ito ay final at hindi kinakailangang ilahad sa lahat.
7.STRICTLY, IMAGES and/or IMAGE OWNERS NOT REGISTERED and CONFIRMED on or before October 1, 2010 shall NOT be allowed in the exhibit area. Please be informed that WALK-IN IMAGES shall NOT be accepted.
Ang mga imahen at/o mga may-ari ng imahen na hindi naka-tala at kinumpirma ng komite ng talaan sa o bago mag-Oktubre 1, 2010 ay HINDI papayagan sa exhibit area. Ipinagbibigay-alam sa lahat na ang mga imaheng darating ng walang kaukulang tala ay HINDI tatanggapin.
8.The entrance to be used during ingress and egress are the Mall’s Receiving and Dispatching Units (RDU). The Committee shall be assigning men who shall help in carrying registered images. However, we strongly suggest and encourage image owners to be present or delegate someone to oversee the set-up during ingress and egress in order to ensure the proper handling and fixing of images, and prevent any untoward incidents/accidents.
Ang pasukan na gagamitin sa pagdadala at pagsasa-ayos at sa pagbabaklas ng exhibit ay sa Receiving and Dispatching Units (RDU) ng Mall. Ang comite ay magtatalaga ng mga kalalakihang magbubuhat ng mga nakatalang imahen. Ngunit pinapayuhan ang mga recamadero na dumalo o magtalaga ng kahalili sa pagdadala at pagliligpit ng mga imahen para tumulong sa pagiintindi ng mga ito, upang maiwasan ang mga di inaasahang pangyayari o aksidente.
9.As per Mall of Asia policy, Radio Veritas Staff, Images owners and other affiliates are asked to wear proper and decent clothes during Ingress and Egress of the exhibit. Shorts, sando and slippers are strictly prohibited. It is suggested that staff and exhibitors and their companions wear color RED for easy identification.
Alinsunod sa alituntunin ng Mall of Asia, ang mga empleyado ng Radyo Veritas, mga may-ari ng imahen at iba pang katulong sa gawaing ito at hinihilingan na magsuot ng naaayong disenteng pananamit sa pagdadala at pagbabaklas ng mga imahen sa exhibit. Ang shorts, sando, at tsinelas ay HINDI pinahihintulutan.Iminumungkahi na ang staff, exhibitors at mga kasama nito ay magsuot ng kulay PULA para sa mas madaling pagkakakilanlan.
10.The formal opening of the exhibit is on October 14, 2010, 2pm. Image owners are requested to attend the Exhibit Opening and Blessing of the images. Attire is Filipiniana.
Ang pormal na pagbubukas ng exhibit ay sa Oktubre 14, 2010 sa ganap na ika-2 ng hapon. Ang mga may-ari ng imahen ay inaanyayahang dumalo sa nasabing pagbubukas at pagbabasbas ng mga imahen. Ang kasuotan ay Filipiniana.
11.Exhibit will run from October 14 until October 27, 2010. Egress of the images is from 10:00 in the evening on October 27 (after mall hours) to 12 midnight. Please bring your copy of the REGISTRATION FORM to claim your image. For the security of your image and other items, only image owners with the duplicate form shall be allowed to enter the exhibit area after mall hours of October 27. Image owners should take utmost responsibility in securing your belongings during egress.
Ang Exhibit ay bukas simula Oktubre 14 hanggang 27, 2010. Ang pagbabaklas ng mga imahen ay magsisimula sa ganap na ika-10 ng gabi (sa pagsasara ng Mall) hanggang sa ika-12 ng hating gabi. Mangyaring dalhin ninyo ang inyong kopya ng pilyego ng pagkakatala. Para sa kaligtasan ng inyong imahen at iba pang kagamitan, ang mga recamadero na may dala lamang ng duplicate form ang siyang tanging papayagang pumasok ng exhibit are sa pagsasara ng mall sa Oktubre 27. Ang mga recamadero ay inaasahang maging responsable sa pagsasaayos ng inyong mga pagmamay-ari sa pagliligpit ng exhibit.
12.SM Mall of Asia will not provide any storage area for the exhibitors.
Ang SM Mall of Asia ay HINDI mag-uukol ng taguan ng mga gamit para sa mga may-ari ng mga imahen.
13.Image owners may leave stampitas, image profile for the devotees who would be visiting the exhibit.
Ang mga may-ari ng mga imahen ay maaaring mag-iwan ng mga estampita at kahit anong pagkakakilanlan ng inyong patron para sa mga debotong tutungo sa exhibit.
14.Changing of flowers and/or decorations shall be allowed after mall hours only. Please coordinate with the organizing committee the day before your planned set-up. Permits will be issued by SM Mall of Asia thru Radio Veritas. STRICTLY, No permit, no set up.
Ang pagpapalit ng mga bulaklak at/o ibang gayak ay pahihintulutan lamang sa pagsasara ng Mall of Asia. Makipag-ugnayan sa komite isang (1) araw bago ang planong pagpapalit. Ang SM Mall of Asia ay magbibigay ng kaukulang permit sa pamamagitan ng Radyo Veritas. MAHIGPIT na ipatutupad na ang walang permit ay hindi pahihintulutan na mag-gayak.
15.Radio Veritas and SM Mall of Asia will provide ample security for the exhibit every day. A security guard from Mall of Asia will be assigned to watch over the exhibit area 24 hours.
Ang Radyo Veritas at SM Mall of Asia ay magtatalaga ng kaukulang seguridad sa exhibit araw-araw. May guwardiyang itatalaga ang Mall of Asia upang bantayan ang exhibit sa loob ng 24 oras.
16.NO FEES shall be collected by Radio Veritas from image owners. Registration is absolutely free of charge. Other devotees and/or Image owners, private or church-owned are not allowed to conduct any solicitations or place donation boxes in front of their images.
WALANG anumang kaukulang bayarin ang kokolektahin ng Radyo Veritas. Ang pagpapatala ay libre. Ang mga deboto, at/o mga Recamadero, pribado o kinatawan ng Simbahan ay hindi papayagang mangalap ng salapi/bayarin o maglagay ng donation box sa harapan ng mga imahen.
17.Christian virtues are expected from every image owner and other persons accompanying/helping them. Any untoward incident or misbehavior for the entire duration of the event may result to non-participation of the image/ image owner in future exhibits of Radio Veritas.
Ang ugaling maka-Kristiyano ay inaasahan mula sa bawat may-ari ng imahen, at ang kanilang mga kasama/katulong. Anumang hindi inaasahang pangyayari, kaguluhan o di magandang pag-uugali sa buong panahon ng gawain ay maaaring mangahulugan ng hindi pag-sali ng imahen/ may-ari ng imahen sa mga darating na exhibit ng Radyo Veritas.
18.For questions, please contact CHARICE RENEE JOSE, MARC DALMA: 0916-6136507 / 0915-6139558, BABES DAVANTES, NIÑO FIGUERROA.
Para sa mga katanungan, makipag-ugnayan kay CHARICE RENEE JOSE, MARC DALMA: 0916-6136507 / 0915-6139558, BABES DAVANTES, NIÑO FIGUERROA.
I was very lucky to find All Saints open on Saturday, as it was supposed to be closed due to the impending production of a play, The Three Musketeers, that evening. But one of the three leads fell ill with appendicitis so the show was cancelled, and so I found the volunteers taking down the curtain from the Rood Screen, as I guess this was to be part of the stage.
A very warm welcome by the wardens, who was clearly very proud of the church and the work that has already been done recently and shared the plans for further work and maybe a rebuilding of a family chapel might be undertaken, as the digging out of a drainway revealed two graves of the family.
----------------------------------------------
The church presents a late thirteenth century rebuild of a Norman original. In the nineteenth century Ewan Christian had another go, but with a lighter hand than he sometimes used elsewhere. The south aisle battlements lead ones eye to a pretty little spirelet. The Rood Screen is a medieval survivor, dating from the fourteenth century, but it hardly challenges the majestic screens of Leeds or Lullingstone. In the chancel is a memorial brass to Thomas Coppinger (d. 1587) which originally stood in a north chapel, the foundations of which may still be seen outside. Until the mid nineteenth century the vicarage was actually joined onto the church - rare indeed!
www.kentchurches.info/church.asp?p=Allhallows
----------------------------------------------
EASTWARD from St. Mary's lies the parish of Allhallows, so called from the church of it being dedicated to All Saints, vulgarly called Alhallows.
THE PARISH of Alhallows lies both low and unhealthy, having the marshes both on the north and east sides of it, the boundary of the former being the river Thames, and of the latter the water, called the North Inlet, which separates it from the isle of Grain; the soil of it is the same as St. Mary's, last described, but lying lower is more fertile land. The village, with the church in it, stands about a quarter of a mile from the marshes, at the north-east point of the upland, having no thoroughfare through it, excepting towards the marshes, and is altogether a most unfrequented and dreary situation.
The PARAMOUNT MANOR of Hoo claims over this parish, subordinate to which is the MANOR of WINDHILL, which in the time of king Edward I. was part of the possessions of the abbot and convent of Reading, (fn. 1) with whom it remained till its dissolution, in the reign of king Henry VIII. when it was surrendered into the king's hands; (fn. 2) who, in his 32d year, granted it in exchange, to Sir Thomas Wyatt, of Allington, to hold in capite, by the service of the tenth part of one knight's fee; but he, in the 34th year of that reign, conveyed it back again to the king. (fn. 3)
The manor of Windhill remained in the crown till king James I. in the beginning of his reign, granted it to the city of London, whence it was soon afterwards conveyed by sale, by the trustees of that corporation, to Sir William Garway of London, who died possessed of it in 1625, and left by his wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Anderson, seventeen children; of whom Henry, the second, succeeded him in this manor, and was afterwards knighted, and lord mayor in 1640; one of his descendants alienated it, in the reign of king Charles II. to Richard Head, of Rochester, from whom it descended down to Sir Francis Head, bart. of the Hermitage, in Higham, who died possessed of it in 1768. Since which it has descended down in like manner as that seat and his other estates in this neighbourhood, to his heirs, viz. one fourth of it to the daughter of Francis Roper Head, esq. another fourth to James Roper Head, esq. and the remaining moiety to Mrs. Elizabeth Campbell Lill, who are now entitled to the see of it. There is a court baron held for this manor.
ALHALLOWS HOUSE, is an estate here, the house of which is situated adjoining to the church yard, and was formerly a seat of good account, being antiently called Alhallows place, and the Place house. It was once the estate of the eminent family of Pimpe, of Pimpe's-court, in East Farleigh; one of whom, Sir Philip de Pimpe, was one of those proprietors of estates, within this hundred, who in the 11th year of king Edward III. were assessed to furnish out twelve men at arms, and six hobelers, for the defence of the seacoast at Yenlade in Hoo; of which number Sir William de Pimpe was to find two men at arms. His descendant, Thomas Pimpe, senior, died in the 14th year of king Edward IV. and was buried in Alhallows church. He left, as now appears by his will, in the register's office in this diocese, two sons, William and John, and three daughters; one of whom, Margery, was prioress of Malling. Soon after which this estate passed by purchase to the family of Copinger, (fn. 4) of whom Sir William, son of Sir Walter Copinger, of Buxall, in Suffolk, was lord mayor in 1512, in which year he died. They bore for their arms, Or, three bendless gules, surmounted of a fess azure, charged with three plates. His descendant, Ralph Copinger, esq. left two daughters his coheirs; of whom the eldest, Elizabeth, married Sir Harbottle Grimston, eldest son of Edward Grimston, of Bradfield, in Essex, who in her right became possessed of this estate, and was afterwards created a baronet. His second, but eldest surviving son, Sir Harbottle Grimston, bart. succeeded him in this estate, and after the death of king Charles I. was strenuous in his endeavours to promote the Restoration; of which, as well as of his merits, king Charles II. at his return, had a just sense. He was a man of much note, having been elected speaker of the house of commons at the time of the Restoration, and was afterwards made privy counsellor, and master of the Rolls. (fn. 5) He died in 1683, and was succeeded in title and estates by Sir Samuel Grimstone, bart. his only surviving son, by his first wife, Mary, daughter of Sir George Cooke, justice of the common pleas, he alienated this estate soon after his coming to the possession of it; which, at length, after some intermediate owners, was sold in 1713, to Mr. Samuel Fasham, of Deal, from whom it descended to his grand children, Samuel and Edward Roby, of Deal, and Mr. Bethel Dawes, their brother in law; Mr. Edward Roby died in 1775, Mr. Dawes in 1776, and Mr. Samuel Roby in 1777. Mr. Dawes devised his interest in this estate to Mr. Charles Ferne Sawkins for life, remainder to Mr. Sam. and Edward Roby aforesaid; the latter of whom dying before the testator, the see of the reversion of Mr. Dawes's third part, after Mr. Sawkins's death, is become vested, one part in the testators heirs at law, and the other in the children of Mr. Samuel Roby, who died in 1777; the other two thirds of this estate now belong to the children of Mr. Samuel and Mr. Edw. Roby, of Deal, brothers, both deceased, aforesaid.
There is mention in the court rolls of Hoo manor, of the manor of Newhall in this parish.
CHARITIES.
THE CHURCH WARDENS of Alhallows pay a see farm to the crown, for a tenement near the Stocks in Hoo.
ALHALLOWS is within the ECCLESIASTICAL JURISDICTION of the diocese and deanry of Rochester. The church is dedicated to All Saints, commonly called Alhallows.
In the church are the following monuments and inscriptions: In the chancel, a brass for Stephen Cheraton, vicar, obt. 1518. In the north chancel, one for Wm. son of Henry Copinger, obt. 1594, leaving Martha his wife, great with his only child, William Posthumous. His monument was fixed against the north wall, but the chancel becoming ruinous, and the communication to it from the church being stopped up, the monument was destroyed, but the plate, with the inscription, was put up again within the church, as near as could be, in a like position, against the wall; on the monument was a shield, with three bendlets surmounted, of a fess charged with three rundles, within a bordure. On the south wall, a monument, almost defaced, the arms of Copinger, with twelve quarterings, for Tho. Copinger, of Buxall, eldest son of Henry Copinger, esq. and Agnes, daughter of Sir Thomas Germin, put up by William Copinger, esq. his son and heir, by Francis, the only offspring of William Brooke lord Cobham, by Dorothy, daughter of Geo. Neville, lord Abergavenny, in 1587.
This church was antiently esteemed but as a chapel to the church of St. Warburgh of Hoo, as has been before fully recited.
Laurence, bishop of Rochester, in 1252, appropriated the church of St. Warburgh of Hoo, with this chapel of All Saints, to the prior and convent of Rochester, to the use of their almonry, they being the real patrons of it, provided that this church was served by a proper vicar, to be presented to him and his successors, by them and their successors, who should in no wise neglect the cure of souls in it. (fn. 6)
The vicarage of this church had no endowment for many years afterwards; but in 1327, a dispute having arisen between the prior and chapter of Rochester, to whom it was appropriated, and Sir William de Oxford, concerning certain profits and incumbrances belonging to it, they mutually submitted the merits of it to Hamo, bishop of Rochester, their diocesan, who decreed, that all the tithes of sheaves, as well of lands dug with the foot as those cultivated by the plough, as also of wool and hay, whencesoever arising in the parish of this church, should in future belong to the religious, to whom the church was appropriated; and that they should receive the tithes, as above men tioned, for their portion, and that the burthen of procuration to the archdeacon of Rochester, as well as the providing ornaments, vestments, and books, which did not belong to the parishioners to provide, and the amending them, so that it did not exceed the sum of two shillings in any one year, and the building and repairing the chancel of the church, should belong to the religious, who should in future undergo the said burthens; and he decreed, that the tithes of lambs, calves, pigs, geese, pidgeons, mills, fisheries, rushes, herbage, cheese, milk, flax, hemp, and all other small tithes, oblations, and obventions to this church, in any way belonging, or arising, and not above assigned to the religious, and the burthen of repairing and maintaining the buildings and mansion of the vicarage wholly, and of the books, vestments, and ornaments aforesaid, the repairing and maintaining of which books, vestments, and ornaments, so that it did not exceed two shillings in any one year, belonged to the religious to provide; and also the burthen of providing bread and wine, of processional tapers, and other lights belonging to the church, and the rest of the necessaries for divine worship, which did not belong to the parishioners to provide, and were not above specifically noted, should in future belong to the vicar and his successors, and that Sir William, vicar as aforesaid, and his successors in this church, should in future take the said tithes, oblations, and obventions, with which being content, he and they should undergo and acknowledge the before mentioned burthens; but all other burthens, as well ordinary as extraordinary, not specified above, if any should happen, he decreed, should belong to the religious, &c.
In the 31st year of king Edward I. Henry de Grey and Hugh Poinz claimed the presentation to the vicarage of this church, then vacant, against the prior of Rochester, but in consideration of the prior's giving them one hundred shillings, they released all the right and title they had in it, to him and his successors for ever; and on an assize then had, the jurors found, that the advowson was the prior's right, and that he and his convent had possessed it to their own proper use for forty years and upwards. On the dissolution of the priory of Rochester, this church and advowson were, together with the rest of the possessions of it, surrendered in the 32d year of king Henry VIII. into the king's hands, who the next year settled them by his dotation charter on his new erected dean and chapter of Rochester, where they now remain.
The vicarage of this church is a discharged living in the king's books, of the clear yearly certified value of 30l. the yearly tenths being 16s. 9½d.
¶In the survey of the ecclesiastical livings in this diocese, taken in 1650, it was returned, that here was a parsonage, parcel of the possessions of the late dean and chapter; that the scite of the house, yards, barns, &c. contained eleven acres, and were then let at eight pounds yearly, improved rent. The whole was let by Walter Balcanqual, dean, and the chapter of Rochester, anno 10 Charles I. for twenty-one years, to Francis Butler, at the yearly rent of 10l. 13s. 4d. but was worth, over and above that rent, 67l. 6s. 8d. the lessee being bound to maintain the chancel in good repair. That the tenants of it then were, John and Christopher Whyting, and George Elcock, of Croydon; that the vicarage was worth thirty-eight pounds per annum, the incumbent being Mr. Hugh Whyting.
... stays in your memories.
Met up with The Carneys tonight. They had me over to their beautiful new home for dinner. (I can not tell you how nice it is to eat a home cooked meal after so many week of eating out.) The evening was filled with many memorable moments. They are really cool people and I can't wait to come back!
Notice there is plenty of room on the couch for more people :)
Thank you Ron and Nancy for a wonderful night! Thank you Matthew for taking care of the remote for me! Thank you Rachel for letting me cuddle up with a little girl :)
Ron I couldn't play with all the new adjustment tools you taught me as I was getting sleepy ... Look for them coming in future pictures!
A separate and efficient Disaster Management Department should be formed in Delhi
JUDICIAL ENQUIRY SHOULD BE HELD INTO THE INCIDENT OF FIRE IN EUNUCH CONFERENCE AND HIGHER COMPENSATION PROVIDED–VIJENDER GUPTA
New Delhi, 21th November. BJP Delhi Pradesh President Shri Vijender Gupta has termed the incident of tragic death of 12 eunuchs and injury to 50 persons in the incident of fire yesterday in a religious conference of eunuchs which started on the 15th November in Nand Nagri area of Delhi as insensitivity and grave negligence of Delhi administration and has held Delhi Government fully responsible for it. He has demanded time bound enquiry by a retired Judge of High Court into the incident of fire and theft of gold worth crores of rupees besides negligence of the administration. BJP has demanded compensation for the theft of the ornaments of gold of the eunuch.
After visiting the place of incident, GTB hospital and mortuary, Shri Gupta told that followers of all the religion from all over the country were participating in the eunuch religious conference from 15th November to 3rd December. The eunuch society of India has organized this conference for social integrity, religious unity, harmony and goodwill. Delhi administration was aware of the fact that more than 5000 eunuchs and people of all religions will participate in this religious conference yet the administration continued to sleep. They did not try to know whether all the legal and administrative formalities have been completed or not?
The eunuchs told Shri Gupta at the place of incident and at the hospital that gold ornaments worth crores of rupees were stolen. The administration was not serious and injured persons were not sent to the hospital promptly. Due to this the number of deaths increased. Delhi Government has announced compensation of 2 lakhs rupees but it has not been distributed as yet. BJP is of the view that the amount of compensation is insufficient. It should be increased immediately because these eunuchs had come from outside Delhi and they have to return to their home districts. They do not want to run from pillar to post for compensation.
Shri Gupta told that Delhi Government talks about Disaster Management when some incident occurs but it forgets to fulfill its promise. People have not forgotten the incident of building collapse in Lalita Park and now this incident of fire happened in Nand Nagri of trans Yamuna area. He has raised a question to the Chief Minister that why full compensation has not been paid to the family members of the dead and injured persons in the Lalita Park building collapse whereas one year time has elapsed. BJP has demanded at the time of Lalita Park incident that it should form a separate and effective Disaster Management Department. At present this department is working as a unit under revenue department which lacks facilities.
BJP Pradesh President told that the seriously injured persons have been admitted to GTB hospital and LNJP hospital. Since the conditions of these injured persons are serious they should be shifted to burn department of Safdarjung hospital. The injured persons have become handicapped for whole life hence they should be provided financial assistance as handicapped persons. Delhi Government should answer to the people that what steps it is going to take to prevent repetition of such incident in future.
U.S. Marine Lance Cpl. James Grant, right, throws a grappling hook to clear a lane for Marines during a combined arms exercise aboard Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center, Twentynine Palms, Calif., Dec. 8, 2014. Grant is an assaultman with Battalion Landing Team 3rd Battalion, 1st Marine Regiment, 15th Marine Expeditionary Unit. BLT 3/1 conducted this training concurrent with the 15th MEU’s realistic urban training. RUT prepares the 15th MEU’s Marines for their upcoming deployment, enhancing their combat skills in environments similar to those they may find in future missions.
Photo by Sgt. Emmanuel Ramos
We stumbled upon All Saints en route to a different church, and as all those seen thus far on this day had been small and plain, not much was expected. But I saw the tower from along the main street, and looked impressive. and once parked we found it unlocked and welcoming.
Star of the show is the northern chapel, given over to the Culpepper family, with a fabulous tomb in the centre. On the walls, dozens of blank shields show what had been planned to be the family mausoleum for centuries, but things changed, the family moved away and the chapel has just three shields decorated.
