View allAll Photos Tagged TeaTree

Castiarina beetle looking fabulous on some white Leptospermum flowers. Found on a bush care site in Katoomba, Blue Mountains, NSW.

Built 1874 for George Wills’ drapery business, architect Daniel Garlick, second building attached to the west 1878, leased to John Martins store 1930s, became car parking station 1936, later used by School of Arts & Crafts and Technical Correspondence School. Also leather goods industry, John Martins Theatre Shop, Art Gallery, etc. Now only the facade remains in North Terrace in front of a 34-storey student accommodation tower.

 

“Any one passing along North-terrace recently must have been struck with the remarkably fine appearance of the large warehouse which has just been completed opposite the Institute for Messrs. G. & R. Wills & Co. The premises of this firm have gradually been extended in depth, till at last they have reached the great length of two acres, or 410 feet; and as they form by far the most spacious soft goods establishment in the city.” [Register 5 Jan 1874]

 

“The structure has a frontage of 52 feet by a depth of 90 feet, and consists of basement, ground, and first floors. The height from the footpath to the top of the parapet is 48 feet. The front is of Teatree Gully freestone, with cement dressings, the walls up to the plinth line being of Glen Osmond stone, finished with a string of white freestone. The facade is finished with a bold cornice, surmounted by a parapet with balustrading on each side. The centre of the front is broken by vermiculated pilasters with ornamental capitals, a handsome triplet window in the centre of the first floor, above the door, and double windows in each side with similar capitals. A dental cornice divides the lower from the upper storey, and flanking the main entrance are pilasters with moulded caps. There is a small entrance at the side of this, opposite which is a very fine staircase leading to the first floor.” [Evening Journal 5 Jan 1874]

 

“Messrs. G. & R. Wills & Co. are making an extensive addition to their fine warehouse on North-terrace. The new building will be in the same style as that now standing, but will stand forward about twelve feet, so that the line will be pleasantly broken. Mr. D. Garlick is the architect, and Mr. Chas. Farr the contractor. The cost will be between £5,000 and £6,000.” [Register 1 Jan 1878]

 

“Statements that the Salvation Army had purchased expensive property on North terrace from G. & R. Wills & Co., Limited, were denied by Brigadier H. Burhop (divisional commander) this morning. He said that the present condition of finances would not permit of such a transaction.” [News 15 Apr 1930]

 

“An important North terrace freehold, comprising warehouses premises of two floors and basement, with frontage of 105 ft., will be submitted to auction at an early date by Keith Wilkinson & Co., under instructions from G & R. Wills & Co. Ltd. The property, which occupies a commanding site, just east of Gawler place and opposite the library, is at present under lease to John Martin & Co. Ltd., whose term expires on September 30.” [The Mail 27 Jul 1935]

 

“A modem indoor parking station with accommodation for 150 cars at three different levels is being created in North terrace, opposite the Public Library, with the approval of the City Council, for the purpose of relieving the kerb-side parking problem in this part of the city. The garage building, a two-storied structure which was built as a warehouse for G. & R. Wills & Co. and was later used for a time as a nightclub, is being converted at a cost of £600, and will probably be ready to accommodate cars at the end of next week. Three ramps from the street level are being constructed, one to the first floor, another to the basement, and the third to the ground floor. On the ground floor a lounge, offices, and other conveniences for patrons are being built. Otherwise little structural alteration is being made. The front facade will remain unchanged except for the ramp openings, and will be floodlighted at night. One of the proprietors, Mr. L. A. Higginbotham, said yesterday that three petrol pumps which would be erected outside the building would be hidden by screens. With the exception of a name and numbered ramps, there would be hardly any alteration to the appearance of the present building to justify criticism that it would not harmonise with the surroundings. The garage will be open all day and all night should the need arise.” [Advertiser 2 Jul 1936]

 

“Where to Park Your Car. Attendants will take your car at the entrance and will deliver it at the ground floor door when required. There is a day and night service, and the charges are twenty-four hours parking for one shilling. The Big Garage is situated between Gawler place and Charles street, at 204 North terrace. The Big Garage is most modern and up to date.” [Advertiser 5 Sep 1936]

 

“Special Xmas Offer! Re-Tyre at John Martin’s. . . Fitted at the Big Garage, North terrace. . . Fittings are without charge.” [Advertiser 21 Dec 1939 advert]

 

“Education Department. South Australian School of Arts and Crafts, 204 North terrace, Adelaide. (Opp. Public Library.) The School will Re-Open for the first term. 1943, on Monday, February 1st.” [News 23 Jan 1943 advert]

 

“Part-Time Instructor Wanted for Retouching and Coloring of Photographs. . . apply personally to the Principal of the School of Arts and Crafts, 204 North terrace, Adelaide.” [News 28 Jan 1943 advert]

 

“Technical Correspondence School, 204 North Terrace, Adelaide. . . This school specialises in Technical Education by the individual Postal Study method. As each student is treated individually, Enrolment May Be Made at Any Time. . . Accountancy. . . Station Bookkeeping. . . Shorthand. . . Building Construction. . . Motor Mechanics. . . Agriculture (Cereals), Horticulture, Beekeeping. Animal Husbandry, Woolclassing. . . Journalism. . . Dressmaking. . . Various courses to Leaving standard in English, Arithmetic, Algebra. Geometry, French, Latin, History, Geography, Bookkeeping, Physics.” [Chronicle 18 Sep 1947 advert]

 

“Machinists. Excellent opportunity for Girls who can use a sewing machine To Earn High Wages and Bonuses. . . F.P.T. Industries Ltd., 204 North terrace, Adelaide.” [Advertiser 28 Jan 1949 advert]

 

“Leather cutter, experienced man for permanent position in leather bag and case trade. F.P.T. Industries, 204 North ter.” [Advertiser 24 Apr 1950 advert]

 

“Junior boys and girls to learn interesting trade. Leather and canvas goods. Furniture and furnishings. F.P.T. Industries Ltd, 204 North ter, Adelaide.” [Advertiser 27 Apr 1950]

 

“When you need a Fancy Dress or Period Costume, contact the Theatre Shop. . . 204 North Terrace, Adelaide.” [Advertiser4 Feb 1950 advert]

 

“G. and R. Wills and Co. . . Mr. K. A. Wills (chairman). . . The company was selling its North terrace property at a figure considerably in excess of that at which it has been standing in the books, Mr. Wills added. For the past 20 years the property had been leased at not very remunerative rents.” [Advertiser 27 Oct 1951]

 

GEORGE WILLS

“Mr George Wills of the firm of Messrs George Wills & Co, died in London yesterday.” [Kadina & Wallaroo Times 19 Dec 1906]

 

“Mr. George Wills, senior. . . was born in Devonshire, in 1823. . . The deceased gentleman left four sons, two daughters, and four grandchildren. One of the sons, Mr. George Tarlton Wills, is connected with the Adelaide [sic] business. Two others — Messrs. J. H. Wills and Charles Percy Wills — are in the London houses, and the fourth — Mr. Arthur Wills, barrister-at-law-is member of the House, of Commons for North Dorset. The daughters, who live in London, are Misses Lucy and Ellen Wills. The deceased gentleman was a widower, his wife having died about eight years ago.” [Express & Telegraph18 Dec 1906]

 

“In a notice of the death of Mr. George Wills, senior. . . it was stated that a son of the deceased gentleman, Mr. George Tarlton Wills, was connected with the Adelaide office of the firm. Mr. G. T. Wills is associated with the London house.” [Advertiser 20 Dec 1906]

 

“George Wills, founder of the firm of G. & R. Wills & Co., wholesale warehousemen of London and Australia, and senior partner in George Wills & Co., merchants and shipping agents. Mr. Wills was born in Devonshire. . . At the age of 20 years he went to London, and entered the employ of Messrs. Goode, Gainsford,, & Co., where Mr. C. H. Goode, another successful Adelaide merchant, was also engaged at the same time. Mr. Wills came to South Australia in 1849, and opened a retail drapery store in Bundle street, from which .small beginnings the powerful firm of G. & R. Wills & Co. sprang — a firm that now has branches in Melbourne, Broken Hill, Fremantle, Kalgoorlie, Perth, Manchester, Paris, and London. . . Mr. Wills had lived in London for many years, but practically to the end he continued to take an active part in the administration of the two firms in Adelaide bearing his name, while he went in for farming and stockbreeding on his estate in Devon.” [Evening Journal 18 Dec 1906]

 

“The business of George Wills and Co. is, however, of a totally different character from that of G. and R. Wills & Co., the latter being devoted solely to the textile or soft goods trade, while in the case of George Wills and Co. the business is confined to shipping and the carrying on of a general merchants' trade.” [Advertiser 19 Dec 1906]

 

RICHARD WILLS

“WILLS.— On the 4th March, at his residence, Prospect Village, Richard Wills, Esq., aged 33 years,” [Register 5 Mar 1862]

 

“Mr. Richard Wills, of the well-known firm of G. & R. Wills & Co. of this city. Mr. Wills first arrived in the colony about ten years ago. . . Mr. Wills afterwards returned to England, where he remained about two years, when he again came out to this colony in the year 1859. Last year he was married to the second daughter of Mr. W. Brace, of Kensington, by whom lie had a son born only a fortnight ago.” [Advertiser 5 Mar 1862]

 

I believe this is a Leioproctus. I saw the same (or a similar) native bee on the Persoonia chamaepitys. It was enjoying the nectar on offer from this Leptospermum tree. Found in Katoomba, Blue Mountains, NSW.

“In all the city round about may be the rush and stir of noonday; but here there is always peace.” [Register 17 Apr 1923]

 

The Women’s War Memorial, usually referred to as the Cross of Sacrifice, was the idea of SA women soon after WWI ended. Funds were collected from women as a tribute to the British, French & Allied troops lost in the war; 10,000 subscribers contributed over £3,000. The first stage was the Cross of Sacrifice, a replica of the cross designed by Sir Reginald Blomfield which stands over war cemeteries. It was built by Walter Torode of Unley using Tea Tree Gully stone from the St Peter's College quarry. The cross foundation stone was laid 4 Aug 1920 by the Governor, Sir Archibald Weigall. On 24 Mar 1922 Ethel Wyatt, who originated the idea of a women’s memorial, placed under the shaft of the cross the names of men who died serving in the war. (The women refused to include names of nurses lost.) The cross, facing east, with a bronze crusaders sword attached, was unveiled 25 Apr 1922. The Stone of Remembrance at the eastern end of the Memorial Garden was unveiled 26 Apr 1923. Based on that of Sir Edward Lutyens, it is a 5-ton block of Palmer stone, also built by Walter Torode. The Garden of Memory was laid out in the shape of a cross with hedges of olive as suggested by Herbert Baker, one of the three principal architects for the War Graves Commission. The Eternal Flame & Ataturk’s Tribute were added 11 Nov 2008. The Anzac Day March traditionally leaves the SA National War memorial and ends at the Cross of Sacrifice where a Remembrance Service is held.

