View allAll Photos Tagged TeaTree

Nambucca Construction

 

There have been a number of vessels named Nambucca.

 

Nambucca 1898 (1898 – 1905). Single screw steamer built of wood by David Drake of Bald Rock, Balmain. She operated out of the Nambucca River until 1902 before being sold to New Zealand operators. She was wrecked in January 1905 whilst on a voyage from Blenheim to Wellington.

 

Nambucca 1915 . The Nambucca was built by William Lloyd Holmes & Co, McMahons Point, Sydney, NSW, Australia. Owned by Jack Cox, she was used on the Nambucca River as a milk/cream boat to collect milk containers from dairy farmers along the river for delivery to the Nambucca Dairy Co., Ltd., (NORCO) butter factory. She was sold to interests in Sydney and converted into a ferry named Promote. She currently operates on the Hawkesbury River as a tourist ferry. Details are in the following album. Nambucca 1915

 

Nambucca I (1922 -1934). Twin screw steamer built of wood by Ernest Wright of Tuncurry for the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. She came to grief at the entrance to the Nambucca River in 1931 but was refloated. She was wrecked in May 1934 after running aground. Details are in the following album. Nambucca I

 

Nambucca II (1936 – 1946). Twin Screw steamer built of wood by Ernest Wright of Tuncurry for the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. A much larger vessel than Nambucca I. In later life she was acquired by the R.A.N. and became HMAS Nambucca and finally USS YDG-5. She was burned to the waterline in Okinawa in 1946. Details are in the following album. Nambucca II

 

There were two vessels called Nambucca, both built by Ernest Wright of Tuncurry. To differentiate the two vessels local people called the original Nambucca that was launched in 1922 and wrecked in 1934 as Nambucca I. The vessel featured here was known as Nambucca II. It should be noted that there was an earlier steamer, also known as Nambucca, built by Drake of Balmain in 1898. It was wrecked in New Zealand on 15th January 1902

 

The twin screw steamer S.S. Nambucca II was designed by Mr. James Scott, of Sydney, and built at the John Wright and Co. Ltd. shipyards by Ernest Wright, Tuncurry, for the North Coast Steam Navigation Co., Ltd. In later life she became the HMAS Nambucca and finally USS YDG-5.

 

The launch of the Nambucca II was a major event for the Wright shipyards as there had been no vessels constructed for 14 years. The launching ceremony was performed by Miss Joyce Wright (daughter of the builder) when a traditional bottle of wine, wrapped in Wright tartan, was broken over the bow. Appreciation was expressed of the thoughtfulness of one of the District's pioneers, Mrs. Granny Mayers, who, from the flowers in her garden, made a large, natural wreath. This was hung on the flared bow of the vessel with an appropriate expression of goodwill to all concerned, as well as for the safety of those who sail in the new Nambucca.

 

She left the slips on the high tide at 4:30pm on Saturday 30th May 1936. Details of this impressive vessel are:

Registration: 30468

Displacement: 489 tons

Length 164 feet overall

Beam 34ft 6in

Depth 9ft 6in.

In design the steamer was considered as modern as a hardwood vessel could be made. She had the flared bows of a latter day motor cruiser, and as clean a run aft as any of the small steam vessels engaged in the coastal trade.

Building operations on the vessel began in May, 1935. More than 400 tons of selected hardwood and 20 tons of steel and iron work were built into the hull. Less than 12 months previously, ironbark, red mahogany, brush box, teatree, and turpentine timbers that formed her frames and scantlings were standing in tree form in the adjacent forests. One superb red mahogany stick more than 100 feet in length was cut at the back of Gloucester and brought to the shipyards. Shelf pieces were cut from that faultless log. Other 90ft ironbark trees were used in the kelsons and rider kelsons. All were fashioned with axe and adze handled by experts, many of whom had not done a day's work at their trade for more than 10 years.

 

After the launch, Nambucca II was towed to Morts Dock in Sydney for fitting. The finished vessel has fitted with twin engines developing 420 horse power and powerful winch gear for handling heavy timber cargo. She was expected to do a point or two better than 10 knots.

After the launch, the Nambucca II was towed to Mort's Dock in Sydney for fitting. The finished vessel was fitted equipped with twin engines developing 420 horse power in total and powerful winch gear for handling heavy timber cargo. She was expected to do a point or two better than 10 knots.

 

The fate of the S.S. Kinchela now becomes important to the Nambucca II. She was owned by the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. She ran aground on the spit at Port Macquarie, New South Wales in March 1933 and was hulked in 1936. Part of her machinery was removed and fitted in the Nambucca II.

 

On 6th October 1936 Nambucca II undertook formal time trials. Mr. Ernest Wright, who built the vessel in his shipyards at Tuncurry, witnessed the trials and was pleased with the speed of the vessel, as well as her appearance.

"No wooden steamer built on the coastline in my time was ever fitted out and finished in the fashion of the Nambucca. She will do all that is asked of her." he said.

 

She traded regularly along the NSW North Coast until late 1939. Nambucca was requisitioned by the RAN on 7th November 1939 and converted to an auxiliary minesweeper, and commissioned on 10th January 1940 as HMAS Nambucca. An image of HMAS Nambucca is available through the Australian War Museum www.awm.gov.au/collection/301068/

 

She formed part of Mine-sweeping Group 50 based in Sydney, undertaking mine-sweeping activities around Wilson's Promontory and Cape Otway. In 1942 she was stationed in Adelaide and assisted in mine-sweeping activities around Kangaroo Island.

 

She was transferred to the United States Navy on 19th April 1943. After conversion to a degaussing vessel by Evans Deakin and Company, Brisbane, she was commissioned on 31st July 1944 as USS YDG-5. She was inspected at Okinawa in November 1945 by USS BLACK HAWK (AD-9) which reported that she required major machinery repairs, her main propulsion plant was obsolete, her capabilities as a degaussing barge were limited, her wooden hull was old and in need of recaulking, and she was not safe for sea under her own power. The Board's recommendation to strip locally and dispose of was approved by SecNav on 19 Dec 45. She was declared a total loss as of 30th Dec 1945, decommissioned on 7th February 46, and destroyed by fire on 8th February 1946. This coincided with the year of the death of Ernest Wright (23rd January 1946) and was indeed a sad end for such a well regarded ship from the Wright Shipyard - only 10 years of age

 

Image Source - Nicholson Family Collection.

 

All Images in this photostream are Copyright - Great Lakes Manning River Shipping and/or their individual owners as may be stated above and may not be downloaded, reproduced, or used in any way without prior written approval.

 

GREAT LAKES MANNING RIVER SHIPPING, NSW - Flick Group --> Alphabetical Boat Index --> Boat builders Index --> Tags List

Drawing room with some furniture & artefacts donated by Sturt’s descendants.

 

First red brick house built 1840, with nursery wing added a year later, located on 390 acres taken up by Charles Sturt in the area known as Reedbeds. The home was surrounded by a large garden and an orchard of grapes, pear, plum & apple trees. The family returned to England 1853 for sons’ education and because of Sturt’s ill-health. The property was leased until sold Nov 1877 when the estate was subdivided for a township named “Grange”. Since 1908 there were calls for the house to be saved from demolition but it was not until 1956 that it was purchased by Henley & Grange Council. After restoration, Sturt’s grandchildren donated furniture, artworks, documents & artefacts and the Museum opened 1966. A detached cottage, the nursery wing, demolished by the last private owner, was rebuilt when house restored and is now used as exhibition gallery.

 

Charles Sturt was born 28 Apr 1795 in Bengal, India to British parents, schooled in England, enlisted in 39th Regiment, served in Pyrenees, Canada, France & Ireland. He arrived Sydney 1827 escorting convicts on “Mariner”. In Nov 1928 with Hamilton Hume, Sturt explored & named Darling River. A year later he led another expedition down the Murrumbidgee, discovering the Murray and, with 7 men in a small boat, travelled to its mouth, on their return rowing against the current. He was appointed Commandant of Norfolk Island garrison, revisiting England he published accounts of his journeys and married Charlotte Greene 1834. Returning to Sydney 1835, he settled at Mittagong. In 1838 he overlanded cattle to South Australia and decided to settle in that colony on land at the Reedbeds. Appointed Assistant Commissioner of Lands 1839, Registrar General 1841, set out on what was his final expedition north to the centre of the continent 1844.

 

“Captain Sturt, accompanied by Mr. Giles Strangways, may be expected overland in about ten days with a herd of fine cattle.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 16 Jun 1838]

 

“Captain Sturt left Adelaide on Sunday morning for Encounter Bay, to join the barque Hope for Sydney. We believe it is the Captain's intention to settle in our colony.” [Southern Australian 20 Oct 1838]

 

“the safe arrival of Capt. Sturt in our colony. . . He has brought overland from the Hume River between 400 and 500 head of cattle, and he performed the journey in little more than three months. Capt. Sturt is accompanied by Capt. Finniss, Mr M'Leod, Mr G. Strangways, and eleven men.” [South Australian Record 13 Feb 1839]

 

“We have great pleasure in announcing the arrival last night in the John Pirie of Captain Sturt, the new Surveyor-general, with his lady and family.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 30 Mar 1839]

 

“His Excellency the Resident Commissioner has appointed Charles Sturt, Esq., late Surveyor-General, to be Assistant Commissioner.” [Register 5 Oct 1839]

 

“the Governor has been pleased to appoint the Hon. Charles Sturt, Assistant Commissioner, to the office of Registrar General.” [South Australian 5 Nov 1841]

 

“Hunting.— The hounds meet to-morrow (Saturday), by appointment, at Grange, the residence of Captain Sturt.” [Southern Australian 27 May 1842]

 

“Hon. Charles Sturt, Registrar General, to be Colonial Treasurer of the Province of South Australia.” [South Australian 6 Mar 1846]

 

“His Excellency has accepted the resignation of Capt. Sturt as Colonial Secretary.” [Register 5 Jan 1852]

 

“On December 7, 1852, Sturt wrote to his son at Rugby:— ‘The Grange garden looks tolerably well, and there is a great show of grapes, pears, and apples. Apples this year have failed in consequence of a small fly getting into the blossom. Our dairy now consists of 14 quiet cows, which yield a good deal of butter, but really the annoyance of the servants may drive us to give up the pleasure of looking after these animals. We have 60 goslings and 23 young turkeys and a lot of young guinea fowls, as wild as partridges, but I have been unsuccessful with the ducks. Our bees get on famously. I am very fond of them. The boys have taken lots of fish in the creek this season.’" [Register 13 Apr 1912]

 

“The Henry Tanner cleared out for England yesterday, March 17th, with the Hon. Captain Sturt, our late Colonial Secretary, his family, and many other cabin passengers on board.” [Adelaide Times 18 Mar 1853]

 

“Death of. . . Captain Charles Sturt, one of the earliest and most distinguished of Australian explorers. . . on the 16th June, at the deceased gentleman's residence, Clarence-square, Cheltenham. . . nearly blind from ophthalmia — a malady which he had the misfortune to contract during his last exploring expedition. . . belonged to a very old Dorsetshire family, arrived in the colony of New South Wales in about the year 1825 as a captain in H.M.'s 39th Foot.” [Evening Journal 10 Aug 1869]

 

“Tenders are invited . . . for the Purchase of the Grange Estate, Reedbeds, adjoining Henley Beach, containing about 389 Acres.” [Evening Journal 28 Sep 1877 advert]

 

“the Grange. This is an estate of 380 acres, which was selected by Captain Sturt after his return from his exploring expedition in 1845 [sic]. Captain Sturt having as extensive a practical knowledge as most men of the land around Adelaide, and this estate having been selected by him for his own personal residence. . . The soil appears to be of fair quality, capable of growing lucern, fruit trees, and vegetables. . . There are fine gum-trees on the estate, and a perennial stream winds its way through the grounds, with quantities of teatree growing on its banks.” [Express & Telegraph 22 Mar 1878]

 

“The Grange Township. The 380 acres comprising the Grange Estate, and situated between the Semaphore and Henley Beach, is, under the direction of three enterprising Adelaide gentlemen, being rapidly transformed into what must ere long become an attractive seaside watering-place. . . The land was formerly occupied by Captain Sturt, the explorer, who selected it as a preliminary section under the land order to which he was entitled. The house occupied by the gallant explorer still remains, and is being renovated and extended by the new proprietors with a view to rendering it suitable for a temporary hotel.” [Register 14 Sep 1878]

 

“Mrs. M. Howard, of the Grange, gave a private continental at her residence on Saturday evening. Over 200 guests were present. The Old Grange House which was originally built for Governor [sic] Sturt and occupied for many years by David Murray, is surrounded by lovely lawns, and the grounds being decorated with hundreds of Japanese lanterns, presented a scene suggestive of fairyland. . . For the night the mosquitoes held off.” [Critic, Adelaide 14 Feb 1906]

 

“Sturt's home. . . The residence of the famous explorer is one of the few remaining Australian historical relics. The recent owner has done much to beautify its surroundings. . . I would suggest to the Government that they should at once purchase this interesting property to prevent its demolition, and convert it into a teahouse and gardens for the public use. Or it might be possible to find a generous spirited patriot willing to make the freehold a gift to the community under certain conditions.” [Register 20 Jun 1908 Letter to Editor]

 

“the Grange, the homestead owned by Capt. Sturt. . . which is now occupied by Mr. J. A. Hardy, is a short distance from the Grange Jetty. The late Capt. Dashwood, the father of the present Crown Solicitor (Mr. C. J. Dashwood, K.C.), and the late Sir Richard Chaffey Baker lived in the historic home. Capt. Dashwood was Collector of Customs at the time.” [Observer 20 Apr 1912]

 

“The recent demolition of the cottage at Thebarton occupied by Colonel William Light, founder of Adelaide and first Surveyor-General, created dismay among students of early South Australian history. . . thoughts have now turned to the historic home of Capt. Charles Sturt (discoverer of the River Murray), at Grange, one of Adelaide's most favored seaside resorts. That house has been in respectable occupation ever since its erection by Sturt. . . Charles Sturt resided at the Grange until March 17, 1853, when he went to England on a life pension of £600 a year, granted by the South Australian Government.” [The Mail 22 Jan 1927]

 

“The necessity of preserving the historic home of Captain Sturt at the Grange, known as ‘Grange House’, was brought before the Henley and Grange Town Council. . . The property consists of the large house and 7½ acres of land. The alderman stated that the property could be bought on terms for £3,000.” [Advertiser 9 Apr 1929]

 

“the historic home of Capt Sturt at Grange. . . The home is vacant, and vandals have made their unwelcome appearance on the property. When Mr. Mitton visited it recently he found that some of the windows had been broken. . . It has been suggested that the Tourist Bureau could advertise trips by charabanc through delightful scenery to the spot. Morning and afternoon tea could be provided.” [News 28 May 1930]

 

“Captain Sturt's house at the Grange was one of the first built in SA, erected about 1840. The building, which faces Mount Lofty, had an attractive rose garden in front. The explorer had a penchant for flowers and animals. . . North of Sturt's house is a cottage of three rooms. It is said that Sturt had the cottage built first and moved into the more commodious premises later, using the former as a storeroom. A number of horses that he used on expeditions ended their days on the homestead at the Grange. Particularly attracted was he to a roan horse, on which he used to ride to and from the city.” [Chronicle 31 Aug 1944]

 

“When the old Grange Railway Company decided to manage its own train service [c1883]. . . it was faced with the problem of finding house room for its staff. Only vacant house in the district happened to be Sturt's, known as the 'old Grange mansion', which was delapidated [sic] and a shelter for swagmen. There being no option, the two enginedrivers — the late Tom Fanning and John Chapman — reluctantly decided to make the best of a bad job by taking over the old home, and .sharing it. . . The Sturt bedrooms included a dressing room of equal size which modem owners must have regarded as so much waste space, as when I visited the place 30 years later they had been converted into separate compartments by bricking up the doorways.” [Advertiser 11 Nov 1948]

 

“Mr. Anthony Sturt visited the old home of his famous great grandfather, explorer Charles Sturt, at Grange today.” [News 1 Mar 1951]

 

“Mr. Justice Cooper lived in Capt. Sturt's home at the Grange after the family went to England. Judge Cooper had planted the palms in front of the house. Mr. Berry's father, who was Capt. Sturt's gardener, used to play with the Sturt children at a small stream on the west side of the house. . . Mr. Berry saw the Sturts leave the old home in a bullock dray over the sandhills to Port Adelaide.” [Chronicle 2 Jul 1953]

 

“Capt. Sturt's former home Grange, which, because of its location, condition and surrounding land, the committee did not recommend should be preserved. . . The surrounding land was lowlying and possibly liable to flooding.” [Advertiser 13 Aug 1953]

 

Back on Tuesday 9th April, 2002 train no 35 on its run from Burnie to Hobart derailed near Tea Tree with units DQ 2009 - QR 2102 - DQ 2006 early that morning. The units can be seen in the photo, detached from the derailed wagons later that day photographed at 14.30 with recovery operations still underway. It's interesting in that there is now a house placed almost on the site where the wagons fell off the track!!, so hope a similar occurence doesn't happen.