------------------------------------------
There was considerable damage caused to this church in an earthquake of 1382. The medieval accounts survive so we know that 48s 2d was spent on the rebuilding. Little can have changed to the structure since that time, except for the construction of a north chapel in 1638. This chapel has a charming pattern of flint flushwork triangles in a horizontal course below the battlements. It contains one of the most interesting seventeenth-century monuments in Kent - to commemorate Lady Elizabeth Culpepper (d. 1638), carved and signed by the Court Sculptor Edward Marshall. The detail is amazing and the cord that connects her ring and wrist is always pointed out to visitors. The rest of the church was restored early in the career of George Gilbert Scott Jr in 1876 (see also Frinsted) and retains its patina of age unimaginable in a restoration by Scott Sr. The pulpit is early seventeenth century and dates from a few years after the much crocketed font cover. There are three signed monuments by Rysbrack and a tall crownpost roof of good construction in the nave.
www.kentchurches.info/church.asp?p=Hollingbourne
------------------------------------------
HOLLINGBORNE.
THE next parish north-westward from Harrietsham is Hollingborne, called in Domesday, Hoilingeborde, and in later records, Holingburnan and Holingeburne. It probably took its name from the spring which rises in the vale underneath the hill, in this parish.
THE PARISH of Hollingborne is situated much the same as that of Harrietsham last described, close to the great ridge of chalk hills, at the foot of which is the village called Hollingborne-street, in which at the south end of it stands the church and vicarage, and near them a well-looking brick mansion, of the time of queen Elizabeth, which by its appearance must have had owners of good condition in former times, but what is remarkable the rector of Hollingborne claims some rooms in this house in right of his rectory at this time. The road through Newnhambottom from Ospringe and Canterbury passes through Hollingborne-street, and thence through Eyhorne, commonly called Iron-street, in this parish, where there are two good houses, one belonging to Robert Salmon, esq. who resides in it, and the other built not many years since by Mr. John Weeks, who died possessed of it in 1785. Hence the road leads on, and joins the Ashford high road through Bersted to Maidstone. The southern part of this parish consists mostly of a deep sand, the whole of it below the hill is well watered by some small streams, which running southward join the Lenham rivulet in its way to Maidstone. Nearer the street the soil becomes a chalk, which continues to the summit of the hill, at the edge of which stands Mr. Duppa's house, whence the remaining part of this parish northward, situated on high ground, and exposed to the cold bleak winds, is but a wild and dreary country, with thick hedgerows, and frequent coppices of wood, mostly of hazel and oak, and small unthriving trees of the latter dispersed among them; the soil a deep tillage land, wet and very poor, being a red cludgy earth, covered with quantities of flint stones. On Eyhorne green, or as it is commonly called Broad-street, in this parish, in October yearly, two constables are chosen, one for the upper, the other for the lower half hundred of Eyhorne, each of which district consists of the twelve adjoining parishes, the borsholders in which, and the several boroughs in them, except such as are chosen at the different court leets, are chosen here likewise.
This parish, with the manor of Elnothington in it, together with the rest of the hundred of Eyhorne, was antiently bound to contribute to the repair of the sixth pier of Rochester bridge.
ÆTHELSTAN ETHELING, son of Ethelred II. gave by his will in 1015, to Christ-church, in Canterbury, his lands at Hollingborne, with their appurtenances, excepting one plough-land, which he had given to Siserth. In the MSS. in Bennet college library, Cambridge, of the evidences of Christ-church, Canterbury, intitled Thorn, printed in Decim. Script. f. 2221, this gift is said to have been made in 980; a very improbable circumstance, the king, his elder brother, at that time being but fourteen years of age.
These lands he had bought of his father, and gave them, with his consent, to Christ-church, L. S. A. that is, free from all secular service, excepting the trinoda necessitas, in like manner as Adisham had been given to it.
The manor of Hollingborne remained part of the possessions of the church of Canterbury at the time of the conquest, when the revenues of it were enjoyed as one common estate by the archbishop and his convent; but archbishop Lanfranc, after the example of foreign churches, separating them, in the partition Hollingborne fell to the share of the monks, and was allotted for their subsistence, (or ad Cibum, as it was usually termed) and it is accordingly thus entered in the book of Domesday, under the general title of Terra Monachorum Archiepi, i. e. the land of the monks of the archbishop.
The archbishop himself holds Hoilingeborde. It was taxed at six sulings. The arable land is twenty-four carucates. In demesne there are two, and sixty-one villeins, with sixteen borderers, having twenty-three carucates. There is a church, twelve servants, and two mills, and eight acres of meadow. Wood for the pannage of forty hogs. In the whole, in the time of king Edward the Confessor, and afterwards, it was worth twenty pounds, and now it is worth thirty pounds. To this manor there adjoins half a suling, which never paid scot, this the bishop of Baieux rents of the archbishop.
At this time, the whole of the above premises seems to have been valued at thirty pounds.
King Henry II. granted to the monks of Christchurch a charter for their lands at Hollingborne upon the Hills. In the 10th year of king Edward II. the prior obtained a charter of free-warren for his manor of Hollingborne, among others; about which time it was, with its appurtenances, valued at 46l. 9s. 8d. King Henry VI. by his letters patent, in his 25th and 26th year, granted to the prior a market, to be held at this place weekly on a Wednesday, and a fair yearly on the feast of St. Anne. (fn. 1)
William Selling, who was elected prior in the next reign of king Edward IV. anno 1472, during the time of his holding that dignity, greatly improved the prior's apartments here. After which, it seems to have undergone no material alteration till the dissolution of the priory, which was surrendered into the hands of king Henry VIII. in the 31st year of his reign.
The manor of Hollingborne did not remain long in the hands of the crown; for the king settled it, by his dotation charter, in his 33d year, on his newerected dean and chapter of Canterbury, part of whose possessions it now remains.
There is a court-leet and court baron regularly held by the dean and chapter for this manor, which extends likewise into the adjoining parishes of Hucking, Bredhurst, and Harrietsham, the quit-rents of it called Beadle-rents, being about forty-two pounds per annum.
¶BUT THE DEMESNE LANDS of this manor have been from time to time leased out by the dean and chapter at a reserved rent of 10l. 9s. The year after the grant of it to them, they demised them by lease to I. Reynolde, as they did anno 19 Elizabeth to William Puresoy, in whose family they remained till the beginning of king James I.'s reign. After which the Fludds held them in lease, and continued so to do, till their interest in them was passed away to W. Alabaster, D. D. After which these premises were held in succession by Bargrave, Boys, Farewell, and Gookin, till the year 1684, when Sir Thomas Culpeper, had a lease of them, in whose family they continued till John Spencer Colepeper, of the Charterhouse, passed away his interest in them to the Hon. Robert Fairfax, who held them in 1758, and then alienated his lease to Francis Child, esq. banker in London, whose brother Robert Child, esq. of London, banker, dying in 1782, the trustees of his will, Robert Dent and John Keysel, esqrs. are now in the possession of his interest in the lease of these demesnes, under the dean and chapter, besides which the dean and chapter have several other lands and woods here leased out by them to different persons.
HOLLINGBORNE is within the ECCLESIASTICAL JURISDICTION of the diocese of Canterbury, and deaury of Sutton; and is exempt from the jurisdiction of the archdeacon.
The church, which is dedicated to All Saints, is a handsome building, consisting of three large isles, with a chancel at the end of the middle one, and a square tower at the west end. The chancel is much enriched with the monuments of the family of Culpeper, of Greenway-court, and for two of the lords Culpeper, one of them by Rysbrack; on the north side is one for Sir Martin Barnham and his two wives, in 1610, their three figures kneeling at a desk, and underneath their children. At the east end of the north isle there is a small neat chapel, raised up several steps to give room for a vault underneath, in which lie the remains of all this branch of the Culpeper family. The sides of the chapel are filled with black escutcheons, and square tablets of black marble alternately, only two of these among the numbers of them are filled up, and those with younger branches of the family settled elsewhere, a proof of the disappointment of the vain endeavours of the builder to transmit the memory of his descendants to posterity. On the middle of the pavement is a beautiful raised monument of white marble, and the figure of a lady, lying at full length, in the habit of the times, of exceeding good sculpture, in memory of Elizabeth, lady of Sir Thomas Culpeper, daughter of John Cheney, esq. of Sussex, obt. 1638. In the isle a monument for Nich. Chaloner, esq. obt. 1706. Against the north wall of the north isle for two of the family of Duppa, and at the lower end of the church, for the Plummers, Collins's and Dykes. In the middle isle a stone, on which have been the figures of a man and woman in brass, but two shields of arms remain, being quarterly, first and fourth, A chevron, engrailed on a chief, three sleurs de lis; second and third, Three fishes, wavy, sessways, in pale.
There is belonging to this church, a most superb altar-cloth, and a pulpit-cloth and cushion, of purple velvet, ornamented with different figures of fruits of pomegranets and grapes, wrought in gold, the needlework of the daughters of Sir John Colepeper, afterwards created lord Colepeper, who employed themselves for almost the space of twelve years in the working of them, during their father's absence abroad with king Charles II.
The communion plate is very handsome, and an swerable to the above-mentioned furniture, being mostly the gift of the family of Colepeper, and some of it of Baldwin Duppa, esq.
John Eweyn, by his will proved in 1527, gave a table of alabaster, to stand upon the altar of St. John the Baptist in this church; and money to the repair of St. John's chapel in it. John Aleff, parson of Hollingborne, as appears by his will in 1537, was buried in the way beside the porch-door, on the right hand, and that there was set in the wall, nigh his grave, a stone with a plate of sculpture, mentioning where and when he was buried. He had before been vicar of Little Chart, and of St. Laurence Wolton, as he was then of St. John's Sherburne, in Hampshire.
The church of Hollingborne, to which the chapels of Hucking and Bredhurst were antiently annexed, is a sinecure rectory, with a vicarage endowed. The rector of Hollingborne is at this time patron of the perpetual curacy of the chapel of Bredhurst. The archbishop is patron both of the rectory and of the vicarage of Hollingborne, the vicar of which is collated to this vicarage, with the chapel of Hucking annexed.
The vicarage was endowed before the year 1407, in which year Arthur Sentleger, the rector, granted to William Maunby, vicar of this church, a messuage, with its appurtenances in this parish, for the habitation of himself and his successors for ever. (fn. 5) In archbishop Chichele's register, at Lambeth, there is an unauthenticated writing of a composition, made about the year 1441, for it is without date, between William Lyeff, then rector here, and John Fsylde, vicar, upon the assignation of a proper portion for the endowment of this vicarage in future times.
The rectory of Hollingborne is valued in the king's books at 28l. 15s. 5d. and the tenths at 2l. 17s. 6 1/7d. The vicarage is valued in them at 7l. 6s. 8d. and the yearly tenths at 14s. 8d. The vicarage in 1640 was valued at eighty-six pounds, and the communicants were then 271. It is now of the yearly certified value of 70l. 16s. 8d.
The vicarage was augmented twenty pounds per annum, by lease between Ralph Staunton, rector, and Sir Thomas Culpeper, of this parish.
¶The name of Culpeper, or Colepeper, is so variously spelt in different deeds and records, that it is impossible to keep with any rule to either spelling; on all the monuments, and in the parish register, (excepting in two instances in the last) it is spelt Culpeper.
Senior Ugandan general meets with U.S. Army Africa leaders; continues cooperative partnership
VICENZA, Italy – When Ugandan Brig. Gen. Silver Kayemba arrived at U.S. Army Africa headquarters on April 27, he was met by familiar faces.
Kayemba, 53, the chief of training and operations for the Ugandan People’s Defense Force, was a key player during Natural Fire 10, a humanitarian assistance and disaster relief exercise co-led by the UPDF and U.S. Army Africa, held in Uganda in Oct. 2009.
“This visit strengthens our relationship with the U.S. Armed Forces, particularly with U.S. Army Africa,” Kayemba said. “We are looking forward to even closer cooperation in the future.”
One of the first people Kayemba met was Maj. Gen. William B. Garrett III, commander of U.S. Army Africa.
“As part of our engagement strategy, U.S. Army Africa invites senior military leaders from partner land forces to see how our command operates,” Garrett said. “We create opportunities to discuss the way forward, as the U.S. Army continues to work with Ugandan land forces to strengthen their capacity to support security missions in Africa.”
U.S. Army Africa leaders briefed Kayemba on the command’s mission, its ongoing partnerships with African land forces to foster securing, stability and peace on the African continent. During his two-day visit, Kayemba also toured Caserma Ederle, stopping first at training simulators used by Soldiers prior to deploying.
In 2006, Kayemba visited several military sites in the United States, to include the Pentagon, National Defense University, and a U.S. Marine Corps base. As a junior officer then, Kayemba also attended the basic transportation officer course in the United States.
During Natural Fire, Kayemba served as exercise deputy director and worked closely with Garrett.
“We’ve been reviewing lessons learned from Natural Fire,” Kayemba said. “We are going to benefit from what I’ve seen here and I look forward to working with U.S. Army Africa in future.”
U.S. Army Photo - Cleared for public release.
Sustainable college housing in Rock Springs, WY
When the 2008/2009 school year kicked off at the Western Wyoming Community College (Western) in Rock Springs, WY this fall, students were greeted by a new state-of-the-art, 28,000-square-foot housing complex that features 48 bedrooms spread throughout four stories. Wind River Hall has everything a college student could ask for, including 12 individual bedrooms, six fully functional kitchens and three spacious living rooms per floor.
Before Wind River Hall was designed, extensive research was conducted at institutions throughout the United States to determine student preferences regarding residence hall room arrangements. “Many students expressed the desire to be social yet also have the opportunity for privacy. Wind River Hall is designed with these wants in mind,” said Jon Schrade, Western’s Director of Housing and Student Activities.
While Wind River Hall meets the need for both social and private spaces through a spacious layout, it is the building’s innovative construction that truly makes it unique. Framed entirely out of structural insulated panels (SIPs) manufactured by Premier Building Systems in Fife, WA, Wind River Hall is the tallest self-supporting SIPs structure ever built.
Consisting of an expanded polystyrene (EPS) insulation core sandwiched between two layers of oriented strand board (OSB), SIPs are a dependable, cost-effective building solution that address four issues on the minds of virtually every school official involved in the construction process – energy efficiency, lifecycle costs and both environmental and indoor air quality.
Energy Efficiency
Buildings account for nearly 30% of all energy consumption in the United States. As oil and gas prices continue to rise, many publicly funded schools are experiencing higher than expected heating and cooling costs that are cutting into their delicate budgets.
SIPs are used in lieu of traditional framing materials such as wood and steel studs. Studies conducted by the Oak Ridge National Laboratory in Oak Ridge, TN, have shown that SIPs can help reduce a building’s annual energy costs by 50% - 60% when compared to more common framing methods.
Because of their energy efficiency, SIPs are also recognized by a number of governmental groups, including the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the Department of Energy (DOE). The ENERGY STAR® program, administered by the EPA, has waived the need for a blower door test on any building constructed with SIPs. DOE officials have also said that the $2,000 Federal Energy Tax Credit is virtually impossible to gain without SIPs.
Lifecycle Costs
While energy savings are the most obvious benefit of using SIPs, this product also provides numerous other opportunities for building owners to improve their return on investment by reducing a building’s lifecycle costs.
SIPs are prefabricated to the exact specifications of a project and delivered to the jobsite ready to install. This results in a more efficient installation and helps eliminate the costly removal of construction waste. SIPs are also easier and more efficient to install than competitive systems, reducing construction time and minimizing labor costs.
In addition to enhanced time and energy savings, SIPs provide more strength and durability than stick- and steel-framed buildings. The increased durability is ideal for college environments, where students often take advantage of their newfound independence by turning campus buildings into their own personal punching bags. With SIPs, colleges get a dependable, long-lasting structure that can withstand constant abuse.
SIPs may also allow for a reduction in the size of a building’s HVAC equipment by up to 40%, which means lower upfront costs for equipment purchases and a reduction in future maintenance costs.
Environmentally Conscious
Colleges are increasingly turning to green building practices as a way to entice new students, reduce their carbon footprints and receive government grants, subsidies and tax incentives.
By utilizing SIPs, buildings can earn up to 23 points within the LEED Green Building Rating System™, the nation’s predominant green building program administered by the United States Green Building Council. SIPs also contribute to the $2,000 Federal Energy Tax Incentive, as well as a number of other tax programs that can help put money back into a university’s budget.
Improved Indoor Air Quality
The EPA lists poor indoor air quality as the fourth-largest environmental threat to our country, a problem that is often overlooked during the construction process. Recent studies indicate that poor indoor air quality can have significant effects on respiratory illnesses as well as the overall health, achievement and productivity of a building’s occupants.
The best way to mitigate the causes of poor indoor air quality is to create an airtight building envelope. The airtight nature of SIPs helps improve indoor air quality and reduce unwanted air transfer by reducing gaps in the building envelope.
An unsealed building envelope allows unwanted infiltration of common pollutants such as radon, molds, pollen, VOC’s, lead dust and asbestos. By using SIPs to protect the indoor environment from these toxins, colleges can improve the health of their student body while providing them with the best possible atmosphere for educational success.
"Now that is what I call a Re-enactment!
Bartimaeus the blind beggar
May the Peace of the Risen Christ be with you! Easter is here.
We had a most successful Re-enactment of Our Lord's Passion. After so many months of preparation, sewing machines running hot updating costumes, actors learning lines, sound systems being upgraded and more, there we stood at 11am on Good Friday with microphone in hand: "Welcome to the 2018 Re-enactment of Our Lord's Passion!" And so it began.
How do we measure "success" in regards to our re-enactment?
On one measure you can use crowd numbers, donations, "Likes" and Shares and that would be appropriate if this was just a normal play. Even on that basis our event would certainly be considered a success with somewhere around 5,000 people participating and lots of great feedback and support.
But how do you measure success for a play that tries to be an authentic re-enactment of the Passion of Jesus Christ based on scripture and tradition of the Church? In this case we were told by the Pauline Fathers that many people came back and they were hearing confessions the whole day.
We saw many people following the play and praying along with us.
Crowning with Thorns
Many came up to us after the play thanking us for such an invigorating presentation of our Lord's Passion. Here are some of the early tales we have been told of the day.
One of the biggest challenges with a moving play is the safety of actors, crew and pilgrims as the play moves from scene to scene. We try many methods such as fixed tape and ropes as well as rope held by our marshalls. Enforcement for keeping the crowd back tends to fall towards the soldiers who, like in a theatre restaurant, instruct the crowd to move back for their own safety. Our photographer, eager to get "the photo", allowed a little old lady to sneak past the barriers so she could touch the cloak of Jesus. As the Centurion swung his arm giving orders to his soldiers, this lady who stood upright under his swing moved forward. "What the?" cried the Centurion and firmly moved her back with instructions. I thought she would be concerned at the firm treatment but she was grinning ear to ear and holding her bag telling her family, "I touched his cloak!"
I touched Jesus' Robes!
Some of our Marshalls volunteered to help on the day. Often these had not experienced the fluid intensity of a moving play like this and even though they were holding on to the rope barrier, found themselves sucked into the crowd. When the Centurion or one of the soldiers noticed their lost marshall and we heard the cry, "Get him out of there!" as they reached in and brought him back into line.
Our marshalls and soldiers request people to stay back for their own safety. When the Roman soldiers and Jewish guards broke out into another scuffle we heard the cry, "They're fighting again!" and the crowd suddenly made space. "Please stand back for your own safety," we once more cried as the procession moved on.
When Jesus was being scourged, the process started with one Roman making a few lashes. Then he gets moved back with the cry, "Let someone do it properly!" The primary flogging Roman soldier let fly with the whip dipped in the fake blood. Drops of blood flew in an arc and the soft straps struck Jesus with a satisfying slap and Jesus cried out. The crowd stopped chattering with an audible gasp.
One of our new actors had not actually attended the play in past years so this was all an amazing experience. When Jesus was being scourged and mocked, tears came to her eyes, but the Woman of Jerusalem in charge held her and said, "Don't cry yet. We have to call for his crucifixion in the next scene." So she held back her tears and like a trooper joined the crowd calling for Jesus' crucifixion. As she said afterwards, it won't be the same contemplating the story of Jesus' Passion in future.
At the start of the play we made sure the actors and crew knew that this was a "Live" play. That meant no retakes, no pause to re-do the scene, no stepping in to try again. "The play must go on!" we instructed. "After all, the pilgrims haven't read the script and the story won't be affected if your lines are not exact. So long as we get the important bits in the right order, no-one will know." That was good advice.
When Pontius Pilate was standing majestically on the balcony addressing the crowd, the sign of Roman Superiority detached from the balcony railing and fell to the ground with a crash. Pontius Pliate's eyes opened wide for a brief moment and then he turned his gaze back to the Crowd and Caiaphas and the Jews and continued as if nothing was wrong. The crew quickly removed the sign and all moved on as if this was part of play. We were told afterwards how clever this was, the falling of the sign representing the fall of Roman Justice. The play must go on.
Although we have a script which covers all the main dialogue and actions, the flavour comes from the interactions and improvised dialogue of the actors. Insults between the Jews and Romans provided occasional humour too. At the crucifixion, one of the Jewish Chief Priests called out "How many Romans does it take to Crucify someone?" Being sick of their taunts a Roman Guard approached them and said, "I have room for one more. Are you ready?" The Chief Priest stepped back behind the Jewish Guards and replied, "I have an appointment tomorrow and can't today."
We will report further tales as they come to light, but I want to end this post-play post with some heartfelt thanks. When organising an event like this where there are months of preparation involving over 100 cast, crew and support organisations, the whole thing only works when people do their part. This year worked so well because everyone did their part, no matter how small that part may have appeared. The actors didn't just remember their lines, but they also worked with their fellow actors and added their own ideas for their character. For example, the actor playing the blind beggar Bartimeus had the idea of having a blindfold and sat in his spot near the start of the play, begging for alms for about 20 minutes before the play reached him. Then he improvised with many calls for alms and requests about what the commotion was. It was a great job which really brought out the character of the blind beggar. It may have only been a bit part, but it formed part of the greater whole.
The same applied for each of the roles, from the primary speaking parts through to the behind the scenes actors of the Women of Jerusalem and Apostles before and after the abandonment of Jesus.
So many people have done their parts and done them well I am very proud to have been able to assist in co-ordinating and directing the play. An event like this generates a great camaraderie and fellowship and fosters a deeper understanding of not just this critical point in salvation history, but also the very human element that is the point of the whole Passion. Every actor and member of the crew and supporters must know that all the work and effort has been worthwhile to so many people.
Thank you.
~David Bruggeman"
Copied from goodfridaypassionplay.blogspot.com.au/
For more information please visit www.paulinefathers.org.au
No need to meditate or imagine, this event will take you to Calvary!
Images by Giovanni Portelli Photography © 2018.
Just a quick shot while waiting at the bus stop. Looking forward to my girlfriend completely colouring her hair a rad red! Gonna be interesting in future shots.
7D + 28mm 1.8
Natural light
FOLLOW ME ON INSTAGRAM! @CHRIIS_WHY
KZN Floods: Listening to Professor Anthony Turton on the news this morning, it seems those rolling greens hills of KwaZulu-Natal that we're so taken with (well, I am) are basically massive, pre-historic sand-dunes covered with vegetation.