 

“A large number of women war workers assembled in the Mayor's Parlor on Wednesday afternoon to consider a suggestion for the establishment of a women's war memorial. . . it is a fitting sequel to women's work and sacrifice that the women of South Australia shall erect, as a memorial to the sailors and soldiers who have laid down their lives in this war, some monument, to be placed in a prominent site, and demonstrate publicly for all time their reverence for the spirit of sacrifice which filled their men and their own humble pride in sharing that sacrifice." [Advertiser 13 Mar 1919]

 

“it was Miss E. Wyatt's idea, and that the committee grew out of the League of Loyal Women's organization. Public meetings were held, and women everywhere joined in to help.” [Register 17 Apr 1923]

 

“the women were not erecting the memorial to their own work as seemed to be the idea in some quarters. The women . . . have stood behind their men and cared for them in camps, hospitals, and trenches and welcomed them home, and their memorial is just a tribute to the men who have passed beyond their care. . . it is proposed by the promoters that the form of the memorial should be one of two alternatives, a simple rough stone cross or some piece or group of statuary in bronze. The exact size and form will of necessity be determined by the amount subscribed.” [Daily Herald 1 May 1919]

 

“The national memorial is to be erected, or, at any rate, subsidised by a Government grant, which is perfectly proper, but we want ours to be absolutely distinct — a spontaneous gift, erected in that 'give because it is a pleasure and a privilege' spirit which makes the humblest tribute acceptable.” [Advertiser 1 May 1919]

 

“Mr. Herbert Baker, well known in the architectural world, has rendered a great service in advising the committee and planning the scheme which will be carried out under the supervision of Mr. Alfred Wells. . . letter from Mr. Baker: — 'I have so much appreciated your sensible and excellent ideas in such a good cause that I will gladly give you some suggestions. . . . I have suggested laying out part of the garden along the axis of the Cathedral. . . I have placed the war stone in the apse, as it were, formed of a cut hedge of dark green. . . The centre path would run straight down to the cross at the far end, and which would be on a circular stone-paved platform, two or three steps up. I suggest that the stone should be framed with spiral trees, and the cross with spreading trees.’” [Register 3 Mar 1920]

 

“There was a large gathering of women at the laying of the foundation stone of the Women's War Memorial at Pennington terrace, North Adelaide, on Wednesday. The ceremony was performed by the Governor (Sir Archibald Weigall). Over 1500 women war workers marched from Victoria square to the site of the memorial, the procession being headed by the band of the R.S. and S. League. . . Numbers of the Cheer-Up Society in uniform were present, and a guard of honor composed of army nurses under Matron Davidson.” [Daily Herald 5 Aug 1920]

 

“His Excellency the Governor (Sir Archibald Weigall) laid the foundation stone of the Women's Memorial, and another of the stone bearing the inscription 'To the glory of God and the imperishable memory of the men who gave their lives in the great war, 1914-1920. The tribute of the women of South. Australia'.” [Register 12 Aug 1920]

 

“A formidable sword, of ancient design, which would be serviceable only in the hands of a Goliath, was among the recent imports to South Australia from England. It is a Crusader's sword, made of bronze, and will figure on the face of the tall white stone cross which is to be erected in Pennington Gardens, North Adelaide. . . It was expected that the parts of the cross would be ready for assembling this mouth, but owing to the difficulty in obtaining stone of uniform color and the required durability the work has been delayed. The cross will be the dominant feature of an elaborate scheme. The entire garden will be transformed, in accordance with a plan gratuitously provided by Mr. Herbert Baker (designer of the City of New Delhi, and a member of the Imperial War Graves Commission), and the memorial column will look down upon a low shrine of remembrance, the design for which has been supplied by Sir' Edward Lutyen, who was the designee of the London Cenotaph.” [Advertiser 2 Apr 1921]

 

“After many months of research since the foundation of the Women's Memorial Cross at Pennington Gardens, North Adelaide, was completed, the full number of special sized stones have been quarried, and the contractor, Mr. Walter Torode, is in a position to arrange for the completion of the memorial. The stone is from St. Peter's College quarry, Teatree Gully.” [Register 29 Aug 1921]

 

“Excellent progress is being made in the work of laying out the garden near Pennington-terrace east for the women of South Australia's memorial to the men who gave their lives in the war. The hedge forming the enclosure has been planted, and preparations are being made for forming the flower-beds and paths in accordance with the design. . . some people did not approve of the choice of an olive hedge, but the opinion of experts had been obtained, and the question carefully gone into before it was decided upon. The committee had had to bear in mind the fact that owing to the nature of the subsoil cupressus and other types of hedge would require replacing from time to time, whereas the olive would be practically everlasting. It was, moreover, a most beautiful hedge when properly cut and looked after, and was also decidedly appropriate, through its historical association with the Crucifix. . . The monolith, or Stone of Remembrance, similar to those placed in the war cemeteries abroad, was not likely to be finished until later, as it was difficult to procure a perfect large block from which could be cut in one piece, but the material was understood to be now in sight, and the work in relation to it would, proceed with the least possible delay.” [Advertiser 13 Oct 1921]

 

“Women's Memorial in Pennington Gardens. When the foundation stone was laid offerings were brought and laid on the stone, and into the little violet linen bags which held each offering a card or slip of paper with the name of a soldier who had given his life for our sakes was slipped. These have been saved and put into a jar, which is to be buried beneath the cross.” [The Journal 25 Mar 1922]

 

“the site of the Women's Memorial to the Fallen in the Great War at Pennington Gardens . . . the placing of an urn in the base of the cross. . . Miss Ethel Wyatt placed the urn, which was enfolded in the Union Jack, inside the base of the cross. . . The names enclosed in the receptacle were those of British, French, and Allied fighters in the Great War; and were received on the day that the foundation stone was laid, The women who desired to assist in the movement brought offerings in little violet bags, and each contained the name of some loved one, who had given his life in the defence of womanhood and for all that it enshrined.” [Register 25 Mar 1922]

 

“Viewed from the centre of the pathway a trinity of crosses is seen, for the crosses on the spires of St. Peter's Cathedral are seen as in guardianship, on either side of the Memorial Cross.” [The Journal 26 Apr 1922]

 

“the beautiful monument just unveiled, had been erected not only to the soldiers of their great British Empire, but also to the memory of the soldiers of the Allies who had fallen in assisting to win the war. It was another example-of the splendid loyalty and aid given by the women of the Empire to soldiers, not only while abroad, but since their return. All the money for that memorial had been subscribed voluntarily by the ladies of South Australia.” [Register 26 Apr 1922]

 

“the annual Violet Memory Day ceremonies in Adelaide in honour of those who died in the Great War. The Exhibition Building was crowded. . . It was in July, 1915, that the first gathering was held in honour of those who had fallen in the fighting and as a public means of affording some comfort to the bereaved. . . there was a great and charming free contribution of violets (which were subsequently placed on the Women's Memorial at North Adelaide and on the soldiers' graves at the West Terrace Cemetery).” [Register 31 Jul 1922]

 

“The ‘stone of remembrance’, which has been designed as part of the Women's Memorial on Pennington terrace, embarked upon the last stage of its journey — from Martin's monumental works, on the Hyde Park road, to the site of the memorial . . . was seen passing through King William street on a low-wheeled vehicle drawn by four stalwart horses. The block is of Palmer stone, weighs five tons, is 11 ft. 7 in. long by 2 ft. 4 in. high, and 2 ft. 4 in. broad, with a total measurement of 60 cubic feet, and, with the exception of the inscription, ‘Their name liveth for evermore’ on one side, is free from all adornment.” [The Journal 18 Apr 1923]

 

“The Cross, which faces east, has been constructed immediately in front of a massive Moreton Bay figtree, behind which the towers and spires of St. Peter's Cathedral raise their hallowed peaks. . . The Cross of Sacrifice is from the design of Sir Reginald Blomfield, R.A., of London, and the Stone of Remembrance is from an English plan by Sir Edward Lutyens, R.A. Mr. Herbert Baker, who planned the New Delhi, gave his advice concerning the lay-out of the garden scheme, the planting of which has been superintended by the Adelaide City Gardener (Mr. Pelzer). The honorary architect was Mr. Alfred Wells. The real work of construction of the Cross and the Stone was executed under the direction of Mr. Walter Torode.” [Register 26 Apr 1923]

  

“Viewed from the centre of the pathway a trinity of crosses is seen, for the crosses on the spires of St. Peter's Cathedral are seen as in guardianship, on either side of the Memorial Cross.” [The Journal 26 Apr 1922]

 

The Women’s War Memorial, usually referred to as the Cross of Sacrifice, was the idea of SA women soon after WWI ended. Funds were collected from women as a tribute to the British, French & Allied troops lost in the war; 10,000 subscribers contributed over £3,000. The first stage was the Cross of Sacrifice, a replica of the cross designed by Sir Reginald Blomfield which stands over war cemeteries. It was built by Walter Torode of Unley using Tea Tree Gully stone from the St Peter's College quarry. The cross foundation stone was laid 4 Aug 1920 by the Governor, Sir Archibald Weigall. On 24 Mar 1922 Ethel Wyatt, who originated the idea of a women’s memorial, placed under the shaft of the cross the names of men who died serving in the war. (The women refused to include names of nurses lost.) The cross, facing east, with a bronze crusaders sword attached, was unveiled 25 Apr 1922. The Stone of Remembrance at the eastern end of the Memorial Garden was unveiled 26 Apr 1923. Based on that of Sir Edward Lutyens, it is a 5-ton block of Palmer stone, also built by Walter Torode. The Garden of Memory was laid out in the shape of a cross with hedges of olive as suggested by Herbert Baker, one of the three principal architects for the War Graves Commission. The Eternal Flame & Ataturk’s Tribute were added 11 Nov 2008. The Anzac Day March traditionally leaves the SA National War memorial and ends at the Cross of Sacrifice where a Remembrance Service is held.

 

“A large number of women war workers assembled in the Mayor's Parlor on Wednesday afternoon to consider a suggestion for the establishment of a women's war memorial. . . it is a fitting sequel to women's work and sacrifice that the women of South Australia shall erect, as a memorial to the sailors and soldiers who have laid down their lives in this war, some monument, to be placed in a prominent site, and demonstrate publicly for all time their reverence for the spirit of sacrifice which filled their men and their own humble pride in sharing that sacrifice." [Advertiser 13 Mar 1919]

 

“it was Miss E. Wyatt's idea, and that the committee grew out of the League of Loyal Women's organization. Public meetings were held, and women everywhere joined in to help.” [Register 17 Apr 1923]

 

“the women were not erecting the memorial to their own work as seemed to be the idea in some quarters. The women . . . have stood behind their men and cared for them in camps, hospitals, and trenches and welcomed them home, and their memorial is just a tribute to the men who have passed beyond their care. . . it is proposed by the promoters that the form of the memorial should be one of two alternatives, a simple rough stone cross or some piece or group of statuary in bronze. The exact size and form will of necessity be determined by the amount subscribed.” [Daily Herald 1 May 1919]

 

“The national memorial is to be erected, or, at any rate, subsidised by a Government grant, which is perfectly proper, but we want ours to be absolutely distinct — a spontaneous gift, erected in that 'give because it is a pleasure and a privilege' spirit which makes the humblest tribute acceptable.” [Advertiser 1 May 1919]

 

“Mr. Herbert Baker, well known in the architectural world, has rendered a great service in advising the committee and planning the scheme which will be carried out under the supervision of Mr. Alfred Wells. . . letter from Mr. Baker: — 'I have so much appreciated your sensible and excellent ideas in such a good cause that I will gladly give you some suggestions. . . . I have suggested laying out part of the garden along the axis of the Cathedral. . . I have placed the war stone in the apse, as it were, formed of a cut hedge of dark green. . . The centre path would run straight down to the cross at the far end, and which would be on a circular stone-paved platform, two or three steps up. I suggest that the stone should be framed with spiral trees, and the cross with spreading trees.’” [Register 3 Mar 1920]

 