Photo By Steve Bromley

Bush Fly (Scaptia sp.) enjoying the sweet tea of a Tea Tree. :) Happy Fly Day Friday everyone! [Newnes, Gardens of Stone NP, NSW]

 

Plaque unveiled 2 Oct 1967.

 

First red brick house built 1840, with nursery wing added a year later, located on 390 acres taken up by Charles Sturt in the area known as Reedbeds. The home was surrounded by a large garden and an orchard of grapes, pear, plum & apple trees. The family returned to England 1853 for sons’ education and because of Sturt’s ill-health. The property was leased until sold Nov 1877 when the estate was subdivided for a township named “Grange”. Since 1908 there were calls for the house to be saved from demolition but it was not until 1956 that it was purchased by Henley & Grange Council. After restoration, Sturt’s grandchildren donated furniture, artworks, documents & artefacts and the Museum opened 1966. A detached cottage, the nursery wing, demolished by the last private owner, was rebuilt when house restored and is now used as exhibition gallery.

 

Charles Sturt was born 28 Apr 1795 in Bengal, India to British parents, schooled in England, enlisted in 39th Regiment, served in Pyrenees, Canada, France & Ireland. He arrived Sydney 1827 escorting convicts on “Mariner”. In Nov 1928 with Hamilton Hume, Sturt explored & named Darling River. A year later he led another expedition down the Murrumbidgee, discovering the Murray and, with 7 men in a small boat, travelled to its mouth, on their return rowing against the current. He was appointed Commandant of Norfolk Island garrison, revisiting England he published accounts of his journeys and married Charlotte Greene 1834. Returning to Sydney 1835, he settled at Mittagong. In 1838 he overlanded cattle to South Australia and decided to settle in that colony on land at the Reedbeds. Appointed Assistant Commissioner of Lands 1839, Registrar General 1841, set out on what was his final expedition north to the centre of the continent 1844.

 

“Captain Sturt, accompanied by Mr. Giles Strangways, may be expected overland in about ten days with a herd of fine cattle.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 16 Jun 1838]

 

“Captain Sturt left Adelaide on Sunday morning for Encounter Bay, to join the barque Hope for Sydney. We believe it is the Captain's intention to settle in our colony.” [Southern Australian 20 Oct 1838]

 

“the safe arrival of Capt. Sturt in our colony. . . He has brought overland from the Hume River between 400 and 500 head of cattle, and he performed the journey in little more than three months. Capt. Sturt is accompanied by Capt. Finniss, Mr M'Leod, Mr G. Strangways, and eleven men.” [South Australian Record 13 Feb 1839]

 

“We have great pleasure in announcing the arrival last night in the John Pirie of Captain Sturt, the new Surveyor-general, with his lady and family.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 30 Mar 1839]

 

“His Excellency the Resident Commissioner has appointed Charles Sturt, Esq., late Surveyor-General, to be Assistant Commissioner.” [Register 5 Oct 1839]

 

“the Governor has been pleased to appoint the Hon. Charles Sturt, Assistant Commissioner, to the office of Registrar General.” [South Australian 5 Nov 1841]

 

“Hunting.— The hounds meet to-morrow (Saturday), by appointment, at Grange, the residence of Captain Sturt.” [Southern Australian 27 May 1842]

 

“Hon. Charles Sturt, Registrar General, to be Colonial Treasurer of the Province of South Australia.” [South Australian 6 Mar 1846]

 

“His Excellency has accepted the resignation of Capt. Sturt as Colonial Secretary.” [Register 5 Jan 1852]

 

“On December 7, 1852, Sturt wrote to his son at Rugby:— ‘The Grange garden looks tolerably well, and there is a great show of grapes, pears, and apples. Apples this year have failed in consequence of a small fly getting into the blossom. Our dairy now consists of 14 quiet cows, which yield a good deal of butter, but really the annoyance of the servants may drive us to give up the pleasure of looking after these animals. We have 60 goslings and 23 young turkeys and a lot of young guinea fowls, as wild as partridges, but I have been unsuccessful with the ducks. Our bees get on famously. I am very fond of them. The boys have taken lots of fish in the creek this season.’" [Register 13 Apr 1912]

 

“The Henry Tanner cleared out for England yesterday, March 17th, with the Hon. Captain Sturt, our late Colonial Secretary, his family, and many other cabin passengers on board.” [Adelaide Times 18 Mar 1853]

 

“Death of. . . Captain Charles Sturt, one of the earliest and most distinguished of Australian explorers. . . on the 16th June, at the deceased gentleman's residence, Clarence-square, Cheltenham. . . nearly blind from ophthalmia — a malady which he had the misfortune to contract during his last exploring expedition. . . belonged to a very old Dorsetshire family, arrived in the colony of New South Wales in about the year 1825 as a captain in H.M.'s 39th Foot.” [Evening Journal 10 Aug 1869]

 

“Tenders are invited . . . for the Purchase of the Grange Estate, Reedbeds, adjoining Henley Beach, containing about 389 Acres.” [Evening Journal 28 Sep 1877 advert]

 

“the Grange. This is an estate of 380 acres, which was selected by Captain Sturt after his return from his exploring expedition in 1845 [sic]. Captain Sturt having as extensive a practical knowledge as most men of the land around Adelaide, and this estate having been selected by him for his own personal residence. . . The soil appears to be of fair quality, capable of growing lucern, fruit trees, and vegetables. . . There are fine gum-trees on the estate, and a perennial stream winds its way through the grounds, with quantities of teatree growing on its banks.” [Express & Telegraph 22 Mar 1878]

 

“The Grange Township. The 380 acres comprising the Grange Estate, and situated between the Semaphore and Henley Beach, is, under the direction of three enterprising Adelaide gentlemen, being rapidly transformed into what must ere long become an attractive seaside watering-place. . . The land was formerly occupied by Captain Sturt, the explorer, who selected it as a preliminary section under the land order to which he was entitled. The house occupied by the gallant explorer still remains, and is being renovated and extended by the new proprietors with a view to rendering it suitable for a temporary hotel.” [Register 14 Sep 1878]

 

“Mrs. M. Howard, of the Grange, gave a private continental at her residence on Saturday evening. Over 200 guests were present. The Old Grange House which was originally built for Governor [sic] Sturt and occupied for many years by David Murray, is surrounded by lovely lawns, and the grounds being decorated with hundreds of Japanese lanterns, presented a scene suggestive of fairyland. . . For the night the mosquitoes held off.” [Critic, Adelaide 14 Feb 1906]

 

“Sturt's home. . . The residence of the famous explorer is one of the few remaining Australian historical relics. The recent owner has done much to beautify its surroundings. . . I would suggest to the Government that they should at once purchase this interesting property to prevent its demolition, and convert it into a teahouse and gardens for the public use. Or it might be possible to find a generous spirited patriot willing to make the freehold a gift to the community under certain conditions.” [Register 20 Jun 1908 Letter to Editor]

 

“the Grange, the homestead owned by Capt. Sturt. . . which is now occupied by Mr. J. A. Hardy, is a short distance from the Grange Jetty. The late Capt. Dashwood, the father of the present Crown Solicitor (Mr. C. J. Dashwood, K.C.), and the late Sir Richard Chaffey Baker lived in the historic home. Capt. Dashwood was Collector of Customs at the time.” [Observer 20 Apr 1912]

 

“The recent demolition of the cottage at Thebarton occupied by Colonel William Light, founder of Adelaide and first Surveyor-General, created dismay among students of early South Australian history. . . thoughts have now turned to the historic home of Capt. Charles Sturt (discoverer of the River Murray), at Grange, one of Adelaide's most favored seaside resorts. That house has been in respectable occupation ever since its erection by Sturt. . . Charles Sturt resided at the Grange until March 17, 1853, when he went to England on a life pension of £600 a year, granted by the South Australian Government.” [The Mail 22 Jan 1927]

 

“The necessity of preserving the historic home of Captain Sturt at the Grange, known as ‘Grange House’, was brought before the Henley and Grange Town Council. . . The property consists of the large house and 7½ acres of land. The alderman stated that the property could be bought on terms for £3,000.” [Advertiser 9 Apr 1929]

 

“the historic home of Capt Sturt at Grange. . . The home is vacant, and vandals have made their unwelcome appearance on the property. When Mr. Mitton visited it recently he found that some of the windows had been broken. . . It has been suggested that the Tourist Bureau could advertise trips by charabanc through delightful scenery to the spot. Morning and afternoon tea could be provided.” [News 28 May 1930]

 

“Captain Sturt's house at the Grange was one of the first built in SA, erected about 1840. The building, which faces Mount Lofty, had an attractive rose garden in front. The explorer had a penchant for flowers and animals. . . North of Sturt's house is a cottage of three rooms. It is said that Sturt had the cottage built first and moved into the more commodious premises later, using the former as a storeroom. A number of horses that he used on expeditions ended their days on the homestead at the Grange. Particularly attracted was he to a roan horse, on which he used to ride to and from the city.” [Chronicle 31 Aug 1944]

 

“When the old Grange Railway Company decided to manage its own train service [c1883]. . . it was faced with the problem of finding house room for its staff. Only vacant house in the district happened to be Sturt's, known as the 'old Grange mansion', which was delapidated [sic] and a shelter for swagmen. There being no option, the two enginedrivers — the late Tom Fanning and John Chapman — reluctantly decided to make the best of a bad job by taking over the old home, and .sharing it. . . The Sturt bedrooms included a dressing room of equal size which modem owners must have regarded as so much waste space, as when I visited the place 30 years later they had been converted into separate compartments by bricking up the doorways.” [Advertiser 11 Nov 1948]

 

“Mr. Anthony Sturt visited the old home of his famous great grandfather, explorer Charles Sturt, at Grange today.” [News 1 Mar 1951]

 

“Mr. Justice Cooper lived in Capt. Sturt's home at the Grange after the family went to England. Judge Cooper had planted the palms in front of the house. Mr. Berry's father, who was Capt. Sturt's gardener, used to play with the Sturt children at a small stream on the west side of the house. . . Mr. Berry saw the Sturts leave the old home in a bullock dray over the sandhills to Port Adelaide.” [Chronicle 2 Jul 1953]

 

“Capt. Sturt's former home Grange, which, because of its location, condition and surrounding land, the committee did not recommend should be preserved. . . The surrounding land was lowlying and possibly liable to flooding.” [Advertiser 13 Aug 1953]

 

One from on the way to golf this morning. Couldn't resist pulling up and getting the camera out to capture the sun as it poked its' head above the mist on the horizon.

Australian native tree

www.sgapqld.org.au/bushtucker17.html

This tree is similar to very common Paperbark Melaleuca quinquenervia in its thick spongy bark. However, the foliage of M. leucadendra is of a brighter green and has a slightly weeping habit, and later flowering season (winter) from my observation.

 

I believe 99% it is Melaleuca leucadendra, though it took me a while to find out the ID for this graceful tree I found in suburban Brisbane.

 

It is the case when common names could be very confusing. I found the following common names for this tree:

Weeping Paperbark, Long-leaved Paperbark, Broad-leaf Paperbark, Fine Leaf Melaleuca(?!), Green-flower Paperbark, Cajuput, and even "Tea Tree" (last one is just wrong, as it does NOT have a tea-tree smell like M. alternifolia. - real Tea tree oil)

 

To add confusion, it is synonym of M. leucadendron , but if you look in web - you could find very different tree with fine foliage.

Fireplace in main bedroom.

 

First red brick house built 1840, with nursery wing added a year later, located on 390 acres taken up by Charles Sturt in the area known as Reedbeds. The home was surrounded by a large garden and an orchard of grapes, pear, plum & apple trees. The family returned to England 1853 for sons’ education and because of Sturt’s ill-health. The property was leased until sold Nov 1877 when the estate was subdivided for a township named “Grange”. Since 1908 there were calls for the house to be saved from demolition but it was not until 1956 that it was purchased by Henley & Grange Council. After restoration, Sturt’s grandchildren donated furniture, artworks, documents & artefacts and the Museum opened 1966. A detached cottage, the nursery wing, demolished by the last private owner, was rebuilt when house restored and is now used as exhibition gallery.

 

Charles Sturt was born 28 Apr 1795 in Bengal, India to British parents, schooled in England, enlisted in 39th Regiment, served in Pyrenees, Canada, France & Ireland. He arrived Sydney 1827 escorting convicts on “Mariner”. In Nov 1928 with Hamilton Hume, Sturt explored & named Darling River. A year later he led another expedition down the Murrumbidgee, discovering the Murray and, with 7 men in a small boat, travelled to its mouth, on their return rowing against the current. He was appointed Commandant of Norfolk Island garrison, revisiting England he published accounts of his journeys and married Charlotte Greene 1834. Returning to Sydney 1835, he settled at Mittagong. In 1838 he overlanded cattle to South Australia and decided to settle in that colony on land at the Reedbeds. Appointed Assistant Commissioner of Lands 1839, Registrar General 1841, set out on what was his final expedition north to the centre of the continent 1844.

 

“Captain Sturt, accompanied by Mr. Giles Strangways, may be expected overland in about ten days with a herd of fine cattle.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 16 Jun 1838]

 

“Captain Sturt left Adelaide on Sunday morning for Encounter Bay, to join the barque Hope for Sydney. We believe it is the Captain's intention to settle in our colony.” [Southern Australian 20 Oct 1838]

 

“the safe arrival of Capt. Sturt in our colony. . . He has brought overland from the Hume River between 400 and 500 head of cattle, and he performed the journey in little more than three months. Capt. Sturt is accompanied by Capt. Finniss, Mr M'Leod, Mr G. Strangways, and eleven men.” [South Australian Record 13 Feb 1839]

 

“We have great pleasure in announcing the arrival last night in the John Pirie of Captain Sturt, the new Surveyor-general, with his lady and family.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 30 Mar 1839]

 

“His Excellency the Resident Commissioner has appointed Charles Sturt, Esq., late Surveyor-General, to be Assistant Commissioner.” [Register 5 Oct 1839]

 

“the Governor has been pleased to appoint the Hon. Charles Sturt, Assistant Commissioner, to the office of Registrar General.” [South Australian 5 Nov 1841]

 

“Hunting.— The hounds meet to-morrow (Saturday), by appointment, at Grange, the residence of Captain Sturt.” [Southern Australian 27 May 1842]

 

“Hon. Charles Sturt, Registrar General, to be Colonial Treasurer of the Province of South Australia.” [South Australian 6 Mar 1846]

 

“His Excellency has accepted the resignation of Capt. Sturt as Colonial Secretary.” [Register 5 Jan 1852]

 

“On December 7, 1852, Sturt wrote to his son at Rugby:— ‘The Grange garden looks tolerably well, and there is a great show of grapes, pears, and apples. Apples this year have failed in consequence of a small fly getting into the blossom. Our dairy now consists of 14 quiet cows, which yield a good deal of butter, but really the annoyance of the servants may drive us to give up the pleasure of looking after these animals. We have 60 goslings and 23 young turkeys and a lot of young guinea fowls, as wild as partridges, but I have been unsuccessful with the ducks. Our bees get on famously. I am very fond of them. The boys have taken lots of fish in the creek this season.’" [Register 13 Apr 1912]

 

“The Henry Tanner cleared out for England yesterday, March 17th, with the Hon. Captain Sturt, our late Colonial Secretary, his family, and many other cabin passengers on board.” [Adelaide Times 18 Mar 1853]

 

“Death of. . . Captain Charles Sturt, one of the earliest and most distinguished of Australian explorers. . . on the 16th June, at the deceased gentleman's residence, Clarence-square, Cheltenham. . . nearly blind from ophthalmia — a malady which he had the misfortune to contract during his last exploring expedition. . . belonged to a very old Dorsetshire family, arrived in the colony of New South Wales in about the year 1825 as a captain in H.M.'s 39th Foot.” [Evening Journal 10 Aug 1869]

 

“Tenders are invited . . . for the Purchase of the Grange Estate, Reedbeds, adjoining Henley Beach, containing about 389 Acres.” [Evening Journal 28 Sep 1877 advert]

 

“the Grange. This is an estate of 380 acres, which was selected by Captain Sturt after his return from his exploring expedition in 1845 [sic]. Captain Sturt having as extensive a practical knowledge as most men of the land around Adelaide, and this estate having been selected by him for his own personal residence. . . The soil appears to be of fair quality, capable of growing lucern, fruit trees, and vegetables. . . There are fine gum-trees on the estate, and a perennial stream winds its way through the grounds, with quantities of teatree growing on its banks.” [Express & Telegraph 22 Mar 1878]

 

“The Grange Township. The 380 acres comprising the Grange Estate, and situated between the Semaphore and Henley Beach, is, under the direction of three enterprising Adelaide gentlemen, being rapidly transformed into what must ere long become an attractive seaside watering-place. . . The land was formerly occupied by Captain Sturt, the explorer, who selected it as a preliminary section under the land order to which he was entitled. The house occupied by the gallant explorer still remains, and is being renovated and extended by the new proprietors with a view to rendering it suitable for a temporary hotel.” [Register 14 Sep 1878]

 

“Mrs. M. Howard, of the Grange, gave a private continental at her residence on Saturday evening. Over 200 guests were present. The Old Grange House which was originally built for Governor [sic] Sturt and occupied for many years by David Murray, is surrounded by lovely lawns, and the grounds being decorated with hundreds of Japanese lanterns, presented a scene suggestive of fairyland. . . For the night the mosquitoes held off.” [Critic, Adelaide 14 Feb 1906]