The rain has saturated top layers all over the place, which leads to increased viscosity and then those massive mud-slides we see washing away buildings and well, everything - on-masse.
Plus, a great many new developments are being done on reclaimed sugar fields, and there's really nothing to support them when you have a month's worth of rain in one day. It's an awful thing to see - whole buildings, houses, roads, bridges, washed away.
Most of the infrastructure and buildings were designed with the conditions of yesteryear in mind, but climate change and extreme weather will necessitate a dramatic rethink going forward.
And this may be only the tip of the iceberg, as it were. Bloody hell.
I think I interpreted his interview correctly. It was fascinating and scary - extreme weather combined with little or no interest in investing in maintaining even the existing infrastructure, no matter how antiquated, and you have a catastrophe on your hands.
Interview here: m.facebook.com/watch/?v=542960280744278
As Professor Anthony Turton explains: "the simple reality is that between the Umzimkulu in the south and the Umlazi in North, there is a precisely defined geological province. The main feature is a basement consisting of igneous rock originating in volcanic and tectonic events over geological timescales measured in billions of years. That same region is bounded in both the north and south by a tectonic feature associated with rifting and faulting. Oribi Gorge is a feature of those tectonic forces.
Onto that basement we find an unconsolidated overlay of sand and clay. This is rich in iron oxide and is a reddish colour as a result. The overlay is the result of geomorphology measured in a shorter timescale of millions of years, as opposed to the basement feature that is the result of a much older timescale measured in billions of years.
This younger formation is the result of two sculpting forces - wind and water. The area used to be coastal wetland, and as sea levels rose and fell with successive warmer and cooler paleo climates, we find a layering of aeolian formations deposited above hydraulically deposited formations. The aeolian formation is characterised by wind driven dunes that mobilized particles of sand and clay of different fractions. Those sand dunes were characterised by rolling wavelike formations, all along the coastal area. These were consolidated over time by forest and grassland vegetation, which stabilised them.
This is evident where there is no surface striking rock formation and can be seen in the valleys scoured by rivers. Those valleys reveal the underlying geological formation of rock, now manifesting as meanders with relatively steep sides carved out by the action of water in paleo flood events. This means that flooding is what has shaped the region and is an entirely natural ocurrance with a history covering geological timescales.
This is further evidenced by the sedimentary deposition of silt in the ocean, for a considerable distance offshore. We see that process playing out right now as muddy seawater all along the coast, stretching almost to the horizon. That muddy water consists of the fine clay fraction of the eroded soil profile, held in suspension as a colloid and therefore persistent over time, but always associated with a flood event.
This is a simplistic description of a complex reality, but it shows that the geomorphology has been driven mostly by hydraulic and aeolian forces, at least insofar as the consolidated sand dunes are concerned. Tectonic events drove earlier geomorphology, manifest as rifting and faulting, but the more recent drivers have been floods.
Therefore flooding is a characteristic of the geological province, so policy designed to mitigate risk ought to be based on the assumption that future flood events will be a reasonably predictable driver of risk. Stated differently, and in simple form, the following is true of the coastal region between the Umzimkulu and Ulmazi rivers.
1) The absence of surface striking basement geology along the coastal strip renders the region geotechnically unstable and in need of precise building standards that must be strictly enforced.
2) Flooding is a natural occurrence that has shaped the geomorphology of both the land and immediate offshore sub-sea terrain.
3) Climate variability is a natural process, exacerbated by anthropogenic intervention, and is likely to feature an increase in extreme events, at least in our lifetime.
These three factors ought to be built into policy if the human population, and financial investment in the region, is to be protected in future.
Note that this is a gross simplification of a complex reality, rendered in such a way as to make it understandable to policymakers in government, insurance company decision makers, and investors deciding to purchase real estate."
It started with an idea to make few patterns to use in future MOCs, so that all of our floors don't look like chessboard in different colors. One thing led to another (doesn't it always?) and what started as few simple patternes evolved into this symetric monstrosity. Karlo suggested that this should be a floor for the upcoming Gardens of Void MOC, so there is your first glimpse of it. For those of you who don't know about Gardens - belive me when I say, ignorance is bliss :)
Cobi Rietveld, chef de mission de l'ONG d'aide humanitaire Première Urgence Internationale au Soudan du Sud, participe à une réunion avec des membres du comité de santé villageois (« Boma Health Committee») au centre de santé de Majak Kaar, situé dans la région d'Aweil, dans l'Ãtat du Bar el Ghazal Nord, au nord-ouest du Soudan du Sud, le 1er mai 2018. « Le Soudan du Sud est un pays très pauvre. Il n'y a aucun services de santé en dehors de ceux fournis par les ONG. De manière générale, la population est presque entièrement dépendante des ONG et des bailleurs de fonds internationaux, aussi bien pour sa santé que pour se nourrir. En raison de la poursuite des conflits, l'économie est ravagée et la production agricole très diminuée. La région la plus fertile, le sud du pays à la frontière ougandaise, est particulièrement affectée par les conflits. Par conséquent, la plupart des produits agricoles doivent désormais être importés, principalement d'Ouganda, mais aussi du Soudan, ce qui a bien entendu fait augmenter les prix. Comme la population est très pauvre, beaucoup de familles ne peuvent plus subvenir à leurs besoins.
On estime que la moitié des ménages au Soudan du Sud, soit 6 millions de personnes, sont en situation de grave insécurité alimentaire. Première Urgence Internationale a commencé ses activités au Soudan du Sud en avril 2015 avec la gestion d'un unique centre nutritionnel au centre de santé primaire de Majak Kaar. Nous gérons désormais 14 centres nutritionnels dans l'état du Nord Bar el Ghazal, l'un des plus affecté par l'insécurité alimentaire et la malnutrition chronique. Nous y traitons les enfants ainsi que les femmes enceintes ou allaitantes souffrant de malnutrition. Il n'est pas rare de voir des femmes faire plus d'une journée de marche pour se rendre à l'un de nos centre. J'ai désormais acquis la conviction qu'il n'est pas suffisant de traiter les cas de malnutrition ; il faut empêcher les gens de souffrir de la faim. Pour cela, nous avons commencer à mettre en place une approche intégrée ; nos centres nutritionnels effectuent désormais les vaccinations de routines, organisent des séances d'éducation à la santé et l'hygiène, et fournissent des services de santé primaire aux enfants de moins de 5 ans, ainsi qu'aux femmes enceintes et allaitantes. De plus, nous avons commencé à distribuer des semences et du matériel de pèche afin de rendre la population moins dépendante de l''aide humanitaire. à l'avenir, nous souhaitons créer des comités qui pourront produire leurs propres semences. Le challenge, c'est que si la population n'a pas assez à manger, elle consommera les semences au lieu de les planter. Il faut donc en même temps traiter l'urgence et travailler à la réhabilitation, tout en ayant en perspective le développement futur. Pour résumer, je dirais que nous souhaitons mettre en place une approche holistique et travailler au bien-être global de la population : santé, nutrition, sécurité alimentaire, hygiène, eau potable, mais aussi sa capacité à se prendre en charge, son indépendance. Tout cela participe d'un même but : une population en bonne santé ».
/
Cobi Rietveld, head of mission of the humanitarian aid NGO Première Urgence Internationale in South Sudan, is attending a meeting with members of the Boma Health Committee at the health center of Majak Kaar, located in the region of Aweil, in the state of Northern Bar el Ghazal, in northwestern South Sudan,on May 1, 2018.  "South Sudan is a very poor country. There is no health services apart from those provided by NGOs. Generally speaking, the population is almost entirely dependent on NGOs and international donors for both health and food. Because of the continued conflicts, the economy is ravaged and agricultural production is greatly diminished. The most fertile region, the south of the country on the Ugandan border, is particularly affected by conflicts. As a result, most agricultural products now have to be imported, mainly from Uganda, but also from Sudan, which of course has raised prices. As the population is very poor, many families can no longer provide for themselves. It is estimated that 6 million people, half of South Sudan's, are severely food insecure. Première Urgence Internationale began its activities in South Sudan in April 2015 with the management of a one nutrition center in Majak Kaar primary Helath care center. We now manage 14 nutritional centers in the state of North Bar el Ghazal, one of the most affected by food insecurity and chronic malnutrition. We treat children as well as pregnant or breastfeeding women suffering from malnutrition. It is not uncommon for women to walk more than a day to get to one of our centers. I am convinced that it is not enough to treat cases of malnutrition; we must prevent malnutrition. Therefore, we started to put in place an integrated approach; our nutrition centers now carry out routine vaccinations, organize health and hygiene education sessions, and provide primary health services to children under 5, as well as pregnant and lactating women. In addition, we started to distribute seeds and fishing materials, in order to make the population less dependent on NGO food distributions. In future we want to create committees that can produce their own seeds. The challenge is that if people do not have enough to eat, they will consume seeds instead of planting them. So it is necessary to deal with the emergency and to work on the rehabilitation at the same time, while having in perspective the future development. To summarize, I would say that we want to implement a holistic approach and work for the overall well-being of the population: health, nutrition, food security, hygiene, safe drinking water and sanitation, but also assist in empowering the communities to take control over its own health, wellbeing and its independence. All of this contributes to the same goal: A healthy population."
Sustainable college housing in Rock Springs, WY
When the 2008/2009 school year kicked off at the Western Wyoming Community College (Western) in Rock Springs, WY this fall, students were greeted by a new state-of-the-art, 28,000-square-foot housing complex that features 48 bedrooms spread throughout four stories. Wind River Hall has everything a college student could ask for, including 12 individual bedrooms, six fully functional kitchens and three spacious living rooms per floor.
Before Wind River Hall was designed, extensive research was conducted at institutions throughout the United States to determine student preferences regarding residence hall room arrangements. “Many students expressed the desire to be social yet also have the opportunity for privacy. Wind River Hall is designed with these wants in mind,” said Jon Schrade, Western’s Director of Housing and Student Activities.
While Wind River Hall meets the need for both social and private spaces through a spacious layout, it is the building’s innovative construction that truly makes it unique. Framed entirely out of structural insulated panels (SIPs) manufactured by Premier Building Systems in Fife, WA, Wind River Hall is the tallest self-supporting SIPs structure ever built.
Consisting of an expanded polystyrene (EPS) insulation core sandwiched between two layers of oriented strand board (OSB), SIPs are a dependable, cost-effective building solution that address four issues on the minds of virtually every school official involved in the construction process – energy efficiency, lifecycle costs and both environmental and indoor air quality.
Energy Efficiency
Buildings account for nearly 30% of all energy consumption in the United States. As oil and gas prices continue to rise, many publicly funded schools are experiencing higher than expected heating and cooling costs that are cutting into their delicate budgets.
SIPs are used in lieu of traditional framing materials such as wood and steel studs. Studies conducted by the Oak Ridge National Laboratory in Oak Ridge, TN, have shown that SIPs can help reduce a building’s annual energy costs by 50% - 60% when compared to more common framing methods.
Because of their energy efficiency, SIPs are also recognized by a number of governmental groups, including the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the Department of Energy (DOE). The ENERGY STAR® program, administered by the EPA, has waived the need for a blower door test on any building constructed with SIPs. DOE officials have also said that the $2,000 Federal Energy Tax Credit is virtually impossible to gain without SIPs.
Lifecycle Costs
While energy savings are the most obvious benefit of using SIPs, this product also provides numerous other opportunities for building owners to improve their return on investment by reducing a building’s lifecycle costs.
SIPs are prefabricated to the exact specifications of a project and delivered to the jobsite ready to install. This results in a more efficient installation and helps eliminate the costly removal of construction waste. SIPs are also easier and more efficient to install than competitive systems, reducing construction time and minimizing labor costs.
In addition to enhanced time and energy savings, SIPs provide more strength and durability than stick- and steel-framed buildings. The increased durability is ideal for college environments, where students often take advantage of their newfound independence by turning campus buildings into their own personal punching bags. With SIPs, colleges get a dependable, long-lasting structure that can withstand constant abuse.
SIPs may also allow for a reduction in the size of a building’s HVAC equipment by up to 40%, which means lower upfront costs for equipment purchases and a reduction in future maintenance costs.
Environmentally Conscious
Colleges are increasingly turning to green building practices as a way to entice new students, reduce their carbon footprints and receive government grants, subsidies and tax incentives.
By utilizing SIPs, buildings can earn up to 23 points within the LEED Green Building Rating System™, the nation’s predominant green building program administered by the United States Green Building Council. SIPs also contribute to the $2,000 Federal Energy Tax Incentive, as well as a number of other tax programs that can help put money back into a university’s budget.
Improved Indoor Air Quality
The EPA lists poor indoor air quality as the fourth-largest environmental threat to our country, a problem that is often overlooked during the construction process. Recent studies indicate that poor indoor air quality can have significant effects on respiratory illnesses as well as the overall health, achievement and productivity of a building’s occupants.
The best way to mitigate the causes of poor indoor air quality is to create an airtight building envelope. The airtight nature of SIPs helps improve indoor air quality and reduce unwanted air transfer by reducing gaps in the building envelope.
An unsealed building envelope allows unwanted infiltration of common pollutants such as radon, molds, pollen, VOC’s, lead dust and asbestos. By using SIPs to protect the indoor environment from these toxins, colleges can improve the health of their student body while providing them with the best possible atmosphere for educational success.
After getting the bus to Longbridge, I then got the train to the city centre, to check out the new concourse at Birmingham New Street Station.
Signs from New Street Station to the Pallasades.
Assume Pallasades signs will be renamed Grand Central in future.
This way to New Street Station.
I was very lucky to find All Saints open on Saturday, as it was supposed to be closed due to the impending production of a play, The Three Musketeers, that evening. But one of the three leads fell ill with appendicitis so the show was cancelled, and so I found the volunteers taking down the curtain from the Rood Screen, as I guess this was to be part of the stage.
A very warm welcome by the wardens, who was clearly very proud of the church and the work that has already been done recently and shared the plans for further work and maybe a rebuilding of a family chapel might be undertaken, as the digging out of a drainway revealed two graves of the family.
----------------------------------------------
The church presents a late thirteenth century rebuild of a Norman original. In the nineteenth century Ewan Christian had another go, but with a lighter hand than he sometimes used elsewhere. The south aisle battlements lead ones eye to a pretty little spirelet. The Rood Screen is a medieval survivor, dating from the fourteenth century, but it hardly challenges the majestic screens of Leeds or Lullingstone. In the chancel is a memorial brass to Thomas Coppinger (d. 1587) which originally stood in a north chapel, the foundations of which may still be seen outside. Until the mid nineteenth century the vicarage was actually joined onto the church - rare indeed!
www.kentchurches.info/church.asp?p=Allhallows
----------------------------------------------
EASTWARD from St. Mary's lies the parish of Allhallows, so called from the church of it being dedicated to All Saints, vulgarly called Alhallows.
THE PARISH of Alhallows lies both low and unhealthy, having the marshes both on the north and east sides of it, the boundary of the former being the river Thames, and of the latter the water, called the North Inlet, which separates it from the isle of Grain; the soil of it is the same as St. Mary's, last described, but lying lower is more fertile land. The village, with the church in it, stands about a quarter of a mile from the marshes, at the north-east point of the upland, having no thoroughfare through it, excepting towards the marshes, and is altogether a most unfrequented and dreary situation.
The PARAMOUNT MANOR of Hoo claims over this parish, subordinate to which is the MANOR of WINDHILL, which in the time of king Edward I. was part of the possessions of the abbot and convent of Reading, (fn. 1) with whom it remained till its dissolution, in the reign of king Henry VIII. when it was surrendered into the king's hands; (fn. 2) who, in his 32d year, granted it in exchange, to Sir Thomas Wyatt, of Allington, to hold in capite, by the service of the tenth part of one knight's fee; but he, in the 34th year of that reign, conveyed it back again to the king. (fn. 3)
The manor of Windhill remained in the crown till king James I. in the beginning of his reign, granted it to the city of London, whence it was soon afterwards conveyed by sale, by the trustees of that corporation, to Sir William Garway of London, who died possessed of it in 1625, and left by his wife, Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Anderson, seventeen children; of whom Henry, the second, succeeded him in this manor, and was afterwards knighted, and lord mayor in 1640; one of his descendants alienated it, in the reign of king Charles II. to Richard Head, of Rochester, from whom it descended down to Sir Francis Head, bart. of the Hermitage, in Higham, who died possessed of it in 1768. Since which it has descended down in like manner as that seat and his other estates in this neighbourhood, to his heirs, viz. one fourth of it to the daughter of Francis Roper Head, esq. another fourth to James Roper Head, esq. and the remaining moiety to Mrs. Elizabeth Campbell Lill, who are now entitled to the see of it. There is a court baron held for this manor.
ALHALLOWS HOUSE, is an estate here, the house of which is situated adjoining to the church yard, and was formerly a seat of good account, being antiently called Alhallows place, and the Place house. It was once the estate of the eminent family of Pimpe, of Pimpe's-court, in East Farleigh; one of whom, Sir Philip de Pimpe, was one of those proprietors of estates, within this hundred, who in the 11th year of king Edward III. were assessed to furnish out twelve men at arms, and six hobelers, for the defence of the seacoast at Yenlade in Hoo; of which number Sir William de Pimpe was to find two men at arms. His descendant, Thomas Pimpe, senior, died in the 14th year of king Edward IV. and was buried in Alhallows church. He left, as now appears by his will, in the register's office in this diocese, two sons, William and John, and three daughters; one of whom, Margery, was prioress of Malling. Soon after which this estate passed by purchase to the family of Copinger, (fn. 4) of whom Sir William, son of Sir Walter Copinger, of Buxall, in Suffolk, was lord mayor in 1512, in which year he died. They bore for their arms, Or, three bendless gules, surmounted of a fess azure, charged with three plates. His descendant, Ralph Copinger, esq. left two daughters his coheirs; of whom the eldest, Elizabeth, married Sir Harbottle Grimston, eldest son of Edward Grimston, of Bradfield, in Essex, who in her right became possessed of this estate, and was afterwards created a baronet. His second, but eldest surviving son, Sir Harbottle Grimston, bart. succeeded him in this estate, and after the death of king Charles I. was strenuous in his endeavours to promote the Restoration; of which, as well as of his merits, king Charles II. at his return, had a just sense. He was a man of much note, having been elected speaker of the house of commons at the time of the Restoration, and was afterwards made privy counsellor, and master of the Rolls. (fn. 5) He died in 1683, and was succeeded in title and estates by Sir Samuel Grimstone, bart. his only surviving son, by his first wife, Mary, daughter of Sir George Cooke, justice of the common pleas, he alienated this estate soon after his coming to the possession of it; which, at length, after some intermediate owners, was sold in 1713, to Mr. Samuel Fasham, of Deal, from whom it descended to his grand children, Samuel and Edward Roby, of Deal, and Mr. Bethel Dawes, their brother in law; Mr. Edward Roby died in 1775, Mr. Dawes in 1776, and Mr. Samuel Roby in 1777. Mr. Dawes devised his interest in this estate to Mr. Charles Ferne Sawkins for life, remainder to Mr. Sam. and Edward Roby aforesaid; the latter of whom dying before the testator, the see of the reversion of Mr. Dawes's third part, after Mr. Sawkins's death, is become vested, one part in the testators heirs at law, and the other in the children of Mr. Samuel Roby, who died in 1777; the other two thirds of this estate now belong to the children of Mr. Samuel and Mr. Edw. Roby, of Deal, brothers, both deceased, aforesaid.
There is mention in the court rolls of Hoo manor, of the manor of Newhall in this parish.
CHARITIES.
THE CHURCH WARDENS of Alhallows pay a see farm to the crown, for a tenement near the Stocks in Hoo.
ALHALLOWS is within the ECCLESIASTICAL JURISDICTION of the diocese and deanry of Rochester. The church is dedicated to All Saints, commonly called Alhallows.
In the church are the following monuments and inscriptions: In the chancel, a brass for Stephen Cheraton, vicar, obt. 1518. In the north chancel, one for Wm. son of Henry Copinger, obt. 1594, leaving Martha his wife, great with his only child, William Posthumous. His monument was fixed against the north wall, but the chancel becoming ruinous, and the communication to it from the church being stopped up, the monument was destroyed, but the plate, with the inscription, was put up again within the church, as near as could be, in a like position, against the wall; on the monument was a shield, with three bendlets surmounted, of a fess charged with three rundles, within a bordure. On the south wall, a monument, almost defaced, the arms of Copinger, with twelve quarterings, for Tho. Copinger, of Buxall, eldest son of Henry Copinger, esq. and Agnes, daughter of Sir Thomas Germin, put up by William Copinger, esq. his son and heir, by Francis, the only offspring of William Brooke lord Cobham, by Dorothy, daughter of Geo. Neville, lord Abergavenny, in 1587.
This church was antiently esteemed but as a chapel to the church of St. Warburgh of Hoo, as has been before fully recited.
Laurence, bishop of Rochester, in 1252, appropriated the church of St. Warburgh of Hoo, with this chapel of All Saints, to the prior and convent of Rochester, to the use of their almonry, they being the real patrons of it, provided that this church was served by a proper vicar, to be presented to him and his successors, by them and their successors, who should in no wise neglect the cure of souls in it. (fn. 6)
The vicarage of this church had no endowment for many years afterwards; but in 1327, a dispute having arisen between the prior and chapter of Rochester, to whom it was appropriated, and Sir William de Oxford, concerning certain profits and incumbrances belonging to it, they mutually submitted the merits of it to Hamo, bishop of Rochester, their diocesan, who decreed, that all the tithes of sheaves, as well of lands dug with the foot as those cultivated by the plough, as also of wool and hay, whencesoever arising in the parish of this church, should in future belong to the religious, to whom the church was appropriated; and that they should receive the tithes, as above men tioned, for their portion, and that the burthen of procuration to the archdeacon of Rochester, as well as the providing ornaments, vestments, and books, which did not belong to the parishioners to provide, and the amending them, so that it did not exceed the sum of two shillings in any one year, and the building and repairing the chancel of the church, should belong to the religious, who should in future undergo the said burthens; and he decreed, that the tithes of lambs, calves, pigs, geese, pidgeons, mills, fisheries, rushes, herbage, cheese, milk, flax, hemp, and all other small tithes, oblations, and obventions to this church, in any way belonging, or arising, and not above assigned to the religious, and the burthen of repairing and maintaining the buildings and mansion of the vicarage wholly, and of the books, vestments, and ornaments aforesaid, the repairing and maintaining of which books, vestments, and ornaments, so that it did not exceed two shillings in any one year, belonged to the religious to provide; and also the burthen of providing bread and wine, of processional tapers, and other lights belonging to the church, and the rest of the necessaries for divine worship, which did not belong to the parishioners to provide, and were not above specifically noted, should in future belong to the vicar and his successors, and that Sir William, vicar as aforesaid, and his successors in this church, should in future take the said tithes, oblations, and obventions, with which being content, he and they should undergo and acknowledge the before mentioned burthens; but all other burthens, as well ordinary as extraordinary, not specified above, if any should happen, he decreed, should belong to the religious, &c.