“There was a large gathering of women at the laying of the foundation stone of the Women's War Memorial at Pennington terrace, North Adelaide, on Wednesday. The ceremony was performed by the Governor (Sir Archibald Weigall). Over 1500 women war workers marched from Victoria square to the site of the memorial, the procession being headed by the band of the R.S. and S. League. . . Numbers of the Cheer-Up Society in uniform were present, and a guard of honor composed of army nurses under Matron Davidson.” [Daily Herald 5 Aug 1920]

 

“His Excellency the Governor (Sir Archibald Weigall) laid the foundation stone of the Women's Memorial, and another of the stone bearing the inscription 'To the glory of God and the imperishable memory of the men who gave their lives in the great war, 1914-1920. The tribute of the women of South. Australia'.” [Register 12 Aug 1920]

 

“A formidable sword, of ancient design, which would be serviceable only in the hands of a Goliath, was among the recent imports to South Australia from England. It is a Crusader's sword, made of bronze, and will figure on the face of the tall white stone cross which is to be erected in Pennington Gardens, North Adelaide. . . It was expected that the parts of the cross would be ready for assembling this mouth, but owing to the difficulty in obtaining stone of uniform color and the required durability the work has been delayed. The cross will be the dominant feature of an elaborate scheme. The entire garden will be transformed, in accordance with a plan gratuitously provided by Mr. Herbert Baker (designer of the City of New Delhi, and a member of the Imperial War Graves Commission), and the memorial column will look down upon a low shrine of remembrance, the design for which has been supplied by Sir' Edward Lutyen, who was the designee of the London Cenotaph.” [Advertiser 2 Apr 1921]

 

“After many months of research since the foundation of the Women's Memorial Cross at Pennington Gardens, North Adelaide, was completed, the full number of special sized stones have been quarried, and the contractor, Mr. Walter Torode, is in a position to arrange for the completion of the memorial. The stone is from St. Peter's College quarry, Teatree Gully.” [Register 29 Aug 1921]

 

“Excellent progress is being made in the work of laying out the garden near Pennington-terrace east for the women of South Australia's memorial to the men who gave their lives in the war. The hedge forming the enclosure has been planted, and preparations are being made for forming the flower-beds and paths in accordance with the design. . . some people did not approve of the choice of an olive hedge, but the opinion of experts had been obtained, and the question carefully gone into before it was decided upon. The committee had had to bear in mind the fact that owing to the nature of the subsoil cupressus and other types of hedge would require replacing from time to time, whereas the olive would be practically everlasting. It was, moreover, a most beautiful hedge when properly cut and looked after, and was also decidedly appropriate, through its historical association with the Crucifix. . . The monolith, or Stone of Remembrance, similar to those placed in the war cemeteries abroad, was not likely to be finished until later, as it was difficult to procure a perfect large block from which could be cut in one piece, but the material was understood to be now in sight, and the work in relation to it would, proceed with the least possible delay.” [Advertiser 13 Oct 1921]

 

“Women's Memorial in Pennington Gardens. When the foundation stone was laid offerings were brought and laid on the stone, and into the little violet linen bags which held each offering a card or slip of paper with the name of a soldier who had given his life for our sakes was slipped. These have been saved and put into a jar, which is to be buried beneath the cross.” [The Journal 25 Mar 1922]

 

“the site of the Women's Memorial to the Fallen in the Great War at Pennington Gardens . . . the placing of an urn in the base of the cross. . . Miss Ethel Wyatt placed the urn, which was enfolded in the Union Jack, inside the base of the cross. . . The names enclosed in the receptacle were those of British, French, and Allied fighters in the Great War; and were received on the day that the foundation stone was laid, The women who desired to assist in the movement brought offerings in little violet bags, and each contained the name of some loved one, who had given his life in the defence of womanhood and for all that it enshrined.” [Register 25 Mar 1922]

 

“Viewed from the centre of the pathway a trinity of crosses is seen, for the crosses on the spires of St. Peter's Cathedral are seen as in guardianship, on either side of the Memorial Cross.” [The Journal 26 Apr 1922]

 

“the beautiful monument just unveiled, had been erected not only to the soldiers of their great British Empire, but also to the memory of the soldiers of the Allies who had fallen in assisting to win the war. It was another example-of the splendid loyalty and aid given by the women of the Empire to soldiers, not only while abroad, but since their return. All the money for that memorial had been subscribed voluntarily by the ladies of South Australia.” [Register 26 Apr 1922]

 

“the annual Violet Memory Day ceremonies in Adelaide in honour of those who died in the Great War. The Exhibition Building was crowded. . . It was in July, 1915, that the first gathering was held in honour of those who had fallen in the fighting and as a public means of affording some comfort to the bereaved. . . there was a great and charming free contribution of violets (which were subsequently placed on the Women's Memorial at North Adelaide and on the soldiers' graves at the West Terrace Cemetery).” [Register 31 Jul 1922]

 

“The ‘stone of remembrance’, which has been designed as part of the Women's Memorial on Pennington terrace, embarked upon the last stage of its journey — from Martin's monumental works, on the Hyde Park road, to the site of the memorial . . . was seen passing through King William street on a low-wheeled vehicle drawn by four stalwart horses. The block is of Palmer stone, weighs five tons, is 11 ft. 7 in. long by 2 ft. 4 in. high, and 2 ft. 4 in. broad, with a total measurement of 60 cubic feet, and, with the exception of the inscription, ‘Their name liveth for evermore’ on one side, is free from all adornment.” [The Journal 18 Apr 1923]

 

“The Cross, which faces east, has been constructed immediately in front of a massive Moreton Bay figtree, behind which the towers and spires of St. Peter's Cathedral raise their hallowed peaks. . . The Cross of Sacrifice is from the design of Sir Reginald Blomfield, R.A., of London, and the Stone of Remembrance is from an English plan by Sir Edward Lutyens, R.A. Mr. Herbert Baker, who planned the New Delhi, gave his advice concerning the lay-out of the garden scheme, the planting of which has been superintended by the Adelaide City Gardener (Mr. Pelzer). The honorary architect was Mr. Alfred Wells. The real work of construction of the Cross and the Stone was executed under the direction of Mr. Walter Torode.” [Register 26 Apr 1923]

  

Map location is guessed at but in the general area somewhere along the Frankston-Flinders Road near Shoreham.

Lea Hurst. Built 1876 for Thomas Johnson, architect Daniel Garlick, sold to James Hill 1887, purchased from his estate 1919 by Memorial Hospital.

 

“Mr. T. Johnson, M.P., and Mr. W. H. Sharland have built two handsome houses, of 17 rooms each, on the Avenue road, North Adelaide. The fronts are of dressed Teatree Gully freestone. The houses are fitted up with bathrooms, wardrobes, and with all the latest improvements for comfort as well as appearance, at a cost of about £4,000 each. The contractors were Messrs. Brown and Thompson; architect, Mr. D. Garlick.” [Advertiser 29 Jan 1876]

 

“For Sale or To Let, Mr. Thos. Johnson’s Private Residence, Avenue road, N.A.” [Register 27 Aug 1886]

 

“At Avenue-Road, North Adelaide. Residence of Mr. Thomas Johnson. Valuable and Modern Household Furniture and Effects. Pianos by Lipp and Erard. Spicer buggy (almost new) by Crimp. Superb original oil painting (Colonial Scenes). . . Mr. Johnson having furnished a House during the occupancy of the Avenue road premises by Mr. Warner, is enabled to offer the Furniture in its entirety.” [Advertiser 17 Sep 1887]

 

“Respectable young Dressmaker Wanted by - the day. References required. — Mrs. James Hill, Leahurst, Avenue-road, N.A.” [Express & Telegraph 24 Sep 1888]

 

“Houses and Land for Sale. . . Avenue-Road — North Adelaide, "Lea Hurst," 15 rooms, billiard-room, ballroom, land 105 ft. to Avenue-road by 210 ft.” [Advertiser 21 Apr 1903]

 

“To Let, for Term, Furnished or Unfurnished, Leahurst, Avenue road, North Adelaide, superior Residence, Eleven Rooms and conveniences, including Stabling, Man's Room, &c.” Register 5 Jun 1909]

 

MEMORIAL HOSPITAL opened 6 Feb 1920 in 3 houses on Avenue Rd, (previously Roberts Lane, now Sir Edwin Smith Avenue).

Simpson Newland’s single-storey home “The Terraces” purchased 1917, used as nurses redidence, later demolished & replaced by new hospital wing 1991. William Sharland’s home “The Avenues”, sold to George Brookman 1908 and converted to Ru Rua Private Hospital, purchased by Memorial Hospital 1918. “Leahurst” built by Thomas Johnson, purchased 1919 from James Hill’s estate. William Sharland & Thomas Johnson had built identical two-storey homes 1876, architect Daniel Garlick. The hospital linked these two by extensions opened 20 Jul 1921, architect Eric Habershon McMichael.

 

“On the eve of a great peace following a terrible war, memorials to the gallant dead are being everywhere erected. Many are not merely ornamental; their usefulness is significant of the nobility they commemorate. Of this kind is the Methodist Memorial Hospital, formerly known as "The Terraces," North Adelaide. This conveniently situated residence and charming grounds were purchased by the Methodist body in order that it might establish a hospital and medical training centre.” [Register 1 Mar 1919]

 

“Memorial Hospital in honor of the fallen Methodist soldiers . . . suitable property for the purpose has been purchased at North Adelaide. . . ample accommodation for present and future requirements.” [Advertiser 21 Jul 1919]

 

“The following properties have been purchased for the purposes of the hospital: — 'The Terraces,' from Mr. Simpson Newland; 'Lea Hurst,' from the estate of the late Mr. James Hill; and 'Ru Rua,' from Mr. G. Brookman, at a total cost of about £17,000. The three buildings total 54 rooms, and occupy two and a half acres of land, fronting Pennington Terrace, Kermode Street, and Avenue Road:” [The Mail 19 Jul 1919]

 

“It is intended first to prepare "Ru-Rua" for medical, surgical, and maternity cases, and then to follow up by alterations, adaptations, etc., at "Lea Hurst," and "The Terraces" for patients.” [Aust Christian Commonwealth 9 Jan 1920]

 

“Founded by the Methodist Church of South Australia to perpetuate the loyalty and heroism of the men and women of the State who served in the great war, and as a practical expression of deep gratitude to those, living and dead, who in the Empire's hour of need, stood in the breach and helped to achieve so glorious a victory, the Memorial Hospital, North Adelaide, has now been extended. . . The two big, houses facing the park lands have been joined up, and now there is provision for over 70 patients.” [Register 21 Jul 1921]

 

THE TERRACES

Single storey home built by 1891. Several residents until purchased by Simpson Newland 1912, sold 1917 to Memorial Hospital, used as nurses residence, demolished & replaced by new hospital wing 1991.