 

“Sturt's home. . . The residence of the famous explorer is one of the few remaining Australian historical relics. The recent owner has done much to beautify its surroundings. . . I would suggest to the Government that they should at once purchase this interesting property to prevent its demolition, and convert it into a teahouse and gardens for the public use. Or it might be possible to find a generous spirited patriot willing to make the freehold a gift to the community under certain conditions.” [Register 20 Jun 1908 Letter to Editor]

 

“the Grange, the homestead owned by Capt. Sturt. . . which is now occupied by Mr. J. A. Hardy, is a short distance from the Grange Jetty. The late Capt. Dashwood, the father of the present Crown Solicitor (Mr. C. J. Dashwood, K.C.), and the late Sir Richard Chaffey Baker lived in the historic home. Capt. Dashwood was Collector of Customs at the time.” [Observer 20 Apr 1912]

 

“The recent demolition of the cottage at Thebarton occupied by Colonel William Light, founder of Adelaide and first Surveyor-General, created dismay among students of early South Australian history. . . thoughts have now turned to the historic home of Capt. Charles Sturt (discoverer of the River Murray), at Grange, one of Adelaide's most favored seaside resorts. That house has been in respectable occupation ever since its erection by Sturt. . . Charles Sturt resided at the Grange until March 17, 1853, when he went to England on a life pension of £600 a year, granted by the South Australian Government.” [The Mail 22 Jan 1927]

 

“The necessity of preserving the historic home of Captain Sturt at the Grange, known as ‘Grange House’, was brought before the Henley and Grange Town Council. . . The property consists of the large house and 7½ acres of land. The alderman stated that the property could be bought on terms for £3,000.” [Advertiser 9 Apr 1929]

 

“the historic home of Capt Sturt at Grange. . . The home is vacant, and vandals have made their unwelcome appearance on the property. When Mr. Mitton visited it recently he found that some of the windows had been broken. . . It has been suggested that the Tourist Bureau could advertise trips by charabanc through delightful scenery to the spot. Morning and afternoon tea could be provided.” [News 28 May 1930]

 

“Captain Sturt's house at the Grange was one of the first built in SA, erected about 1840. The building, which faces Mount Lofty, had an attractive rose garden in front. The explorer had a penchant for flowers and animals. . . North of Sturt's house is a cottage of three rooms. It is said that Sturt had the cottage built first and moved into the more commodious premises later, using the former as a storeroom. A number of horses that he used on expeditions ended their days on the homestead at the Grange. Particularly attracted was he to a roan horse, on which he used to ride to and from the city.” [Chronicle 31 Aug 1944]

 

“When the old Grange Railway Company decided to manage its own train service [c1883]. . . it was faced with the problem of finding house room for its staff. Only vacant house in the district happened to be Sturt's, known as the 'old Grange mansion', which was delapidated [sic] and a shelter for swagmen. There being no option, the two enginedrivers — the late Tom Fanning and John Chapman — reluctantly decided to make the best of a bad job by taking over the old home, and .sharing it. . . The Sturt bedrooms included a dressing room of equal size which modem owners must have regarded as so much waste space, as when I visited the place 30 years later they had been converted into separate compartments by bricking up the doorways.” [Advertiser 11 Nov 1948]

 

“Mr. Anthony Sturt visited the old home of his famous great grandfather, explorer Charles Sturt, at Grange today.” [News 1 Mar 1951]

 

“Mr. Justice Cooper lived in Capt. Sturt's home at the Grange after the family went to England. Judge Cooper had planted the palms in front of the house. Mr. Berry's father, who was Capt. Sturt's gardener, used to play with the Sturt children at a small stream on the west side of the house. . . Mr. Berry saw the Sturts leave the old home in a bullock dray over the sandhills to Port Adelaide.” [Chronicle 2 Jul 1953]

 

“Capt. Sturt's former home Grange, which, because of its location, condition and surrounding land, the committee did not recommend should be preserved. . . The surrounding land was lowlying and possibly liable to flooding.” [Advertiser 13 Aug 1953]

 

Drawing room with some furniture & artefacts donated by Sturt’s descendants.

 

First red brick house built 1840, with nursery wing added a year later, located on 390 acres taken up by Charles Sturt in the area known as Reedbeds. The home was surrounded by a large garden and an orchard of grapes, pear, plum & apple trees. The family returned to England 1853 for sons’ education and because of Sturt’s ill-health. The property was leased until sold Nov 1877 when the estate was subdivided for a township named “Grange”. Since 1908 there were calls for the house to be saved from demolition but it was not until 1956 that it was purchased by Henley & Grange Council. After restoration, Sturt’s grandchildren donated furniture, artworks, documents & artefacts and the Museum opened 1966. A detached cottage, the nursery wing, demolished by the last private owner, was rebuilt when house restored and is now used as exhibition gallery.

 

Charles Sturt was born 28 Apr 1795 in Bengal, India to British parents, schooled in England, enlisted in 39th Regiment, served in Pyrenees, Canada, France & Ireland. He arrived Sydney 1827 escorting convicts on “Mariner”. In Nov 1928 with Hamilton Hume, Sturt explored & named Darling River. A year later he led another expedition down the Murrumbidgee, discovering the Murray and, with 7 men in a small boat, travelled to its mouth, on their return rowing against the current. He was appointed Commandant of Norfolk Island garrison, revisiting England he published accounts of his journeys and married Charlotte Greene 1834. Returning to Sydney 1835, he settled at Mittagong. In 1838 he overlanded cattle to South Australia and decided to settle in that colony on land at the Reedbeds. Appointed Assistant Commissioner of Lands 1839, Registrar General 1841, set out on what was his final expedition north to the centre of the continent 1844.

 

“Captain Sturt, accompanied by Mr. Giles Strangways, may be expected overland in about ten days with a herd of fine cattle.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 16 Jun 1838]

 

“Captain Sturt left Adelaide on Sunday morning for Encounter Bay, to join the barque Hope for Sydney. We believe it is the Captain's intention to settle in our colony.” [Southern Australian 20 Oct 1838]

 

“the safe arrival of Capt. Sturt in our colony. . . He has brought overland from the Hume River between 400 and 500 head of cattle, and he performed the journey in little more than three months. Capt. Sturt is accompanied by Capt. Finniss, Mr M'Leod, Mr G. Strangways, and eleven men.” [South Australian Record 13 Feb 1839]

 

“We have great pleasure in announcing the arrival last night in the John Pirie of Captain Sturt, the new Surveyor-general, with his lady and family.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 30 Mar 1839]

 

“His Excellency the Resident Commissioner has appointed Charles Sturt, Esq., late Surveyor-General, to be Assistant Commissioner.” [Register 5 Oct 1839]

 

“the Governor has been pleased to appoint the Hon. Charles Sturt, Assistant Commissioner, to the office of Registrar General.” [South Australian 5 Nov 1841]

 

“Hunting.— The hounds meet to-morrow (Saturday), by appointment, at Grange, the residence of Captain Sturt.” [Southern Australian 27 May 1842]

 

“Hon. Charles Sturt, Registrar General, to be Colonial Treasurer of the Province of South Australia.” [South Australian 6 Mar 1846]

 

“His Excellency has accepted the resignation of Capt. Sturt as Colonial Secretary.” [Register 5 Jan 1852]

 

“On December 7, 1852, Sturt wrote to his son at Rugby:— ‘The Grange garden looks tolerably well, and there is a great show of grapes, pears, and apples. Apples this year have failed in consequence of a small fly getting into the blossom. Our dairy now consists of 14 quiet cows, which yield a good deal of butter, but really the annoyance of the servants may drive us to give up the pleasure of looking after these animals. We have 60 goslings and 23 young turkeys and a lot of young guinea fowls, as wild as partridges, but I have been unsuccessful with the ducks. Our bees get on famously. I am very fond of them. The boys have taken lots of fish in the creek this season.’" [Register 13 Apr 1912]

 

“The Henry Tanner cleared out for England yesterday, March 17th, with the Hon. Captain Sturt, our late Colonial Secretary, his family, and many other cabin passengers on board.” [Adelaide Times 18 Mar 1853]

 

“Death of. . . Captain Charles Sturt, one of the earliest and most distinguished of Australian explorers. . . on the 16th June, at the deceased gentleman's residence, Clarence-square, Cheltenham. . . nearly blind from ophthalmia — a malady which he had the misfortune to contract during his last exploring expedition. . . belonged to a very old Dorsetshire family, arrived in the colony of New South Wales in about the year 1825 as a captain in H.M.'s 39th Foot.” [Evening Journal 10 Aug 1869]

 

“Tenders are invited . . . for the Purchase of the Grange Estate, Reedbeds, adjoining Henley Beach, containing about 389 Acres.” [Evening Journal 28 Sep 1877 advert]

 

“the Grange. This is an estate of 380 acres, which was selected by Captain Sturt after his return from his exploring expedition in 1845 [sic]. Captain Sturt having as extensive a practical knowledge as most men of the land around Adelaide, and this estate having been selected by him for his own personal residence. . . The soil appears to be of fair quality, capable of growing lucern, fruit trees, and vegetables. . . There are fine gum-trees on the estate, and a perennial stream winds its way through the grounds, with quantities of teatree growing on its banks.” [Express & Telegraph 22 Mar 1878]

 

“The Grange Township. The 380 acres comprising the Grange Estate, and situated between the Semaphore and Henley Beach, is, under the direction of three enterprising Adelaide gentlemen, being rapidly transformed into what must ere long become an attractive seaside watering-place. . . The land was formerly occupied by Captain Sturt, the explorer, who selected it as a preliminary section under the land order to which he was entitled. The house occupied by the gallant explorer still remains, and is being renovated and extended by the new proprietors with a view to rendering it suitable for a temporary hotel.” [Register 14 Sep 1878]

 

“Mrs. M. Howard, of the Grange, gave a private continental at her residence on Saturday evening. Over 200 guests were present. The Old Grange House which was originally built for Governor [sic] Sturt and occupied for many years by David Murray, is surrounded by lovely lawns, and the grounds being decorated with hundreds of Japanese lanterns, presented a scene suggestive of fairyland. . . For the night the mosquitoes held off.” [Critic, Adelaide 14 Feb 1906]

 

“Sturt's home. . . The residence of the famous explorer is one of the few remaining Australian historical relics. The recent owner has done much to beautify its surroundings. . . I would suggest to the Government that they should at once purchase this interesting property to prevent its demolition, and convert it into a teahouse and gardens for the public use. Or it might be possible to find a generous spirited patriot willing to make the freehold a gift to the community under certain conditions.” [Register 20 Jun 1908 Letter to Editor]

 

“the Grange, the homestead owned by Capt. Sturt. . . which is now occupied by Mr. J. A. Hardy, is a short distance from the Grange Jetty. The late Capt. Dashwood, the father of the present Crown Solicitor (Mr. C. J. Dashwood, K.C.), and the late Sir Richard Chaffey Baker lived in the historic home. Capt. Dashwood was Collector of Customs at the time.” [Observer 20 Apr 1912]

 

“The recent demolition of the cottage at Thebarton occupied by Colonel William Light, founder of Adelaide and first Surveyor-General, created dismay among students of early South Australian history. . . thoughts have now turned to the historic home of Capt. Charles Sturt (discoverer of the River Murray), at Grange, one of Adelaide's most favored seaside resorts. That house has been in respectable occupation ever since its erection by Sturt. . . Charles Sturt resided at the Grange until March 17, 1853, when he went to England on a life pension of £600 a year, granted by the South Australian Government.” [The Mail 22 Jan 1927]

 

“The necessity of preserving the historic home of Captain Sturt at the Grange, known as ‘Grange House’, was brought before the Henley and Grange Town Council. . . The property consists of the large house and 7½ acres of land. The alderman stated that the property could be bought on terms for £3,000.” [Advertiser 9 Apr 1929]

 

“the historic home of Capt Sturt at Grange. . . The home is vacant, and vandals have made their unwelcome appearance on the property. When Mr. Mitton visited it recently he found that some of the windows had been broken. . . It has been suggested that the Tourist Bureau could advertise trips by charabanc through delightful scenery to the spot. Morning and afternoon tea could be provided.” [News 28 May 1930]

 

“Captain Sturt's house at the Grange was one of the first built in SA, erected about 1840. The building, which faces Mount Lofty, had an attractive rose garden in front. The explorer had a penchant for flowers and animals. . . North of Sturt's house is a cottage of three rooms. It is said that Sturt had the cottage built first and moved into the more commodious premises later, using the former as a storeroom. A number of horses that he used on expeditions ended their days on the homestead at the Grange. Particularly attracted was he to a roan horse, on which he used to ride to and from the city.” [Chronicle 31 Aug 1944]

 

“When the old Grange Railway Company decided to manage its own train service [c1883]. . . it was faced with the problem of finding house room for its staff. Only vacant house in the district happened to be Sturt's, known as the 'old Grange mansion', which was delapidated [sic] and a shelter for swagmen. There being no option, the two enginedrivers — the late Tom Fanning and John Chapman — reluctantly decided to make the best of a bad job by taking over the old home, and .sharing it. . . The Sturt bedrooms included a dressing room of equal size which modem owners must have regarded as so much waste space, as when I visited the place 30 years later they had been converted into separate compartments by bricking up the doorways.” [Advertiser 11 Nov 1948]

 

“Mr. Anthony Sturt visited the old home of his famous great grandfather, explorer Charles Sturt, at Grange today.” [News 1 Mar 1951]

 

“Mr. Justice Cooper lived in Capt. Sturt's home at the Grange after the family went to England. Judge Cooper had planted the palms in front of the house. Mr. Berry's father, who was Capt. Sturt's gardener, used to play with the Sturt children at a small stream on the west side of the house. . . Mr. Berry saw the Sturts leave the old home in a bullock dray over the sandhills to Port Adelaide.” [Chronicle 2 Jul 1953]

 

“Capt. Sturt's former home Grange, which, because of its location, condition and surrounding land, the committee did not recommend should be preserved. . . The surrounding land was lowlying and possibly liable to flooding.” [Advertiser 13 Aug 1953]

 

Tolmie rocky clearing in December, 2014. Wildflowers include everlastins, native dogwood, teatree of 3 different species, native pelargoniums..

Leptospermum /?l?pt?'sp?rm?m/ is a genus of shrubs and small trees in the myrtle family Myrtaceae described as a genus in 1775.] Most species are endemic to Australia, with the greatest diversity in the south of the continent; but one species extends to New Zealand, another well into Southeast Asia, and L. recurvum is found only in Malaysia and Indonesia..

They are shrubs or occasionally small trees, reaching 1–8 m (3–26 ft) tall, rarely up to 20 m (66 ft), with dense branching. The leaves are evergreen, alternate, simple, sharp-tipped, and small, in most species not over 1 cm long. The flowers are up to 3 cm diameter, with five white, pink or red petals.

Three different varieties are found on our rocky clearing, all white and all relatively small growing shrubs.

The Women’s War Memorial, usually referred to as the Cross of Sacrifice, was the idea of SA women soon after WWI ended. Funds were collected from women as a tribute to the British, French & Allied troops lost in the war; 10,000 subscribers contributed over £3,000. The first stage was the Cross of Sacrifice, a replica of the cross designed by Sir Reginald Blomfield which stands over war cemeteries. It was built by Walter Torode of Unley using Tea Tree Gully stone from the St Peter's College quarry. The cross foundation stone was laid 4 Aug 1920 by the Governor, Sir Archibald Weigall. On 24 Mar 1922 Ethel Wyatt, who originated the idea of a women’s memorial, placed under the shaft of the cross the names of men who died serving in the war. (The women refused to include names of nurses lost.) The cross, facing east, with a bronze crusaders sword attached, was unveiled 25 Apr 1922. The Stone of Remembrance at the eastern end of the Memorial Garden was unveiled 26 Apr 1923. Based on that of Sir Edward Lutyens, it is a 5-ton block of Palmer stone, also built by Walter Torode. The Garden of Memory was laid out in the shape of a cross with hedges of olive as suggested by Herbert Baker, one of the three principal architects for the War Graves Commission. The Eternal Flame & Ataturk’s Tribute were added 11 Nov 2008. The Anzac Day March traditionally leaves the SA National War memorial and ends at the Cross of Sacrifice where a Remembrance Service is held.