In the 31st year of king Edward I. Henry de Grey and Hugh Poinz claimed the presentation to the vicarage of this church, then vacant, against the prior of Rochester, but in consideration of the prior's giving them one hundred shillings, they released all the right and title they had in it, to him and his successors for ever; and on an assize then had, the jurors found, that the advowson was the prior's right, and that he and his convent had possessed it to their own proper use for forty years and upwards. On the dissolution of the priory of Rochester, this church and advowson were, together with the rest of the possessions of it, surrendered in the 32d year of king Henry VIII. into the king's hands, who the next year settled them by his dotation charter on his new erected dean and chapter of Rochester, where they now remain.
The vicarage of this church is a discharged living in the king's books, of the clear yearly certified value of 30l. the yearly tenths being 16s. 9½d.
¶In the survey of the ecclesiastical livings in this diocese, taken in 1650, it was returned, that here was a parsonage, parcel of the possessions of the late dean and chapter; that the scite of the house, yards, barns, &c. contained eleven acres, and were then let at eight pounds yearly, improved rent. The whole was let by Walter Balcanqual, dean, and the chapter of Rochester, anno 10 Charles I. for twenty-one years, to Francis Butler, at the yearly rent of 10l. 13s. 4d. but was worth, over and above that rent, 67l. 6s. 8d. the lessee being bound to maintain the chancel in good repair. That the tenants of it then were, John and Christopher Whyting, and George Elcock, of Croydon; that the vicarage was worth thirty-eight pounds per annum, the incumbent being Mr. Hugh Whyting.
When Saga announced a new holiday to Maritime Canada which included a visit to Prince Edward Island in its itinerary, I booked it immediately in case it sold out quickly and/or might not be repeated in future years. One of Sylvia's literary heroes is Anne of Green Gables; fictional Anne and real-life wife Sylvia are both spirited redheads. Booking was 'a no brainer', to use the modern phrase.
We stayed two nights in Halifax, Nova Scotia. In the afternoon of the full day there we had a walk round the town. By chance, we came upon this ex-British Bristol VR parked at the roadside.
I think it had brought a party to the building seen in the background. The sign on the pavement gives no help - it is advertising an event taking place two days later.
The bus is ex-UK XHK232X. New as Eastern National 3127, it is a very late example of the Bristol VRT, its chassis number being only fifteen from the end of the type's production.
Man this camera sure shows up any flaws in a lens ,the edges and sides are quite soft in this scene , think i will stick to my 24-70 in future and leave the 28-135 for the 400D where it peforms quite well.
So now to the subject of the photo
Looking like something from a horror movie set.
Found this tiny island just a few metres from the shore on lake Rotorua. The nestng place for so many birds that now not much will grow due to the large amount of bird droppings deposited over the years
The Land Pavilion.
Living with the Land is a 14-minute boat ride in Future World at Epcot theme park that explores agricultural advances in the rain forest, Africa and beyond.
Set sail on a voyage of discovery through living laboratories as you cruise past the American plains, a tropical rain forest and the African desert to witness the latest developments in aquaculture and desert farming. Float by experimental greenhouses—where produce is grown for Epcot restaurants—and take a fascinating first-hand look at an aqua environment, the Aquacell, with alligators and fish. The greenhouses grow crops native to many cultures, including rice, sugar cane and bananas.
This thought-provoking ride will leave you amazed at the wondrous ways scientists are helping farmers prepare for the food needs of our world's nations.
disneyworld.disney.go.com/parks/epcot/attractions/living-...
Makeup can be a woman’s best friend or her worst enemy. When you’ve seen this funny makeup fails you’ll also be able to conclude that it’s the latter, without a doubt, makeup is their worst enemy. If you really don’t know how to apply makeup to your face and want to make your face look as natural as possible, then it might be interesting to consult professional assistance or take a makeover course yourself, so that in future you don’t make yourself look like an idiot by turning your face into a coloring book. Most women use makeup to hide wrinkles, and use it to give their face a younger look. But with these girls, makeup has turned them into real monsters!
The post Awfully Funny Makeup Fails appeared first on Daily LOL Pics.
via Daily LOL Pics ift.tt/2JGppxy
Bogazi (Greek: Μπογάζι, Turkish: Boğaz) is a village in Cyprus, located 7 km northeast of Trikomo in the Karpaz Peninsula. It is under the de facto control of Northern Cyprus.
Northern Cyprus, officially the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC), is a de facto state that comprises the northeastern portion of the island of Cyprus. It is recognised only by Turkey, and its territory is considered by all other states to be part of the Republic of Cyprus.
Northern Cyprus extends from the tip of the Karpass Peninsula in the northeast to Morphou Bay, Cape Kormakitis and its westernmost point, the Kokkina exclave in the west. Its southernmost point is the village of Louroujina. A buffer zone under the control of the United Nations stretches between Northern Cyprus and the rest of the island and divides Nicosia, the island's largest city and capital of both sides.
A coup d'état in 1974, performed as part of an attempt to annex the island to Greece, prompted the Turkish invasion of Cyprus. This resulted in the eviction of much of the north's Greek Cypriot population, the flight of Turkish Cypriots from the south, and the partitioning of the island, leading to a unilateral declaration of independence by the north in 1983. Due to its lack of recognition, Northern Cyprus is heavily dependent on Turkey for economic, political and military support.
Attempts to reach a solution to the Cyprus dispute have been unsuccessful. The Turkish Army maintains a large force in Northern Cyprus with the support and approval of the TRNC government, while the Republic of Cyprus, the European Union as a whole, and the international community regard it as an occupation force. This military presence has been denounced in several United Nations Security Council resolutions.
Northern Cyprus is a semi-presidential, democratic republic with a cultural heritage incorporating various influences and an economy that is dominated by the services sector. The economy has seen growth through the 2000s and 2010s, with the GNP per capita more than tripling in the 2000s, but is held back by an international embargo due to the official closure of the ports in Northern Cyprus by the Republic of Cyprus. The official language is Turkish, with a distinct local dialect being spoken. The vast majority of the population consists of Sunni Muslims, while religious attitudes are mostly moderate and secular. Northern Cyprus is an observer state of ECO and OIC under the name "Turkish Cypriot State", PACE under the name "Turkish Cypriot Community", and Organization of Turkic States with its own name.
Several distinct periods of Cypriot intercommunal violence involving the two main ethnic communities, Greek Cypriots and Turkish Cypriots, marked mid-20th century Cyprus. These included the Cyprus Emergency of 1955–59 during British rule, the post-independence Cyprus crisis of 1963–64, and the Cyprus crisis of 1967. Hostilities culminated in the 1974 de facto division of the island along the Green Line following the Turkish invasion of Cyprus. The region has been relatively peaceful since then, but the Cyprus dispute has continued, with various attempts to solve it diplomatically having been generally unsuccessful.
Cyprus, an island lying in the eastern Mediterranean, hosted a population of Greeks and Turks (four-fifths and one-fifth, respectively), who lived under British rule in the late nineteenth-century and the first half of the twentieth-century. Christian Orthodox Church of Cyprus played a prominent political role among the Greek Cypriot community, a privilege that it acquired during the Ottoman Empire with the employment of the millet system, which gave the archbishop an unofficial ethnarch status.
The repeated rejections by the British of Greek Cypriot demands for enosis, union with Greece, led to armed resistance, organised by the National Organization of Cypriot Struggle, or EOKA. EOKA, led by the Greek-Cypriot commander George Grivas, systematically targeted British colonial authorities. One of the effects of EOKA's campaign was to alter the Turkish position from demanding full reincorporation into Turkey to a demand for taksim (partition). EOKA's mission and activities caused a "Cretan syndrome" (see Turkish Resistance Organisation) within the Turkish Cypriot community, as its members feared that they would be forced to leave the island in such a case as had been the case with Cretan Turks. As such, they preferred the continuation of British colonial rule and then taksim, the division of the island. Due to the Turkish Cypriots' support for the British, EOKA's leader, Georgios Grivas, declared them to be enemies. The fact that the Turks were a minority was, according to Nihat Erim, to be addressed by the transfer of thousands of Turks from mainland Turkey so that Greek Cypriots would cease to be the majority. When Erim visited Cyprus as the Turkish representative, he was advised by Field Marshal Sir John Harding, the then Governor of Cyprus, that Turkey should send educated Turks to settle in Cyprus.
Turkey actively promoted the idea that on the island of Cyprus two distinctive communities existed, and sidestepped its former claim that "the people of Cyprus were all Turkish subjects". In doing so, Turkey's aim to have self-determination of two to-be equal communities in effect led to de jure partition of the island.[citation needed] This could be justified to the international community against the will of the majority Greek population of the island. Dr. Fazil Küçük in 1954 had already proposed Cyprus be divided in two at the 35° parallel.
Lindley Dan, from Notre Dame University, spotted the roots of intercommunal violence to different visions among the two communities of Cyprus (enosis for Greek Cypriots, taksim for Turkish Cypriots). Also, Lindlay wrote that "the merging of church, schools/education, and politics in divisive and nationalistic ways" had played a crucial role in creation of havoc in Cyprus' history. Attalides Michael also pointed to the opposing nationalisms as the cause of the Cyprus problem.
By the mid-1950's, the "Cyprus is Turkish" party, movement, and slogan gained force in both Cyprus and Turkey. In a 1954 editorial, Turkish Cypriot leader Dr. Fazil Kuchuk expressed the sentiment that the Turkish youth had grown up with the idea that "as soon as Great Britain leaves the island, it will be taken over by the Turks", and that "Turkey cannot tolerate otherwise". This perspective contributed to the willingness of Turkish Cypriots to align themselves with the British, who started recruiting Turkish Cypriots into the police force that patrolled Cyprus to fight EOKA, a Greek Cypriot nationalist organisation that sought to rid the island of British rule.
EOKA targeted colonial authorities, including police, but Georgios Grivas, the leader of EOKA, did not initially wish to open up a new front by fighting Turkish Cypriots and reassured them that EOKA would not harm their people. In 1956, some Turkish Cypriot policemen were killed by EOKA members and this provoked some intercommunal violence in the spring and summer, but these attacks on policemen were not motivated by the fact that they were Turkish Cypriots.
However, in January 1957, Grivas changed his policy as his forces in the mountains became increasingly pressured by the British Crown forces. In order to divert the attention of the Crown forces, EOKA members started to target Turkish Cypriot policemen intentionally in the towns, so that Turkish Cypriots would riot against the Greek Cypriots and the security forces would have to be diverted to the towns to restore order. The killing of a Turkish Cypriot policeman on 19 January, when a power station was bombed, and the injury of three others, provoked three days of intercommunal violence in Nicosia. The two communities targeted each other in reprisals, at least one Greek Cypriot was killed and the British Army was deployed in the streets. Greek Cypriot stores were burned and their neighbourhoods attacked. Following the events, the Greek Cypriot leadership spread the propaganda that the riots had merely been an act of Turkish Cypriot aggression. Such events created chaos and drove the communities apart both in Cyprus and in Turkey.
On 22 October 1957 Sir Hugh Mackintosh Foot replaced Sir John Harding as the British Governor of Cyprus. Foot suggested five to seven years of self-government before any final decision. His plan rejected both enosis and taksim. The Turkish Cypriot response to this plan was a series of anti-British demonstrations in Nicosia on 27 and 28 January 1958 rejecting the proposed plan because the plan did not include partition. The British then withdrew the plan.
In 1957, Black Gang, a Turkish Cypriot pro-taksim paramilitary organisation, was formed to patrol a Turkish Cypriot enclave, the Tahtakale district of Nicosia, against activities of EOKA. The organisation later attempted to grow into a national scale, but failed to gain public support.
By 1958, signs of dissatisfaction with the British increased on both sides, with a group of Turkish Cypriots forming Volkan (later renamed to the Turkish Resistance Organisation) paramilitary group to promote partition and the annexation of Cyprus to Turkey as dictated by the Menderes plan. Volkan initially consisted of roughly 100 members, with the stated aim of raising awareness in Turkey of the Cyprus issue and courting military training and support for Turkish Cypriot fighters from the Turkish government.
In June 1958, the British Prime Minister, Harold Macmillan, was expected to propose a plan to resolve the Cyprus issue. In light of the new development, the Turks rioted in Nicosia to promote the idea that Greek and Turkish Cypriots could not live together and therefore any plan that did not include partition would not be viable. This violence was soon followed by bombing, Greek Cypriot deaths and looting of Greek Cypriot-owned shops and houses. Greek and Turkish Cypriots started to flee mixed population villages where they were a minority in search of safety. This was effectively the beginning of the segregation of the two communities. On 7 June 1958, a bomb exploded at the entrance of the Turkish Embassy in Cyprus. Following the bombing, Turkish Cypriots looted Greek Cypriot properties. On 26 June 1984, the Turkish Cypriot leader, Rauf Denktaş, admitted on British channel ITV that the bomb was placed by the Turks themselves in order to create tension. On 9 January 1995, Rauf Denktaş repeated his claim to the famous Turkish newspaper Milliyet in Turkey.
The crisis reached a climax on 12 June 1958, when eight Greeks, out of an armed group of thirty five arrested by soldiers of the Royal Horse Guards on suspicion of preparing an attack on the Turkish quarter of Skylloura, were killed in a suspected attack by Turkish Cypriot locals, near the village of Geunyeli, having been ordered to walk back to their village of Kondemenos.
After the EOKA campaign had begun, the British government successfully began to turn the Cyprus issue from a British colonial problem into a Greek-Turkish issue. British diplomacy exerted backstage influence on the Adnan Menderes government, with the aim of making Turkey active in Cyprus. For the British, the attempt had a twofold objective. The EOKA campaign would be silenced as quickly as possible, and Turkish Cypriots would not side with Greek Cypriots against the British colonial claims over the island, which would thus remain under the British. The Turkish Cypriot leadership visited Menderes to discuss the Cyprus issue. When asked how the Turkish Cypriots should respond to the Greek Cypriot claim of enosis, Menderes replied: "You should go to the British foreign minister and request the status quo be prolonged, Cyprus to remain as a British colony". When the Turkish Cypriots visited the British Foreign Secretary and requested for Cyprus to remain a colony, he replied: "You should not be asking for colonialism at this day and age, you should be asking for Cyprus be returned to Turkey, its former owner".
As Turkish Cypriots began to look to Turkey for protection, Greek Cypriots soon understood that enosis was extremely unlikely. The Greek Cypriot leader, Archbishop Makarios III, now set independence for the island as his objective.
Britain resolved to solve the dispute by creating an independent Cyprus. In 1959, all involved parties signed the Zurich Agreements: Britain, Turkey, Greece, and the Greek and Turkish Cypriot leaders, Makarios and Dr. Fazil Kucuk, respectively. The new constitution drew heavily on the ethnic composition of the island. The President would be a Greek Cypriot, and the Vice-President a Turkish Cypriot with an equal veto. The contribution to the public service would be set at a ratio of 70:30, and the Supreme Court would consist of an equal number of judges from both communities as well as an independent judge who was not Greek, Turkish or British. The Zurich Agreements were supplemented by a number of treaties. The Treaty of Guarantee stated that secession or union with any state was forbidden, and that Greece, Turkey and Britain would be given guarantor status to intervene if that was violated. The Treaty of Alliance allowed for two small Greek and Turkish military contingents to be stationed on the island, and the Treaty of Establishment gave Britain sovereignty over two bases in Akrotiri and Dhekelia.
On 15 August 1960, the Colony of Cyprus became fully independent as the Republic of Cyprus. The new republic remained within the Commonwealth of Nations.
The new constitution brought dissatisfaction to Greek Cypriots, who felt it to be highly unjust for them for historical, demographic and contributional reasons. Although 80% of the island's population were Greek Cypriots and these indigenous people had lived on the island for thousands of years and paid 94% of taxes, the new constitution was giving the 17% of the population that was Turkish Cypriots, who paid 6% of taxes, around 30% of government jobs and 40% of national security jobs.
Within three years tensions between the two communities in administrative affairs began to show. In particular disputes over separate municipalities and taxation created a deadlock in government. A constitutional court ruled in 1963 Makarios had failed to uphold article 173 of the constitution which called for the establishment of separate municipalities for Turkish Cypriots. Makarios subsequently declared his intention to ignore the judgement, resulting in the West German judge resigning from his position. Makarios proposed thirteen amendments to the constitution, which would have had the effect of resolving most of the issues in the Greek Cypriot favour. Under the proposals, the President and Vice-President would lose their veto, the separate municipalities as sought after by the Turkish Cypriots would be abandoned, the need for separate majorities by both communities in passing legislation would be discarded and the civil service contribution would be set at actual population ratios (82:18) instead of the slightly higher figure for Turkish Cypriots.
The intention behind the amendments has long been called into question. The Akritas plan, written in the height of the constitutional dispute by the Greek Cypriot interior minister Polycarpos Georkadjis, called for the removal of undesirable elements of the constitution so as to allow power-sharing to work. The plan envisaged a swift retaliatory attack on Turkish Cypriot strongholds should Turkish Cypriots resort to violence to resist the measures, stating "In the event of a planned or staged Turkish attack, it is imperative to overcome it by force in the shortest possible time, because if we succeed in gaining command of the situation (in one or two days), no outside, intervention would be either justified or possible." Whether Makarios's proposals were part of the Akritas plan is unclear, however it remains that sentiment towards enosis had not completely disappeared with independence. Makarios described independence as "a step on the road to enosis".[31] Preparations for conflict were not entirely absent from Turkish Cypriots either, with right wing elements still believing taksim (partition) the best safeguard against enosis.
Greek Cypriots however believe the amendments were a necessity stemming from a perceived attempt by Turkish Cypriots to frustrate the working of government. Turkish Cypriots saw it as a means to reduce their status within the state from one of co-founder to that of minority, seeing it as a first step towards enosis. The security situation deteriorated rapidly.
Main articles: Bloody Christmas (1963) and Battle of Tillyria
An armed conflict was triggered after December 21, 1963, a period remembered by Turkish Cypriots as Bloody Christmas, when a Greek Cypriot policemen that had been called to help deal with a taxi driver refusing officers already on the scene access to check the identification documents of his customers, took out his gun upon arrival and shot and killed the taxi driver and his partner. Eric Solsten summarised the events as follows: "a Greek Cypriot police patrol, ostensibly checking identification documents, stopped a Turkish Cypriot couple on the edge of the Turkish quarter. A hostile crowd gathered, shots were fired, and two Turkish Cypriots were killed."
In the morning after the shooting, crowds gathered in protest in Northern Nicosia, likely encouraged by the TMT, without incident. On the evening of the 22nd, gunfire broke out, communication lines to the Turkish neighbourhoods were cut, and the Greek Cypriot police occupied the nearby airport. On the 23rd, a ceasefire was negotiated, but did not hold. Fighting, including automatic weapons fire, between Greek and Turkish Cypriots and militias increased in Nicosia and Larnaca. A force of Greek Cypriot irregulars led by Nikos Sampson entered the Nicosia suburb of Omorphita and engaged in heavy firing on armed, as well as by some accounts unarmed, Turkish Cypriots. The Omorphita clash has been described by Turkish Cypriots as a massacre, while this view has generally not been acknowledged by Greek Cypriots.
Further ceasefires were arranged between the two sides, but also failed. By Christmas Eve, the 24th, Britain, Greece, and Turkey had joined talks, with all sides calling for a truce. On Christmas day, Turkish fighter jets overflew Nicosia in a show of support. Finally it was agreed to allow a force of 2,700 British soldiers to help enforce a ceasefire. In the next days, a "buffer zone" was created in Nicosia, and a British officer marked a line on a map with green ink, separating the two sides of the city, which was the beginning of the "Green Line". Fighting continued across the island for the next several weeks.
In total 364 Turkish Cypriots and 174 Greek Cypriots were killed during the violence. 25,000 Turkish Cypriots from 103-109 villages fled and were displaced into enclaves and thousands of Turkish Cypriot houses were ransacked or completely destroyed.
Contemporary newspapers also reported on the forceful exodus of the Turkish Cypriots from their homes. According to The Times in 1964, threats, shootings and attempts of arson were committed against the Turkish Cypriots to force them out of their homes. The Daily Express wrote that "25,000 Turks have already been forced to leave their homes". The Guardian reported a massacre of Turks at Limassol on 16 February 1964.
Turkey had by now readied its fleet and its fighter jets appeared over Nicosia. Turkey was dissuaded from direct involvement by the creation of a United Nations Peacekeeping Force in Cyprus (UNFICYP) in 1964. Despite the negotiated ceasefire in Nicosia, attacks on the Turkish Cypriot persisted, particularly in Limassol. Concerned about the possibility of a Turkish invasion, Makarios undertook the creation of a Greek Cypriot conscript-based army called the "National Guard". A general from Greece took charge of the army, whilst a further 20,000 well-equipped officers and men were smuggled from Greece into Cyprus. Turkey threatened to intervene once more, but was prevented by a strongly worded letter from the American President Lyndon B. Johnson, anxious to avoid a conflict between NATO allies Greece and Turkey at the height of the Cold War.
Turkish Cypriots had by now established an important bridgehead at Kokkina, provided with arms, volunteers and materials from Turkey and abroad. Seeing this incursion of foreign weapons and troops as a major threat, the Cypriot government invited George Grivas to return from Greece as commander of the Greek troops on the island and launch a major attack on the bridgehead. Turkey retaliated by dispatching its fighter jets to bomb Greek positions, causing Makarios to threaten an attack on every Turkish Cypriot village on the island if the bombings did not cease. The conflict had now drawn in Greece and Turkey, with both countries amassing troops on their Thracian borders. Efforts at mediation by Dean Acheson, a former U.S. Secretary of State, and UN-appointed mediator Galo Plaza had failed, all the while the division of the two communities becoming more apparent. Greek Cypriot forces were estimated at some 30,000, including the National Guard and the large contingent from Greece. Defending the Turkish Cypriot enclaves was a force of approximately 5,000 irregulars, led by a Turkish colonel, but lacking the equipment and organisation of the Greek forces.
The Secretary-General of the United Nations in 1964, U Thant, reported the damage during the conflicts:
UNFICYP carried out a detailed survey of all damage to properties throughout the island during the disturbances; it shows that in 109 villages, most of them Turkish-Cypriot or mixed villages, 527 houses have been destroyed while 2,000 others have suffered damage from looting.