 

“Auctions. . . North Adelaide. . . land having a frontage of 210 ft. to Avenue-road, and a frontage of 233 ft. to Kermode-Street, on which is erected a comfortable and convenient House of eight rooms, kitchen, pantry, bathroom, cellar, stables, coachhouse, bay loft, &:. The whole enclosed with a substantial stone wall. The land is tastefully laid out and planted with fruit and ornamental trees, also a nice flower garden.” [Advertiser 31 Aug 1891]

 

“An "At home" was given by Mrs. Collier at her residence, ‘The Terraces’, Avenue-road, N.A., last Friday evening. A charming musical programme, vocal and instrumental, was thoroughly appreciated by the guests.” [Critic 27 Aug 1898]

 

“Chalmers Church. A Garden Fete in aid of the Church Funds will be held at The Terraces, Avenue Road. N.A., the Residence of James Shaw, Esq. On Saturday Afternoon, October 25. from 3 to 6 p.m. To be opened by Mrs. James Shaw.” [Evening Journal 24 Oct 1902]

 

“House-Parlourmaid, two in family. . . Mrs. Hackett, The Terraces, Avenue road, N.A.” [Register 2 Apr 1908]

 

“At The Terraces, Avenue Road, North Adelaide, Johnson & Company are instructed by J. T. Hackett, Esq. (who has sold The Terraces) to sell — His Magnificent Furniture, Rare and Choice Pictures, Costly and Valuable Bric-aBrac, and Genuine. French Bronzes.” [Register 10 Feb 1912]

 

“Mr. Simpson Newland has taken Mr. Hackett's residence, 'The Terraces', Avenue-road, North Adelaide.” [Chronicle 17 Feb 1912]

 

“A successful A.A.M.A. garden fete was held on the grounds of the residence of Mr. Simpson Newland, ‘'The Terraces’, Avenue-road, North Adelaide, in aid of the trench comforts and stretcher-bearers and men in the S.A. Ambulance Funds.” [Advertiser 24 Sep 1917]

 

“Methodist Hospital. . . purchased the property known as "The Terraces,'' from Mr. Simpson Newland. It is at the corner of Kermode-street and Avenue road, North Adelaide, and contains one and a half acres of land and residence, the home of Mr. Newland. There is also a beautifully laid out garden and all modern, conveniences. In the immediate vicinity stand the Children's Hospital, RuRua, and Quambi.” [Register 22 Aug 1918]

 

THE AVENUES

Built 1876 for William H Sharland, architect Daniel Garlick, sold to George Brookman 1908 and converted to Ru Rua Private Hospital, purchased by Memorial Hospital 1918.

 

“Mr. T. Johnson, M.P., and Mr. W. H. Sharland have built two handsome houses, of 17 rooms each, on the Avenue road, North Adelaide. The fronts are of dressed Teatree Gully freestone. The houses are fitted up with bathrooms, wardrobes, and with all the latest improvements for comfort as well as appearance, at a cost of about £4,000 each. The contractors were Messrs. Brown and Thompson; architect, Mr. D. Garlick.” [Advertiser 29 Jan 1876]

 

“To Let on Lease, or For Sale, the Commodious and Well-appointed .Modern Family Residence, No. 1, Avenue-Road, N.A., containing seventeen rooms, pantry, wine cellar, lumber and bathrooms ; outside — man's room, laundry, three-stall stable, hay house, two coach-houses, wood and coal house, and every convenience. . . Apply on the premises, No. 1, Avenue-road, N.A., W. H. Sharland.” [Express & Telegraph 13 Jun 1885]

 

“Ru-Rua will 'be opened as a Methodist Hospital shortly. Workmen are busy renovating the whole building.” [Register 10 Jan 1920]

  

Tolmierocky clearing in December, 2014. Wildflowers include everlastins, native dogwood, teatree of 3 different species, native pelargoniums.

Cross of Sacrifice is echoed by one of the crosses on St Peter’s Cathedral spires.

 

The Women’s War Memorial, usually referred to as the Cross of Sacrifice, was the idea of SA women soon after WWI ended. Funds were collected from women as a tribute to the British, French & Allied troops lost in the war; 10,000 subscribers contributed over £3,000. The first stage was the Cross of Sacrifice, a replica of the cross designed by Sir Reginald Blomfield which stands over war cemeteries. It was built by Walter Torode of Unley using Tea Tree Gully stone from the St Peter's College quarry. The cross foundation stone was laid 4 Aug 1920 by the Governor, Sir Archibald Weigall. On 24 Mar 1922 Ethel Wyatt, who originated the idea of a women’s memorial, placed under the shaft of the cross the names of men who died serving in the war. (The women refused to include names of nurses lost.) The cross, facing east, with a bronze crusaders sword attached, was unveiled 25 Apr 1922. The Stone of Remembrance at the eastern end of the Memorial Garden was unveiled 26 Apr 1923. Based on that of Sir Edward Lutyens, it is a 5-ton block of Palmer stone, also built by Walter Torode. The Garden of Memory was laid out in the shape of a cross with hedges of olive as suggested by Herbert Baker, one of the three principal architects for the War Graves Commission. The Eternal Flame & Ataturk’s Tribute were added 11 Nov 2008. The Anzac Day March traditionally leaves the SA National War memorial and ends at the Cross of Sacrifice where a Remembrance Service is held.

 

“A large number of women war workers assembled in the Mayor's Parlor on Wednesday afternoon to consider a suggestion for the establishment of a women's war memorial. . . it is a fitting sequel to women's work and sacrifice that the women of South Australia shall erect, as a memorial to the sailors and soldiers who have laid down their lives in this war, some monument, to be placed in a prominent site, and demonstrate publicly for all time their reverence for the spirit of sacrifice which filled their men and their own humble pride in sharing that sacrifice." [Advertiser 13 Mar 1919]

 

“it was Miss E. Wyatt's idea, and that the committee grew out of the League of Loyal Women's organization. Public meetings were held, and women everywhere joined in to help.” [Register 17 Apr 1923]

 

“the women were not erecting the memorial to their own work as seemed to be the idea in some quarters. The women . . . have stood behind their men and cared for them in camps, hospitals, and trenches and welcomed them home, and their memorial is just a tribute to the men who have passed beyond their care. . . it is proposed by the promoters that the form of the memorial should be one of two alternatives, a simple rough stone cross or some piece or group of statuary in bronze. The exact size and form will of necessity be determined by the amount subscribed.” [Daily Herald 1 May 1919]

 

“The national memorial is to be erected, or, at any rate, subsidised by a Government grant, which is perfectly proper, but we want ours to be absolutely distinct — a spontaneous gift, erected in that 'give because it is a pleasure and a privilege' spirit which makes the humblest tribute acceptable.” [Advertiser 1 May 1919]

 

“Mr. Herbert Baker, well known in the architectural world, has rendered a great service in advising the committee and planning the scheme which will be carried out under the supervision of Mr. Alfred Wells. . . letter from Mr. Baker: — 'I have so much appreciated your sensible and excellent ideas in such a good cause that I will gladly give you some suggestions. . . . I have suggested laying out part of the garden along the axis of the Cathedral. . . I have placed the war stone in the apse, as it were, formed of a cut hedge of dark green. . . The centre path would run straight down to the cross at the far end, and which would be on a circular stone-paved platform, two or three steps up. I suggest that the stone should be framed with spiral trees, and the cross with spreading trees.’” [Register 3 Mar 1920]

 

“There was a large gathering of women at the laying of the foundation stone of the Women's War Memorial at Pennington terrace, North Adelaide, on Wednesday. The ceremony was performed by the Governor (Sir Archibald Weigall). Over 1500 women war workers marched from Victoria square to the site of the memorial, the procession being headed by the band of the R.S. and S. League. . . Numbers of the Cheer-Up Society in uniform were present, and a guard of honor composed of army nurses under Matron Davidson.” [Daily Herald 5 Aug 1920]

 

“His Excellency the Governor (Sir Archibald Weigall) laid the foundation stone of the Women's Memorial, and another of the stone bearing the inscription 'To the glory of God and the imperishable memory of the men who gave their lives in the great war, 1914-1920. The tribute of the women of South. Australia'.” [Register 12 Aug 1920]

 

“A formidable sword, of ancient design, which would be serviceable only in the hands of a Goliath, was among the recent imports to South Australia from England. It is a Crusader's sword, made of bronze, and will figure on the face of the tall white stone cross which is to be erected in Pennington Gardens, North Adelaide. . . It was expected that the parts of the cross would be ready for assembling this mouth, but owing to the difficulty in obtaining stone of uniform color and the required durability the work has been delayed. The cross will be the dominant feature of an elaborate scheme. The entire garden will be transformed, in accordance with a plan gratuitously provided by Mr. Herbert Baker (designer of the City of New Delhi, and a member of the Imperial War Graves Commission), and the memorial column will look down upon a low shrine of remembrance, the design for which has been supplied by Sir' Edward Lutyen, who was the designee of the London Cenotaph.” [Advertiser 2 Apr 1921]

 

“After many months of research since the foundation of the Women's Memorial Cross at Pennington Gardens, North Adelaide, was completed, the full number of special sized stones have been quarried, and the contractor, Mr. Walter Torode, is in a position to arrange for the completion of the memorial. The stone is from St. Peter's College quarry, Teatree Gully.” [Register 29 Aug 1921]

 

“Excellent progress is being made in the work of laying out the garden near Pennington-terrace east for the women of South Australia's memorial to the men who gave their lives in the war. The hedge forming the enclosure has been planted, and preparations are being made for forming the flower-beds and paths in accordance with the design. . . some people did not approve of the choice of an olive hedge, but the opinion of experts had been obtained, and the question carefully gone into before it was decided upon. The committee had had to bear in mind the fact that owing to the nature of the subsoil cupressus and other types of hedge would require replacing from time to time, whereas the olive would be practically everlasting. It was, moreover, a most beautiful hedge when properly cut and looked after, and was also decidedly appropriate, through its historical association with the Crucifix. . . The monolith, or Stone of Remembrance, similar to those placed in the war cemeteries abroad, was not likely to be finished until later, as it was difficult to procure a perfect large block from which could be cut in one piece, but the material was understood to be now in sight, and the work in relation to it would, proceed with the least possible delay.” [Advertiser 13 Oct 1921]

 

“Women's Memorial in Pennington Gardens. When the foundation stone was laid offerings were brought and laid on the stone, and into the little violet linen bags which held each offering a card or slip of paper with the name of a soldier who had given his life for our sakes was slipped. These have been saved and put into a jar, which is to be buried beneath the cross.” [The Journal 25 Mar 1922]

 

“the site of the Women's Memorial to the Fallen in the Great War at Pennington Gardens . . . the placing of an urn in the base of the cross. . . Miss Ethel Wyatt placed the urn, which was enfolded in the Union Jack, inside the base of the cross. . . The names enclosed in the receptacle were those of British, French, and Allied fighters in the Great War; and were received on the day that the foundation stone was laid, The women who desired to assist in the movement brought offerings in little violet bags, and each contained the name of some loved one, who had given his life in the defence of womanhood and for all that it enshrined.” [Register 25 Mar 1922]

 

“Viewed from the centre of the pathway a trinity of crosses is seen, for the crosses on the spires of St. Peter's Cathedral are seen as in guardianship, on either side of the Memorial Cross.” [The Journal 26 Apr 1922]

 

“the beautiful monument just unveiled, had been erected not only to the soldiers of their great British Empire, but also to the memory of the soldiers of the Allies who had fallen in assisting to win the war. It was another example-of the splendid loyalty and aid given by the women of the Empire to soldiers, not only while abroad, but since their return. All the money for that memorial had been subscribed voluntarily by the ladies of South Australia.” [Register 26 Apr 1922]

 

“the annual Violet Memory Day ceremonies in Adelaide in honour of those who died in the Great War. The Exhibition Building was crowded. . . It was in July, 1915, that the first gathering was held in honour of those who had fallen in the fighting and as a public means of affording some comfort to the bereaved. . . there was a great and charming free contribution of violets (which were subsequently placed on the Women's Memorial at North Adelaide and on the soldiers' graves at the West Terrace Cemetery).” [Register 31 Jul 1922]

 

“The ‘stone of remembrance’, which has been designed as part of the Women's Memorial on Pennington terrace, embarked upon the last stage of its journey — from Martin's monumental works, on the Hyde Park road, to the site of the memorial . . . was seen passing through King William street on a low-wheeled vehicle drawn by four stalwart horses. The block is of Palmer stone, weighs five tons, is 11 ft. 7 in. long by 2 ft. 4 in. high, and 2 ft. 4 in. broad, with a total measurement of 60 cubic feet, and, with the exception of the inscription, ‘Their name liveth for evermore’ on one side, is free from all adornment.” [The Journal 18 Apr 1923]

 

“The Cross, which faces east, has been constructed immediately in front of a massive Moreton Bay figtree, behind which the towers and spires of St. Peter's Cathedral raise their hallowed peaks. . . The Cross of Sacrifice is from the design of Sir Reginald Blomfield, R.A., of London, and the Stone of Remembrance is from an English plan by Sir Edward Lutyens, R.A. Mr. Herbert Baker, who planned the New Delhi, gave his advice concerning the lay-out of the garden scheme, the planting of which has been superintended by the Adelaide City Gardener (Mr. Pelzer). The honorary architect was Mr. Alfred Wells. The real work of construction of the Cross and the Stone was executed under the direction of Mr. Walter Torode.” [Register 26 Apr 1923]

 

Tired of filling your mouth with chemical laced foam? Brush your teeth with natural baking soda and essential oils and get clean, shiny, HEALTHY teeth and gums. Visit "Bathtime" the blog from Nude Soap to get this super easy recipe.