 

“A large number of women war workers assembled in the Mayor's Parlor on Wednesday afternoon to consider a suggestion for the establishment of a women's war memorial. . . it is a fitting sequel to women's work and sacrifice that the women of South Australia shall erect, as a memorial to the sailors and soldiers who have laid down their lives in this war, some monument, to be placed in a prominent site, and demonstrate publicly for all time their reverence for the spirit of sacrifice which filled their men and their own humble pride in sharing that sacrifice." [Advertiser 13 Mar 1919]

 

“it was Miss E. Wyatt's idea, and that the committee grew out of the League of Loyal Women's organization. Public meetings were held, and women everywhere joined in to help.” [Register 17 Apr 1923]

 

“the women were not erecting the memorial to their own work as seemed to be the idea in some quarters. The women . . . have stood behind their men and cared for them in camps, hospitals, and trenches and welcomed them home, and their memorial is just a tribute to the men who have passed beyond their care. . . it is proposed by the promoters that the form of the memorial should be one of two alternatives, a simple rough stone cross or some piece or group of statuary in bronze. The exact size and form will of necessity be determined by the amount subscribed.” [Daily Herald 1 May 1919]

 

“The national memorial is to be erected, or, at any rate, subsidised by a Government grant, which is perfectly proper, but we want ours to be absolutely distinct — a spontaneous gift, erected in that 'give because it is a pleasure and a privilege' spirit which makes the humblest tribute acceptable.” [Advertiser 1 May 1919]

 

“Mr. Herbert Baker, well known in the architectural world, has rendered a great service in advising the committee and planning the scheme which will be carried out under the supervision of Mr. Alfred Wells. . . letter from Mr. Baker: — 'I have so much appreciated your sensible and excellent ideas in such a good cause that I will gladly give you some suggestions. . . . I have suggested laying out part of the garden along the axis of the Cathedral. . . I have placed the war stone in the apse, as it were, formed of a cut hedge of dark green. . . The centre path would run straight down to the cross at the far end, and which would be on a circular stone-paved platform, two or three steps up. I suggest that the stone should be framed with spiral trees, and the cross with spreading trees.’” [Register 3 Mar 1920]

 

“There was a large gathering of women at the laying of the foundation stone of the Women's War Memorial at Pennington terrace, North Adelaide, on Wednesday. The ceremony was performed by the Governor (Sir Archibald Weigall). Over 1500 women war workers marched from Victoria square to the site of the memorial, the procession being headed by the band of the R.S. and S. League. . . Numbers of the Cheer-Up Society in uniform were present, and a guard of honor composed of army nurses under Matron Davidson.” [Daily Herald 5 Aug 1920]

 

“His Excellency the Governor (Sir Archibald Weigall) laid the foundation stone of the Women's Memorial, and another of the stone bearing the inscription 'To the glory of God and the imperishable memory of the men who gave their lives in the great war, 1914-1920. The tribute of the women of South. Australia'.” [Register 12 Aug 1920]

 

“A formidable sword, of ancient design, which would be serviceable only in the hands of a Goliath, was among the recent imports to South Australia from England. It is a Crusader's sword, made of bronze, and will figure on the face of the tall white stone cross which is to be erected in Pennington Gardens, North Adelaide. . . It was expected that the parts of the cross would be ready for assembling this mouth, but owing to the difficulty in obtaining stone of uniform color and the required durability the work has been delayed. The cross will be the dominant feature of an elaborate scheme. The entire garden will be transformed, in accordance with a plan gratuitously provided by Mr. Herbert Baker (designer of the City of New Delhi, and a member of the Imperial War Graves Commission), and the memorial column will look down upon a low shrine of remembrance, the design for which has been supplied by Sir' Edward Lutyen, who was the designee of the London Cenotaph.” [Advertiser 2 Apr 1921]

 

“After many months of research since the foundation of the Women's Memorial Cross at Pennington Gardens, North Adelaide, was completed, the full number of special sized stones have been quarried, and the contractor, Mr. Walter Torode, is in a position to arrange for the completion of the memorial. The stone is from St. Peter's College quarry, Teatree Gully.” [Register 29 Aug 1921]

 

“Excellent progress is being made in the work of laying out the garden near Pennington-terrace east for the women of South Australia's memorial to the men who gave their lives in the war. The hedge forming the enclosure has been planted, and preparations are being made for forming the flower-beds and paths in accordance with the design. . . some people did not approve of the choice of an olive hedge, but the opinion of experts had been obtained, and the question carefully gone into before it was decided upon. The committee had had to bear in mind the fact that owing to the nature of the subsoil cupressus and other types of hedge would require replacing from time to time, whereas the olive would be practically everlasting. It was, moreover, a most beautiful hedge when properly cut and looked after, and was also decidedly appropriate, through its historical association with the Crucifix. . . The monolith, or Stone of Remembrance, similar to those placed in the war cemeteries abroad, was not likely to be finished until later, as it was difficult to procure a perfect large block from which could be cut in one piece, but the material was understood to be now in sight, and the work in relation to it would, proceed with the least possible delay.” [Advertiser 13 Oct 1921]

 

“Women's Memorial in Pennington Gardens. When the foundation stone was laid offerings were brought and laid on the stone, and into the little violet linen bags which held each offering a card or slip of paper with the name of a soldier who had given his life for our sakes was slipped. These have been saved and put into a jar, which is to be buried beneath the cross.” [The Journal 25 Mar 1922]

 

“the site of the Women's Memorial to the Fallen in the Great War at Pennington Gardens . . . the placing of an urn in the base of the cross. . . Miss Ethel Wyatt placed the urn, which was enfolded in the Union Jack, inside the base of the cross. . . The names enclosed in the receptacle were those of British, French, and Allied fighters in the Great War; and were received on the day that the foundation stone was laid, The women who desired to assist in the movement brought offerings in little violet bags, and each contained the name of some loved one, who had given his life in the defence of womanhood and for all that it enshrined.” [Register 25 Mar 1922]

 

“Viewed from the centre of the pathway a trinity of crosses is seen, for the crosses on the spires of St. Peter's Cathedral are seen as in guardianship, on either side of the Memorial Cross.” [The Journal 26 Apr 1922]

 

“the beautiful monument just unveiled, had been erected not only to the soldiers of their great British Empire, but also to the memory of the soldiers of the Allies who had fallen in assisting to win the war. It was another example-of the splendid loyalty and aid given by the women of the Empire to soldiers, not only while abroad, but since their return. All the money for that memorial had been subscribed voluntarily by the ladies of South Australia.” [Register 26 Apr 1922]

 

“the annual Violet Memory Day ceremonies in Adelaide in honour of those who died in the Great War. The Exhibition Building was crowded. . . It was in July, 1915, that the first gathering was held in honour of those who had fallen in the fighting and as a public means of affording some comfort to the bereaved. . . there was a great and charming free contribution of violets (which were subsequently placed on the Women's Memorial at North Adelaide and on the soldiers' graves at the West Terrace Cemetery).” [Register 31 Jul 1922]

 

“The ‘stone of remembrance’, which has been designed as part of the Women's Memorial on Pennington terrace, embarked upon the last stage of its journey — from Martin's monumental works, on the Hyde Park road, to the site of the memorial . . . was seen passing through King William street on a low-wheeled vehicle drawn by four stalwart horses. The block is of Palmer stone, weighs five tons, is 11 ft. 7 in. long by 2 ft. 4 in. high, and 2 ft. 4 in. broad, with a total measurement of 60 cubic feet, and, with the exception of the inscription, ‘Their name liveth for evermore’ on one side, is free from all adornment.” [The Journal 18 Apr 1923]

 

“The Cross, which faces east, has been constructed immediately in front of a massive Moreton Bay figtree, behind which the towers and spires of St. Peter's Cathedral raise their hallowed peaks. . . The Cross of Sacrifice is from the design of Sir Reginald Blomfield, R.A., of London, and the Stone of Remembrance is from an English plan by Sir Edward Lutyens, R.A. Mr. Herbert Baker, who planned the New Delhi, gave his advice concerning the lay-out of the garden scheme, the planting of which has been superintended by the Adelaide City Gardener (Mr. Pelzer). The honorary architect was Mr. Alfred Wells. The real work of construction of the Cross and the Stone was executed under the direction of Mr. Walter Torode.” [Register 26 Apr 1923]

  

Shrine of St Patrick, gift of Kathleen Brewer in memory of her husband William. Windows designed by Cedar Prest 1979.

 

Foundation stone 17 Mar 1856 by Fr Michael Murphy, opened 11 Jul 1858 with small sanctuary, nave of 5 bays & 2 narrow side aisles. Extensions (sanctuary, Lady Chapel, side chapel & sacristy), designed by Charles Hanson of Clifton, supervised by George Kingston, opened 11 Nov 1860. Extensions (eastern side) foundation stone 7 Nov 1886 by Bishop Reynolds using a “handsome trowel made of Silverton silver with a Burra malachite handle, chastely worked”, architect E. J. Woods, dedicated 15 Aug 1887. Extensions (western side & northern end of tower & present facade), foundation stone 21 Oct 1923 by Archbishop Spence, architect W H Bagot, opened Apr 1926. Corner stone of bell tower laid 18 Sep 1887, lower part built 1923-26, completed 1996 enabling dedication 11 Jul 1996. Finished building has 7 bays, 7 side windows, 7 doors.

 

“On the arrival of Dr. Murphy to take possession of the new See of Adelaide he found no ecclesiastical building in existence and was glad to secure the use of a vacant shop, formerly used by a blacksmith. In this he celebrated Mass until the school room at St. Patrick's West Terrace, was erected. . . In March, 1856, work was commenced. . . In July, 1858, the portion then complete, consisting of about 80 feet of the nave and aisles, was blessed and opened by the Very Rev. Fr. Smyth, V.G., the Bishop having died a few weeks previously, and been buried in the unfinished church.” [Southern Cross 26 Oct 1923]

 

“The structure is designed on the model of Byland Abbey Church, Yorkshire, which is in the early English style of architecture. . . The structure will consist of uncoursed stone rubble, with cut stone facings of fine freestone from Teatree Gully. The foundation stone, from the same quarry . . .” [Register 18 Mar 1856]

 

“The wall of the eastern aisle was taken down and rebuilt about 12 feet further out, thus giving an extra space of about 1,200 square-feet. In consequence of the increased width of the aisle through this extension the character of the roof of this portion of the building has been completely changed, and instead of being a plain lean-to, it has been broken into a number of pitched or valley roofs, with gables at the ends, the portion next to the nave wall being hipped to give light to the clerestory windows. . . The whole of the dressings, both inside and outside, are of Murray Bridge freestone. . . Mr. E. J. Woods, the architect, has superintended the work. [Register 25 Jul 1887]

 

“Dr. Reynolds therefore consulted while he was in England, with the famous firm, Pugin & Pugin, the greatest authorities then living on the remodelling and reconstruction of Gothic structures. They provided Dr. Reynolds with sketches of the proposed enlargement of the Cathedral, which were placed in the hands of the late Mr. E. J. Woods, who completed drawings of the alterations on the new lines. . . During the operations St. Francis Xavier's Hall was used as a church.” [Southern Cross 26 Oct 1923]

 

The architectural blot caused by the disproportion between the aisles is to be removed by extending the western aisle to the same width as the eastern; and the base of the tower, the front of the church, and a new choir gallery will be built The spire of the tower, the new sacristies and sanctuary, the chapter room, and other works at the rear will be left for the future.” [Southern Cross 12 Oct 1923]

 

This seasonal wetland is one of the largest and most diverse freshwater lagoon systems in southern Australia.

This year all our hedges and shrubs are covered in a mass of spider's webs. This week we have also had alot of morning fog and the webs just sparkle with dew in the early morning.

 

ODT: 1/2/2012: Cover.

 

Submitted to 52.5 of 2010: Non theme.

A new hybrid form of the white flowering native NZ 'Tea tree" or Manuka. (Leptospermum)

 

Title ideas welcome

Tea cultivation plantation garden Tee Pflanze Munnar Kerala India - (C) Fully copyrighted. No use of any image whatsoever without written royalty agreement. No answer = no permission at all. - (C) Verwendung generell nur nach schriftl. Honorarvereinbg. Keine Antwort = keine Freigabe.

2010 - 2138 - 2100 - 2134 crawl through the crossing loop at Tea Tree on Friday 26th August, 2011.

Photo By Steve Bromley

4178.

 

Divining a fortune from tea leaves has probably been around as long as there has been tea - over five thousand years. Tea Leaf reading is also known as Tasseomancy or Tasseography and probably had its origins in ancient China. The Chinese would often read the dredges of their cups for symbols, omens or unusual patterns.

 

I used an acai pomegranate green tea for this, hoping that I would also be abe to stretch it to be my 'purple' picture of the day. It is a purple colour as you can see from the dregs, but not really purple enough for the purple theme.

 

ODC: Group 1: 2/14/2013: At the bottom.

Wilsons Promontory, Vic

Melaleuca is a genus of nearly 300 species of plants in the myrtle family, Myrtaceae, commonly known as paperbarks, honey-myrtles or tea-trees (although the last name is also applied to species of Leptospermum). They range in size from small shrubs that rarely grow to more than 16 m (52 ft) high, to trees up to 35 m (115 ft). Their flowers generally occur in groups, forming a "head" or "spike" resembling a brush used for cleaning bottles, containing up to 80 individual flowers.

 

Melaleucas are an important food source for nectarivorous insects, birds, and mammals. Many are popular garden plants, either for their attractive flowers or as dense screens and a few have economic value for producing fencing and oils such as "tea tree" oil. Most melaleucas are endemic to Australia, with a few also occurring in Malesia. Seven are endemic to New Caledonia, and one is found only on Australia's Lord Howe Island. Melaleucas are found in a wide variety of habitats. Many are adapted for life in swamps and boggy places, while others thrive in the poorest of sandy soils or on the edge of saltpans. Some have a wide distribution and are common, whilst others are rare and endangered. Land clearing, exotic myrtle rust, and especially draining and clearing of swamps threaten many species.

 

Description

Melaleucas range in size from small shrubs such as M. aspalathoides and M. concinna which rarely grow to more than 1 m (3 ft 3 in) high, to trees like M. cajuputi and M. quinquenervia, which can reach 35 m (115 ft). (One specimen of M. cajuputi reached a height of 46 m (151 ft).)

 

Many, like M. lineariifolia, are known as paperbarks and have bark that can be peeled in thin sheets, whilst about 20% of the genus, including M. bracteata, have hard, rough bark and another 20% have fibrous bark. Every species in the genus is an evergreen, and the leaves vary in size from minute and scale-like (M. micromera) to 270 mm (11 in) long (M. leucadendra). Most have distinct oil glands dotted in the leaves, making the leaves aromatic, especially when crushed.

 

Melaleuca flowers are usually arranged in spikes or heads. Within the head or spike, the flowers are often in groups of two or three, each flower or group having a papery bract at its base. Five sepals occur, although these are sometimes fused into a ring of tissue and five petals which are usually small, not showy, and fall off as the flower opens or soon after. The stamens vary greatly in colour, from white to cream or yellow, red, or mauve with their yellow tips (the anthers) contrasting with their "stalks" (filaments).

 

The fruit are woody, cup-shaped, barrel-shaped, or almost spherical capsules, often arranged in clusters along the stems. The seeds are sometimes retained in the fruit for many years, only opening when the plant, or part of it, dies or is heated in a bushfire. In tropical areas, seeds are released annually in the wet season.

 

Etymology

The name Melaleuca is derived from the Ancient Greek μέλας (mélas) meaning "dark" or "black" and λευκός (leukós) meaning "white", apparently because one of the first specimens described had fire-blackened white bark. The common name "tea tree" has been applied to species in the genera Leptospermum, Melaleuca, Kunzea, and Baeckea because the sailors on the Endeavour used the leaves of a shrub from one of these groups as a replacement for tea (Camellia sinensis) during Captain James Cook's 1770 voyage to Australia.

 

Taxonomy

The first known description of a Melaleuca species was written by Rumphius in 1741, in Herbarium amboinense before the present system of naming plants was written. The plant he called Arbor alba is now known as Melaleuca leucadendra. The name Melaleuca was first used by Linnaeus in 1767. Many species previously known as Metrosideros were then placed in Melaleuca. In Australia, Melaleuca is the third most diverse plant genus with up to 300 species.

 

The genus Callistemon was raised by Robert Brown, who noted its similarity to Melaleuca, distinguishing it only on the basis of whether the stamens are free of each other, or joined in bundles. Botanists in the past, including Ferdinand von Mueller and Lyndley Craven have proposed uniting the two genera but the matter is not decided. Evidence from DNA studies suggests that either Callistemon and some other genera be incorporated into Melaleuca or that at least 10 new genera be created from the present genus.

 

In 2014, Lyndley Craven and others proposed, on the basis of DNA evidence and a lack of morphological support, that species in the genera Beaufortia, Calothamnus, Conothamnus, Eremaea, Lamarchea, Petraeomyrtus, Phymatocarpus and Regelia be transferred to Melaleuca. The World Checklist of Selected Plant Families maintained by the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew lists Calothamnus and the other genera as synonyms of the accepted genus Melaleuca. The move has not been adopted by all Australian herbaria with some taxonomists, including Alex George opposing the move.

 

Distribution and habitat

Most melaleucas occur naturally only on the Australian mainland. Eight occur in Tasmania, but only two are endemic to that island. One (M. howeana) is endemic to Lord Howe Island and seven are endemic to Grande Terre, the main island of New Caledonia. A few tropical species also occur in Papua New Guinea, and the distribution of one subspecies, Melaleuca cajuputi subsp. cumingiana extends as far north as Myanmar, Thailand, and Vietnam. The southwest of Western Australia has the greatest density of species, and in the tropical north of the continent, species such as M. argentea and M. leucadendra are the dominant species over large areas.