The situation worsened in 1967, when a military junta overthrew the democratically elected government of Greece, and began applying pressure on Makarios to achieve enosis. Makarios, not wishing to become part of a military dictatorship or trigger a Turkish invasion, began to distance himself from the goal of enosis. This caused tensions with the junta in Greece as well as George Grivas in Cyprus. Grivas's control over the National Guard and Greek contingent was seen as a threat to Makarios's position, who now feared a possible coup.[citation needed] The National Guard and Cyprus Police began patrolling the Turkish Cypriot enclaves of Ayios Theodoros and Kophinou, and on November 15 engaged in heavy fighting with the Turkish Cypriots.
By the time of his withdrawal 26 Turkish Cypriots had been killed. Turkey replied with an ultimatum demanding that Grivas be removed from the island, that the troops smuggled from Greece in excess of the limits of the Treaty of Alliance be removed, and that the economic blockades on the Turkish Cypriot enclaves be lifted. Grivas was recalled by the Athens Junta and the 12,000 Greek troops were withdrawn. Makarios now attempted to consolidate his position by reducing the number of National Guard troops, and by creating a paramilitary force loyal to Cypriot independence. In 1968, acknowledging that enosis was now all but impossible, Makarios stated, "A solution by necessity must be sought within the limits of what is feasible which does not always coincide with the limits of what is desirable."
After 1967 tensions between the Greek and Turkish Cypriots subsided. Instead, the main source of tension on the island came from factions within the Greek Cypriot community. Although Makarios had effectively abandoned enosis in favour of an 'attainable solution', many others continued to believe that the only legitimate political aspiration for Greek Cypriots was union with Greece.
On his arrival, Grivas began by establishing a nationalist paramilitary group known as the National Organization of Cypriot Fighters (Ethniki Organosis Kyprion Agoniston B or EOKA-B), drawing comparisons with the EOKA struggle for enosis under the British colonial administration of the 1950s.
The military junta in Athens saw Makarios as an obstacle. Makarios's failure to disband the National Guard, whose officer class was dominated by mainland Greeks, had meant the junta had practical control over the Cypriot military establishment, leaving Makarios isolated and a vulnerable target.
During the first Turkish invasion, Turkish troops invaded Cyprus territory on 20 July 1974, invoking its rights under the Treaty of Guarantee. This expansion of Turkish-occupied zone violated International Law as well as the Charter of the United Nations. Turkish troops managed to capture 3% of the island which was accompanied by the burning of the Turkish Cypriot quarter, as well as the raping and killing of women and children. A temporary cease-fire followed which was mitigated by the UN Security Council. Subsequently, the Greek military Junta collapsed on July 23, 1974, and peace talks commenced in which a democratic government was installed. The Resolution 353 was broken after Turkey attacked a second time and managed to get a hold of 37% of Cyprus territory. The Island of Cyprus was appointed a Buffer Zone by the United Nations, which divided the island into two zones through the 'Green Line' and put an end to the Turkish invasion. Although Turkey announced that the occupied areas of Cyprus to be called the Federated Turkish State in 1975, it is not legitimised on a worldwide political scale. The United Nations called for the international recognition of independence for the Republic of Cyprus in the Security Council Resolution 367.
In the years after the Turkish invasion of northern Cyprus one can observe a history of failed talks between the two parties. The 1983 declaration of the independent Turkish Republic of Cyprus resulted in a rise of inter-communal tensions and made it increasingly hard to find mutual understanding. With Cyprus' interest of a possible EU membership and a new UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan in 1997 new hopes arose for a fresh start. International involvement from sides of the US and UK, wanting a solution to the Cyprus dispute prior to the EU accession led to political pressures for new talks. The believe that an accession without a solution would threaten Greek-Turkish relations and acknowledge the partition of the island would direct the coming negotiations.
Over the course of two years a concrete plan, the Annan plan was formulated. In 2004 the fifth version agreed upon from both sides and with the endorsement of Turkey, US, UK and EU then was presented to the public and was given a referendum in both Cypriot communities to assure the legitimisation of the resolution. The Turkish Cypriots voted with 65% for the plan, however the Greek Cypriots voted with a 76% majority against. The Annan plan contained multiple important topics. Firstly it established a confederation of two separate states called the United Cyprus Republic. Both communities would have autonomous states combined under one unified government. The members of parliament would be chosen according to the percentage in population numbers to ensure a just involvement from both communities. The paper proposed a demilitarisation of the island over the next years. Furthermore it agreed upon a number of 45000 Turkish settlers that could remain on the island. These settlers became a very important issue concerning peace talks. Originally the Turkish government encouraged Turks to settle in Cyprus providing transfer and property, to establish a counterpart to the Greek Cypriot population due to their 1 to 5 minority. With the economic situation many Turkish-Cypriot decided to leave the island, however their departure is made up by incoming Turkish settlers leaving the population ratio between Turkish Cypriots and Greek Cypriots stable. However all these points where criticised and as seen in the vote rejected mainly by the Greek Cypriots. These name the dissolution of the „Republic of Cyprus", economic consequences of a reunion and the remaining Turkish settlers as reason. Many claim that the plan was indeed drawing more from Turkish-Cypriot demands then Greek-Cypriot interests. Taking in consideration that the US wanted to keep Turkey as a strategic partner in future Middle Eastern conflicts.
A week after the failed referendum the Republic of Cyprus joined the EU. In multiple instances the EU tried to promote trade with Northern Cyprus but without internationally recognised ports this spiked a grand debate. Both side endure their intention of negotiations, however without the prospect of any new compromises or agreements the UN is unwilling to start the process again. Since 2004 negotiations took place in numbers but without any results, both sides are strongly holding on to their position without an agreeable solution in sight that would suit both parties.
Thomas Ender (Wien 1793 - 1875 Wien)
North Side of the Upper Sulzbach Venediger, 1829
Die Nordseite des Oberen Sulzbacher Venedigers
Aquarell/Watercolour
Privatbesitz, Sammlung Erzherzog Johann
Private Ownership, Collection Archduke Johann
The Art of the Viennese Watercolor
Till 13. May 2018
Transparent lightness, brilliant colours, and a generally atmospheric impression are the special qualities of 19th-century Viennese watercolor painting. Virtuosic city views and landscapes, detail-rich portraits, genre paintings, and floral works comprise the rich motivic repertoire featured in this glorious blossoming of Austrian art.
The Viennese watercolor’s heyday was the Biedermeier era: Jakob Alt, Matthäus Loder, Thomas Ender, and Peter Fendi number among its most important artistic figures.
Likewise outstanding are the exquisite works by Rudolf von Alt from his over 70-year career. His masterful watercolours run from the Biedermeier era all the way to the rise of the Secession movement around 1900.
This exhibition presents a veritable parade of exceptionally beautiful pictures, including the ALBERTINA’s own treasures as well as important loan works, all of which pay impressive tribute to the high standing of the Viennese watercolor in the context of 19th century art.
www.albertina.at/en/exhibitions/viennese_watercolour/
On view from 16 February until 13 May 2018.
The Albertina
The architectural history of the Palais
"It is my will that the expansion of the inner city of Vienna with regard to a suitable connection of the same with the suburbs as soon as possible is tackled and at this on Regulirung (regulation) and beautifying of my Residence and Imperial Capital is taken into account. To this end I grant the withdrawal of the ramparts and fortifications of the inner city and the trenches around the same".
This decree of Emperor Franz Joseph I, published on 25 December 1857 in the Wiener Zeitung, formed the basis for the largest the surface concerning and architecturally most significant transformation of the Viennese cityscape. Involving several renowned domestic and foreign architects a "master plan" took form, which included the construction of a boulevard instead of the ramparts between the inner city and its radially upstream suburbs. In the 50-years during implementation phase, an impressive architectural ensemble developed, consisting of imperial and private representational buildings, public administration and cultural buildings, churches and barracks, marking the era under the term "ring-street style". Already in the first year tithe decided a senior member of the Austrian imperial family to decorate the facades of his palace according to the new design principles, and thus certified the aristocratic claim that this also "historicism" said style on the part of the imperial house was attributed.
It was the palace of Archduke Albrecht (1817-1895), the Senior of the Habsburg Family Council, who as Field Marshal held the overall command over the Austro-Hungarian army. The building was incorporated into the imperial residence of the Hofburg complex, forming the south-west corner and extending eleven meters above street level on the so-called Augustinerbastei.
The close proximity of the palace to the imperial residence corresponded not only with Emperor Franz Joseph I and Archduke Albert with a close familial relationship between the owner of the palace and the monarch. Even the former inhabitants were always in close relationship to the imperial family, whether by birth or marriage. An exception here again proves the rule: Don Emanuel Teles da Silva Conde Tarouca (1696-1771), for which Maria Theresa in 1744 the palace had built, was just a close friend and advisor of the monarch. Silva Tarouca underpins the rule with a second exception, because he belonged to the administrative services as Generalhofbaudirektor (general court architect) and President of the Austrian-Dutch administration, while all other him subsequent owners were highest ranking military.
In the annals of Austrian history, especially those of military history, they either went into as commander of the Imperial Army, or the Austrian, later kk Army. In chronological order, this applies to Duke Carl Alexander of Lorraine, the brother-of-law of Maria Theresa, as Imperial Marshal, her son-in-law Duke Albert of Saxe-Teschen, also field marshal, whos adopted son, Archduke Charles of Austria, the last imperial field marshal and only Generalissimo of Austria, his son Archduke Albrecht of Austria as Feldmarschalil and army Supreme commander, and most recently his nephew Archduke Friedrich of Austria, who held as field marshal from 1914 to 1916 the command of the Austro-Hungarian troops. Despite their military profession, all five generals conceived themselves as patrons of the arts and promoted large sums of money to build large collections, the construction of magnificent buildings and cultural life. Charles Alexander of Lorraine promoted as governor of the Austrian Netherlands from 1741 to 1780 the Academy of Fine Arts, the Théâtre de Ja Monnaie and the companies Bourgeois Concert and Concert Noble, he founded the Academie royale et imperial des Sciences et des Lettres, opened the Bibliotheque Royal for the population and supported artistic talents with high scholarships. World fame got his porcelain collection, which however had to be sold by Emperor Joseph II to pay off his debts. Duke Albert began in 1776 according to the concept of conte Durazzo to set up an encyclopedic collection of prints, which forms the core of the world-famous "Albertina" today.
1816 declared to Fideikommiss and thus in future indivisible, inalienable and inseparable, the collection 1822 passed into the possession of Archduke Carl, who, like his descendants, it broadened. Under him, the collection was introduced together with the sumptuously equipped palace on the Augustinerbastei in the so-called "Carl Ludwig'schen fideicommissum in 1826, by which the building and the in it kept collection fused into an indissoluble unity. At this time had from the Palais Tarouca by structural expansion or acquisition a veritable Residenz palace evolved. Duke Albert of Saxe-Teschen was first in 1800 the third floor of the adjacent Augustinian convent wing adapted to house his collection and he had after 1802 by his Belgian architect Louis de Montoyer at the suburban side built a magnificent extension, called the wing of staterooms, it was equipped in the style of Louis XVI. Only two decades later, Archduke Carl the entire palace newly set up. According to scetches of the architect Joseph Kornhäusel the 1822-1825 retreaded premises presented themselves in the Empire style. The interior of the palace testified from now in an impressive way the high rank and the prominent position of its owner. Under Archduke Albrecht the outer appearance also should meet the requirements. He had the facade of the palace in the style of historicism orchestrated and added to the Palais front against the suburbs an offshore covered access. Inside, he limited himself, apart from the redesign of the Rococo room in the manner of the second Blondel style, to the retention of the paternal stock. Archduke Friedrich's plans for an expansion of the palace were omitted, however, because of the outbreak of the First World War so that his contribution to the state rooms, especially, consists in the layout of the Spanish apartment, which he in 1895 for his sister, the Queen of Spain Maria Christina, had set up as a permanent residence.
The era of stately representation with handing down their cultural values found its most obvious visualization inside the palace through the design and features of the staterooms. On one hand, by the use of the finest materials and the purchase of masterfully manufactured pieces of equipment, such as on the other hand by the permanent reuse of older equipment parts. This period lasted until 1919, when Archduke Friedrich was expropriated by the newly founded Republic of Austria. With the republicanization of the collection and the building first of all finished the tradition that the owner's name was synonymous with the building name:
After Palais Tarouca or tarokkisches house it was called Lorraine House, afterwards Duke Albert Palais and Palais Archduke Carl. Due to the new construction of an adjacently located administration building it received in 1865 the prefix "Upper" and was referred to as Upper Palais Archduke Albrecht and Upper Palais Archduke Frederick. For the state a special reference to the Habsburg past was certainly politically no longer opportune, which is why was decided to name the building according to the in it kept collection "Albertina".
This name derives from the term "La Collection Albertina" which had been used by the gallery Inspector Maurice von Thausing in 1870 in the Gazette des Beaux-Arts for the former graphics collection of Duke Albert. For this reason, it was the first time since the foundation of the palace that the name of the collection had become synonymous with the room shell. Room shell, hence, because the Republic of Austria Archduke Friedrich had allowed to take along all the movable goods from the palace in his Hungarian exile: crystal chandeliers, curtains and carpets as well as sculptures, vases and clocks. Particularly stressed should be the exquisite furniture, which stems of three facilities phases: the Louis XVI furnitures of Duke Albert, which had been manufactured on the basis of fraternal relations between his wife Archduchess Marie Christine and the French Queen Marie Antoinette after 1780 in the French Hofmanufakturen, also the on behalf of Archduke Charles 1822-1825 in the Vienna Porcelain Manufactory by Joseph Danhauser produced Empire furnitures and thirdly additions of the same style of Archduke Friedrich, which this about 1900 at Portois & Ffix as well as at Friedrich Otto Schmidt had commissioned.
The "swept clean" building got due to the strained financial situation after the First World War initially only a makeshift facility. However, since until 1999 no revision of the emergency equipment took place, but differently designed, primarily the utilitarianism committed office furnitures complementarily had been added, the equipment of the former state rooms presented itself at the end of the 20th century as an inhomogeneous administrative mingle-mangle of insignificant parts, where, however, dwelt a certain quaint charm. From the magnificent state rooms had evolved depots, storage rooms, a library, a study hall and several officed.
Worse it hit the outer appearance of the palace, because in times of continued anti-Habsburg sentiment after the Second World War and inspired by an intolerant destruction will, it came by pickaxe to a ministerial erasure of history. In contrast to the graphic collection possessed the richly decorated facades with the conspicuous insignia of the former owner an object-immanent reference to the Habsburg past and thus exhibited the monarchial traditions and values of the era of Francis Joseph significantly. As part of the remedial measures after a bomb damage, in 1948 the aristocratic, by Archduke Albert initiated, historicist facade structuring along with all decorations was cut off, many facade figures demolished and the Hapsburg crest emblems plunged to the ground. Since in addition the old ramp also had been cancelled and the main entrance of the bastion level had been moved down to the second basement storey at street level, ended the presence of the old Archduke's palace after more than 200 years. At the reopening of the "Albertina Graphic Collection" in 1952, the former Hapsburg Palais of splendour presented itself as one of his identity robbed, formally trivial, soulless room shell, whose successful republicanization an oversized and also unproportional eagle above the new main entrance to the Augustinian road symbolized. The emocratic throw of monuments had wiped out the Hapsburg palace from the urban appeareance, whereby in the perception only existed a nondescript, nameless and ahistorical building that henceforth served the lodging and presentation of world-famous graphic collection of the Albertina. The condition was not changed by the decision to the refurbishment because there were only planned collection specific extensions, but no restoration of the palace.
This paradigm shift corresponded to a blatant reversal of the historical circumstances, as the travel guides and travel books for kk Residence and imperial capital of Vienna dedicated itself primarily with the magnificent, aristocratic palace on the Augustinerbastei with the sumptuously fitted out reception rooms and mentioned the collection kept there - if at all - only in passing. Only with the repositioning of the Albertina in 2000 under the direction of Klaus Albrecht Schröder, the palace was within the meaning and in fulfillment of the Fideikommiss of Archduke Charles in 1826 again met with the high regard, from which could result a further inseparable bond between the magnificent mansions and the world-famous collection. In view of the knowing about politically motivated errors and omissions of the past, the facades should get back their noble, historicist designing, the staterooms regain their glamorous, prestigious appearance and culturally unique equippment be repurchased. From this presumption, eventually grew the full commitment to revise the history of redemption and the return of the stately palace in the public consciousness.
The smoothed palace facades were returned to their original condition and present themselves today - with the exception of the not anymore reconstructed Attica figures - again with the historicist decoration and layout elements that Archduke Albrecht had given after the razing of the Augustinerbastei in 1865 in order. The neoclassical interiors, today called after the former inhabitants "Habsburg Staterooms", receiving a meticulous and detailed restoration taking place at the premises of originality and authenticity, got back their venerable and sumptuous appearance. From the world wide scattered historical pieces of equipment have been bought back 70 properties or could be returned through permanent loan to its original location, by which to the visitors is made experiencable again that atmosphere in 1919 the state rooms of the last Habsburg owner Archduke Frederick had owned. The for the first time in 80 years public accessible "Habsburg State Rooms" at the Palais Albertina enable now again as eloquent testimony to our Habsburg past and as a unique cultural heritage fundamental and essential insights into the Austrian cultural history. With the relocation of the main entrance to the level of the Augustinerbastei the recollection to this so valuable Austrian Cultural Heritage formally and functionally came to completion. The vision of the restoration and recovery of the grand palace was a pillar on which the new Albertina should arise again, the other embody the four large newly built exhibition halls, which allow for the first time in the history of the Albertina, to exhibit the collection throughout its encyclopedic breadh under optimal conservation conditions.
The palace presents itself now in its appearance in the historicist style of the Ringstrassenära, almost as if nothing had happened in the meantime. But will the wheel of time should not, cannot and must not be turned back, so that the double standards of the "Albertina Palace" said museum - on the one hand Habsburg grandeur palaces and other modern museum for the arts of graphics - should be symbolized by a modern character: The in 2003 by Hans Hollein designed far into the Albertina square cantilevering, elegant floating flying roof. 64 meters long, it symbolizes in the form of a dynamic wedge the accelerated urban spatial connectivity and public access to the palace. It advertises the major changes in the interior as well as the huge underground extensions of the repositioned "Albertina".
Christian Benedictine
Art historian with research interests History of Architecture, building industry of the Hapsburgs, Hofburg and Zeremonialwissenschaft (ceremonial sciences). Since 1990 he works in the architecture collection of the Albertina. Since 2000 he supervises as director of the newly founded department "Staterooms" the restoration and furnishing of the state rooms and the restoration of the facades and explores the history of the palace and its inhabitants.
Who are we? How do we identify ourselves? There is never a definite answer for that. Maybe the best answer
we could come up with might not do justice to what we actually are. But these questions have ever more relavance
during these testing time.
This is a photo series of people I met and photographed over the years. I do not remember most of their names
but the situations they were photographed have been embedded in my memory. They are people I met randomly and who
identified themselves through their expressions, not just facial but also the situations they were in while being
photographed.
With people wearing masks that cover up a good portion of their face due to the onset of COVID19, it is going to be
more difficult to capture a person's expression in future. Hence this series is even more special for me because I would
not be able to do this for very long time.
The way of life is changing, so are the expressions of identity.
Villagers Celebrate The Historic US Supreme Court’s Verdict Which Ended The Immunity of the IFIs
March 31, 2019, Mundra: The air in Mundra filled with the slogans like Kaun Banata Hai Hindustan, Machuawara, Majdoor, Kisan! (Who makes India? Fishermen, Labourer and Farmers); Ladenge Jeetenge! (We shall fight, we shall win); Aadiwaasi Machhuawara Kisaan Ekta Zindabad! (Long live the unity of tribals, fishermen and farmers), and Poonjipatiyon Ki Dalaai Band karo! Hundreds of people from Navinal and Tagri villages of Kutch and representatives from various social movements and civil society members have gathered to celebrate the historic verdict of the US Supreme Court that ended the absolute immunity enjoyed for long by the International Financial Institutions.
“Is Development only for Tata, Ambani, and Adani? What about the fishermen from Mundra, who live in the open with huts made up of bamboo and gunny bags but feed thousands of people in and outside Gujarat,” asked Medha Patkar, senior activist, Narmada Bachao Andolan and National Alliance for the Peoples’ Movements. “Every citizen has the constitutional right to question anti-people policies,” she asserted. She further said, “We do not have any problem in discharging Sardar Sarovar (Narmada) Dam waters for the benefit of the farmers of Kutch. However, we will fight if it is given to the industries,” referring to the allocation of water for a large number of industries.
She was speaking at the public meeting, organised by the Machimar Adhikar Sangharsh Sangathan (MAAS), Mundra, which witnessed the participation of the hundreds of the villagers affected by the World Bank Group’s International Finance Corporation-funded Tata Mundra Ultra Mega Power Plant. The meeting was organised to celebrate the historic verdict of the US Supreme Court that ended the absolute immunity enjoyed for long by the International Financial Institutions.
During the occasion, representatives from various social movements and civil society members like Medha Patkar, senior activist of the Narmada Bachao Andolan; Soumya Dutta, Convenor of the Beyond Copenhagen Collective; Nitaben Mahadev, Gujarat Lok Samiti, Sanjeev Danda, Dalit Adivasi Shakti Adhikaar Manch; and Maju Varghese and Anuradha Munshi from the Working Group on International Financial Institutions (WGonIFIs) were also present to extend their solidarity and felicitate the fishermen and villagers who have been at the forefront of this historic struggle.
The petitioners of the case were garlanded and facilitated at the public meeting. Speakers after speakers alluded their courage, encountering hostilities and the broader impact of this victory to the people around the globe, making institutions like World Bank more accountable.
Speaking at the occasion, Soumya Dutta, emphasised that the recent US Supreme Court’s decision to end immunity of the International Financial Institutions is a significant victory of the people fighting to save their dignity, land and livelihood across the world. He stressed that a broader alliance of different sections of the people affected by the project be formed to fight getting justice.
Sanjeev Danda said the US Supreme Court’s verdict is a firm reminder that fishers and poor are not insects that can’t be eliminated easily. He thanked the villagers for their firm resistance against the might of the IFC and Tata.
Nitaben Mahadev expressed solidarity on behalf of organisations in Gujarat and wished the people the best to take the fight to higher heights.
Buddha Ismail Jam, the main petitioner of the case against the ongoing IFC, emphasised the need to stay together. He said, “If we continue to stay strong for the remaining struggle, nobody can snatch justice away from us.”
Gajendra Sinh Jadeja, a co-petitioner of the case and Sarpanch of the Navinal Panchayat in Mundra, listed the problems currently being faced by the fishermen, farmers and pastoralists. He said, “The production of cotton, dates, chikoo has considerably reduced due to the coal-ash, which has also adversely impacted the health of the people. Similarly, the inlet and outlet channel have increased the salinity, thus impacting agriculture. Additionally, the channel has also driven away from the fishes away from the coast, due to which, the fishermen have to travel about 25 kilometres into the sea.”