Shiny green beetle (Cleridae?) caught off guard by the cameraperson. Sitting pretty in Leptospermum flowers. [Upper Blue Mountains, NSW]

E-P5 / Tokina AT-X 90mm 2.5 / Raynox DCR-150 and 250

 

False Garden Mantid nymph (Pseudomantis albofimbriata) on pink cascade tea tree (Leptospermum polygalifolium)

In 2007 I was lucky enough to take a flight into the "iconic" south west Wilderness of Tasmania.

The scenery is almost untouched by humans, and for a very small area, is wild and wonderful.

After landing at the small airfield at Melaleuca, we went in a boat out and around the islands of Port Davey, and were fortunate to have very calm weather. The sand is pure white, of a quartz type I would guess, and the creeks running out to sea are all stained with a brown tannin, from the teatree and peaty soil.

I intend to upload quite a few images I have picked out from the 100's I took that memorable day!

Flowers of a Leptospermun squarrosum (Tea tree) in Manly Dam, with a couple of seed pods on the left.

The tea-tree coloured waters of Lake Boomanjin, Fraser Island

Learn about the health benefits of Tea Tree Essential Oil and different ways you can use it to support your health. To learn more and purchase Tea Tree Essential Oil visit Kokokahn Aromatherapy.

The tea-tree responds to an insect by creating a gall, which becomes the home of the beast for a while. Here I cut it open. Scale insect, Eremococcus turbinata, a scale insect of the Eriococcidae family on Common Tea-tree, or Manuka, Leptospermum scoparium. Strahan Tasmania Australia, January 2012.

 

Thanks to Lyn Cook for the ID.

Tea-tree, a species of Leptospermum. Traralgon, Latrobe Valley, Victoria Australia, September 2011.

After we planted a tubestock in 2021, we had to wait a few years before our Peach-flowered Tea Tree (Leptospermum squarrosum) put out flowers. It flowered beautifully this year from February through to the end of May. Very pleased! [Blue Mountains, NSW]

Built 1874 for George Wills’ drapery business, architect Daniel Garlick, second building attached to the west 1878, leased to John Martins store 1930s, became car parking station 1936, later used by School of Arts & Crafts and Technical Correspondence School. Also leather goods industry, John Martins Theatre Shop, Art Gallery, etc. Now only the facade remains in North Terrace in front of a 34-storey student accommodation tower.

[Photo from State Library of SA: B 68762 (1878)]

 

“Any one passing along North-terrace recently must have been struck with the remarkably fine appearance of the large warehouse which has just been completed opposite the Institute for Messrs. G. & R. Wills & Co. The premises of this firm have gradually been extended in depth, till at last they have reached the great length of two acres, or 410 feet; and as they form by far the most spacious soft goods establishment in the city.” [Register 5 Jan 1874]

 

“The structure has a frontage of 52 feet by a depth of 90 feet, and consists of basement, ground, and first floors. The height from the footpath to the top of the parapet is 48 feet. The front is of Teatree Gully freestone, with cement dressings, the walls up to the plinth line being of Glen Osmond stone, finished with a string of white freestone. The facade is finished with a bold cornice, surmounted by a parapet with balustrading on each side. The centre of the front is broken by vermiculated pilasters with ornamental capitals, a handsome triplet window in the centre of the first floor, above the door, and double windows in each side with similar capitals. A dental cornice divides the lower from the upper storey, and flanking the main entrance are pilasters with moulded caps. There is a small entrance at the side of this, opposite which is a very fine staircase leading to the first floor.” [Evening Journal 5 Jan 1874]

 

“Messrs. G. & R. Wills & Co. are making an extensive addition to their fine warehouse on North-terrace. The new building will be in the same style as that now standing, but will stand forward about twelve feet, so that the line will be pleasantly broken. Mr. D. Garlick is the architect, and Mr. Chas. Farr the contractor. The cost will be between £5,000 and £6,000.” [Register 1 Jan 1878]

 

“Statements that the Salvation Army had purchased expensive property on North terrace from G. & R. Wills & Co., Limited, were denied by Brigadier H. Burhop (divisional commander) this morning. He said that the present condition of finances would not permit of such a transaction.” [News 15 Apr 1930]

 

“An important North terrace freehold, comprising warehouses premises of two floors and basement, with frontage of 105 ft., will be submitted to auction at an early date by Keith Wilkinson & Co., under instructions from G & R. Wills & Co. Ltd. The property, which occupies a commanding site, just east of Gawler place and opposite the library, is at present under lease to John Martin & Co. Ltd., whose term expires on September 30.” [The Mail 27 Jul 1935]

 

“A modem indoor parking station with accommodation for 150 cars at three different levels is being created in North terrace, opposite the Public Library, with the approval of the City Council, for the purpose of relieving the kerb-side parking problem in this part of the city. The garage building, a two-storied structure which was built as a warehouse for G. & R. Wills & Co. and was later used for a time as a nightclub, is being converted at a cost of £600, and will probably be ready to accommodate cars at the end of next week. Three ramps from the street level are being constructed, one to the first floor, another to the basement, and the third to the ground floor. On the ground floor a lounge, offices, and other conveniences for patrons are being built. Otherwise little structural alteration is being made. The front facade will remain unchanged except for the ramp openings, and will be floodlighted at night. One of the proprietors, Mr. L. A. Higginbotham, said yesterday that three petrol pumps which would be erected outside the building would be hidden by screens. With the exception of a name and numbered ramps, there would be hardly any alteration to the appearance of the present building to justify criticism that it would not harmonise with the surroundings. The garage will be open all day and all night should the need arise.” [Advertiser 2 Jul 1936]

 

“Where to Park Your Car. Attendants will take your car at the entrance and will deliver it at the ground floor door when required. There is a day and night service, and the charges are twenty-four hours parking for one shilling. The Big Garage is situated between Gawler place and Charles street, at 204 North terrace. The Big Garage is most modern and up to date.” [Advertiser 5 Sep 1936]

 

“Special Xmas Offer! Re-Tyre at John Martin’s. . . Fitted at the Big Garage, North terrace. . . Fittings are without charge.” [Advertiser 21 Dec 1939 advert]

 

“Education Department. South Australian School of Arts and Crafts, 204 North terrace, Adelaide. (Opp. Public Library.) The School will Re-Open for the first term. 1943, on Monday, February 1st.” [News 23 Jan 1943 advert]

 

“Part-Time Instructor Wanted for Retouching and Coloring of Photographs. . . apply personally to the Principal of the School of Arts and Crafts, 204 North terrace, Adelaide.” [News 28 Jan 1943 advert]

 

“Technical Correspondence School, 204 North Terrace, Adelaide. . . This school specialises in Technical Education by the individual Postal Study method. As each student is treated individually, Enrolment May Be Made at Any Time. . . Accountancy. . . Station Bookkeeping. . . Shorthand. . . Building Construction. . . Motor Mechanics. . . Agriculture (Cereals), Horticulture, Beekeeping. Animal Husbandry, Woolclassing. . . Journalism. . . Dressmaking. . . Various courses to Leaving standard in English, Arithmetic, Algebra. Geometry, French, Latin, History, Geography, Bookkeeping, Physics.” [Chronicle 18 Sep 1947 advert]

 

“Machinists. Excellent opportunity for Girls who can use a sewing machine To Earn High Wages and Bonuses. . . F.P.T. Industries Ltd., 204 North terrace, Adelaide.” [Advertiser 28 Jan 1949 advert]

 

“Leather cutter, experienced man for permanent position in leather bag and case trade. F.P.T. Industries, 204 North ter.” [Advertiser 24 Apr 1950 advert]

 

“Junior boys and girls to learn interesting trade. Leather and canvas goods. Furniture and furnishings. F.P.T. Industries Ltd, 204 North ter, Adelaide.” [Advertiser 27 Apr 1950]

 

“When you need a Fancy Dress or Period Costume, contact the Theatre Shop. . . 204 North Terrace, Adelaide.” [Advertiser4 Feb 1950 advert]

 

“G. and R. Wills and Co. . . Mr. K. A. Wills (chairman). . . The company was selling its North terrace property at a figure considerably in excess of that at which it has been standing in the books, Mr. Wills added. For the past 20 years the property had been leased at not very remunerative rents.” [Advertiser 27 Oct 1951]

 

GEORGE WILLS

“Mr George Wills of the firm of Messrs George Wills & Co, died in London yesterday.” [Kadina & Wallaroo Times 19 Dec 1906]

 

“Mr. George Wills, senior. . . was born in Devonshire, in 1823. . . The deceased gentleman left four sons, two daughters, and four grandchildren. One of the sons, Mr. George Tarlton Wills, is connected with the Adelaide [sic] business. Two others — Messrs. J. H. Wills and Charles Percy Wills — are in the London houses, and the fourth — Mr. Arthur Wills, barrister-at-law-is member of the House, of Commons for North Dorset. The daughters, who live in London, are Misses Lucy and Ellen Wills. The deceased gentleman was a widower, his wife having died about eight years ago.” [Express & Telegraph18 Dec 1906]

 

“In a notice of the death of Mr. George Wills, senior. . . it was stated that a son of the deceased gentleman, Mr. George Tarlton Wills, was connected with the Adelaide office of the firm. Mr. G. T. Wills is associated with the London house.” [Advertiser 20 Dec 1906]

 

“George Wills, founder of the firm of G. & R. Wills & Co., wholesale warehousemen of London and Australia, and senior partner in George Wills & Co., merchants and shipping agents. Mr. Wills was born in Devonshire. . . At the age of 20 years he went to London, and entered the employ of Messrs. Goode, Gainsford,, & Co., where Mr. C. H. Goode, another successful Adelaide merchant, was also engaged at the same time. Mr. Wills came to South Australia in 1849, and opened a retail drapery store in Bundle street, from which .small beginnings the powerful firm of G. & R. Wills & Co. sprang — a firm that now has branches in Melbourne, Broken Hill, Fremantle, Kalgoorlie, Perth, Manchester, Paris, and London. . . Mr. Wills had lived in London for many years, but practically to the end he continued to take an active part in the administration of the two firms in Adelaide bearing his name, while he went in for farming and stockbreeding on his estate in Devon.” [Evening Journal 18 Dec 1906]

 

“The business of George Wills and Co. is, however, of a totally different character from that of G. and R. Wills & Co., the latter being devoted solely to the textile or soft goods trade, while in the case of George Wills and Co. the business is confined to shipping and the carrying on of a general merchants' trade.” [Advertiser 19 Dec 1906]

 

RICHARD WILLS

“WILLS.— On the 4th March, at his residence, Prospect Village, Richard Wills, Esq., aged 33 years,” [Register 5 Mar 1862]

 

“Mr. Richard Wills, of the well-known firm of G. & R. Wills & Co. of this city. Mr. Wills first arrived in the colony about ten years ago. . . Mr. Wills afterwards returned to England, where he remained about two years, when he again came out to this colony in the year 1859. Last year he was married to the second daughter of Mr. W. Brace, of Kensington, by whom lie had a son born only a fortnight ago.” [Advertiser 5 Mar 1862]

 

Tea cultivation plantation garden Tee Pflanze Munnar Kerala India - (C) Fully copyrighted. No use of any image whatsoever without written royalty agreement. No answer = no permission at all. - (C) Verwendung generell nur nach schriftl. Honorarvereinbg. Keine Antwort = keine Freigabe.