 

Melaleucas grow in a range of soil types and many tolerate occasional or even permanent waterlogging. Some species, especially the South Australian swamp paperbark, M. halmaturorum, thrive in saline soils where few other species survive. Many are fire tolerant, regenerating from epicormic buds or by coppicing, but no melaleucas occur in rainforest and few species occur in the arid zone. 

 

Ecology

Melaleucas are mostly pollinated by insects, including the introduced honey bee (Apis mellifera), flies, beetles, wasps and thrips. Birds such as lorikeets and honeyeaters as well as bats often visit the flowers and are probably also pollinators.

 

Some species of Melaleuca, especially M. alternifolia, are cultivated for the production of tea tree oil, and in plantations are susceptible to a number of insect pests. The most significant of these is the chrysomelid Paropsisterna tigrina, but other beetles, cutworm caterpillars (Agrotis species), psyllids, mole crickets (Gryllotalpa), and others cause significant damage. More than 100 species of insects are known to feed on melaleucas. Native stands have fewer predators, but tea tree sawfly (Pterygophorus species) and longicorn beetles are often found. The scale insect Beesonia ferrugineus forms round, fluffy-looking galls on branches of several Melaleuca species.

 

Melaleucas are also susceptible to myrtle rust (Puccinia psidii) which can result in damage to soft plant material and the death of highly susceptible hosts. Myrtle rust is common in eastern Australia, including Tasmania and has been detected in the Tiwi Islands.

 

Invasive species

Melaleuca quinquenervia (broad-leaved paperbark) is the most damaging of 60 exotic species introduced to the Florida Everglades to help drain low-lying swampy areas. Introduced in the early 20th century, it has become a serious invasive species, with damaging effects including the displacement of native species, reduction in wildlife habitat, alteration of hydrology, modification of soil, and changes in fire regimes.

 

Uses

Aboriginal Australians used several species of Melaleuca to make rafts, as roofing for shelter, bandages, and food preparation. "Bee bread" and honey were collected from the hives of native stingless bees in melaleuca forests in the Northern Territory. The Bundjalung people traditionally lived in the area of north-eastern New South Wales where Melaleuca alternifolia is endemic, and they treated skin infections by crushing the leaves of that species over skin infections then covering the area with a warm mudpack.

 

Essential oils

Melaleuca alternifolia is notable for its essential oil, which has antifungal and antibiotic properties in vitro, while it is safe for topical applications. Tea tree oil is toxic if ingested orally.

 

The oil is produced on a commercial scale and marketed as tea tree oil. Melaleuca cajuputi is used to produce a similar oil, known as cajuput oil, which is used in Southeast Asia to treat a variety of infections and to add fragrance to food and soaps.

 

Horticulture

Melaleucas are popular garden plants, both in Australia and other tropical areas worldwide. The first to be cultivated were grown in England from seed in 1771. Some melaleucas are commonly cultivated, grown as trees for parks and large gardens (such as Melaleuca leucadendra) or as ornamentals (sometimes as Callistemon) such as M. citrina (Callistemon citrinus), M. hypericifolia and M. wilsonii.

 

In popular culture

Tea trees (spelled Ti-Trees) are specifically mentioned in the lyrics of a short aria 'Joy' published around 1916 by J.D.Fletcher & Co of London, by Australian composer Arthur Chanter (1866-1950).

Tolmie rocky clearing in December, 2014. Wildflowers include everlastins, native dogwood, teatree of 3 different species, native pelargoniums..

Xerochrysum bracteatum, commonly known as the golden everlasting or strawflower, is a flowering plant in the family Asteraceae native to Australia. Described by Étienne Pierre Ventenat in 1803, it was known as Helichrysum bracteatum for many years before being transferred to a new genus Xerochrysum in 1990. It grows as a woody or herbaceous perennial or annual shrub up to a metre (3 ft) tall with green or grey leafy foliage. Golden yellow or white flower heads are produced from spring to autumn; their distinctive feature is the papery bracts that resemble petals. The species is widespread, growing in a variety of habitats across the country, from rainforest margins to deserts and subalpine areas.

ViBe Salon & Spa is Loveland Colorado’s Paul Mitchell Focus Salon. The ViBe Salon & Spa team offers a wide range of services in HAIR, WAXING, and MASSAGE. ViBe Salon & Spa is a high energy, trend setting salon and spa located in the heart of Loveland Colorado’s Downtown District; we are excited to bring you fresh trend setting techniques and exclusive cutting edge hair products .At ViBe Salon & Spa our staff is committed to the culture of Paul Mitchell, and that is why we believe education is the key to providing our guests with quality services, trend setting looks, and street runway confidence. ViBe Salon&Spa features a signature Wash House experience and full Color Bar menu to our guests. We cordially invite you to enjoy the ViBe Salon&Spa experience TODAY!

ViBe Salon & Spa is Loveland Colorado’s Paul Mitchell Focus Salon. The ViBe Salon & Spa team offers a wide range of services in HAIR, WAXING, and MASSAGE. ViBe Salon & Spa is a high energy, trend setting salon and spa located in the heart of Loveland Colorado’s Downtown District; we are excited to bring you fresh trend setting techniques and exclusive cutting edge hair products .At ViBe Salon & Spa our staff is committed to the culture of Paul Mitchell, and that is why we believe education is the key to providing our guests with quality services, trend setting looks, and street runway confidence. ViBe Salon&Spa features a signature Wash House experience and full Color Bar menu to our guests. We cordially invite you to enjoy the ViBe Salon&Spa experience TODAY!

Nile Street facade.

Foundation stone 31 Oct 1874 by David Bower, architect Robert George Thomas, opened 23 Oct 1876 on site of earlier bond store. Building sold to Customs when library & nautical museum relocated Jul 1959 to St Vincent Street, transferred to Port Adelaide Corporation 1979, becoming a free library, moving to Church St 1991. First Institute opened Jul 1851 in meeting room of George Coppin’s White Horse Cellars Inn.

 

“a number of individuals, interested in the mental improvement of the Port, met at the Court-House, to found a Mechanics' Institute and Literary Institution and Library. . . Mr. Coppin had promised them the use of the Masonic Hall, also of his large and valuable library, and even a benefit at the theatre on their paying the necessary expenses.” [Register 29 May 1851]

 

“A meeting. . . was held at the White Horse Cellar, Port Adelaide, on Friday, September 2, for the purpose of establishing a library and reading-room. . . About 30 persons were present.” [Advertiser 3 Sep 1859]

 

“Opening of the Port Adelaide Institute. -The opening soiree of subscribers and the public. . . in the large room of the White Horse Cellar, which was densely crowded by the residents of the Port and its vicinity, not less than from 400 to 500 persons being present. . . The Institution had received a good supply of periodicals and magazines through the Adelaide Institute. They had also received a quantity of books. The Government had favorably entertained an application for rooms in the present Custom-House, where, it was to be hoped, they might shortly be domiciled.” [Advertiser 18 Oct 1859]

 

“subscribers to the Port Adelaide Institute held their first annual meeting in the Reading-Room, White Horse Cellar. . . the total number of subscribers had been 129. . . number of books on the shelves 350.” [Advertiser 26 Oct 1860]

 

“The buildings formerly occupied by the Customs Department, the Local Court, and the Police Station, but rendered vacant by the erection of the new buildings, are undergoing a course of alterations to fit them for the occupation of other branches of the public service. The late Custom-House is to be transformed into a Telegraph Office. . . The old Court-House has been handed over to the Port Corporation for a Town Hall — a purpose for which it is well suited. The Port Adelaide Institute will also be allowed the use of those premises for their library and reading-room.” [Register 26 Dec 1860]

 

“letter from the Port Adelaide Institute, asking when it would be convenient for the Council to allow them to occupy the Council room, proposed by the Government, when not otherwise engaged. The Town Clerk was instructed to reply the Corporation had no objection to their coming in, but think the room unsuited for their purposes, and suggested their making further application to the Government for a room for themselves.” [Advertiser 23 Feb 1861]

 

“The annual meeting of the subscribers of the Port Adelaide Institute was held in the Institute Room, North-parade. . . Gratification was expressed at the success attending the opening of the institute during three evenings of each week, for reading, &c, to afford an opportunity to those benefitted by the early closing movement.” [Advertiser 7 Oct 1863]

 

“The Committee of the Port Adelaide Institute have removed their Library and Reading-room to the Town Hall, the Council having granted the use of one of the rooms on the first floor for that purpose.” [Advertiser 28 May 1867]

 

“A meeting of the subscribers and friends of the Port Adelaide Institute was held on Friday evening, January 20, at the new reading rooms, lately the telegraph office, to take into consideration the desirableness of altering the annual payment of £1 to 12s.” [Advertiser 24 Jan 1871]

 

“For some years past this institution has been in a very languishing state, but recently its management has fallen into good hands. . . The library and public reading-room have been removed from the Town Hall, and the offices that were portion of the old Telegraph Station have been fitted up for these purposes. Since the committee reduced the subscription to 12s. per annum they have had a large increase of members, 140 being at the present time. . . the reading-room has been thrown open from 10 o'clock a.m. until 10 p.m. The Committee in making these alterations have had to engage a librarian, who could devote his whole time to the services of the Institute.” [Advertiser 6 May 1871]

 

“Port Adelaide Institute. . . One of the most noticeable features in connection with the Institute is the museum, which now occupies the third room. . . Curios from Europe, Asia; Africa, Fiji, and various parts of Australia, are ranged round the walls; fossils, shells, corals, birds, war weapons, ornaments, articles of dress, insects, reptiles, fish, human skulls, English and foreign coins. . . The collection was initiated by the present Librarian.” [Register 15 Jan 1872]

 

“Mr. David Bower, of Port Adelaide, had generously offered to give the sum of £500 towards the erection of a suitable building for the Port Adelaide Institute, the only condition being that a similar amount was subscribed by other means.” [Register 17 Oct 72]

 

“the old bonded store on the Government Reserve, the site of which has been handed over for the site of the new Port Adelaide Institute, is in course of being pulled down, we presume to make way for the new building. The store hitherto was leased by Captain Simpson, who generously gave up the lease before expiry in order to admit of the erection of the Institute at an early date.” [Advertiser 5 Dec 1873]

 

“The foundation stone of the new building for the Port Adelaide Institute is to be laid with much ceremony this afternoon by Mr. David Bower, whose liberal donation was the means of initiating the movement. A procession is to be formed at the Town Hall, and proceed by way of St Vincent and Mundy streets and the North Parade to the site of the building in the Commercial-road.” [Register 31 Oct 1874]

 

“Port Adelaide Institute. . . has already reached the level of the ground-floor. . . The foundation-stone, which is of Macclesfield marble, is to be placed in the south-east corner. . . immediately above the freestone moulded plinth, and will serve as a rusticated quoin. . . His Worship the Mayor (Mr. J. M. Sinclair) said some of those present would remember a small wooden building which many years ago served for an Institute at Port Adelaide.” [Register 2 Nov 1874]

 

“The elevations are on the Venetian-Italian style. . . There being no amount available for a tower, a lookout has been provided for by constructing a mansard roof over the angle of the Commercial road and Nile-street, so that when entertainments are going on a flag can be hoisted. A niche for a statue is also provided above the doorway into the class-room facing Nile-street.” [Advertiser 24 Oct 1876]

 

“The materials used in the construction of the building are rubble-stone from Dry Creek, bricks and freestone from Teatree Gully, and the dressings are of Portland cement and freestone. The foundation, which is of concrete, is laid on the old level of the Port. There is an entrance from the Commercial-road and two from Nile street.” [Express & Telegraph 24 Oct 1876]

 

“Our first Institute was opened in a small wooden building; we migrated thence to the Town Hall, and subsequently to the Custom-House.” [Register 24 Oct 1876]

 

“The was a large gathering of ladies and gentlemen in the Port Adelaide Institute Lecture-hall on Tuesday afternoon, July 27, to witness the ceremony of unveiling the large oil painting which recently arrived from England, and to celebrate the inauguration of a fine art gallery for Port Adelaide. . . the splendid collection of photographs of Thorwaldsen's sculptures sent to the museum by Christian IX., King of Denmark, were exhibited. . . Mr. Huson's picture, which measures about 6 feet by 4 feet 6 inches, depicts an English country scene. The subject is ‘The Quiet Stream’.” [Advertiser 28 July 1880]

 

“The Museum and Art Gallery connected with the Port Adelaide Institute contains a number of valuable exhibits, and these have lately been increased by several cultural history specimens, old books, curios and pictures. . . The curators have lately added to the permanent exhibits two large paintings of the Port River in the early days.” [Advertiser 31 Oct 1896]

 

“Among several further exhibits which have been secured for the recently established nautical museum at Port Adelaide is a model of the British full-rigged ship Craigendarroch, and the figurehead of the barque Garthneil, one of the last of the British sailers.” [Advertiser 8 Jun 1933]

 

“An old fashioned ship's gun, believed to have belonged to an English frigate. It was dredged from the bottom of the Fort River several years ago, and is now in the Port Adelaide Nautical Museum.” [Advertiser 25 Jul 1933]

 

“Converted into a nautical museum with models, figureheads, photographs, and pictures of ships connected with early Port Adelaide as the main features, the Port Adelaide Museum has been reopened. . . Many interesting nautical .specimens have been acquired for the museum. At a recent auction sale in Adelaide, the bell of the barque County of Merioneth was bought. This ship, which is ending its days at Port Adelaide as a coal hulk, was built at Liverpool in 1880.” [News 9 Aug 1933]

 

“the Art Gallery has just purchased a rare and beautiful old oil painting on wood by an unknown artist, and probably of the 15th century French period. The Director (Mr. McCubbin) is very enthusiastic about the acquisition of their first example of that period, and so well preserved, too. Subject of the painting: St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas. According to Mr. McCubbin, it was in the art gallery at Port Adelaide Institute for many years, but little is known of its Australian history, how it came here, and during recent weeks it has hung on the gallery walls at North terrace, where its striking subject and rich coloring have been much admired.” [Advertiser 21 Oct 1943]

 

“The painting, known as 'St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas,' was purchased by the gallery Board from the Port Adelaide Institute authorities in 1943. It has now been identified by the Courtauld Institute of Art, London, as being by the 'Master of the Uttenheim Altarpiece,' Tyroleset School, and dated about 1460. . . The curator of the institute gallery (Mr. Vernon Smith) said last night that he believed the picture was found in the false bottom of a packing case among a number consigned to a printer who worked in the basement of the institute building, about the end of last century. The printer, E. H. Derrington, gave the picture to the institute. . . the painting was on exhibition at the Port Adelaide Institute's art gallery for many years, but few people knew of its existence. It was lent to the National Gallery in 1943 and subsequently purchased from the institute.” [Advertiser 23 Aug 1950]

 

“Port Adelaide Nautical Museum. . . Space was becoming desperately short and conditions were very over-crowded. . . New exhibits were continually being presented or lent to the museum. The museum is run and maintained by the Port Adelaide Institute. Money for its upkeep is raised by the institute's subscription library. . . The museum, which was the only one of its type in Australia.” [Advertiser 6 Jan 1954]

 

The joys and wonders of Tea Tree! Known for its healing powers, this oil is one of the most widely used for skin care. Derived from the herbal plant Melaleuca alternifolia, it is sought after for its antibacterial, antiviral and antifungal properties.

 

This oil has a woody, earthy aroma. It also has spicy notes. Tea tree essential oil is very useful in treating acne, itching, ringworm, warts, sinusitis, chicken pox and whooping cough. It protects the skin from cuts and insect bites.

 

These bars may seem pricey at first. But I kid you not, if you only use it for your face, and keep it dry between uses, it can easily last you 3-4 months. When used on the body it will last about a month. A lot of my clients cut the bar into 4 pieces. It is well worth the price and the benefits you will receive from it.

 

Each bar is made of saponified Olive Oil, Coconut Oil, Castor Oil, and 40% Shea Butter, along with other skin nourishing oils and herbs. I have also added a heaping helping of coconut cream and aloe gel to this recipe. Creates a most luxurious lather that is not drying or stripping to the skin.

 

Each bar weighs about 4.5-5 oz.

Built 1874 for George Wills’ drapery business, architect Daniel Garlick, second building attached to the west 1878, leased to John Martins store 1930s, became car parking station 1936, later used by School of Arts & Crafts and Technical Correspondence School. Also leather goods industry, John Martins Theatre Shop, Art Gallery, etc. Now only the facade remains in North Terrace in front of a 34-storey student accommodation tower.