Bharat Patel, thanked the villagers, civil society and social movements across the country for their solidarity, and the Earth Rights International, for their unflinching support. He asserted that the policies of the IFIs need to be amended and said that they can’t function at the cost of the lives of people. Talking about the further course of action, he said, “We will fight till the ecology is restored; the people who lost their livelihoods are adequately compensated; and the officials of IFC and Tata Power, who conspired to destroy our lives for their greed are criminally charged.”
Background
On February 27, 2019, the Supreme Court of United States, in a historic 7-1 decision, the U.S. Supreme Court decided in Jam v. IFC that international organisations like the International Finance Corporation of the World Bank Group do not enjoy absolute immunity.
The Court’s decision marks a defining moment for the IFC – the arm of the World Bank Group that lends to the private sector. For years, the IFC has operated as if it were “above the law,” at times pursuing reckless lending projects that inflicted serious human rights abuses on local communities, and then leaving the communities to fend for themselves.
In the case of the Tata Mundra, since the beginning, the IFC recognised that the Tata Mundra coal-fired power plant is a high-risk project that could have significant adverse impacts on local communities and their environment. Despite knowing the risks, the IFC provided a critical Rs 1,800 crore (USD 450 million) loan in 2008, thus enabling the project’s construction. Despite this, the IFC failed to take reasonable steps to prevent the harms it predicted and failed to ensure that the project abided by the environmental and social safeguards.
As predicted, the plant caused significant harm to the communities living in its shadow. Construction of the plant destroyed vital sources of water used for drinking and irrigation. Coal ash has contaminated crops and fish laid out to dry, air pollutants are at levels dangerous to human health, and there has already been a rise in respiratory problems. The enormous quantity of thermal pollution – hot water released from the plant – has destroyed the local marine environment and the fish populations that fishermen rely on to support their families. Although a 2015 law required all plants to install cooling towers to minimise thermal pollution by the end of 2017, the Tata plant has failed to do so.
A nine-mile-long coal conveyor belt, which transports coal from the port to the Plant, runs next to local villages and near fishing grounds. Coal dust from the conveyor and fly ash from the plant frequently contaminate drying fish, reducing their value, damage agricultural production, and cover homes and property.
The IFC’s own internal compliance mechanism, the Compliance Advisor Ombudsman (CAO), issued a scathing report in 2013 confirming that the IFC had failed to ensure the Tata Mundra project complied with the environmental and social conditions of the IFC’s loan at virtually every stage of the project. The report recommended the IFC to take remedial action. However, the IFC’s management responded to the CAO by rejecting most of its findings and ignoring others. In a follow-up report in early 2017, the CAO observed that the IFC remained out of compliance and had failed to take any meaningful steps to remedy the situation.
The harms suffered by the people are all the more regrettable because the project made no economic sense from the beginning. In 2017, in fact, Tata Power began trying to unload a majority of its shares in the project for one rupee because of the losses it has suffered and will suffer in future. At the moment, the plant is operating much-below capacity in part because India has an oversupply of electricity.
Please visit here for more background and accessing documents related to the case.
About us:
Machimar Adhikar Sangharsh Sangathan (MAAS) is a trade union of the fish workers in Mundra and a co-petitioner in the historic Budha Jam vs IFC case.
Contact:
Dr Bharat Patel (Mundra, Gujarat, India)
General Secretary, Machimar Adhikar Sangharsh Sangathan
+ 91 94264 69803
bharatp1977@gmail.com
URL: wgonifis.net/2019/03/31/villagers-celebrate-the-historic-...
The first five AH-64E model Apache attack helicopters to be delivered to the South Carolina National Guard arrive at McEntire Joint National Guard Base, South Carolina, March 24, 2022. The South Carolina National Guard is replacing 24 D-model aircraft with new E-model, which will be delivered to and flown by the 1-151st Attack Reconnaissance Battalion. The new model includes mechanical and software upgrades that will dramatically improve their ability to work and communicate in a joint services environment, and allow pilots to operate with more capabilities in future conflicts. (U.S. Army National Guard photo by Staff Sgt. Brad Mincey, South Carolina National Guard)
Garrett Shuffield, Alexandro Verdugo, Kyla Harrison and Noah Cole
On Tuesday, April 2, 2019, the LBJ Library’s Future Forum held an event to honor the victims of the deadly series of mystery package bombs planted in Austin in 2018 and to discuss media coverage of the bombings. Austin journalists and media consumers discussed ways in which racial biases shaped the unfolding story of the bombings and considered strategies and ideas for reducing the reflection of biases in future news reporting.
The panelists were John Bridges, executive editor of the Austin American-Statesman; Eric Byrd, vice president and chief operating officer of the nonprofit MEASURE Austin and director of transitional and supervised independent living for SAFE Alliance, an Austin nonprofit serving abuse survivors; DaLyah Jones, assistant producer for All Things Considered and a KUT evening host; and Eric Tang, PhD, associate professor in the African and African Diaspora Studies Department and director of the Center for Asian American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin. Moderator of the panel was Erna Smith, lecturer at UT Austin’s School of Journalism.
04/02/2019
LBJ Library photo by Jay Godwin
The church of St Thomas Becket, Fairfield, is a rare example of a small medieval church which has managed to survive without an immediate village to sustain it. Remote on a man-made hillock above the Wallend Marsh, part of Romney Marsh, the church guidebook suggests there was never a village of Fairfield as such but rather a scattered rural community which was served by a small church initially built only of timber, lath and plaster.
www.flickr.com/photos/barryslemmings/sets/72157594384281432/ to view the whole set.
Probably built in the late 12th century, a 1293 AD visitation roll records that the church was lightly constructed and it appears to have remained as such for much of its life - implying the church authorities themselves may have regarded the Fairfield community as 'marginal' and the building's fabric as almost expendable. It is described in 1293 as being of wood and plaster, very damp and full of holes.
The same roll records many shortcomings - namely that the current chaplain had pastured sheep in the churchyard and had allowed a woman to serve at the altar. He agreed not to do this in future, except in harvest time. Simon, the former chaplain, was having an affair with Natakina, the daughter of Hugh at Walle. He was 'corrected' by church authorities. The font was found to have no lock meaning that laymen could help themselves to the Holy Water for illicit purposes.
The timber structural frame was eventually replaced in the 15th century [and is what we see today] and the lath and plaster walls were replaced in the 18th century with more durable brick. But the standard of the 18th century workmanship was poor and in 1912 the church was found to be in danger of collapse. Around 1913 the entire chancel, the north wall of the nave, the porch, the turret and the entire roof were carefully taken down and rebuilt but re-using all old materials and timbers under the direction of architect W. D. Caroe.
The interior is very 18th century with oval text boards on the inside of the sloping roof, white painted box pews and a three-decker pulpit. The communion table retains a three-sided 'Laudian' communion rail to prevent dogs from fouling the altar.
The church today is small and quite charming, being surrounded on all sides by water courses and only reached via a concrete footbridge. Until 1913, when an earth causeway was built, a boat was often needed to reach it. An 18th century mounting block at the west end implies horse riders could also reach the church, at least at some times of the year. As late as 1960 the fields around the church flooded and a photograph appeared in national newspapers of Fairfield church and its little hill rising just a couple feet out of a vast expanse of water.
The church is still in regular use and cared-for by the Romney Marsh Historic Churches Trust. The huge [18th century?] key hangs on a special board behind a nearby house and visitors have to walk around to the back door to borrow it.
The Romney Marsh Historic Churches Trust was formed under the patronage of the then Archbishop of Canterbury Robert Runcie and the former Private Eye editor Richard Ingrams. Details about the trust are obtainable from Mrs Elizabeth Marshall, Lansdell House, Rolvenden, Kent, TN17 4LW.
I really enjoyed creating and planting a garden last year. I spent a lot of time standing in bare earth imagining how things might play out for shooting in future. This year has shown me a few of those ideas, yet my imagination is already set on next.
vigyanprasar.gov.in/isw/Dr-harsh-vardhan-dedicates-two-ne...
Union Minister for Science and Technology, Earth Sciences and Health and Family Welfare, Dr. Harsh Vardhan, today dedicated to the nation two databases brought out by the Department of Science and Technology on `S&T Awards in India’ and `Indian origin academicians and scholars abroad’.
The database on `S&T Awards in India’ is an attempt to build and manage the information about science and technology awards that have been instituted since 1928 in India. It provides data on various aspects such as discipline, periodicity, categories, awards level, chronology and state wise distribution of awards and their sponsors. It will be useful for planners, policy makers, funding agencies and other stakeholders to chalk out their programmes as per the priorities of R&D activities.
The database on `Indian Origin Academicians’, in turn, has information on 23,472 Indian academicians and research scholars working in various countries. It is of immense relevance/importance in the present-day scenario where international collaborations with knowledge experts are the key factor for S&T led growth and competitiveness. The project team explored around 2,700 academic university websites to gather this information from selected countries (US, UK, Australia and Canada).
The Minister released the databases at a function to mark the National Science Day, which is celebrated every year since 1987 in remembrance of Nobel Laureate Sir C.V.Raman’s path breaking discovery of Raman Effect in 1930.
He also presented the National S&T Communication Awards, AWSAR (Augmenting Writing Skills for Articulating Research) Awards, and SERB (Science and Engineering Research Board)’s Women Excellence Awards on the occasion.
Under the National S&T Communication Awards, Dr. S. Anil Kumar (Anilkumar Vadavathoor), a well known popular science writer in Malayalam has won the Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication through Print Media including Books and Magazines; Indian Resource and Development Association and Mr. Mihir Kumar Panda the Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Popularization among Children; Dr Sheffali Gulati, Delhi and Mr.Rakesh Khatri the Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication through Innovative and Traditional Methods; and Dr. Krishna Kumari Challa the Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication in Electronic Media.
National Science Communication Award Winner - Dr. S. Anil Kumar, Mihir Kumar Panda, Dr. Sheffali Gulati, Rakesh Khatri, Dr. Krishna Kumari Challa (top to bottom)
Union Minister for Science and Technology, Earth Sciences and Health and Family Welfare, Dr. Harsh Vardhan, today dedicated to the nation two databases brought out by the Department of Science and Technology on `S&T Awards in India’ and `Indian origin academicians and scholars abroad’.
In the case of AWSAR awards, Dr. Sangeeta Dutta of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR) has won the AWSAR Award for Outstanding Story under the Post-doctoral fellow category; Ms. Pooja Maurya of CSIR- Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow, the AWSAR Award: First Prize (PhD category); Ms. Indu Joshi of Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, the AWSAR Award: Second prize (PhD category); and Ms. Shruti Soni of Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore the AWSAR Award: Third prize (PhD category).
Photo-1: Winners of 'AWSAR' contest- Dr. Sangeeta Dutta (top left), Pooja Maurya (top right), Indu Joshi (bottom left), Shruti Soni (bottom right)
The winners of SERB Women Excellence Award are Dr. Shobhna Kapoor of Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Dr. Antara Banerjee of National Institute for Research In Reproductive Health, Dr. Sonu Gandhi of National Institute of Animal Biotechnology, and Dr. Ritu Gupta, Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur, Rajasthan
SERB Women-Excellence Award Winners- Dr. Shobhna Kapoor (top left), Antara Banerjee (top right), Dr. Ritu Gupta (bottom left), Dr. Sonu Gandhi (bottom right)
Speaking on the occasion, the Minister noted that India's global position both in innovations and scientific publications has seen a rising trend over the last six years, with its Global Innovation Index (GII) ranking improving rapidly to 48 (2020) from 81 (2015) and Scientific Publication ranking to 3rd position (2018) from 6th (2014)
Further, he pointed out that India ranked 8th in patents filed by resident scientists/innovators from respective countries as per WIPO Statistics and ranked 3rd in number of PhD degrees awarded (24,474) in Science and Engineering. Besides, women’s participation in R&D has increased to 16.6% (2018) from 13.9% (2016). India has reached 3rd position in the world in terms of number of startups.
He pointed out that compared to last year there has been a 30 per cent increase in the budget of the Ministry of Science & Technology and Earth Sciences put together for the year 2021-22 and said that the Country’s upcoming Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) Policy aspired to position India much higher among globally competitive and innovative economies and the coming policy on Scientific Social Responsibility will seek to provide a big impetus to create the mindset and value systems to recognize, respect, and reward performances which create wealth from S&T derived knowledge.
affairscloud.com/national-science-day-2021.../
pib.gov.in/PressReleseDetailm.aspx?PRID=1701553&fbcli...
Indian Emblem
Press Information Bureau
Government of India
Search
Press Releases
Gallery
Events
Media Facilitation
About Us
Archive
Fact Check
Submit
Ministry of Science & Technology
Dr Harsh Vardhan gives away awards to science communicators and women scientists on National Science Day
The 30 percent increase in the budget of Ministry of Science & Technology and Earth Sciences put together for the year 2021-22 would provide stimulus to S&T infrastructure resources in the country: Dr Harsh Vardhan
“Fundamental and Translational Research have to be people centric. So on this National Science Day, let each scientist dream of something new to make perceptible difference to the life of people in India”: Dr Harsh Vardhan
Dr. Harsh Vardhan also releases the first-ever National S&T Databases on S&T Awards in India and Indian origin Academicians abroad
Also confers an appreciation shield to National S&T database developers
Posted On: 28 FEB 2021 7:10PM by PIB Delhi
Union Minister for Science & Technology, Earth Sciences and Health & Family Welfare, Dr. Harsh Vardhan today highlighted how science technology and innovation (STI) would impact our future in education, skills and functioning in the post-pandemic world. He was addressing the National Science Day (NSD) funFction through video-conferencing from Imphal, Manipur. Awards to science communicators and women scientists were also conferred by the Science & Technology Minister on the occasion of National Science Day which is celebrated to commemorate the discovery of Raman Effect on this day every year. The NSD celebrations were organized by the National Council for Science Technology Communication (NCSTC), Department of Science &
Dr. Harsh Vardhan said, “The 30 percent increase in the budget of Ministry of Science & Technology and Earth Sciences put together for the year 2021-22 would provide stimulus to S&T infrastructure resources in the country”. The Union Minister said that in view of last year's challenges thrown by the COVID-19 pandemic, the theme of the National Science Day 2021, ‘Future of STI: Impacts on Education, Skills, and Work,’ becomes all the more important.
“World has witnessed how Indian S&T systems rose to this recent unprecedented crisis caused by the pandemic. Scientific awareness and health preparedness shall become even more important in post-COVID 19 times. A comprehensive National programme has already been launched on health and risk communication with a focus on COVID-19, namely, Year of Awareness on Science & Health (YASH). We have brought out an online interactive multimedia bilingual resource for mass awareness on COVID- 19, COVID Katha,” Dr. Harsh Vardhan disclosed.
“The data portals launched today will be game changers. We feel that scientists with legacy from India should be on one platform and contribute to India’s growth story”, the Minister explained. He further said that the Prime Minister has been talking about Scientific Social Responsibility for which the Fundamental and Translational Research have to be people centric. “So on this National Science Day, let each scientist dream of something new to make perceptible difference to the life of people in India”, Dr Harsh Vardhan urged.
He also underlined the importance of sustained efforts of inculcating, nurturing, and unleashing the scientific temper and innovative mindset of projected population of 1.5 billion (+) people in 2050 for sustainable and inclusive growth.
Dr. Harsh Vardhan presented the National S&T Communication Awards, Augmenting Writing Skills for Articulating Research (AWSAR) awards, and SERB Women Excellence Awards and conferred Rajendra Prabhu Memorial Appreciation Shield for outstanding work in science media and journalism.
The Minister also released the first-ever National S&T Databases on S&T Awards in India and Indian origin Academicians abroad. The database on S&T Awards in India is an excellent source of information about S&T awards presented to R&D professionals in India. The database of Indian Origin Academicians is a unique database developed in the country and has a huge information base of about 23,472 Indian academicians and research scholars working in various countries. Dr. Harsh Vardhan also conferred an appreciation shield to National S&T database developers.
Speaking on the efforts of the Department of Science and Technology (DST) in driving STI as a tool for the growth and development of the country, Secretary DST Prof. Ashutosh Sharma said that science and technology has a critical role in creating ‘Atmanirbhar Bharat’, which is ready for the future. “Future of STI is going to impact us in every aspect of life. Recalling our glorious past will show us the light to take us to future. There are huge challenges, like sustainable development, climate change, clean energy, rise of intelligent machines, and so on. The future is multi-disciplinary, and in order to solve problems, one has to approach them in an interdisciplinary manner. The job of scientists is to help reach science to every corner of the country”, he pointed out.
Dr Shekhar C Mande, Secretary, DSIR and DG, CSIR, highlighted the contributions of the Indian scientific community during COVID-19 pandemic. “The pandemic has shown that the Indian S&T community is ready for facing all the challenges like the recent pandemic and those that may come in the future,” he said.
Dr. Gargi B Dasgupta, Director, IBM Research India, and CTO, IBM India and South Asia, Bangalore, India, delivered the special lecture on the theme and said that fourth industrial revolution is creating demand for new skill sets displacing existing jobs as well as giving rise to new ones. She spoke about the future of jobs and the urgency of science, highlighting the recent study by World Economic Forum (WEF) on the new emerging job clusters and the skills required for the economy of tomorrow.
Secretary, SERB Prof Sandeep Verma and Head, NCSTC Dr. Praveen Arora were also present on occasion.
National Science Day is celebrated every year on 28th February to commemorate the announcement of the discovery of the ‘Raman Effect’ by Sir C.V. Raman, for which he was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1930. The government of India designated 28 February as National Science Day (NSD) in 1986. Since then, theme-based science communication activities are carried out all over the country on this occasion.
National Council for Science & Technology Communication (NCSTC), DST acts as a nodal agency to support, catalyze and coordinate the celebration of the National Science Day throughout the country in scientific institutions, research laboratories, and autonomous scientific institutions associated with the Ministry of Science and Technology. NCSTC has supported various programmes countrywide through State S&T Councils & Departments for organization of a range of activities, such as lectures, quizzes, open houses, etc. DST also instituted National Awards for Science Popularization in 1987 to stimulate, encourage and recognize outstanding efforts in the area of science and technology communication and popularization as well as inculcating scientific temper among masses. These awards are presented every year on National Science Day. The awards consist of a memento, citation, and award money.
List of Awardees:
Science and Technology Communication Awardees
National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication through Print Media including Books and Magazines. : Dr. S. Anil Kumar, Kerala
National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Popularization among Children: (1) Indian Resource and Development Association, Haryana (2) Dr. Mihir Kumar Panda, Odisha
National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication through Innovative and Traditional Methods: (1) Dr. Sheffali Gulati, Delhi (2) Shri Rakesh Khatri, Delhi
National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication in the Electronic Medium: Dr. Krishna Kumari Challa, Telangana
Rajendra Prabhu Memorial Appreciation Shield for Outstanding Work in Science Media and Journalism: Dr. S. Anil Kumar, Kerala
Appreciation Shield for National S&T Databases
S&T Awards in India: Dr Lalit Mohan, Society for Environment & Development (SED), Delhi
Indian origin Academicians Abroad: Dr. Rajesh Bhatia & Team, Punjab Engineering College (PEC), Chandigarh
AWSAR Awardees
Outstanding Story (PDF category)
Dr. Sangeeta Dutta, Bengaluru, Karnataka
AWSAR Award: First Prize (Ph.D. category)
Ms. Pooja Maurya, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
AWSAR Award: Second prize (Ph.D. category)
Ms. Indu Joshi, New Delhi, Delhi
AWSAR Award: Third prize (Ph.D. category)
Ms. Shruti Soni, Bangalore, Karnataka
SERB Women Excellence Awardees
Dr. Shobhna Kapoor
Assistant Professor
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Mumbai, Maharashtra
Dr. Antara Banerjee
Scientist B
National Institute for Research in Reproductive Health
Mumbai, Maharashtra
Dr. Sonu Gandhi
Scientist D
National Institute of Animal Biotechnology
Hyderabad, Telangana
Dr. Ritu Gupta
Assistant Professor
Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur
Jodhpur, Rajasthan
(PLEASE CLICK HERE FOR DETAILS OF AWARDEES):
1… AWASAR
2….NCSTC
Click here to see Brochure NSD
indiaeducationdiary.in/dr-harsh-vardhan-gives-away-awards...
Dr Harsh Vardhan Gives Away Awards To Science Communicators And Women Scientists On National Science Day
By India Education Diary Bureau Admin On Feb 28, 2021
Share
New Delhi: Union Minister for Science & Technology, Earth Sciences and Health & Family Welfare, Dr. Harsh Vardhan today highlighted how science technology and innovation (STI) would impact our future in education, skills and functioning in the post-pandemic world. He was addressing the National Science Day (NSD) funFction through video-conferencing from Imphal, Manipur. Awards to science communicators and women scientists were also conferred by the Science & Technology Minister on the occasion of National Science Day which is celebrated to commemorate the discovery of Raman Effect on this day every year. The NSD celebrations were organized by the National Council for Science Technology Communication (NCSTC), Department of Science &
Dr. Harsh Vardhan said, “The 30 percent increase in the budget of Ministry of Science & Technology and Earth Sciences put together for the year 2021-22 would provide stimulus to S&T infrastructure resources in the country”. The Union Minister said that in view of last year’s challenges thrown by the COVID-19 pandemic, the theme of the National Science Day 2021, ‘Future of STI: Impacts on Education, Skills, and Work,’ becomes all the more important.
“World has witnessed how Indian S&T systems rose to this recent unprecedented crisis caused by the pandemic. Scientific awareness and health preparedness shall become even more important in post-COVID 19 times. A comprehensive National programme has already been launched on health and risk communication with a focus on COVID-19, namely, Year of Awareness on Science & Health (YASH). We have brought out an online interactive multimedia bilingual resource for mass awareness on COVID- 19, COVID Katha,” Dr. Harsh Vardhan disclosed.
“The data portals launched today will be game changers. We feel that scientists with legacy from India should be on one platform and contribute to India’s growth story”, the Minister explained. He further said that the Prime Minister has been talking about Scientific Social Responsibility for which the Fundamental and Translational Research have to be people centric. “So on this National Science Day, let each scientist dream of something new to make perceptible difference to the life of people in India”, Dr Harsh Vardhan urged.
He also underlined the importance of sustained efforts of inculcating, nurturing, and unleashing the scientific temper and innovative mindset of projected population of 1.5 billion (+) people in 2050 for sustainable and inclusive growth.
Dr. Harsh Vardhan presented the National S&T Communication Awards, Augmenting Writing Skills for Articulating Research (AWSAR) awards, and SERB Women Excellence Awards and conferred Rajendra Prabhu Memorial Appreciation Shield for outstanding work in science media and journalism.