Tired of filling your mouth with chemical laced foam? Brush your teeth with natural baking soda and essential oils and get clean, shiny, HEALTHY teeth and gums. Visit "Bathtime" the blog from Nude Soap to get this super easy recipe.

“On entering from the vestibule the vista of grouped shafts sustaining the clerestory is very effective.” [Register 13 Apr 1926]

 

Foundation stone 17 Mar 1856 by Fr Michael Murphy, opened 11 Jul 1858 with small sanctuary, nave of 5 bays & 2 narrow side aisles. Extensions (sanctuary, Lady Chapel, side chapel & sacristy), designed by Charles Hanson of Clifton, supervised by George Kingston, opened 11 Nov 1860. Extensions (eastern side) foundation stone 7 Nov 1886 by Bishop Reynolds using a “handsome trowel made of Silverton silver with a Burra malachite handle, chastely worked”, architect E. J. Woods, dedicated 15 Aug 1887. Extensions (western side & northern end of tower & present facade), foundation stone 21 Oct 1923 by Archbishop Spence, architect W H Bagot, opened Apr 1926. Corner stone of bell tower laid 18 Sep 1887, lower part built 1923-26, completed 1996 enabling dedication 11 Jul 1996. Finished building has 7 bays, 7 side windows, 7 doors.

 

“On the arrival of Dr. Murphy to take possession of the new See of Adelaide he found no ecclesiastical building in existence and was glad to secure the use of a vacant shop, formerly used by a blacksmith. In this he celebrated Mass until the school room at St. Patrick's West Terrace, was erected. . . In March, 1856, work was commenced. . . In July, 1858, the portion then complete, consisting of about 80 feet of the nave and aisles, was blessed and opened by the Very Rev. Fr. Smyth, V.G., the Bishop having died a few weeks previously, and been buried in the unfinished church.” [Southern Cross 26 Oct 1923]

 

“The structure is designed on the model of Byland Abbey Church, Yorkshire, which is in the early English style of architecture. . . The structure will consist of uncoursed stone rubble, with cut stone facings of fine freestone from Teatree Gully. The foundation stone, from the same quarry . . .” [Register 18 Mar 1856]

 

“The wall of the eastern aisle was taken down and rebuilt about 12 feet further out, thus giving an extra space of about 1,200 square-feet. In consequence of the increased width of the aisle through this extension the character of the roof of this portion of the building has been completely changed, and instead of being a plain lean-to, it has been broken into a number of pitched or valley roofs, with gables at the ends, the portion next to the nave wall being hipped to give light to the clerestory windows. . . The whole of the dressings, both inside and outside, are of Murray Bridge freestone. . . Mr. E. J. Woods, the architect, has superintended the work. [Register 25 Jul 1887]

 

“Dr. Reynolds therefore consulted while he was in England, with the famous firm, Pugin & Pugin, the greatest authorities then living on the remodelling and reconstruction of Gothic structures. They provided Dr. Reynolds with sketches of the proposed enlargement of the Cathedral, which were placed in the hands of the late Mr. E. J. Woods, who completed drawings of the alterations on the new lines. . . During the operations St. Francis Xavier's Hall was used as a church.” [Southern Cross 26 Oct 1923]

 

The architectural blot caused by the disproportion between the aisles is to be removed by extending the western aisle to the same width as the eastern; and the base of the tower, the front of the church, and a new choir gallery will be built The spire of the tower, the new sacristies and sanctuary, the chapter room, and other works at the rear will be left for the future.” [Southern Cross 12 Oct 1923]

 

Tea cultivation plantation garden Tee Pflanze Munnar Kerala India - (C) Fully copyrighted. No use of any image whatsoever without written royalty agreement. No answer = no permission at all. - (C) Verwendung generell nur nach schriftl. Honorarvereinbg. Keine Antwort = keine Freigabe.

Built on land acquired 1881 by James Howie, home of his son George Cullen Howie & family, later transferred to son’s widow Clara Jane, leased then purchased 1890s by Arthur Onslow Whittington, used by daughters to teach piano & violin to their students.

 

“Glenelg Corporation. . . George Howie asked the council to define the line of Robert street, as he wished to erect a house.” [Advertiser 10 Sep 1881]

 

“For Sale, Splendid Building Site, in Robert street, Glenelg. . . Surrounded by first-class residences, and about 200 yards from the beach, and five minutes' walk from train. . . G. C. Howie, Robert-street, Glenelg.” [Express & Telegraph 19 Dec 1881 advert]

 

“Good General Servant Wanted. Apply to Mrs. G. C. Howie, Robert-street, Glenelg.” [Express & Telegraph 14 Apr 1882 advert]

 

“HOWIE.— [Birth] On the 3rd December, at Robert-street, Glenelg, the wife of G. C. Howie, of a son.” [Register 8 Dec 1882]

 

“HOWIE.— [Died] On the 8th September, at his residence, Glenelg, George Cullen, second son of the Rev. J. Howie, Maclaren Vale, in his 33rd year.” [Register 10 Sep 1883]

 

“To Let, Furnished, the Residence of the late G. C. Howie, Robert-street, Glenelg, within three minutes' walk of the Beach.” [Register 7 Nov 1884 advert]

 

“Correspondence— From A. O. Whitington re Robert-street, and asking Council to put the street in a healthy state.” [Evening Journal 13 Dec 1890]

 

“Miss Sylvia M. Whitington, A.M.U.A., Teacher of Violin, Resumes Duties February 5, at S. Marshall’s, Gawler Place, Adelaide; and ‘Colonna’, Glenelg.” [The Mail 26 Jan 1918 advert]

 

“Talented Young Musician.— Maureen O’Grady, aged 12 years, shows extraordinary musical gifts in both practice and theory. Four years ago she was taken in hand by Miss Hilda M. Whitington, of Robert street, Glenelg, and from the outset the child showed such aptitude that a promising career was predicted for her. . . Miss Whitington, who is a sister of Miss Sylvia Whitington, the well-known violinist.” [Register 14 Dec1918]

 

“[Results of Music Exams]. . . Miss C. M. Whitington, Colonna, Robert street, Glenelg. — [teaching] pianoforte. . . Miss S. M. Whitington, Colonna, Robert street, Glenelg.— [teaching] violin. . . Miss H. M. Whitington, Colonna, Robert street, Glenelg.— [teaching] pianoforte. . . grammar of music.” [Register 15 Apr 1919]

 

“WHITINGTON.— [Died] On the 141h May, at his residence, Robert street, Glenelg, Arthur Onslow, the beloved husband of Evelyn, A. Whltington, aged 61 years.” [Register 16 May 1919]

 

“Mr. Arthur Onslow Whitington, for many years secretary of the South Australian Jockey Club. . . He took over the reins of control when racing was at a particularly low ebb, and, sparing neither time nor physical strength, he toiled day and night with the one object of placing his club in such a position that one day it could possess the freehold of its beautiful course at Morphettville.” [Register 15 May 1919]

 

“Mr. Whitington was the youngest son of the late Mr. W. S. Whitington, who came to the State in his own boat, the New Holland, in 1840. . . He has left a widow, two sons (Messrs. H. and Edgar Whitington), and four daughters (Misses Hilda, Clytie, Sylvia, the well-known violinist, and Gladys Whitington).” [Observer 17 May 1919]

 

“Town Hall, Adelaide. . . Adelaide Bach Society. . . Assisting Artists: — Sylvia Whitington. . . ” [Register 16 Aug 1927 advert]

 

“On December 15 the marriage was celebrated of George, younger son of Rev. John Pearce, o£ Jamestown, and the late Mrs. Pearce, to Sylvia, third daughter of the late Mr. A. O. Whitington and Mrs. Whitington. of Colonna, Robert street, Glenelg. . . the ceremony taking place in the drawing room at Colonna.” [Register 17 Dec 1927]

 

“Miss Hilda M. Whitington. Robert Street, Glenelg, Pianoforte and Theory. Resumed Teaching February 15th.” [Glenelg Guardian 9 Feb 1928 advert]

 

“WHITINGTON.—On the 20th of May, at her residence, ‘Colonna’, Robert street, Glenelg, Evelyn Amelia, beloved wife of the late Arthur Onslow Whitington, and loving mother of Hilda, Clytie, Sylvia (Mrs. G. Pearce, Brighton), Gladys, Harold, and Edgar. Requiescat in pace.” [Advertiser 22 May 1941]

 

PEARCE.— On January 27, at Colonna, Robert street, Glenelg, Sylvia Muriel, dearly loved wife of George Mayo Pearce, of 27 Downing street, Brighton. Requiescat in pace.

PEARCE. — On January 27, at Colonna, Robert street, Glenelg, Sylvia Muriel Pearce, beloved daughter of the late Arthur Onslow and Evelyn Amelia Whitington, and loving sister of Hilda, Clytie, Gladys, Harold, and Edgar (Brighton). Requiescat in pace.” [The Mail 29 Jan 1944]

 

“WHITINGTON.— On May 15, at her residence, ‘Colonna’, Robert street. Glenelg, Clytie Myrtle, beloved daughter of the late Arthur Onslow and Evelyn Amelia Whitington, and loving sister of Mabel (deceased), Hilda, Sylvia (Mrs. G. Pearce, deceased), Gladys, Harold and Edgar (Brighton). Requiescat in pace.” [Advertiser 18 May 1954]

 

REV JAMES HOWIE

“HOWIE.— [Died] On the 10th September, at the Manse Maclaren Vale, the Rev. James Howie, in his 76th year.” [Register 11 Sep 1894]

 

“Rev. James Howie, who, for 35½ years was pastor of the Congregational Church at Maclaren Vale. . . born in Leith, Scotland, on September 16, 1819. He was trained for the ministry at Glasgow, and accepted a call to the Independent Church at Nairn on October 24, 1846. After a pastorate of 11 years his attention was directed to South Australia, to which he came under the auspices of the Colonial Missionary Society embarking in the ship Annie Foster on October 14, 1857, and landing here early in March of the following year. . . Mr. Howie for a few months supplied at Houghton, Teatree Gully, and other places. Proceeding to Maclaren Vale on January 16 1859, he soon after settled there, exercising for over 20 years a highly successful ministry. His remains will be interred in the cemetery at Maclaren Vale beside the graves of two daughters, a son, and his wife. The only surviving children are two daughters — Mrs. W. C Auld and the wife of Mr. C. H. Harris.” [Advertiser 11 Sep 1894]

 

Tolmie rocky clearing in December, 2014. Wildflowers include everlastins, native dogwood, teatree of 3 different species, native pelargoniums..