[Photo from State Library of SA: BRG 304/1/3 (c1873)]

 

“Any one passing along North-terrace recently must have been struck with the remarkably fine appearance of the large warehouse which has just been completed opposite the Institute for Messrs. G. & R. Wills & Co. The premises of this firm have gradually been extended in depth, till at last they have reached the great length of two acres, or 410 feet; and as they form by far the most spacious soft goods establishment in the city.” [Register 5 Jan 1874]

 

“The structure has a frontage of 52 feet by a depth of 90 feet, and consists of basement, ground, and first floors. The height from the footpath to the top of the parapet is 48 feet. The front is of Teatree Gully freestone, with cement dressings, the walls up to the plinth line being of Glen Osmond stone, finished with a string of white freestone. The facade is finished with a bold cornice, surmounted by a parapet with balustrading on each side. The centre of the front is broken by vermiculated pilasters with ornamental capitals, a handsome triplet window in the centre of the first floor, above the door, and double windows in each side with similar capitals. A dental cornice divides the lower from the upper storey, and flanking the main entrance are pilasters with moulded caps. There is a small entrance at the side of this, opposite which is a very fine staircase leading to the first floor.” [Evening Journal 5 Jan 1874]

 

“Messrs. G. & R. Wills & Co. are making an extensive addition to their fine warehouse on North-terrace. The new building will be in the same style as that now standing, but will stand forward about twelve feet, so that the line will be pleasantly broken. Mr. D. Garlick is the architect, and Mr. Chas. Farr the contractor. The cost will be between £5,000 and £6,000.” [Register 1 Jan 1878]

 

“Statements that the Salvation Army had purchased expensive property on North terrace from G. & R. Wills & Co., Limited, were denied by Brigadier H. Burhop (divisional commander) this morning. He said that the present condition of finances would not permit of such a transaction.” [News 15 Apr 1930]

 

“An important North terrace freehold, comprising warehouses premises of two floors and basement, with frontage of 105 ft., will be submitted to auction at an early date by Keith Wilkinson & Co., under instructions from G & R. Wills & Co. Ltd. The property, which occupies a commanding site, just east of Gawler place and opposite the library, is at present under lease to John Martin & Co. Ltd., whose term expires on September 30.” [The Mail 27 Jul 1935]

 

“A modem indoor parking station with accommodation for 150 cars at three different levels is being created in North terrace, opposite the Public Library, with the approval of the City Council, for the purpose of relieving the kerb-side parking problem in this part of the city. The garage building, a two-storied structure which was built as a warehouse for G. & R. Wills & Co. and was later used for a time as a nightclub, is being converted at a cost of £600, and will probably be ready to accommodate cars at the end of next week. Three ramps from the street level are being constructed, one to the first floor, another to the basement, and the third to the ground floor. On the ground floor a lounge, offices, and other conveniences for patrons are being built. Otherwise little structural alteration is being made. The front facade will remain unchanged except for the ramp openings, and will be floodlighted at night. One of the proprietors, Mr. L. A. Higginbotham, said yesterday that three petrol pumps which would be erected outside the building would be hidden by screens. With the exception of a name and numbered ramps, there would be hardly any alteration to the appearance of the present building to justify criticism that it would not harmonise with the surroundings. The garage will be open all day and all night should the need arise.” [Advertiser 2 Jul 1936]

 

“Where to Park Your Car. Attendants will take your car at the entrance and will deliver it at the ground floor door when required. There is a day and night service, and the charges are twenty-four hours parking for one shilling. The Big Garage is situated between Gawler place and Charles street, at 204 North terrace. The Big Garage is most modern and up to date.” [Advertiser 5 Sep 1936]

 

“Special Xmas Offer! Re-Tyre at John Martin’s. . . Fitted at the Big Garage, North terrace. . . Fittings are without charge.” [Advertiser 21 Dec 1939 advert]

 

“Education Department. South Australian School of Arts and Crafts, 204 North terrace, Adelaide. (Opp. Public Library.) The School will Re-Open for the first term. 1943, on Monday, February 1st.” [News 23 Jan 1943 advert]

 

“Part-Time Instructor Wanted for Retouching and Coloring of Photographs. . . apply personally to the Principal of the School of Arts and Crafts, 204 North terrace, Adelaide.” [News 28 Jan 1943 advert]

 

“Technical Correspondence School, 204 North Terrace, Adelaide. . . This school specialises in Technical Education by the individual Postal Study method. As each student is treated individually, Enrolment May Be Made at Any Time. . . Accountancy. . . Station Bookkeeping. . . Shorthand. . . Building Construction. . . Motor Mechanics. . . Agriculture (Cereals), Horticulture, Beekeeping. Animal Husbandry, Woolclassing. . . Journalism. . . Dressmaking. . . Various courses to Leaving standard in English, Arithmetic, Algebra. Geometry, French, Latin, History, Geography, Bookkeeping, Physics.” [Chronicle 18 Sep 1947 advert]

 

“Machinists. Excellent opportunity for Girls who can use a sewing machine To Earn High Wages and Bonuses. . . F.P.T. Industries Ltd., 204 North terrace, Adelaide.” [Advertiser 28 Jan 1949 advert]

 

“Leather cutter, experienced man for permanent position in leather bag and case trade. F.P.T. Industries, 204 North ter.” [Advertiser 24 Apr 1950 advert]

 

“Junior boys and girls to learn interesting trade. Leather and canvas goods. Furniture and furnishings. F.P.T. Industries Ltd, 204 North ter, Adelaide.” [Advertiser 27 Apr 1950]

 

“When you need a Fancy Dress or Period Costume, contact the Theatre Shop. . . 204 North Terrace, Adelaide.” [Advertiser4 Feb 1950 advert]

 

“G. and R. Wills and Co. . . Mr. K. A. Wills (chairman). . . The company was selling its North terrace property at a figure considerably in excess of that at which it has been standing in the books, Mr. Wills added. For the past 20 years the property had been leased at not very remunerative rents.” [Advertiser 27 Oct 1951]

 

GEORGE WILLS

“Mr George Wills of the firm of Messrs George Wills & Co, died in London yesterday.” [Kadina & Wallaroo Times 19 Dec 1906]

 

“Mr. George Wills, senior. . . was born in Devonshire, in 1823. . . The deceased gentleman left four sons, two daughters, and four grandchildren. One of the sons, Mr. George Tarlton Wills, is connected with the Adelaide [sic] business. Two others — Messrs. J. H. Wills and Charles Percy Wills — are in the London houses, and the fourth — Mr. Arthur Wills, barrister-at-law-is member of the House, of Commons for North Dorset. The daughters, who live in London, are Misses Lucy and Ellen Wills. The deceased gentleman was a widower, his wife having died about eight years ago.” [Express & Telegraph18 Dec 1906]

 

“In a notice of the death of Mr. George Wills, senior. . . it was stated that a son of the deceased gentleman, Mr. George Tarlton Wills, was connected with the Adelaide office of the firm. Mr. G. T. Wills is associated with the London house.” [Advertiser 20 Dec 1906]

 

“George Wills, founder of the firm of G. & R. Wills & Co., wholesale warehousemen of London and Australia, and senior partner in George Wills & Co., merchants and shipping agents. Mr. Wills was born in Devonshire. . . At the age of 20 years he went to London, and entered the employ of Messrs. Goode, Gainsford,, & Co., where Mr. C. H. Goode, another successful Adelaide merchant, was also engaged at the same time. Mr. Wills came to South Australia in 1849, and opened a retail drapery store in Bundle street, from which .small beginnings the powerful firm of G. & R. Wills & Co. sprang — a firm that now has branches in Melbourne, Broken Hill, Fremantle, Kalgoorlie, Perth, Manchester, Paris, and London. . . Mr. Wills had lived in London for many years, but practically to the end he continued to take an active part in the administration of the two firms in Adelaide bearing his name, while he went in for farming and stockbreeding on his estate in Devon.” [Evening Journal 18 Dec 1906]

 

“The business of George Wills and Co. is, however, of a totally different character from that of G. and R. Wills & Co., the latter being devoted solely to the textile or soft goods trade, while in the case of George Wills and Co. the business is confined to shipping and the carrying on of a general merchants' trade.” [Advertiser 19 Dec 1906]

 

RICHARD WILLS

“WILLS.— On the 4th March, at his residence, Prospect Village, Richard Wills, Esq., aged 33 years,” [Register 5 Mar 1862]

 

“Mr. Richard Wills, of the well-known firm of G. & R. Wills & Co. of this city. Mr. Wills first arrived in the colony about ten years ago. . . Mr. Wills afterwards returned to England, where he remained about two years, when he again came out to this colony in the year 1859. Last year he was married to the second daughter of Mr. W. Brace, of Kensington, by whom lie had a son born only a fortnight ago.” [Advertiser 5 Mar 1862]

 

Nile Street facade.

Foundation stone 31 Oct 1874 by David Bower, architect Robert George Thomas, opened 23 Oct 1876 on site of earlier bond store. Building sold to Customs when library & nautical museum relocated Jul 1959 to St Vincent Street, transferred to Port Adelaide Corporation 1979, becoming a free library, moving to Church St 1991. First Institute opened Jul 1851 in meeting room of George Coppin’s White Horse Cellars Inn.

 

“a number of individuals, interested in the mental improvement of the Port, met at the Court-House, to found a Mechanics' Institute and Literary Institution and Library. . . Mr. Coppin had promised them the use of the Masonic Hall, also of his large and valuable library, and even a benefit at the theatre on their paying the necessary expenses.” [Register 29 May 1851]

 

“A meeting. . . was held at the White Horse Cellar, Port Adelaide, on Friday, September 2, for the purpose of establishing a library and reading-room. . . About 30 persons were present.” [Advertiser 3 Sep 1859]

 

“Opening of the Port Adelaide Institute. -The opening soiree of subscribers and the public. . . in the large room of the White Horse Cellar, which was densely crowded by the residents of the Port and its vicinity, not less than from 400 to 500 persons being present. . . The Institution had received a good supply of periodicals and magazines through the Adelaide Institute. They had also received a quantity of books. The Government had favorably entertained an application for rooms in the present Custom-House, where, it was to be hoped, they might shortly be domiciled.” [Advertiser 18 Oct 1859]

 

“subscribers to the Port Adelaide Institute held their first annual meeting in the Reading-Room, White Horse Cellar. . . the total number of subscribers had been 129. . . number of books on the shelves 350.” [Advertiser 26 Oct 1860]

 

“The buildings formerly occupied by the Customs Department, the Local Court, and the Police Station, but rendered vacant by the erection of the new buildings, are undergoing a course of alterations to fit them for the occupation of other branches of the public service. The late Custom-House is to be transformed into a Telegraph Office. . . The old Court-House has been handed over to the Port Corporation for a Town Hall — a purpose for which it is well suited. The Port Adelaide Institute will also be allowed the use of those premises for their library and reading-room.” [Register 26 Dec 1860]

 

“letter from the Port Adelaide Institute, asking when it would be convenient for the Council to allow them to occupy the Council room, proposed by the Government, when not otherwise engaged. The Town Clerk was instructed to reply the Corporation had no objection to their coming in, but think the room unsuited for their purposes, and suggested their making further application to the Government for a room for themselves.” [Advertiser 23 Feb 1861]

 

“The annual meeting of the subscribers of the Port Adelaide Institute was held in the Institute Room, North-parade. . . Gratification was expressed at the success attending the opening of the institute during three evenings of each week, for reading, &c, to afford an opportunity to those benefitted by the early closing movement.” [Advertiser 7 Oct 1863]

 

“The Committee of the Port Adelaide Institute have removed their Library and Reading-room to the Town Hall, the Council having granted the use of one of the rooms on the first floor for that purpose.” [Advertiser 28 May 1867]

 

“A meeting of the subscribers and friends of the Port Adelaide Institute was held on Friday evening, January 20, at the new reading rooms, lately the telegraph office, to take into consideration the desirableness of altering the annual payment of £1 to 12s.” [Advertiser 24 Jan 1871]

 

“For some years past this institution has been in a very languishing state, but recently its management has fallen into good hands. . . The library and public reading-room have been removed from the Town Hall, and the offices that were portion of the old Telegraph Station have been fitted up for these purposes. Since the committee reduced the subscription to 12s. per annum they have had a large increase of members, 140 being at the present time. . . the reading-room has been thrown open from 10 o'clock a.m. until 10 p.m. The Committee in making these alterations have had to engage a librarian, who could devote his whole time to the services of the Institute.” [Advertiser 6 May 1871]

 

“Port Adelaide Institute. . . One of the most noticeable features in connection with the Institute is the museum, which now occupies the third room. . . Curios from Europe, Asia; Africa, Fiji, and various parts of Australia, are ranged round the walls; fossils, shells, corals, birds, war weapons, ornaments, articles of dress, insects, reptiles, fish, human skulls, English and foreign coins. . . The collection was initiated by the present Librarian.” [Register 15 Jan 1872]

 

“Mr. David Bower, of Port Adelaide, had generously offered to give the sum of £500 towards the erection of a suitable building for the Port Adelaide Institute, the only condition being that a similar amount was subscribed by other means.” [Register 17 Oct 72]

 

“the old bonded store on the Government Reserve, the site of which has been handed over for the site of the new Port Adelaide Institute, is in course of being pulled down, we presume to make way for the new building. The store hitherto was leased by Captain Simpson, who generously gave up the lease before expiry in order to admit of the erection of the Institute at an early date.” [Advertiser 5 Dec 1873]

 

“The foundation stone of the new building for the Port Adelaide Institute is to be laid with much ceremony this afternoon by Mr. David Bower, whose liberal donation was the means of initiating the movement. A procession is to be formed at the Town Hall, and proceed by way of St Vincent and Mundy streets and the North Parade to the site of the building in the Commercial-road.” [Register 31 Oct 1874]

 

“Port Adelaide Institute. . . has already reached the level of the ground-floor. . . The foundation-stone, which is of Macclesfield marble, is to be placed in the south-east corner. . . immediately above the freestone moulded plinth, and will serve as a rusticated quoin. . . His Worship the Mayor (Mr. J. M. Sinclair) said some of those present would remember a small wooden building which many years ago served for an Institute at Port Adelaide.” [Register 2 Nov 1874]

 

“The elevations are on the Venetian-Italian style. . . There being no amount available for a tower, a lookout has been provided for by constructing a mansard roof over the angle of the Commercial road and Nile-street, so that when entertainments are going on a flag can be hoisted. A niche for a statue is also provided above the doorway into the class-room facing Nile-street.” [Advertiser 24 Oct 1876]

 

“The materials used in the construction of the building are rubble-stone from Dry Creek, bricks and freestone from Teatree Gully, and the dressings are of Portland cement and freestone. The foundation, which is of concrete, is laid on the old level of the Port. There is an entrance from the Commercial-road and two from Nile street.” [Express & Telegraph 24 Oct 1876]

 

“Our first Institute was opened in a small wooden building; we migrated thence to the Town Hall, and subsequently to the Custom-House.” [Register 24 Oct 1876]

 

“The was a large gathering of ladies and gentlemen in the Port Adelaide Institute Lecture-hall on Tuesday afternoon, July 27, to witness the ceremony of unveiling the large oil painting which recently arrived from England, and to celebrate the inauguration of a fine art gallery for Port Adelaide. . . the splendid collection of photographs of Thorwaldsen's sculptures sent to the museum by Christian IX., King of Denmark, were exhibited. . . Mr. Huson's picture, which measures about 6 feet by 4 feet 6 inches, depicts an English country scene. The subject is ‘The Quiet Stream’.” [Advertiser 28 July 1880]

 

“The Museum and Art Gallery connected with the Port Adelaide Institute contains a number of valuable exhibits, and these have lately been increased by several cultural history specimens, old books, curios and pictures. . . The curators have lately added to the permanent exhibits two large paintings of the Port River in the early days.” [Advertiser 31 Oct 1896]

 

“Among several further exhibits which have been secured for the recently established nautical museum at Port Adelaide is a model of the British full-rigged ship Craigendarroch, and the figurehead of the barque Garthneil, one of the last of the British sailers.” [Advertiser 8 Jun 1933]

 

“An old fashioned ship's gun, believed to have belonged to an English frigate. It was dredged from the bottom of the Fort River several years ago, and is now in the Port Adelaide Nautical Museum.” [Advertiser 25 Jul 1933]

 

“Converted into a nautical museum with models, figureheads, photographs, and pictures of ships connected with early Port Adelaide as the main features, the Port Adelaide Museum has been reopened. . . Many interesting nautical .specimens have been acquired for the museum. At a recent auction sale in Adelaide, the bell of the barque County of Merioneth was bought. This ship, which is ending its days at Port Adelaide as a coal hulk, was built at Liverpool in 1880.” [News 9 Aug 1933]

 

“the Art Gallery has just purchased a rare and beautiful old oil painting on wood by an unknown artist, and probably of the 15th century French period. The Director (Mr. McCubbin) is very enthusiastic about the acquisition of their first example of that period, and so well preserved, too. Subject of the painting: St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas. According to Mr. McCubbin, it was in the art gallery at Port Adelaide Institute for many years, but little is known of its Australian history, how it came here, and during recent weeks it has hung on the gallery walls at North terrace, where its striking subject and rich coloring have been much admired.” [Advertiser 21 Oct 1943]

 

“The painting, known as 'St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas,' was purchased by the gallery Board from the Port Adelaide Institute authorities in 1943. It has now been identified by the Courtauld Institute of Art, London, as being by the 'Master of the Uttenheim Altarpiece,' Tyroleset School, and dated about 1460. . . The curator of the institute gallery (Mr. Vernon Smith) said last night that he believed the picture was found in the false bottom of a packing case among a number consigned to a printer who worked in the basement of the institute building, about the end of last century. The printer, E. H. Derrington, gave the picture to the institute. . . the painting was on exhibition at the Port Adelaide Institute's art gallery for many years, but few people knew of its existence. It was lent to the National Gallery in 1943 and subsequently purchased from the institute.” [Advertiser 23 Aug 1950]

 

“Port Adelaide Nautical Museum. . . Space was becoming desperately short and conditions were very over-crowded. . . New exhibits were continually being presented or lent to the museum. The museum is run and maintained by the Port Adelaide Institute. Money for its upkeep is raised by the institute's subscription library. . . The museum, which was the only one of its type in Australia.” [Advertiser 6 Jan 1954]

  

Melaleuca leucadendra - Weeping Paperbark (as I identify it)

Evergreen tree with weeping habit and whitish papery bark. and with long creamy-white fragrant flowers in bottlebrush spikes.