The Minister also released the first-ever National S&T Databases on S&T Awards in India and Indian origin Academicians abroad. The database on S&T Awards in India is an excellent source of information about S&T awards presented to R&D professionals in India. The database of Indian Origin Academicians is a unique database developed in the country and has a huge information base of about 23,472 Indian academicians and research scholars working in various countries. Dr. Harsh Vardhan also conferred an appreciation shield to National S&T database developers.
Speaking on the efforts of the Department of Science and Technology (DST) in driving STI as a tool for the growth and development of the country, Secretary DST Prof. Ashutosh Sharma said that science and technology has a critical role in creating ‘Atmanirbhar Bharat’, which is ready for the future. “Future of STI is going to impact us in every aspect of life. Recalling our glorious past will show us the light to take us to future. There are huge challenges, like sustainable development, climate change, clean energy, rise of intelligent machines, and so on. The future is multi-disciplinary, and in order to solve problems, one has to approach them in an interdisciplinary manner. The job of scientists is to help reach science to every corner of the country”, he pointed out.
Dr Shekhar C Mande, Secretary, DSIR and DG, CSIR, highlighted the contributions of the Indian scientific community during COVID-19 pandemic. “The pandemic has shown that the Indian S&T community is ready for facing all the challenges like the recent pandemic and those that may come in the future,” he said.
Dr. Gargi B Dasgupta, Director, IBM Research India, and CTO, IBM India and South Asia, Bangalore, India, delivered the special lecture on the theme and said that fourth industrial revolution is creating demand for new skill sets displacing existing jobs as well as giving rise to new ones. She spoke about the future of jobs and the urgency of science, highlighting the recent study by World Economic Forum (WEF) on the new emerging job clusters and the skills required for the economy of tomorrow.
Secretary, SERB Prof Sandeep Verma and Head, NCSTC Dr. Praveen Arora were also present on occasion.
National Science Day is celebrated every year on 28th February to commemorate the announcement of the discovery of the ‘Raman Effect’ by Sir C.V. Raman, for which he was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1930. The government of India designated 28 February as National Science Day (NSD) in 1986. Since then, theme-based science communication activities are carried out all over the country on this occasion.
National Council for Science & Technology Communication (NCSTC), DST acts as a nodal agency to support, catalyze and coordinate the celebration of the National Science Day throughout the country in scientific institutions, research laboratories, and autonomous scientific institutions associated with the Ministry of Science and Technology. NCSTC has supported various programmes countrywide through State S&T Councils & Departments for organization of a range of activities, such as lectures, quizzes, open houses, etc. DST also instituted National Awards for Science Popularization in 1987 to stimulate, encourage and recognize outstanding efforts in the area of science and technology communication and popularization as well as inculcating scientific temper among masses. These awards are presented every year on National Science Day. The awards consist of a memento, citation, and award money.
List of Awardees:
Science and Technology Communication Awardees
National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication through Print Media including Books and Magazines. : Dr. S. Anil Kumar, Kerala
National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Popularization among Children: (1) Indian Resource and Development Association, Haryana (2) Dr. Mihir Kumar Panda, Odisha
National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication through Innovative and Traditional Methods: (1) Dr. Sheffali Gulati, Delhi (2) Shri Rakesh Khatri, Delhi
National Award for Outstanding Efforts in Science & Technology Communication in the Electronic Medium: Dr. Krishna Kumari Challa, Telangana
Rajendra Prabhu Memorial Appreciation Shield for Outstanding Work in Science Media and Journalism: Dr. S. Anil Kumar, Kerala
Appreciation Shield for National S&T Databases
S&T Awards in India: Dr Lalit Mohan, Society for Environment & Development (SED), Delhi
Indian origin Academicians Abroad: Dr. Rajesh Bhatia & Team, Punjab Engineering College (PEC), Chandigarh
hindi.webdunia.com/national-hindi-news/raman-effect-awsar...
राष्ट्रीय विज्ञान दिवस पर पुरस्कृत किए गए विज्ञान संचारक
National Science Day
Last Updated: सोमवार, 1 मार्च 2021 (12:07 IST)नई दिल्ली, समाज में वैज्ञानिक चेतना के प्रचार-प्रसार में जुटे विज्ञान संचारकों को राष्ट्रीय विज्ञान दिवस (28 फरवरी) के अवसर पर राष्ट्रीय पुरस्कार प्रदान किए गए हैं।
राष्ट्रीय विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी संचार परिषद (एनसीएसटीसी) की ओर से हर वर्ष विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी संचार में उल्लेखनीय योगदान देने वाले संचारकों को ये पुरस्कार प्रदान किए जाते हैं। विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी राष्ट्रीय संचार पुरस्कार के साथ-साथ इस मौके पर साइंस ऐंड इंजीनियरिंग रिसर्च बोर्ड (एसईआरबी) वुमन-एक्सिलेंस अवार्ड, और ‘अवसर’ (ऑग्मेंटिंग राइटिंग स्किल्स फॉर आर्टिकुलेटिंग रिसर्च) प्रतियोगिता के विजेताओं को भी पुरस्कृत किया गया है।
विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी संचार परिषद (एनसीएसटीसी) द्वारा विज्ञान को लोकप्रिय बनाने और संचार के क्षेत्र में उत्कृष्ट प्रयासों के प्रोत्साहन और वैज्ञानिक अभिरुचि बढ़ाने में योगदान देने वाले लोगों एवं संस्थाओं को छह श्रेणियों में विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी राष्ट्रीय संचार पुरस्कार दिया जाता है। वहीं, ‘अवसर’ एक अखिल भारतीय प्रतियोगिता है, जिसमें विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी से जुड़े विभिन्न विषयों में डॉक्टोरल या पोस्ट डॉक्टोरल शोधार्थियों से उनके शोध विषय पर आधारित सरल भाषा में आलेख आमंत्रित किए जाते हैं, और चयनित सर्वश्रेष्ठ आलेखों को पुरस्कृत किया जाता है। इसी तरह, विज्ञान एवं इंजीनियरिंग में उत्कृष्ट शोध को प्रोत्साहित करने के लिए युवा महिला वैज्ञानिकों (40 वर्ष से कम आयु) को एसईआरबी वुमन-एक्सिलेंस अवार्ड प्रदान किया जाता है।
केंद्रीय विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी, पृथ्वी विज्ञान, स्वास्थ्य तथा परिवार कल्याण मंत्री डॉ हर्षवर्धन ने पुरस्कृत लोगों को बधाई देते हुए कहा है कि “वर्ष 2021 के राष्ट्रीय विज्ञान दिवस की विषयवस्तु “विज्ञान, प्रौद्योगिकी एवं नवाचार का भविष्यः शिक्षा, कौशल एवं कार्य पर प्रभाव” है, जो वर्तमान परिदृश्य के अनुकूल है।
National Science Day
पिछले एक साल में, कोविड-19 की चुनौतियों के बावजूद विज्ञान से संबंधित मंत्रालयों के लिए वर्ष 2021 उपलब्धि भरा रहा है। दुनिया ने देखा कि महामारी से उपजे अप्रत्याशित संकट से उबरने में भारतीय विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी तंत्र ने कैसे भूमिका निभायी है।” उन्होंने कहा कि हम तब तक एक स्थायी और समावेशी विकास का सपना नहीं देख सकते, जब तक कि वर्ष 2050 तक 150 करोड़ से अधिक लोगों की अनुमानित आबादी में वैज्ञानिक दृष्टिकोण और नवोन्मेषी मानसिकता के विकास के लिए निरंतर प्रयास न करें।”
इस मौके पर मौजूद विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी विभाग के सचिव प्रोफेसर आशुतोष शर्मा ने कहा कि “राष्ट्रीय विज्ञान दिवस एक ऐसा दिन है, जब हम न केवल ‘रामन प्रभाव’ को याद करते हैं, और इसका उत्सव मनाते हैं, बल्कि यह एक ऐसा अवसर है, जब हम आचार्य रामन के वैज्ञानिक कार्यों में निहित दृष्टिकोण से नये सबक भी सीख सकते हैं। उनको आचार्य कहना अधिक उपयुक्त है, क्योंकि इस शब्द का संबंध एक गौरवशाली परंपरा से है। आचार्य का अर्थ, ‘सर’ से बिल्कुल अलग है। ‘सर’ एक टाइटल है, जबकि आचार्य का अर्थ मूल रूप से स्कॉलर से जोड़कर देखा जाता है।”
National Science Day
नयी विज्ञान, प्रौद्योगिकी एवं नवाचार नीति का जिक्र करते हुए प्रोफेसर आशुतोष शर्मा ने कहा कि “इस नीति में कई ऐसे अध्याय शामिल हैं, जो भविष्य की जरूरतों पर आधारित हैं, और विज्ञान को समाज से जोड़ने पर ध्यान केंद्रित करते हैं। भविष्य में हमें दो महत्वपूर्ण तथ्यों पर ध्यान केंद्रित करने की जरूरत होगी। सबसे पहले तो शोध कार्यों की प्रासंगिकता एवं उनकी सही दिशा का निर्धारण जरूरी है। वहीं, दूसरा आयाम शोध कार्यों की गुणवत्ता और गंभीरता से संबंधित है। दूसरों की नकल करके शोध विषयों का चयन करने का औचित्य नहीं है। हमें अपने आइडिया के आधार पर कार्य करना होगा, जो विज्ञान के क्षेत्र में भारत को लीडर के रूप में उभरने में मदद कर सकते हैं। इस तरह हम आचार्य रामन को याद कर सकते हैं।”
इस अवसर पर वैज्ञानिक तथा औद्योगिक अनुसंधान परिषद के महानिदेशक डॉ शेखर सी. मांडे ने ‘रामन प्रभाव’ की खोज से जुड़े महत्वपूर्ण पड़ावों और इससे संबंधित शोध कार्य में एक अन्य प्रमुख वैज्ञानिक के.एस. कृष्णन की भूमिका के बारे में जिक्र किया।
उन्होंने कहा कि “हम भले ही कोविड-19 महामारी से मजबूती से लड़ने में सफल हुए हैं, लेकिन आगे भी इस तरह की चुनौतियां बनी रहेंगी। महामारियों के अलावा, जलवायु परिवर्तन एक अन्य प्रमुख चुनौती है, जिससे निपटने के लिए प्रभावी वैज्ञानिक समाधान खोजने होंगे।”
पुस्तकों एवं पत्रिकाओं सहित प्रिंट मीडिया के माध्यम से विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी संचार में योगदान के लिए इस बार कोट्टायम, केरल के डॉ अनिल कुमार को राष्ट्रीय पुरस्कार से सम्मानित किया गया है। इस पुरस्कार के तहत दो लाख रुपये की नकद राशि, स्मृति चिह्न और प्रशस्ति पत्र प्रदान किया गया है। विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी संचार में उत्कृष्ट प्रयास के लिए पांच लाख रुपये का राष्ट्रीय पुरस्कार हरियाणा की संस्था इंडियन रिसोर्स ऐंड डेवलपमेंट एसोसिएशन और बालासोर, ओडिशा के वैज्ञानिक एवं नवप्रवर्तनकर्ता मिहिर कुमार पांडा को प्रदान किया गया है।
नवप्रवर्तक एवं पारंपरिक प्रणालियों के माध्यम से विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी संचार के लिए दो लाख रुपये का राष्ट्रीय पुरस्कार दिल्ली की डॉ शेफाली गुलाटी और राकेश खत्री को प्रदान किया गया है। इलेक्ट्रॉनिक माध्यम में दो लाख रुपये का विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी राष्ट्रीय संचार पुरस्कार तेलंगाना की डॉ कृष्ण कुमारी चल्ला को दिया गया है।
डॉ एस. अनिल कुमार मलयालम के एक प्रसिद्ध लेखक हैं। उन्होंने करीब 1500 नवोदित पत्रकारों को प्रशिक्षण प्रदान किया, कार्यशालाएं आयोजित कीं, और विज्ञान संचार के क्षेत्र में संचारकों के लिए आधा दर्जन पाठ्यपुस्तकें लिखी हैं। डॉ अनिल कुमार के 1500 से अधिक लेख/फीचर प्रकाशित हुए हैं एवं पॉपुलर साइंस पर आधारित 40 पुस्तकें भी उन्होंने लिखी हैं।
इंडियन रिसोर्स ऐंड डेवलपमेंट एसोसिएशन एवं मिहिर कुमार पांडा को अनूठे तरीकों से विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी के प्रचार-प्रसार के लिए पुरस्कृत किया गया है। इन तरीकों में कठपुतली शो, फिल्म एवं स्लाइड शो, विज्ञान मेलों का आयोजन, प्रदर्शनी एवं वैज्ञानिक प्रयोगों पर आधारित कार्यशालाएं शामिल हैं। डॉ शेफाली गुलाटी ने व्याख्यान एवं प्रिंट तथा ऑडियो-विजुअल मीडिया द्वारा विज्ञान को लोकप्रिय बनाने में योगदान दिया है। वहीं, डॉ राकेश खत्री करीब तीन दशक से रंगमंच, कार्यशालाओं, मॉडल्स, नेचर टूर जैसे प्रयासों के माध्यम से विज्ञान के प्रति आकर्षण पैदा करने का कार्य करने में जुटे रहे हैं।
डॉ कृष्णा कुमारी चल्ला भी करीब डेढ़ दशक से दृश्य कला, साहित्य, वीडयो, टीवी और इंटरनेट के उपयोग से आम लोगों के लिए विज्ञान संचार कर रही हैं।
एसईआरबी वुमन-एक्सिलेंस अवार्ड इस बार चार महिला वैज्ञानिकों को प्रदान किया गया है। इनमें आईआईटी, बॉम्बे में असिस्टेंट प्रोफेसर शोभना कपूर, मुंबई स्थित नेशनल इंस्टीट्यूट फॉर रिसर्च इन रिप्रोडक्टिव हेल्थ की वैज्ञानिक डॉ अंतरा बैनर्जी, हैदराबाद स्थित नेशनल इंस्टीट्यूट ऑफ बायोटेक्नोलॉजी की वैज्ञानिक डॉ सोनू गांधी, और आईआईटी, जोधपुर में असिस्टेंट प्रोफेसर डॉ रितु गुप्ता शामिल हैं।
‘अवसर’ प्रतियोगिता के अंतर्गत पोस्ट डॉक्टोरल श्रेणी में उत्कृष्ट आलेख के लिए बेंगलुरु स्थित जवाहरलाल नेहरु सेंटर फॉर एडवांस्ड साइंटिफिक रिसर्च की शोधार्थी डॉ संगीता दत्ता को पुरस्कृत किया गया है। इन्मास, डीआरडीओ से पीएचडी डिग्री प्राप्त डॉ संगीता जैव प्रौद्योगिकी विभाग में अपने पोस्ट डॉक्टोरल प्रोजेक्ट के लिए रिसर्च एसोसिएट के तौर पर कार्य कर चुकी हैं। उनके पांच शोध पत्र प्रकाशित हुए हैं, और एक पेटेंट भी उनके नाम दर्ज है। ‘अवसर’ प्रतियोगिता की पीएचडी श्रेणी में प्रथम पुरस्कार सीएसआईआर-सीडीआरआई, लखनऊ की शोधार्थी पूजा मौर्या को मिला है। द्वितीय पुरस्कार आईआईटी, दिल्ली में कंप्यूटर साइंस की शोधार्थी इंदु जोशी, और तृतीय पुरस्कार भारतीय विज्ञान संस्थान, बेंगलुरु की शोधार्थी श्रुति सोनी को दिया गया है।
सभी पुरस्कार विजेताओं को बधाई देते हुए डॉ हर्ष वर्धन ने कहा है कि "विज्ञान संचार एवं लोकप्रियकरण से जुड़े उत्कृष्ट प्रयास, वैज्ञानिक शोध में युवा महिलाओं का योगदान और विज्ञान संचार में अभिनव प्रयोग सराहनीय हैं।"
डॉ हर्ष वर्धन ने इस मौके पर वर्चुअल रूप से विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी पुरस्कारों पर आधारित सूचनाओं से लैस एक ऑनलाइन डेटाबेस लॉन्च किया है। साइंस ऐंड टेक्नोलॉजी अवार्ड इन्फॉर्मेशन रिट्रीवल सिस्टम (STAIRS) नामक यह डेटाबेस स्वतंत्रा से पहले से लेकर अब तक विज्ञान एवं प्रौद्योगिकी के क्षेत्र में पुरस्कृत भारतीय पेशेवरों के बारे में जानकारी उपलब्ध कराएगा।
इसी के साथ, विदेशों में कार्यरत भारतीय मूल के शिक्षाविदों एवं शोधकर्ताओं से संबंधित एक अन्य डेटाबेस भी लॉन्च किया गया है। यह डेटाबेस मौजूदा दौर में बढ़ते अंतरराष्ट्रीय सहयोग के संदर्भ में महत्वपूर्ण माना जा रहा है। इस डेटाबेस में, भारतीय मूल के 23,472 शिक्षाविद एवं शोधकर्ता शामिल किए गए हैं। अमेरिका, कनाडा, ब्रिटेन और ऑस्ट्रेलिया जैसे देशों के 2700 से अधिक विश्वविद्यालयों एवंअन्य शैक्षणिक संस्थानों की वेबसाइट्स को खंगालने के बाद यह डेटाबेस तैयार किया गया है।
आईबीएम रिसर्च इंडिया की निदेशक डॉ गार्गी बी. दासगुप्ता का विशेष व्याख्यान इस बार राष्ट्रीय विज्ञान दिवस पर एक अन्य प्रमुख आकर्षण रहा। डॉ गार्गी बी. दासगुप्ता ने “विज्ञान, प्रौद्योगिकी, नवाचार का भविष्यः शिक्षा, कौशल एवं कार्य पर प्रभाव” विषय को केंद्र में रखते हुए अपना व्याख्यान दिया। उन्होंने अपने व्याख्यान में, मुख्य रूप से इस बात को रेखांकित किया कि चौथी औद्योगिक क्रांति किस तरह नये कौशल की माँग करती है। उल्लेखनीय है कि साइबर भौतिक प्रणाली, आर्टिफशियल इंटेलिजेंस, इंटरनेट ऑफ थिंग्स तथा इंटरनेट ऑफ सर्विसेज इत्यादि चौथी औद्योगिक क्रांति के प्रमुख उपकरण बनकर उभरे हैं।
सर सी.वी. रामन को याद करते हुए हर वर्ष 28 फरवरी को राष्ट्रीय विज्ञान दिवस मनाया जाता है। विज्ञान में नोबेल पुरस्कार प्राप्त करने वाले सी.वी. रामन पहले एशियाई थे। उन्हें यह पुरस्कार, वर्ष 1930 में की गई उनकी खोज ‘रामन प्रभाव’ के लिए मिला था।
Thomas Ender (Wien 1793 - 1875 Wien)
Ruins of Brunnenburg near Tyrol Castle, 1843
Ruine Brunnenburg bei Schloss Tirol
Aquarell/Watercolour
Privatbesitz, Sammlung Erzherzog Johann
Private Ownership, Collection Archduke Johann
The Art of the Viennese Watercolor
Till 13. May 2018
Transparent lightness, brilliant colours, and a generally atmospheric impression are the special qualities of 19th-century Viennese watercolor painting. Virtuosic city views and landscapes, detail-rich portraits, genre paintings, and floral works comprise the rich motivic repertoire featured in this glorious blossoming of Austrian art.
The Viennese watercolor’s heyday was the Biedermeier era: Jakob Alt, Matthäus Loder, Thomas Ender, and Peter Fendi number among its most important artistic figures.
Likewise outstanding are the exquisite works by Rudolf von Alt from his over 70-year career. His masterful watercolours run from the Biedermeier era all the way to the rise of the Secession movement around 1900.
This exhibition presents a veritable parade of exceptionally beautiful pictures, including the ALBERTINA’s own treasures as well as important loan works, all of which pay impressive tribute to the high standing of the Viennese watercolor in the context of 19th century art.
www.albertina.at/en/exhibitions/viennese_watercolour/
On view from 16 February until 13 May 2018.
The Albertina
The architectural history of the Palais
"It is my will that the expansion of the inner city of Vienna with regard to a suitable connection of the same with the suburbs as soon as possible is tackled and at this on Regulirung (regulation) and beautifying of my Residence and Imperial Capital is taken into account. To this end I grant the withdrawal of the ramparts and fortifications of the inner city and the trenches around the same".
This decree of Emperor Franz Joseph I, published on 25 December 1857 in the Wiener Zeitung, formed the basis for the largest the surface concerning and architecturally most significant transformation of the Viennese cityscape. Involving several renowned domestic and foreign architects a "master plan" took form, which included the construction of a boulevard instead of the ramparts between the inner city and its radially upstream suburbs. In the 50-years during implementation phase, an impressive architectural ensemble developed, consisting of imperial and private representational buildings, public administration and cultural buildings, churches and barracks, marking the era under the term "ring-street style". Already in the first year tithe decided a senior member of the Austrian imperial family to decorate the facades of his palace according to the new design principles, and thus certified the aristocratic claim that this also "historicism" said style on the part of the imperial house was attributed.
It was the palace of Archduke Albrecht (1817-1895), the Senior of the Habsburg Family Council, who as Field Marshal held the overall command over the Austro-Hungarian army. The building was incorporated into the imperial residence of the Hofburg complex, forming the south-west corner and extending eleven meters above street level on the so-called Augustinerbastei.
The close proximity of the palace to the imperial residence corresponded not only with Emperor Franz Joseph I and Archduke Albert with a close familial relationship between the owner of the palace and the monarch. Even the former inhabitants were always in close relationship to the imperial family, whether by birth or marriage. An exception here again proves the rule: Don Emanuel Teles da Silva Conde Tarouca (1696-1771), for which Maria Theresa in 1744 the palace had built, was just a close friend and advisor of the monarch. Silva Tarouca underpins the rule with a second exception, because he belonged to the administrative services as Generalhofbaudirektor (general court architect) and President of the Austrian-Dutch administration, while all other him subsequent owners were highest ranking military.
In the annals of Austrian history, especially those of military history, they either went into as commander of the Imperial Army, or the Austrian, later kk Army. In chronological order, this applies to Duke Carl Alexander of Lorraine, the brother-of-law of Maria Theresa, as Imperial Marshal, her son-in-law Duke Albert of Saxe-Teschen, also field marshal, whos adopted son, Archduke Charles of Austria, the last imperial field marshal and only Generalissimo of Austria, his son Archduke Albrecht of Austria as Feldmarschalil and army Supreme commander, and most recently his nephew Archduke Friedrich of Austria, who held as field marshal from 1914 to 1916 the command of the Austro-Hungarian troops. Despite their military profession, all five generals conceived themselves as patrons of the arts and promoted large sums of money to build large collections, the construction of magnificent buildings and cultural life. Charles Alexander of Lorraine promoted as governor of the Austrian Netherlands from 1741 to 1780 the Academy of Fine Arts, the Théâtre de Ja Monnaie and the companies Bourgeois Concert and Concert Noble, he founded the Academie royale et imperial des Sciences et des Lettres, opened the Bibliotheque Royal for the population and supported artistic talents with high scholarships. World fame got his porcelain collection, which however had to be sold by Emperor Joseph II to pay off his debts. Duke Albert began in 1776 according to the concept of conte Durazzo to set up an encyclopedic collection of prints, which forms the core of the world-famous "Albertina" today.