Leptospermum /?l?pt?'sp?rm?m/ is a genus of shrubs and small trees in the myrtle family Myrtaceae described as a genus in 1775.] Most species are endemic to Australia, with the greatest diversity in the south of the continent; but one species extends to New Zealand, another well into Southeast Asia, and L. recurvum is found only in Malaysia and Indonesia..

They are shrubs or occasionally small trees, reaching 1–8 m (3–26 ft) tall, rarely up to 20 m (66 ft), with dense branching. The leaves are evergreen, alternate, simple, sharp-tipped, and small, in most species not over 1 cm long. The flowers are up to 3 cm diameter, with five white, pink or red petals.

Three different varieties are found on our rocky clearing, all white and all relatively small growing shrubs.

Tired of filling your mouth with chemical laced foam? Brush your teeth with natural baking soda and essential oils and get clean, shiny, HEALTHY teeth and gums. Visit "Bathtime" the blog from Nude Soap to get this super easy recipe.

Canoes at camp 15, Noosa River, Nov 1989.

No motorised boats are allowed on this part of the river. Its beautiful dark colouring is caused by the tea tree tannins.

Flowers from the Tea Tree plant...I couldn't decide which one I like best, so you all

get to see 3 more out of 14 that I shot at some friends' home we visited yesterday

in Vallejo, CA. EXPLORE #345, 02-02-09

Built 1874 for George Wills’ drapery business, architect Daniel Garlick, second building attached to the west 1878, leased to John Martins store 1930s, became car parking station 1936, later used by School of Arts & Crafts and Technical Correspondence School. Also leather goods industry, John Martins Theatre Shop, Art Gallery, etc. Now only the facade remains in North Terrace in front of a 34-storey student accommodation tower.

 

“Any one passing along North-terrace recently must have been struck with the remarkably fine appearance of the large warehouse which has just been completed opposite the Institute for Messrs. G. & R. Wills & Co. The premises of this firm have gradually been extended in depth, till at last they have reached the great length of two acres, or 410 feet; and as they form by far the most spacious soft goods establishment in the city.” [Register 5 Jan 1874]

 

“The structure has a frontage of 52 feet by a depth of 90 feet, and consists of basement, ground, and first floors. The height from the footpath to the top of the parapet is 48 feet. The front is of Teatree Gully freestone, with cement dressings, the walls up to the plinth line being of Glen Osmond stone, finished with a string of white freestone. The facade is finished with a bold cornice, surmounted by a parapet with balustrading on each side. The centre of the front is broken by vermiculated pilasters with ornamental capitals, a handsome triplet window in the centre of the first floor, above the door, and double windows in each side with similar capitals. A dental cornice divides the lower from the upper storey, and flanking the main entrance are pilasters with moulded caps. There is a small entrance at the side of this, opposite which is a very fine staircase leading to the first floor.” [Evening Journal 5 Jan 1874]

 

“Messrs. G. & R. Wills & Co. are making an extensive addition to their fine warehouse on North-terrace. The new building will be in the same style as that now standing, but will stand forward about twelve feet, so that the line will be pleasantly broken. Mr. D. Garlick is the architect, and Mr. Chas. Farr the contractor. The cost will be between £5,000 and £6,000.” [Register 1 Jan 1878]

 

“Statements that the Salvation Army had purchased expensive property on North terrace from G. & R. Wills & Co., Limited, were denied by Brigadier H. Burhop (divisional commander) this morning. He said that the present condition of finances would not permit of such a transaction.” [News 15 Apr 1930]

 

“An important North terrace freehold, comprising warehouses premises of two floors and basement, with frontage of 105 ft., will be submitted to auction at an early date by Keith Wilkinson & Co., under instructions from G & R. Wills & Co. Ltd. The property, which occupies a commanding site, just east of Gawler place and opposite the library, is at present under lease to John Martin & Co. Ltd., whose term expires on September 30.” [The Mail 27 Jul 1935]

 

“A modem indoor parking station with accommodation for 150 cars at three different levels is being created in North terrace, opposite the Public Library, with the approval of the City Council, for the purpose of relieving the kerb-side parking problem in this part of the city. The garage building, a two-storied structure which was built as a warehouse for G. & R. Wills & Co. and was later used for a time as a nightclub, is being converted at a cost of £600, and will probably be ready to accommodate cars at the end of next week. Three ramps from the street level are being constructed, one to the first floor, another to the basement, and the third to the ground floor. On the ground floor a lounge, offices, and other conveniences for patrons are being built. Otherwise little structural alteration is being made. The front facade will remain unchanged except for the ramp openings, and will be floodlighted at night. One of the proprietors, Mr. L. A. Higginbotham, said yesterday that three petrol pumps which would be erected outside the building would be hidden by screens. With the exception of a name and numbered ramps, there would be hardly any alteration to the appearance of the present building to justify criticism that it would not harmonise with the surroundings. The garage will be open all day and all night should the need arise.” [Advertiser 2 Jul 1936]

 

“Where to Park Your Car. Attendants will take your car at the entrance and will deliver it at the ground floor door when required. There is a day and night service, and the charges are twenty-four hours parking for one shilling. The Big Garage is situated between Gawler place and Charles street, at 204 North terrace. The Big Garage is most modern and up to date.” [Advertiser 5 Sep 1936]

 

“Special Xmas Offer! Re-Tyre at John Martin’s. . . Fitted at the Big Garage, North terrace. . . Fittings are without charge.” [Advertiser 21 Dec 1939 advert]

 

“Education Department. South Australian School of Arts and Crafts, 204 North terrace, Adelaide. (Opp. Public Library.) The School will Re-Open for the first term. 1943, on Monday, February 1st.” [News 23 Jan 1943 advert]

 

“Part-Time Instructor Wanted for Retouching and Coloring of Photographs. . . apply personally to the Principal of the School of Arts and Crafts, 204 North terrace, Adelaide.” [News 28 Jan 1943 advert]

 

“Technical Correspondence School, 204 North Terrace, Adelaide. . . This school specialises in Technical Education by the individual Postal Study method. As each student is treated individually, Enrolment May Be Made at Any Time. . . Accountancy. . . Station Bookkeeping. . . Shorthand. . . Building Construction. . . Motor Mechanics. . . Agriculture (Cereals), Horticulture, Beekeeping. Animal Husbandry, Woolclassing. . . Journalism. . . Dressmaking. . . Various courses to Leaving standard in English, Arithmetic, Algebra. Geometry, French, Latin, History, Geography, Bookkeeping, Physics.” [Chronicle 18 Sep 1947 advert]

 

“Machinists. Excellent opportunity for Girls who can use a sewing machine To Earn High Wages and Bonuses. . . F.P.T. Industries Ltd., 204 North terrace, Adelaide.” [Advertiser 28 Jan 1949 advert]

 

“Leather cutter, experienced man for permanent position in leather bag and case trade. F.P.T. Industries, 204 North ter.” [Advertiser 24 Apr 1950 advert]

 

“Junior boys and girls to learn interesting trade. Leather and canvas goods. Furniture and furnishings. F.P.T. Industries Ltd, 204 North ter, Adelaide.” [Advertiser 27 Apr 1950]

 

“When you need a Fancy Dress or Period Costume, contact the Theatre Shop. . . 204 North Terrace, Adelaide.” [Advertiser4 Feb 1950 advert]

 

“G. and R. Wills and Co. . . Mr. K. A. Wills (chairman). . . The company was selling its North terrace property at a figure considerably in excess of that at which it has been standing in the books, Mr. Wills added. For the past 20 years the property had been leased at not very remunerative rents.” [Advertiser 27 Oct 1951]

 

GEORGE WILLS

“Mr George Wills of the firm of Messrs George Wills & Co, died in London yesterday.” [Kadina & Wallaroo Times 19 Dec 1906]

 

“Mr. George Wills, senior. . . was born in Devonshire, in 1823. . . The deceased gentleman left four sons, two daughters, and four grandchildren. One of the sons, Mr. George Tarlton Wills, is connected with the Adelaide [sic] business. Two others — Messrs. J. H. Wills and Charles Percy Wills — are in the London houses, and the fourth — Mr. Arthur Wills, barrister-at-law-is member of the House, of Commons for North Dorset. The daughters, who live in London, are Misses Lucy and Ellen Wills. The deceased gentleman was a widower, his wife having died about eight years ago.” [Express & Telegraph18 Dec 1906]

 

“In a notice of the death of Mr. George Wills, senior. . . it was stated that a son of the deceased gentleman, Mr. George Tarlton Wills, was connected with the Adelaide office of the firm. Mr. G. T. Wills is associated with the London house.” [Advertiser 20 Dec 1906]

 

“George Wills, founder of the firm of G. & R. Wills & Co., wholesale warehousemen of London and Australia, and senior partner in George Wills & Co., merchants and shipping agents. Mr. Wills was born in Devonshire. . . At the age of 20 years he went to London, and entered the employ of Messrs. Goode, Gainsford,, & Co., where Mr. C. H. Goode, another successful Adelaide merchant, was also engaged at the same time. Mr. Wills came to South Australia in 1849, and opened a retail drapery store in Bundle street, from which .small beginnings the powerful firm of G. & R. Wills & Co. sprang — a firm that now has branches in Melbourne, Broken Hill, Fremantle, Kalgoorlie, Perth, Manchester, Paris, and London. . . Mr. Wills had lived in London for many years, but practically to the end he continued to take an active part in the administration of the two firms in Adelaide bearing his name, while he went in for farming and stockbreeding on his estate in Devon.” [Evening Journal 18 Dec 1906]

 

“The business of George Wills and Co. is, however, of a totally different character from that of G. and R. Wills & Co., the latter being devoted solely to the textile or soft goods trade, while in the case of George Wills and Co. the business is confined to shipping and the carrying on of a general merchants' trade.” [Advertiser 19 Dec 1906]

 

RICHARD WILLS

“WILLS.— On the 4th March, at his residence, Prospect Village, Richard Wills, Esq., aged 33 years,” [Register 5 Mar 1862]

 

“Mr. Richard Wills, of the well-known firm of G. & R. Wills & Co. of this city. Mr. Wills first arrived in the colony about ten years ago. . . Mr. Wills afterwards returned to England, where he remained about two years, when he again came out to this colony in the year 1859. Last year he was married to the second daughter of Mr. W. Brace, of Kensington, by whom lie had a son born only a fortnight ago.” [Advertiser 5 Mar 1862]

 

Myrtaceae (myrtle family) » Melaleuca leucadendra

 

me-luh-LOO-kuh -- having a black trunk and white branches

lew-kuh-DEN-drah -- from the Greek leukos (white) and dendron (tree)

 

commonly known as: broadleaf paperbark, broadleaf tea tree, cajuput tree, fine leaf melaleuca, punk tree, river tea tree, swamp tea tree, weeping tea tree, white tea tree, white wood • Hindi: शीतांशु shitanshu, विशाहा vishaha • Marathi: कायापुटी kayaputi • Sanskrit: कायापुटी kayaputi • Tamil: கையாப்புடை kaiyapputai

  

References: Flowers of IndiaFloristic Survey (IISc), MumbaiNPGS / GRINBotanical

This is one of the several walking paths through the tea trees of the 560 hectare Point Nepean National Park, looking towards the turquoise and blue waters of Port Phillip Bay.