 

It grows near and looks the same as this tree

www.flickr.com/photos/tgerus/3637879055/

However they flowered at different time. By my observation often you cannot relay on flowering period to ID Australian plants.

Bridal Veil Falls (Māori Waireinga) is a plunge waterfall located along the Pakoka River in the Waikato area of New Zealand. The waterfall is 55 metres high, and has over time caused the formation of a large pool at the base of the waterfall. The falls are in the 217ha Wairēinga Scenic Reserve with tawa-dominated forest.

Over time, the sandstone where the waterfall is located was worn down, leaving the hard basalt cliff behind. The water cascades from this cliff, and further erodes the sandstone at the base, forming an ever increasing deeper pool.

A ballast train with Z 2113 and ZA 2114 can be seen arriving at Tea Tree Loop. After a crew change the locos cut off and then moved forward to run around their train and then take the empty ballast rake back up to East Tamar after completing it's allocated task.

Wednesday 11th April, 2012.

Photo By Steve Bromley

All English Electric Locomotive hauled Paper Train 6-32 is seen winding through the curves before Tea Tree and is about to cross Back Tea Tree Road with ZP unit 2100 leading MKA 2132 and ZR 2101.

Friday 30th September, 2011.

Photo By Steve Bromley

Our club did the 3 day lakes walk on Fraser Island, Queensland, twice in 1992 - June and October. These photos are from the October weekend at Lake Benaroon.

Sulphur Bay

Rotorua, NZ

(view large - clicar na foto para aumentar)

Two hefty beetles make arthropod amour in the Tea Tree. Probabaly Genus Bisallardiana. [Lower Blue Mountains, NSW]

A Bush Fly (probably Scaptia sp.) feeds from some Tea Tree flowers. Happy Beautiful Bug Butt Thursday everyone! [Newnes Plateau, Greater Blue Mountains, NSW]

I don't care if Monday's blue

Tuesday's grey and Wednesday too

Thursday I don't care about you

It's Friday, I'm in love

~The Cure~

 

2/50

 

Leptospermum scoparium ~ Manuka (Tea Tree)

  

All rights reserved ©.

Images may not be copied or used in any way without my written permission.

52 Weeks of Pictures: Week 16: Bokeh. Winner of the weekly theme.

 

ODT: 6/3/2014: Pink.

South African Rooibos & Chamomile Clear Skin Cleansing Gel, 2oz

 

This cleanser dissolves oil and delivers acne-killing oxygen to the skin cells. Rooibos Tea has long been used in traditional South African medicine to treat blemishes. With Chamomile, Lavender, Tea Tree and fruit acids to fight bacteria, soothe, and gently exfoliate. For a smooth, soft, glowing complexion.

 

Directions: Apply to moistened skin and massage lightly with fingertips or a soft cloth. Rinse with lukewarm water.

 

Key Ingredients:

 

Rooibos Tea - Protecting, detoxifying and antibacterial.

 

Chamomile - Soothing, healing and regenerating.

 

Fruit AHA's - Naturally occurring Alpha Hydroxy Acids from fruit sugars gently exfoliate by dissolving dead skin cells and surface debris to unclog pores and reveal younger, fresher skin.

 

Pro-Vitamin B5 - Also known as Panthenol, derived from rice husks; stimulates skin healing while providing deep hydration.

 

Activated Charcoal - Binds to impurities and pulls them from skin. After rinsing, these impurities are washed away.

 

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Aspalathus lineans (Organic Rooibos Tea) Extract, Anthemis nobilis (Organic Roman Chamomile) Extract, Lavendula angustifolia (Organic Lavender) Extract, Sodium Cocopolyglucoside Tartrate, Cocoamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Cocopolyglucoside Citrate, Vaccinium myrtillus (Organic Bilberry) Extract, Acer saccharinum (Organic Sugar Maple) Extract, Citrus medica limonum (Organic Lemon) Extract, Vaccinium macrocarpon (Organic Cranberry) Extract, Saccharum officinarum (Organic Sugar Cane) Extract, Citrus auranium dulcis (Organic Orange) Extract, Kosher Vegetable Glycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Hydrolized Wheat Proteins, Activated Charcoal, Melaleuca alternifolia (Tea Tree) Essential Oil, DMAE, d-Calcium Pantothenate (Pro-Vitamin B5), Tetrasodium Edta (paraben free preservative), Hydrogen Peroxide, Citric Acid

Foundation stone 31 Oct 1874 by David Bower, architect Robert George Thomas, opened 23 Oct 1876 on site of earlier bond store. Building sold to Customs when library & nautical museum relocated Jul 1959 to St Vincent Street, transferred to Port Adelaide Corporation 1979, becoming a free library, moving to Church St 1991. First Institute opened Jul 1851 in meeting room of George Coppin’s White Horse Cellars Inn.

 

“a number of individuals, interested in the mental improvement of the Port, met at the Court-House, to found a Mechanics' Institute and Literary Institution and Library. . . Mr. Coppin had promised them the use of the Masonic Hall, also of his large and valuable library, and even a benefit at the theatre on their paying the necessary expenses.” [Register 29 May 1851]

 

“A meeting. . . was held at the White Horse Cellar, Port Adelaide, on Friday, September 2, for the purpose of establishing a library and reading-room. . . About 30 persons were present.” [Advertiser 3 Sep 1859]

 

“Opening of the Port Adelaide Institute. -The opening soiree of subscribers and the public. . . in the large room of the White Horse Cellar, which was densely crowded by the residents of the Port and its vicinity, not less than from 400 to 500 persons being present. . . The Institution had received a good supply of periodicals and magazines through the Adelaide Institute. They had also received a quantity of books. The Government had favorably entertained an application for rooms in the present Custom-House, where, it was to be hoped, they might shortly be domiciled.” [Advertiser 18 Oct 1859]

 

“subscribers to the Port Adelaide Institute held their first annual meeting in the Reading-Room, White Horse Cellar. . . the total number of subscribers had been 129. . . number of books on the shelves 350.” [Advertiser 26 Oct 1860]

 

“The buildings formerly occupied by the Customs Department, the Local Court, and the Police Station, but rendered vacant by the erection of the new buildings, are undergoing a course of alterations to fit them for the occupation of other branches of the public service. The late Custom-House is to be transformed into a Telegraph Office. . . The old Court-House has been handed over to the Port Corporation for a Town Hall — a purpose for which it is well suited. The Port Adelaide Institute will also be allowed the use of those premises for their library and reading-room.” [Register 26 Dec 1860]

 

“letter from the Port Adelaide Institute, asking when it would be convenient for the Council to allow them to occupy the Council room, proposed by the Government, when not otherwise engaged. The Town Clerk was instructed to reply the Corporation had no objection to their coming in, but think the room unsuited for their purposes, and suggested their making further application to the Government for a room for themselves.” [Advertiser 23 Feb 1861]

 

“The annual meeting of the subscribers of the Port Adelaide Institute was held in the Institute Room, North-parade. . . Gratification was expressed at the success attending the opening of the institute during three evenings of each week, for reading, &c, to afford an opportunity to those benefitted by the early closing movement.” [Advertiser 7 Oct 1863]

 

“The Committee of the Port Adelaide Institute have removed their Library and Reading-room to the Town Hall, the Council having granted the use of one of the rooms on the first floor for that purpose.” [Advertiser 28 May 1867]

 

“A meeting of the subscribers and friends of the Port Adelaide Institute was held on Friday evening, January 20, at the new reading rooms, lately the telegraph office, to take into consideration the desirableness of altering the annual payment of £1 to 12s.” [Advertiser 24 Jan 1871]

 

“For some years past this institution has been in a very languishing state, but recently its management has fallen into good hands. . . The library and public reading-room have been removed from the Town Hall, and the offices that were portion of the old Telegraph Station have been fitted up for these purposes. Since the committee reduced the subscription to 12s. per annum they have had a large increase of members, 140 being at the present time. . . the reading-room has been thrown open from 10 o'clock a.m. until 10 p.m. The Committee in making these alterations have had to engage a librarian, who could devote his whole time to the services of the Institute.” [Advertiser 6 May 1871]

 

“Port Adelaide Institute. . . One of the most noticeable features in connection with the Institute is the museum, which now occupies the third room. . . Curios from Europe, Asia; Africa, Fiji, and various parts of Australia, are ranged round the walls; fossils, shells, corals, birds, war weapons, ornaments, articles of dress, insects, reptiles, fish, human skulls, English and foreign coins. . . The collection was initiated by the present Librarian.” [Register 15 Jan 1872]

 

“Mr. David Bower, of Port Adelaide, had generously offered to give the sum of £500 towards the erection of a suitable building for the Port Adelaide Institute, the only condition being that a similar amount was subscribed by other means.” [Register 17 Oct 72]

 

“the old bonded store on the Government Reserve, the site of which has been handed over for the site of the new Port Adelaide Institute, is in course of being pulled down, we presume to make way for the new building. The store hitherto was leased by Captain Simpson, who generously gave up the lease before expiry in order to admit of the erection of the Institute at an early date.” [Advertiser 5 Dec 1873]

 

“The foundation stone of the new building for the Port Adelaide Institute is to be laid with much ceremony this afternoon by Mr. David Bower, whose liberal donation was the means of initiating the movement. A procession is to be formed at the Town Hall, and proceed by way of St Vincent and Mundy streets and the North Parade to the site of the building in the Commercial-road.” [Register 31 Oct 1874]

 

“Port Adelaide Institute. . . has already reached the level of the ground-floor. . . The foundation-stone, which is of Macclesfield marble, is to be placed in the south-east corner. . . immediately above the freestone moulded plinth, and will serve as a rusticated quoin. . . His Worship the Mayor (Mr. J. M. Sinclair) said some of those present would remember a small wooden building which many years ago served for an Institute at Port Adelaide.” [Register 2 Nov 1874]

 

“The elevations are on the Venetian-Italian style. . . There being no amount available for a tower, a lookout has been provided for by constructing a mansard roof over the angle of the Commercial road and Nile-street, so that when entertainments are going on a flag can be hoisted. A niche for a statue is also provided above the doorway into the class-room facing Nile-street.” [Advertiser 24 Oct 1876]

 

“The materials used in the construction of the building are rubble-stone from Dry Creek, bricks and freestone from Teatree Gully, and the dressings are of Portland cement and freestone. The foundation, which is of concrete, is laid on the old level of the Port. There is an entrance from the Commercial-road and two from Nile street.” [Express & Telegraph 24 Oct 1876]

 

“Our first Institute was opened in a small wooden building; we migrated thence to the Town Hall, and subsequently to the Custom-House.” [Register 24 Oct 1876]

 

“The was a large gathering of ladies and gentlemen in the Port Adelaide Institute Lecture-hall on Tuesday afternoon, July 27, to witness the ceremony of unveiling the large oil painting which recently arrived from England, and to celebrate the inauguration of a fine art gallery for Port Adelaide. . . the splendid collection of photographs of Thorwaldsen's sculptures sent to the museum by Christian IX., King of Denmark, were exhibited. . . Mr. Huson's picture, which measures about 6 feet by 4 feet 6 inches, depicts an English country scene. The subject is ‘The Quiet Stream’.” [Advertiser 28 July 1880]

 

“The Museum and Art Gallery connected with the Port Adelaide Institute contains a number of valuable exhibits, and these have lately been increased by several cultural history specimens, old books, curios and pictures. . . The curators have lately added to the permanent exhibits two large paintings of the Port River in the early days.” [Advertiser 31 Oct 1896]

 

“Among several further exhibits which have been secured for the recently established nautical museum at Port Adelaide is a model of the British full-rigged ship Craigendarroch, and the figurehead of the barque Garthneil, one of the last of the British sailers.” [Advertiser 8 Jun 1933]

 

“An old fashioned ship's gun, believed to have belonged to an English frigate. It was dredged from the bottom of the Fort River several years ago, and is now in the Port Adelaide Nautical Museum.” [Advertiser 25 Jul 1933]

 

“Converted into a nautical museum with models, figureheads, photographs, and pictures of ships connected with early Port Adelaide as the main features, the Port Adelaide Museum has been reopened. . . Many interesting nautical .specimens have been acquired for the museum. At a recent auction sale in Adelaide, the bell of the barque County of Merioneth was bought. This ship, which is ending its days at Port Adelaide as a coal hulk, was built at Liverpool in 1880.” [News 9 Aug 1933]

 

“the Art Gallery has just purchased a rare and beautiful old oil painting on wood by an unknown artist, and probably of the 15th century French period. The Director (Mr. McCubbin) is very enthusiastic about the acquisition of their first example of that period, and so well preserved, too. Subject of the painting: St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas. According to Mr. McCubbin, it was in the art gallery at Port Adelaide Institute for many years, but little is known of its Australian history, how it came here, and during recent weeks it has hung on the gallery walls at North terrace, where its striking subject and rich coloring have been much admired.” [Advertiser 21 Oct 1943]

 

“The painting, known as 'St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas,' was purchased by the gallery Board from the Port Adelaide Institute authorities in 1943. It has now been identified by the Courtauld Institute of Art, London, as being by the 'Master of the Uttenheim Altarpiece,' Tyroleset School, and dated about 1460. . . The curator of the institute gallery (Mr. Vernon Smith) said last night that he believed the picture was found in the false bottom of a packing case among a number consigned to a printer who worked in the basement of the institute building, about the end of last century. The printer, E. H. Derrington, gave the picture to the institute. . . the painting was on exhibition at the Port Adelaide Institute's art gallery for many years, but few people knew of its existence. It was lent to the National Gallery in 1943 and subsequently purchased from the institute.” [Advertiser 23 Aug 1950]

 

“Port Adelaide Nautical Museum. . . Space was becoming desperately short and conditions were very over-crowded. . . New exhibits were continually being presented or lent to the museum. The museum is run and maintained by the Port Adelaide Institute. Money for its upkeep is raised by the institute's subscription library. . . The museum, which was the only one of its type in Australia.” [Advertiser 6 Jan 1954]

  

Forest of Tea Trees (or Ti Trees) flanking a freshwater lagoon at Jam Jerrup on the coast.

Western Port Bay, Bass Coast, South Gippsland, Victoria, Australia.

Commercial Road facade. Foundation stone 31 Oct 1874 by David Bower, architect Robert George Thomas, opened 23 Oct 1876 on site of earlier bond store. Building sold to Customs when library & nautical museum relocated Jul 1959 to St Vincent Street, transferred to Port Adelaide Corporation 1979, becoming a free library, moving to Church St 1991. First Institute opened Jul 1851 in meeting room of George Coppin’s White Horse Cellars Inn.