1816 declared to Fideikommiss and thus in future indivisible, inalienable and inseparable, the collection 1822 passed into the possession of Archduke Carl, who, like his descendants, it broadened. Under him, the collection was introduced together with the sumptuously equipped palace on the Augustinerbastei in the so-called "Carl Ludwig'schen fideicommissum in 1826, by which the building and the in it kept collection fused into an indissoluble unity. At this time had from the Palais Tarouca by structural expansion or acquisition a veritable Residenz palace evolved. Duke Albert of Saxe-Teschen was first in 1800 the third floor of the adjacent Augustinian convent wing adapted to house his collection and he had after 1802 by his Belgian architect Louis de Montoyer at the suburban side built a magnificent extension, called the wing of staterooms, it was equipped in the style of Louis XVI. Only two decades later, Archduke Carl the entire palace newly set up. According to scetches of the architect Joseph Kornhäusel the 1822-1825 retreaded premises presented themselves in the Empire style. The interior of the palace testified from now in an impressive way the high rank and the prominent position of its owner. Under Archduke Albrecht the outer appearance also should meet the requirements. He had the facade of the palace in the style of historicism orchestrated and added to the Palais front against the suburbs an offshore covered access. Inside, he limited himself, apart from the redesign of the Rococo room in the manner of the second Blondel style, to the retention of the paternal stock. Archduke Friedrich's plans for an expansion of the palace were omitted, however, because of the outbreak of the First World War so that his contribution to the state rooms, especially, consists in the layout of the Spanish apartment, which he in 1895 for his sister, the Queen of Spain Maria Christina, had set up as a permanent residence.
The era of stately representation with handing down their cultural values found its most obvious visualization inside the palace through the design and features of the staterooms. On one hand, by the use of the finest materials and the purchase of masterfully manufactured pieces of equipment, such as on the other hand by the permanent reuse of older equipment parts. This period lasted until 1919, when Archduke Friedrich was expropriated by the newly founded Republic of Austria. With the republicanization of the collection and the building first of all finished the tradition that the owner's name was synonymous with the building name:
After Palais Tarouca or tarokkisches house it was called Lorraine House, afterwards Duke Albert Palais and Palais Archduke Carl. Due to the new construction of an adjacently located administration building it received in 1865 the prefix "Upper" and was referred to as Upper Palais Archduke Albrecht and Upper Palais Archduke Frederick. For the state a special reference to the Habsburg past was certainly politically no longer opportune, which is why was decided to name the building according to the in it kept collection "Albertina".
This name derives from the term "La Collection Albertina" which had been used by the gallery Inspector Maurice von Thausing in 1870 in the Gazette des Beaux-Arts for the former graphics collection of Duke Albert. For this reason, it was the first time since the foundation of the palace that the name of the collection had become synonymous with the room shell. Room shell, hence, because the Republic of Austria Archduke Friedrich had allowed to take along all the movable goods from the palace in his Hungarian exile: crystal chandeliers, curtains and carpets as well as sculptures, vases and clocks. Particularly stressed should be the exquisite furniture, which stems of three facilities phases: the Louis XVI furnitures of Duke Albert, which had been manufactured on the basis of fraternal relations between his wife Archduchess Marie Christine and the French Queen Marie Antoinette after 1780 in the French Hofmanufakturen, also the on behalf of Archduke Charles 1822-1825 in the Vienna Porcelain Manufactory by Joseph Danhauser produced Empire furnitures and thirdly additions of the same style of Archduke Friedrich, which this about 1900 at Portois & Ffix as well as at Friedrich Otto Schmidt had commissioned.
The "swept clean" building got due to the strained financial situation after the First World War initially only a makeshift facility. However, since until 1999 no revision of the emergency equipment took place, but differently designed, primarily the utilitarianism committed office furnitures complementarily had been added, the equipment of the former state rooms presented itself at the end of the 20th century as an inhomogeneous administrative mingle-mangle of insignificant parts, where, however, dwelt a certain quaint charm. From the magnificent state rooms had evolved depots, storage rooms, a library, a study hall and several officed.
Worse it hit the outer appearance of the palace, because in times of continued anti-Habsburg sentiment after the Second World War and inspired by an intolerant destruction will, it came by pickaxe to a ministerial erasure of history. In contrast to the graphic collection possessed the richly decorated facades with the conspicuous insignia of the former owner an object-immanent reference to the Habsburg past and thus exhibited the monarchial traditions and values of the era of Francis Joseph significantly. As part of the remedial measures after a bomb damage, in 1948 the aristocratic, by Archduke Albert initiated, historicist facade structuring along with all decorations was cut off, many facade figures demolished and the Hapsburg crest emblems plunged to the ground. Since in addition the old ramp also had been cancelled and the main entrance of the bastion level had been moved down to the second basement storey at street level, ended the presence of the old Archduke's palace after more than 200 years. At the reopening of the "Albertina Graphic Collection" in 1952, the former Hapsburg Palais of splendour presented itself as one of his identity robbed, formally trivial, soulless room shell, whose successful republicanization an oversized and also unproportional eagle above the new main entrance to the Augustinian road symbolized. The emocratic throw of monuments had wiped out the Hapsburg palace from the urban appeareance, whereby in the perception only existed a nondescript, nameless and ahistorical building that henceforth served the lodging and presentation of world-famous graphic collection of the Albertina. The condition was not changed by the decision to the refurbishment because there were only planned collection specific extensions, but no restoration of the palace.
This paradigm shift corresponded to a blatant reversal of the historical circumstances, as the travel guides and travel books for kk Residence and imperial capital of Vienna dedicated itself primarily with the magnificent, aristocratic palace on the Augustinerbastei with the sumptuously fitted out reception rooms and mentioned the collection kept there - if at all - only in passing. Only with the repositioning of the Albertina in 2000 under the direction of Klaus Albrecht Schröder, the palace was within the meaning and in fulfillment of the Fideikommiss of Archduke Charles in 1826 again met with the high regard, from which could result a further inseparable bond between the magnificent mansions and the world-famous collection. In view of the knowing about politically motivated errors and omissions of the past, the facades should get back their noble, historicist designing, the staterooms regain their glamorous, prestigious appearance and culturally unique equippment be repurchased. From this presumption, eventually grew the full commitment to revise the history of redemption and the return of the stately palace in the public consciousness.
The smoothed palace facades were returned to their original condition and present themselves today - with the exception of the not anymore reconstructed Attica figures - again with the historicist decoration and layout elements that Archduke Albrecht had given after the razing of the Augustinerbastei in 1865 in order. The neoclassical interiors, today called after the former inhabitants "Habsburg Staterooms", receiving a meticulous and detailed restoration taking place at the premises of originality and authenticity, got back their venerable and sumptuous appearance. From the world wide scattered historical pieces of equipment have been bought back 70 properties or could be returned through permanent loan to its original location, by which to the visitors is made experiencable again that atmosphere in 1919 the state rooms of the last Habsburg owner Archduke Frederick had owned. The for the first time in 80 years public accessible "Habsburg State Rooms" at the Palais Albertina enable now again as eloquent testimony to our Habsburg past and as a unique cultural heritage fundamental and essential insights into the Austrian cultural history. With the relocation of the main entrance to the level of the Augustinerbastei the recollection to this so valuable Austrian Cultural Heritage formally and functionally came to completion. The vision of the restoration and recovery of the grand palace was a pillar on which the new Albertina should arise again, the other embody the four large newly built exhibition halls, which allow for the first time in the history of the Albertina, to exhibit the collection throughout its encyclopedic breadh under optimal conservation conditions.
The palace presents itself now in its appearance in the historicist style of the Ringstrassenära, almost as if nothing had happened in the meantime. But will the wheel of time should not, cannot and must not be turned back, so that the double standards of the "Albertina Palace" said museum - on the one hand Habsburg grandeur palaces and other modern museum for the arts of graphics - should be symbolized by a modern character: The in 2003 by Hans Hollein designed far into the Albertina square cantilevering, elegant floating flying roof. 64 meters long, it symbolizes in the form of a dynamic wedge the accelerated urban spatial connectivity and public access to the palace. It advertises the major changes in the interior as well as the huge underground extensions of the repositioned "Albertina".
Christian Benedictine
Art historian with research interests History of Architecture, building industry of the Hapsburgs, Hofburg and Zeremonialwissenschaft (ceremonial sciences). Since 1990 he works in the architecture collection of the Albertina. Since 2000 he supervises as director of the newly founded department "Staterooms" the restoration and furnishing of the state rooms and the restoration of the facades and explores the history of the palace and its inhabitants.
Watching the sun set through the pyramid of Journey Into Imagination pavilion in Future World at EPCOT Center
FREY WILLE
An International Company with Viennese Roots
The Viennese enamel-jewellery manufacturer FREY WILLE is known worldwide for its artistically authentic designs and its wealth of luminous, colourful designs. Having rapidly expanded since 1992, the company has increased revenues to an unprecedented level, despite a general slump in the worldwide jewellery trade.
In 1951 the company was founded by the Viennese artist Michaela Frey, who created ornamental artefacts and jewellery out of enamel. Sh decorated her pieces by hand with floral and folkloristic motives.
In 1970 Friedrich Wille, a chartered accountant with a background in law, partnered with Frey, managing the commercial side of the business. After Frey's death in 1980, Wille took over the artistic management, as well. He established an international team of academically trained designers under the leadership of Simone Grünberger, who focused on the creation of decorative art jewellery, emphasizing the artistic work in every design.
FREY WILLE's decorative art jewellery has set new standards on the jewellery market with its insistence on absolute artistic authenticity. Collections undergo a two-year long developmental process in which countless sketches and colour details precede the creation of the design prototypes. FREY WILLE artists always abide by the company's high standards of art historical knowledge and detailed research work.
Design Philosophy
This unique design philosophy - realised in fine enamel with 24ct gold - as well as the highest artistic and technical quality soon met with international recognition and appreciation. Several flagship boutiques were opened across Europe beginning in 1993, and wholesale exports from Vienna throughout Europe, the Middle East and the Far East grew exponentially.
Worldwide Expansion
Today FREY WILLE is a recognized brand with more than 74 flagship boutiques around the world and sales points in 19 countries on three continents. The company's shops can be found at Europe's best addresses like Paris, Milan, London, Hamburg and Berlin, as well as at other cosmopolitan cities such as Beijing, Hong Kong, Dubai, Moscow, St. Petersburg, and Los Angeles.
Over 1000 jeweller partners in Europe, the Middle East, Asia, and Canada showcase the company's artistic jewellery. FREY WILLE is also a successful player in the travelretail market, especially in the Middle East. The fast-paced expansion strategy continues to focus on Eastern and Central Europe, with North America and the Far East also playing important roles.
For all these international activities the company draws energy and inspiration through its faithfulness to its roots: The FREY WILLE's headquarters as well as its production site have been located in Vienna since 1951. The company's love of art and history and its profound respect towards other cultures shape the work and the success of FREY WILLE today and in future.
merlinomayo.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/metamorphoses/
Metamorphoses by Merlino Mayo at LEA - Full Sim Project - 1st turn - 2011-2012 Show Open till 15 March 2012.
First of all I want to thank LEA (Linden Endowment for the Arts) and The LEA committee (Bryn Oh, Dancoyote Antonelli, Dekka Raymaker, JayJay Zifanwe, L1 Loire, Sasun Steinbeck, Solo Mornington, Werner Kurosawa, PatriciaAnne Daviau -advisor-) who trusted me and other artists (Artistide Despres, Charlotte Bartlett, comet Morigi, Freewee Ling, Glyph Graves, Harter Fall, Merlino Mayo, Mikati Slade, Misprint Thursday, Oberon Onmura, RAG Randt, Secret Rage, Selavy Oh, Sowa Mai, Ux Hax, Zachh Cale) for the first round LEA Land Grants to give me the opportunity to use a big space as a full sim to express my art.
Taking inspiration from the 1st book and a few of other episodes of the "Metamorphoses", word that from greek means "change of shape", written in latin by Publius Ovidius, this new project aims to build a path of multi levels within an allegorical vision related to the current age of crisis and transformation of human beings and our society.
The way to see the whole work would formally very different but conceptually similar to the fresco dedicated to the "Fall of the Giants" by Giulio Romano in the Palazzo Te in Mantua (Mantova), where the representation becomes a metaphor of the times lived and precarious power and human ambitions; So going on other examples are possible like the trasformations of Aracne, Daphne, Icarus, Heliades sisters, Medusa, ect. The outer and inner change of form and substance of living beings and their natural relationships into something different, new and unexpected, from the creative process naturally with technology through the lens of the symbolism of Myth and the squared glass of Science.
It is very intersting to see the origin of name Palazzo Te: "The famous villa, designed for parties, receptions and "idleness" of the Duke of Mantua, was built on an island in direct contiguity with the city center, known since the Middle Ages Tejeto, or Te. The hypothesis most likely derive from the term 'tilietum' (place of linden trees) or from the Celtic 'tezza' linked with Latin 'atteggia' in english 'attitude', both meaning 'hut'." *from
Obviously the project is not complete about the whole huge Ovid's work, and in start I've done just some main episodes, but my intention is to work on it in future, it will take time for sure. Stay tuned.
Merlino Mayo
Book I: Cosmogony, Ages of Man, Gigantes, Daphne;
0 Metamorphoses - Start point "Palazzo Te, Mantova"
1 Metamorphoses - I - Cosmogony - The Creation of Universe
2 Metamorphoses - II - Cosmogony The Elements - EL MENTUM (2010)
3 Metamorphoses - III - Cosmogony - The Creation of Sea and Sky
4 Metamorphoses - IV - Ages of Man - The Golden Age of Man
5 Metamorphoses - V - Raise of Giants
6 Metamorphoses - VI - Fall of Giants
7 Metamorphoses - VII - Daphne
It's taken four weeks but finally an electric bus has finally got onto the sundays-only service 500, which was booked to use an electric bus from day one but this had not been possible due to technical problems with the charger at Askham Bar.
Following a decision by the council council to remove subsidies for sunday buses en-masse, First York has attempted to keep some favourable areas connected with a bus link to the city centre by means of route 500 - this runs from Foxwood Lane through Acomb Park and the Woodthorpe loop to Askham Bar Tesco and then the Park and Ride site before leaving the P&R site at the top entrance normally only used by cars, and then along Sim Balk Lane to the village of Bishopthorpe. The service is free and the idea is that passengers board the 500 and travel to Askham Bar where they change for the hite Line 3 service to the city centre - this is operating on sundays only until the end of the year when the trial period ends, and it will also be running on December 27 when a "Sunday+" service will be in operation from First.
Andy Burbridge is back on the 500 for the second week running, and has fished out fully-electric Optare Versa EV YJ15 AYO to run the route today. As the university has finished its winter term and the students get a month or so off back home, this bus isn't required on the 56 service today. The 500 is timed to give a period of about 40 minutes in the early afternoon whereby the bus can park at Askham Bar and be recharged so as to continue for the rest of the day; however the batteries on these apparently weren't designed to be fast-charged, and so this in combination with the cold weather is notably reducing the range these buses can run on a charge - so the journey to Bishopthorpe and back immediately after the charging period was carried out by a different Versa so as to allow this a full hour on charge. In future weeks if a Versa is used again on the 500, it may be that this same turn to Bishopthorpe and back is run by a bus pulled off the 3 such as a Citaro (which will be interesting!) or that the very first journey of the day is run by something else.
In this photo 49912 is seen on the Moor Lane bridge over the railway in some later winter afternoon sunshine with a thumbs-up from Andy.
As I mentioned in the captions to the photos of the Saint Philibert abbey church I recently uploaded, the main purpose of that photo trip, as far as the town of Tournus was concerned, was to see a small, out-of-the-way pre-Romanesque chapel located but a few hundred meters from the world-famous church, yet largely ignored by the tourist trade: Saint Laurent (Lawrence in English).
This chapel was built in the early 900s by the monks of the abbey. It is already mentioned in writing as existing and in service in 946. While there is not much left of the abbey church as it existed during the Carolingian times, the Saint Laurent chapel remains mostly intact, with only the windows opened during the 16th century.
It is owned by the town of Tournus. It is very closely surrounded by other properties, public and private, which means there is absolutely no room to step back and photograph it from the back and the southern wall. It is normally closed, open only during the Heritage Days in September, but I managed to secure access inside through my contacts.
The apse. Notice the narrowness and the depth, both unusual! The colors are painted, there are no differently colored stones like in Auvergne for decorative purposes. Notice also the faint traces of alfresco paintings on the wall above the arch: I will get back to those in future uploads.
"Now that is what I call a Re-enactment!
Bartimaeus the blind beggar
May the Peace of the Risen Christ be with you! Easter is here.
We had a most successful Re-enactment of Our Lord's Passion. After so many months of preparation, sewing machines running hot updating costumes, actors learning lines, sound systems being upgraded and more, there we stood at 11am on Good Friday with microphone in hand: "Welcome to the 2018 Re-enactment of Our Lord's Passion!" And so it began.
How do we measure "success" in regards to our re-enactment?
On one measure you can use crowd numbers, donations, "Likes" and Shares and that would be appropriate if this was just a normal play. Even on that basis our event would certainly be considered a success with somewhere around 5,000 people participating and lots of great feedback and support.
But how do you measure success for a play that tries to be an authentic re-enactment of the Passion of Jesus Christ based on scripture and tradition of the Church? In this case we were told by the Pauline Fathers that many people came back and they were hearing confessions the whole day.
We saw many people following the play and praying along with us.
Crowning with Thorns
Many came up to us after the play thanking us for such an invigorating presentation of our Lord's Passion. Here are some of the early tales we have been told of the day.
One of the biggest challenges with a moving play is the safety of actors, crew and pilgrims as the play moves from scene to scene. We try many methods such as fixed tape and ropes as well as rope held by our marshalls. Enforcement for keeping the crowd back tends to fall towards the soldiers who, like in a theatre restaurant, instruct the crowd to move back for their own safety. Our photographer, eager to get "the photo", allowed a little old lady to sneak past the barriers so she could touch the cloak of Jesus. As the Centurion swung his arm giving orders to his soldiers, this lady who stood upright under his swing moved forward. "What the?" cried the Centurion and firmly moved her back with instructions. I thought she would be concerned at the firm treatment but she was grinning ear to ear and holding her bag telling her family, "I touched his cloak!"
I touched Jesus' Robes!
Some of our Marshalls volunteered to help on the day. Often these had not experienced the fluid intensity of a moving play like this and even though they were holding on to the rope barrier, found themselves sucked into the crowd. When the Centurion or one of the soldiers noticed their lost marshall and we heard the cry, "Get him out of there!" as they reached in and brought him back into line.
Our marshalls and soldiers request people to stay back for their own safety. When the Roman soldiers and Jewish guards broke out into another scuffle we heard the cry, "They're fighting again!" and the crowd suddenly made space. "Please stand back for your own safety," we once more cried as the procession moved on.
When Jesus was being scourged, the process started with one Roman making a few lashes. Then he gets moved back with the cry, "Let someone do it properly!" The primary flogging Roman soldier let fly with the whip dipped in the fake blood. Drops of blood flew in an arc and the soft straps struck Jesus with a satisfying slap and Jesus cried out. The crowd stopped chattering with an audible gasp.
One of our new actors had not actually attended the play in past years so this was all an amazing experience. When Jesus was being scourged and mocked, tears came to her eyes, but the Woman of Jerusalem in charge held her and said, "Don't cry yet. We have to call for his crucifixion in the next scene." So she held back her tears and like a trooper joined the crowd calling for Jesus' crucifixion. As she said afterwards, it won't be the same contemplating the story of Jesus' Passion in future.
At the start of the play we made sure the actors and crew knew that this was a "Live" play. That meant no retakes, no pause to re-do the scene, no stepping in to try again. "The play must go on!" we instructed. "After all, the pilgrims haven't read the script and the story won't be affected if your lines are not exact. So long as we get the important bits in the right order, no-one will know." That was good advice.
When Pontius Pilate was standing majestically on the balcony addressing the crowd, the sign of Roman Superiority detached from the balcony railing and fell to the ground with a crash. Pontius Pliate's eyes opened wide for a brief moment and then he turned his gaze back to the Crowd and Caiaphas and the Jews and continued as if nothing was wrong. The crew quickly removed the sign and all moved on as if this was part of play. We were told afterwards how clever this was, the falling of the sign representing the fall of Roman Justice. The play must go on.
Although we have a script which covers all the main dialogue and actions, the flavour comes from the interactions and improvised dialogue of the actors. Insults between the Jews and Romans provided occasional humour too. At the crucifixion, one of the Jewish Chief Priests called out "How many Romans does it take to Crucify someone?" Being sick of their taunts a Roman Guard approached them and said, "I have room for one more. Are you ready?" The Chief Priest stepped back behind the Jewish Guards and replied, "I have an appointment tomorrow and can't today."
We will report further tales as they come to light, but I want to end this post-play post with some heartfelt thanks. When organising an event like this where there are months of preparation involving over 100 cast, crew and support organisations, the whole thing only works when people do their part. This year worked so well because everyone did their part, no matter how small that part may have appeared. The actors didn't just remember their lines, but they also worked with their fellow actors and added their own ideas for their character. For example, the actor playing the blind beggar Bartimeus had the idea of having a blindfold and sat in his spot near the start of the play, begging for alms for about 20 minutes before the play reached him. Then he improvised with many calls for alms and requests about what the commotion was. It was a great job which really brought out the character of the blind beggar. It may have only been a bit part, but it formed part of the greater whole.
The same applied for each of the roles, from the primary speaking parts through to the behind the scenes actors of the Women of Jerusalem and Apostles before and after the abandonment of Jesus.
So many people have done their parts and done them well I am very proud to have been able to assist in co-ordinating and directing the play. An event like this generates a great camaraderie and fellowship and fosters a deeper understanding of not just this critical point in salvation history, but also the very human element that is the point of the whole Passion. Every actor and member of the crew and supporters must know that all the work and effort has been worthwhile to so many people.
Thank you.
~David Bruggeman"
Copied from goodfridaypassionplay.blogspot.com.au/
For more information please visit www.paulinefathers.org.au
No need to meditate or imagine, this event will take you to Calvary!
Images by Giovanni Portelli Photography © 2018.