 

Point Nepean is the most westerly point of the Mornington Peninsula, reaching finger-like almost to the other side of Port Phillip Bay (see my photo of the tip, known as "The Heads"). The quiet waters of Port Phillip Bay lap on one side of the Point, the Rip (the dangerous waters at the entrance to Port Phillip and hence into Melbourne) ravages the tip, and the Bass Strait crashes against the south side.

 

Point Nepean has a rich history, playing an important role in shaping the early settlement, quarantine and defence of Victoria. It includes military forts and tunnels, an historic Quarantine Station and a cemetery.

Tired of filling your mouth with chemical laced foam? Brush your teeth with natural baking soda and essential oils and get clean, shiny, HEALTHY teeth and gums. Visit "Bathtime" the blog from Nude Soap to get this super easy recipe.

It was lovely to wander around out of the wind from one campsite to the next between the well planted camp ground.

   

Family Myrtaceae

Common name: Tea Tree

Conservation status:Not at risk.

 

Shrub 7 m high .Flowered spikes 4 cm long; Flowers white. Petals , 2 mm long. style 4 mm long.

 

NSW Qld.Australia.

Grafton NSW.

 

In what can only be a loco balancing movement, TasRail units 2132, 2133, 2002, 2110 and 2112 slip through the countryside near Tea Tree with an exceptionally short paper train from Boyer.

Taken at Tea Mountain, Pu'er China

Tired of filling your mouth with chemical laced foam? Brush your teeth with natural baking soda and essential oils and get clean, shiny, HEALTHY teeth and gums. Visit "Bathtime" the blog from Nude Soap to get this super easy recipe.

Tired of filling your mouth with chemical laced foam? Brush your teeth with natural baking soda and essential oils and get clean, shiny, HEALTHY teeth and gums. Visit "Bathtime" the blog from Nude Soap to get this super easy recipe.

Myrtaceae (myrtle family) » Melaleuca leucadendra

 

me-luh-LOO-kuh -- having a black trunk and white branches

lew-kuh-DEN-drah -- from the Greek leukos (white) and dendron (tree)

 

commonly known as: broadleaf paperbark, broadleaf tea tree, cajuput tree, fine leaf melaleuca, punk tree, river tea tree, swamp tea tree, weeping tea tree, white tea tree, white wood • Hindi: शीतांशु shitanshu, विशाहा vishaha • Marathi: कायापुटी kayaputi • Sanskrit: कायापुटी kayaputi • Tamil: கையாப்புடை kaiyapputai

 

Native of: Malesia, Australia

  

References: Flowers of IndiaFloristic Survey (IISc), MumbaiNPGS / GRINBotanical

Built 1874 for George Wills’ drapery business, architect Daniel Garlick, second building attached to the west 1878, leased to John Martins store 1930s, became car parking station 1936, later used by School of Arts & Crafts and Technical Correspondence School. Also leather goods industry, John Martins Theatre Shop, Art Gallery, etc. Now only the facade remains in North Terrace in front of a 34-storey student accommodation tower.

 

“Any one passing along North-terrace recently must have been struck with the remarkably fine appearance of the large warehouse which has just been completed opposite the Institute for Messrs. G. & R. Wills & Co. The premises of this firm have gradually been extended in depth, till at last they have reached the great length of two acres, or 410 feet; and as they form by far the most spacious soft goods establishment in the city.” [Register 5 Jan 1874]

 

“The structure has a frontage of 52 feet by a depth of 90 feet, and consists of basement, ground, and first floors. The height from the footpath to the top of the parapet is 48 feet. The front is of Teatree Gully freestone, with cement dressings, the walls up to the plinth line being of Glen Osmond stone, finished with a string of white freestone. The facade is finished with a bold cornice, surmounted by a parapet with balustrading on each side. The centre of the front is broken by vermiculated pilasters with ornamental capitals, a handsome triplet window in the centre of the first floor, above the door, and double windows in each side with similar capitals. A dental cornice divides the lower from the upper storey, and flanking the main entrance are pilasters with moulded caps. There is a small entrance at the side of this, opposite which is a very fine staircase leading to the first floor.” [Evening Journal 5 Jan 1874]

 

“Messrs. G. & R. Wills & Co. are making an extensive addition to their fine warehouse on North-terrace. The new building will be in the same style as that now standing, but will stand forward about twelve feet, so that the line will be pleasantly broken. Mr. D. Garlick is the architect, and Mr. Chas. Farr the contractor. The cost will be between £5,000 and £6,000.” [Register 1 Jan 1878]

 

“Statements that the Salvation Army had purchased expensive property on North terrace from G. & R. Wills & Co., Limited, were denied by Brigadier H. Burhop (divisional commander) this morning. He said that the present condition of finances would not permit of such a transaction.” [News 15 Apr 1930]

 

“An important North terrace freehold, comprising warehouses premises of two floors and basement, with frontage of 105 ft., will be submitted to auction at an early date by Keith Wilkinson & Co., under instructions from G & R. Wills & Co. Ltd. The property, which occupies a commanding site, just east of Gawler place and opposite the library, is at present under lease to John Martin & Co. Ltd., whose term expires on September 30.” [The Mail 27 Jul 1935]

 

“A modem indoor parking station with accommodation for 150 cars at three different levels is being created in North terrace, opposite the Public Library, with the approval of the City Council, for the purpose of relieving the kerb-side parking problem in this part of the city. The garage building, a two-storied structure which was built as a warehouse for G. & R. Wills & Co. and was later used for a time as a nightclub, is being converted at a cost of £600, and will probably be ready to accommodate cars at the end of next week. Three ramps from the street level are being constructed, one to the first floor, another to the basement, and the third to the ground floor. On the ground floor a lounge, offices, and other conveniences for patrons are being built. Otherwise little structural alteration is being made. The front facade will remain unchanged except for the ramp openings, and will be floodlighted at night. One of the proprietors, Mr. L. A. Higginbotham, said yesterday that three petrol pumps which would be erected outside the building would be hidden by screens. With the exception of a name and numbered ramps, there would be hardly any alteration to the appearance of the present building to justify criticism that it would not harmonise with the surroundings. The garage will be open all day and all night should the need arise.” [Advertiser 2 Jul 1936]

 

“Where to Park Your Car. Attendants will take your car at the entrance and will deliver it at the ground floor door when required. There is a day and night service, and the charges are twenty-four hours parking for one shilling. The Big Garage is situated between Gawler place and Charles street, at 204 North terrace. The Big Garage is most modern and up to date.” [Advertiser 5 Sep 1936]

 

“Special Xmas Offer! Re-Tyre at John Martin’s. . . Fitted at the Big Garage, North terrace. . . Fittings are without charge.” [Advertiser 21 Dec 1939 advert]

 

“Education Department. South Australian School of Arts and Crafts, 204 North terrace, Adelaide. (Opp. Public Library.) The School will Re-Open for the first term. 1943, on Monday, February 1st.” [News 23 Jan 1943 advert]

 

“Part-Time Instructor Wanted for Retouching and Coloring of Photographs. . . apply personally to the Principal of the School of Arts and Crafts, 204 North terrace, Adelaide.” [News 28 Jan 1943 advert]

 

“Technical Correspondence School, 204 North Terrace, Adelaide. . . This school specialises in Technical Education by the individual Postal Study method. As each student is treated individually, Enrolment May Be Made at Any Time. . . Accountancy. . . Station Bookkeeping. . . Shorthand. . . Building Construction. . . Motor Mechanics. . . Agriculture (Cereals), Horticulture, Beekeeping. Animal Husbandry, Woolclassing. . . Journalism. . . Dressmaking. . . Various courses to Leaving standard in English, Arithmetic, Algebra. Geometry, French, Latin, History, Geography, Bookkeeping, Physics.” [Chronicle 18 Sep 1947 advert]

 

“Machinists. Excellent opportunity for Girls who can use a sewing machine To Earn High Wages and Bonuses. . . F.P.T. Industries Ltd., 204 North terrace, Adelaide.” [Advertiser 28 Jan 1949 advert]

 

“Leather cutter, experienced man for permanent position in leather bag and case trade. F.P.T. Industries, 204 North ter.” [Advertiser 24 Apr 1950 advert]

 

“Junior boys and girls to learn interesting trade. Leather and canvas goods. Furniture and furnishings. F.P.T. Industries Ltd, 204 North ter, Adelaide.” [Advertiser 27 Apr 1950]

 

“When you need a Fancy Dress or Period Costume, contact the Theatre Shop. . . 204 North Terrace, Adelaide.” [Advertiser4 Feb 1950 advert]

 

“G. and R. Wills and Co. . . Mr. K. A. Wills (chairman). . . The company was selling its North terrace property at a figure considerably in excess of that at which it has been standing in the books, Mr. Wills added. For the past 20 years the property had been leased at not very remunerative rents.” [Advertiser 27 Oct 1951]

 

GEORGE WILLS

“Mr George Wills of the firm of Messrs George Wills & Co, died in London yesterday.” [Kadina & Wallaroo Times 19 Dec 1906]

 

“Mr. George Wills, senior. . . was born in Devonshire, in 1823. . . The deceased gentleman left four sons, two daughters, and four grandchildren. One of the sons, Mr. George Tarlton Wills, is connected with the Adelaide [sic] business. Two others — Messrs. J. H. Wills and Charles Percy Wills — are in the London houses, and the fourth — Mr. Arthur Wills, barrister-at-law-is member of the House, of Commons for North Dorset. The daughters, who live in London, are Misses Lucy and Ellen Wills. The deceased gentleman was a widower, his wife having died about eight years ago.” [Express & Telegraph18 Dec 1906]

 

“In a notice of the death of Mr. George Wills, senior. . . it was stated that a son of the deceased gentleman, Mr. George Tarlton Wills, was connected with the Adelaide office of the firm. Mr. G. T. Wills is associated with the London house.” [Advertiser 20 Dec 1906]

 

“George Wills, founder of the firm of G. & R. Wills & Co., wholesale warehousemen of London and Australia, and senior partner in George Wills & Co., merchants and shipping agents. Mr. Wills was born in Devonshire. . . At the age of 20 years he went to London, and entered the employ of Messrs. Goode, Gainsford,, & Co., where Mr. C. H. Goode, another successful Adelaide merchant, was also engaged at the same time. Mr. Wills came to South Australia in 1849, and opened a retail drapery store in Bundle street, from which .small beginnings the powerful firm of G. & R. Wills & Co. sprang — a firm that now has branches in Melbourne, Broken Hill, Fremantle, Kalgoorlie, Perth, Manchester, Paris, and London. . . Mr. Wills had lived in London for many years, but practically to the end he continued to take an active part in the administration of the two firms in Adelaide bearing his name, while he went in for farming and stockbreeding on his estate in Devon.” [Evening Journal 18 Dec 1906]

 

“The business of George Wills and Co. is, however, of a totally different character from that of G. and R. Wills & Co., the latter being devoted solely to the textile or soft goods trade, while in the case of George Wills and Co. the business is confined to shipping and the carrying on of a general merchants' trade.” [Advertiser 19 Dec 1906]

 

RICHARD WILLS

“WILLS.— On the 4th March, at his residence, Prospect Village, Richard Wills, Esq., aged 33 years,” [Register 5 Mar 1862]

 

“Mr. Richard Wills, of the well-known firm of G. & R. Wills & Co. of this city. Mr. Wills first arrived in the colony about ten years ago. . . Mr. Wills afterwards returned to England, where he remained about two years, when he again came out to this colony in the year 1859. Last year he was married to the second daughter of Mr. W. Brace, of Kensington, by whom lie had a son born only a fortnight ago.” [Advertiser 5 Mar 1862]

 

1 2 ••• 12 13 15 17 18 ••• 79 80