 

“a number of individuals, interested in the mental improvement of the Port, met at the Court-House, to found a Mechanics' Institute and Literary Institution and Library. . . Mr. Coppin had promised them the use of the Masonic Hall, also of his large and valuable library, and even a benefit at the theatre on their paying the necessary expenses.” [Register 29 May 1851]

 

“A meeting. . . was held at the White Horse Cellar, Port Adelaide, on Friday, September 2, for the purpose of establishing a library and reading-room. . . About 30 persons were present.” [Advertiser 3 Sep 1859]

 

“Opening of the Port Adelaide Institute. -The opening soiree of subscribers and the public. . . in the large room of the White Horse Cellar, which was densely crowded by the residents of the Port and its vicinity, not less than from 400 to 500 persons being present. . . The Institution had received a good supply of periodicals and magazines through the Adelaide Institute. They had also received a quantity of books. The Government had favorably entertained an application for rooms in the present Custom-House, where, it was to be hoped, they might shortly be domiciled.” [Advertiser 18 Oct 1859]

 

“subscribers to the Port Adelaide Institute held their first annual meeting in the Reading-Room, White Horse Cellar. . . the total number of subscribers had been 129. . . number of books on the shelves 350.” [Advertiser 26 Oct 1860]

 

“The buildings formerly occupied by the Customs Department, the Local Court, and the Police Station, but rendered vacant by the erection of the new buildings, are undergoing a course of alterations to fit them for the occupation of other branches of the public service. The late Custom-House is to be transformed into a Telegraph Office. . . The old Court-House has been handed over to the Port Corporation for a Town Hall — a purpose for which it is well suited. The Port Adelaide Institute will also be allowed the use of those premises for their library and reading-room.” [Register 26 Dec 1860]

 

“letter from the Port Adelaide Institute, asking when it would be convenient for the Council to allow them to occupy the Council room, proposed by the Government, when not otherwise engaged. The Town Clerk was instructed to reply the Corporation had no objection to their coming in, but think the room unsuited for their purposes, and suggested their making further application to the Government for a room for themselves.” [Advertiser 23 Feb 1861]

 

“The annual meeting of the subscribers of the Port Adelaide Institute was held in the Institute Room, North-parade. . . Gratification was expressed at the success attending the opening of the institute during three evenings of each week, for reading, &c, to afford an opportunity to those benefitted by the early closing movement.” [Advertiser 7 Oct 1863]

 

“The Committee of the Port Adelaide Institute have removed their Library and Reading-room to the Town Hall, the Council having granted the use of one of the rooms on the first floor for that purpose.” [Advertiser 28 May 1867]

 

“A meeting of the subscribers and friends of the Port Adelaide Institute was held on Friday evening, January 20, at the new reading rooms, lately the telegraph office, to take into consideration the desirableness of altering the annual payment of £1 to 12s.” [Advertiser 24 Jan 1871]

 

“For some years past this institution has been in a very languishing state, but recently its management has fallen into good hands. . . The library and public reading-room have been removed from the Town Hall, and the offices that were portion of the old Telegraph Station have been fitted up for these purposes. Since the committee reduced the subscription to 12s. per annum they have had a large increase of members, 140 being at the present time. . . the reading-room has been thrown open from 10 o'clock a.m. until 10 p.m. The Committee in making these alterations have had to engage a librarian, who could devote his whole time to the services of the Institute.” [Advertiser 6 May 1871]

 

“Port Adelaide Institute. . . One of the most noticeable features in connection with the Institute is the museum, which now occupies the third room. . . Curios from Europe, Asia; Africa, Fiji, and various parts of Australia, are ranged round the walls; fossils, shells, corals, birds, war weapons, ornaments, articles of dress, insects, reptiles, fish, human skulls, English and foreign coins. . . The collection was initiated by the present Librarian.” [Register 15 Jan 1872]

 

“Mr. David Bower, of Port Adelaide, had generously offered to give the sum of £500 towards the erection of a suitable building for thePort Adelaide Institute, the only condition being that a similar amount was subscribed by other means.” [Register 17 Oct 72]

 

“the old bonded store on the Government Reserve, the site of which has been handed over for the site of the new Port Adelaide Institute, is in course of being pulled down, we presume to make way for the new building. The store hitherto was leased by Captain Simpson, who generously gave up the lease before expiry in order to admit of the erection of the Institute at an early date.” [Advertiser 5 Dec 1873]

 

“The foundation stone of the new building for the Port Adelaide Institute is to be laid with much ceremony this afternoon by Mr. David Bower, whose liberal donation was the means of initiating the movement. A procession is to be formed at the Town Hall, and proceed by way of St Vincent and Mundy streets and the North Parade to the site of the building in the Commercial-road.” [Register 31 Oct 1874]

 

“Port Adelaide Institute. . . has already reached the level of the ground-floor. . . The foundation-stone, which is of Macclesfield marble, is to be placed in the south-east corner. . . immediately above the freestone moulded plinth, and will serve as a rusticated quoin. . . His Worship the Mayor (Mr. J. M. Sinclair) said some of those present would remember a small wooden building which many years ago served for an Institute at Port Adelaide.” [Register 2 Nov 1874]

 

“The elevations are on the Venetian-Italian style. . . There being no amount available for a tower, a lookout has been provided for by constructing a mansard roof over the angle of the Commercial road and Nile-street, so that when entertainments are going on a flag can be hoisted. A niche for a statue is also provided above the doorway into the class-room facing Nile-street.” [Advertiser 24 Oct 1876]

 

“The materials used in the construction of the building are rubble-stone from Dry Creek, bricks and freestone from Teatree Gully, and the dressings are of Portland cement and freestone. The foundation, which is of concrete, is laid on the old level of the Port. There is an entrance from the Commercial-road and two from Nile street.” [Express & Telegraph 24 Oct 1876]

 

“Our first Institute was opened in a small wooden building; we migrated thence to the Town Hall, and subsequently to the Custom-House.” [Register 24 Oct 1876]

 

“The was a large gathering of ladies and gentlemen in the Port Adelaide Institute Lecture-hall on Tuesday afternoon, July 27, to witness the ceremony of unveiling the large oil painting which recently arrived from England, and to celebrate the inauguration of a fine art gallery for Port Adelaide. . . the splendid collection of photographs of Thorwaldsen's sculptures sent to the museum by Christian IX., King of Denmark, were exhibited. . . Mr. Huson's picture, which measures about 6 feet by 4 feet 6 inches, depicts an English country scene. The subject is ‘The Quiet Stream’.” [Advertiser 28 July 1880]

 

“The Museum and Art Gallery connected with the Port Adelaide Institute contains a number of valuable exhibits, and these have lately been increased by several cultural history specimens, old books, curios and pictures. . . The curators have lately added to the permanent exhibits two large paintings of the Port River in the early days.” [Advertiser 31 Oct 1896]

 

“Among several further exhibits which have been secured for the recently established nautical museum at Port Adelaide is a model of the British full-rigged ship Craigendarroch, and the figurehead of the barque Garthneil, one of the last of the British sailers.” [Advertiser 8 Jun 1933]

 

“An old fashioned ship's gun, believed to have belonged to an English frigate. It was dredged from the bottom of the Fort River several years ago, and is now in the Port Adelaide Nautical Museum.” [Advertiser 25 Jul 1933]

 

“Converted into a nautical museum with models, figureheads, photographs, and pictures of ships connected with early Port Adelaide as the main features, the Port Adelaide Museum has been reopened. . . Many interesting nautical .specimens have been acquired for the museum. At a recent auction sale in Adelaide, the bell of the barque County of Merioneth was bought. This ship, which is ending its days at Port Adelaide as a coal hulk, was built at Liverpool in 1880.” [News 9 Aug 1933]

 

“the Art Gallery has just purchased a rare and beautiful old oil painting on wood by an unknown artist, and probably of the 15th century French period. The Director (Mr. McCubbin) is very enthusiastic about the acquisition of their first example of that period, and so well preserved, too. Subject of the painting: St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas. According to Mr. McCubbin, it was in the art gallery at Port Adelaide Institute for many years, but little is known of its Australian history, how it came here, and during recent weeks it has hung on the gallery walls at North terrace, where its striking subject and rich coloring have been much admired.” [Advertiser 21 Oct 1943]

 

“The painting, known as 'St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas,' was purchased by the gallery Board from the Port Adelaide Institute authorities in 1943. It has now been identified by the Courtauld Institute of Art, London, as being by the 'Master of the Uttenheim Altarpiece,' Tyroleset School, and dated about 1460. . . The curator of the institute gallery (Mr. Vernon Smith) said last night that he believed the picture was found in the false bottom of a packing case among a number consigned to a printer who worked in the basement of the institute building, about the end of last century. The printer, E. H. Derrington, gave the picture to the institute. . . the painting was on exhibition at the Port Adelaide Institute's art gallery for many years, but few people knew of its existence. It was lent to the National Gallery in 1943 and subsequently purchased from the institute.” [Advertiser 23 Aug 1950]

 

“Port Adelaide Nautical Museum. . . Space was becoming desperately short and conditions were very over-crowded. . . New exhibits were continually being presented or lent to the museum. The museum is run and maintained by the Port Adelaide Institute. Money for its upkeep is raised by the institute's subscription library. . . The museum, which was the only one of its type in Australia.” [Advertiser 6 Jan 1954]

 

Nile Street facade. Niche was intended to have a statue.

Foundation stone 31 Oct 1874 by David Bower, architect Robert George Thomas, opened 23 Oct 1876 on site of earlier bond store. Building sold to Customs when library & nautical museum relocated Jul 1959 to St Vincent Street, transferred to Port Adelaide Corporation 1979, becoming a free library, moving to Church St 1991. First Institute opened Jul 1851 in meeting room of George Coppin’s White Horse Cellars Inn.

 

“a number of individuals, interested in the mental improvement of the Port, met at the Court-House, to found a Mechanics' Institute and Literary Institution and Library. . . Mr. Coppin had promised them the use of the Masonic Hall, also of his large and valuable library, and even a benefit at the theatre on their paying the necessary expenses.” [Register 29 May 1851]

 

“A meeting. . . was held at the White Horse Cellar, Port Adelaide, on Friday, September 2, for the purpose of establishing a library and reading-room. . . About 30 persons were present.” [Advertiser 3 Sep 1859]

 

“Opening of the Port Adelaide Institute. -The opening soiree of subscribers and the public. . . in the large room of the White Horse Cellar, which was densely crowded by the residents of the Port and its vicinity, not less than from 400 to 500 persons being present. . . The Institution had received a good supply of periodicals and magazines through the Adelaide Institute. They had also received a quantity of books. The Government had favorably entertained an application for rooms in the present Custom-House, where, it was to be hoped, they might shortly be domiciled.” [Advertiser 18 Oct 1859]

 

“subscribers to the Port Adelaide Institute held their first annual meeting in the Reading-Room, White Horse Cellar. . . the total number of subscribers had been 129. . . number of books on the shelves 350.” [Advertiser 26 Oct 1860]

 

“The buildings formerly occupied by the Customs Department, the Local Court, and the Police Station, but rendered vacant by the erection of the new buildings, are undergoing a course of alterations to fit them for the occupation of other branches of the public service. The late Custom-House is to be transformed into a Telegraph Office. . . The old Court-House has been handed over to the Port Corporation for a Town Hall — a purpose for which it is well suited. The Port Adelaide Institute will also be allowed the use of those premises for their library and reading-room.” [Register 26 Dec 1860]

 

“letter from the Port Adelaide Institute, asking when it would be convenient for the Council to allow them to occupy the Council room, proposed by the Government, when not otherwise engaged. The Town Clerk was instructed to reply the Corporation had no objection to their coming in, but think the room unsuited for their purposes, and suggested their making further application to the Government for a room for themselves.” [Advertiser 23 Feb 1861]

 

“The annual meeting of the subscribers of the Port Adelaide Institute was held in the Institute Room, North-parade. . . Gratification was expressed at the success attending the opening of the institute during three evenings of each week, for reading, &c, to afford an opportunity to those benefitted by the early closing movement.” [Advertiser 7 Oct 1863]

 

“The Committee of the Port Adelaide Institute have removed their Library and Reading-room to the Town Hall, the Council having granted the use of one of the rooms on the first floor for that purpose.” [Advertiser 28 May 1867]

 

“A meeting of the subscribers and friends of the Port Adelaide Institute was held on Friday evening, January 20, at the new reading rooms, lately the telegraph office, to take into consideration the desirableness of altering the annual payment of £1 to 12s.” [Advertiser 24 Jan 1871]

 

“For some years past this institution has been in a very languishing state, but recently its management has fallen into good hands. . . The library and public reading-room have been removed from the Town Hall, and the offices that were portion of the old Telegraph Station have been fitted up for these purposes. Since the committee reduced the subscription to 12s. per annum they have had a large increase of members, 140 being at the present time. . . the reading-room has been thrown open from 10 o'clock a.m. until 10 p.m. The Committee in making these alterations have had to engage a librarian, who could devote his whole time to the services of the Institute.” [Advertiser 6 May 1871]

 

“Port Adelaide Institute. . . One of the most noticeable features in connection with the Institute is the museum, which now occupies the third room. . . Curios from Europe, Asia; Africa, Fiji, and various parts of Australia, are ranged round the walls; fossils, shells, corals, birds, war weapons, ornaments, articles of dress, insects, reptiles, fish, human skulls, English and foreign coins. . . The collection was initiated by the present Librarian.” [Register 15 Jan 1872]

 

“Mr. David Bower, of Port Adelaide, had generously offered to give the sum of £500 towards the erection of a suitable building for the Port Adelaide Institute, the only condition being that a similar amount was subscribed by other means.” [Register 17 Oct 72]

 

“the old bonded store on the Government Reserve, the site of which has been handed over for the site of the new Port Adelaide Institute, is in course of being pulled down, we presume to make way for the new building. The store hitherto was leased by Captain Simpson, who generously gave up the lease before expiry in order to admit of the erection of the Institute at an early date.” [Advertiser 5 Dec 1873]

 

“The foundation stone of the new building for the Port Adelaide Institute is to be laid with much ceremony this afternoon by Mr. David Bower, whose liberal donation was the means of initiating the movement. A procession is to be formed at the Town Hall, and proceed by way of St Vincent and Mundy streets and the North Parade to the site of the building in the Commercial-road.” [Register 31 Oct 1874]

 

“Port Adelaide Institute. . . has already reached the level of the ground-floor. . . The foundation-stone, which is of Macclesfield marble, is to be placed in the south-east corner. . . immediately above the freestone moulded plinth, and will serve as a rusticated quoin. . . His Worship the Mayor (Mr. J. M. Sinclair) said some of those present would remember a small wooden building which many years ago served for an Institute at Port Adelaide.” [Register 2 Nov 1874]

 

“The elevations are on the Venetian-Italian style. . . There being no amount available for a tower, a lookout has been provided for by constructing a mansard roof over the angle of the Commercial road and Nile-street, so that when entertainments are going on a flag can be hoisted. A niche for a statue is also provided above the doorway into the class-room facing Nile-street.” [Advertiser 24 Oct 1876]

 

“The materials used in the construction of the building are rubble-stone from Dry Creek, bricks and freestone from Teatree Gully, and the dressings are of Portland cement and freestone. The foundation, which is of concrete, is laid on the old level of the Port. There is an entrance from the Commercial-road and two from Nile street.” [Express & Telegraph 24 Oct 1876]

 

“Our first Institute was opened in a small wooden building; we migrated thence to the Town Hall, and subsequently to the Custom-House.” [Register 24 Oct 1876]

 

“The was a large gathering of ladies and gentlemen in the Port Adelaide Institute Lecture-hall on Tuesday afternoon, July 27, to witness the ceremony of unveiling the large oil painting which recently arrived from England, and to celebrate the inauguration of a fine art gallery for Port Adelaide. . . the splendid collection of photographs of Thorwaldsen's sculptures sent to the museum by Christian IX., King of Denmark, were exhibited. . . Mr. Huson's picture, which measures about 6 feet by 4 feet 6 inches, depicts an English country scene. The subject is ‘The Quiet Stream’.” [Advertiser 28 July 1880]

 

“The Museum and Art Gallery connected with the Port Adelaide Institute contains a number of valuable exhibits, and these have lately been increased by several cultural history specimens, old books, curios and pictures. . . The curators have lately added to the permanent exhibits two large paintings of the Port River in the early days.” [Advertiser 31 Oct 1896]

 

“Among several further exhibits which have been secured for the recently established nautical museum at Port Adelaide is a model of the British full-rigged ship Craigendarroch, and the figurehead of the barque Garthneil, one of the last of the British sailers.” [Advertiser 8 Jun 1933]

 

“An old fashioned ship's gun, believed to have belonged to an English frigate. It was dredged from the bottom of the Fort River several years ago, and is now in the Port Adelaide Nautical Museum.” [Advertiser 25 Jul 1933]

 

“Converted into a nautical museum with models, figureheads, photographs, and pictures of ships connected with early Port Adelaide as the main features, the Port Adelaide Museum has been reopened. . . Many interesting nautical .specimens have been acquired for the museum. At a recent auction sale in Adelaide, the bell of the barque County of Merioneth was bought. This ship, which is ending its days at Port Adelaide as a coal hulk, was built at Liverpool in 1880.” [News 9 Aug 1933]

 

“the Art Gallery has just purchased a rare and beautiful old oil painting on wood by an unknown artist, and probably of the 15th century French period. The Director (Mr. McCubbin) is very enthusiastic about the acquisition of their first example of that period, and so well preserved, too. Subject of the painting: St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas. According to Mr. McCubbin, it was in the art gallery at Port Adelaide Institute for many years, but little is known of its Australian history, how it came here, and during recent weeks it has hung on the gallery walls at North terrace, where its striking subject and rich coloring have been much admired.” [Advertiser 21 Oct 1943]

 

“The painting, known as 'St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas,' was purchased by the gallery Board from the Port Adelaide Institute authorities in 1943. It has now been identified by the Courtauld Institute of Art, London, as being by the 'Master of the Uttenheim Altarpiece,' Tyroleset School, and dated about 1460. . . The curator of the institute gallery (Mr. Vernon Smith) said last night that he believed the picture was found in the false bottom of a packing case among a number consigned to a printer who worked in the basement of the institute building, about the end of last century. The printer, E. H. Derrington, gave the picture to the institute. . . the painting was on exhibition at the Port Adelaide Institute's art gallery for many years, but few people knew of its existence. It was lent to the National Gallery in 1943 and subsequently purchased from the institute.” [Advertiser 23 Aug 1950]

 

“Port Adelaide Nautical Museum. . . Space was becoming desperately short and conditions were very over-crowded. . . New exhibits were continually being presented or lent to the museum. The museum is run and maintained by the Port Adelaide Institute. Money for its upkeep is raised by the institute's subscription library. . . The museum, which was the only one of its type in Australia.” [Advertiser 6 Jan 1954]

  

A special place, traditionally used by the indigenous women and children of the Quandamooka Tribe. Brown lake purifies countless visitors every year with the rich Tea-Tree tannins. Listening peacefully the melaleucas hold the Stories, for they bear witness to every journeying soul. This landscape holds all the chapters, age old to the modern day. Through the gift of life our great mother turns another page.

  

Minjerribah - North Stradbroke Island, QLD

1 2 ••• 11 12 14 16 17 ••• 79 80