View allAll Photos Tagged TeaTree
Made with Lemon Scented Eucalyptus and Tea Tree Essential Oils, Australian Green Clay and beautiful Australian Gum Nuts
There have been a number of vessels named Nambucca.
Nambucca 1898 (1898 – 1905). Single screw steamer built of wood by David Drake of Bald Rock, Balmain. She operated out of the Nambucca River until 1902 before being sold to New Zealand operators. She was wrecked in January 1905 whilst on a voyage from Blenheim to Wellington.
Nambucca 1915 . The Nambucca was built by William Lloyd Holmes & Co, McMahons Point, Sydney, NSW, Australia. Owned by Jack Cox, she was used on the Nambucca River as a milk/cream boat to collect milk containers from dairy farmers along the river for delivery to the Nambucca Dairy Co., Ltd., (NORCO) butter factory. She was sold to interests in Sydney and converted into a ferry named Promote. She currently operates on the Hawkesbury River as a tourist ferry. Details are in the following album. Nambucca 1915
Nambucca I (1922 -1934). Twin screw steamer built of wood by Ernest Wright of Tuncurry for the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. She came to grief at the entrance to the Nambucca River in 1931 but was refloated. She was wrecked in May 1934 after running aground. Details are in the following album. Nambucca I
Nambucca II (1936 – 1946). Twin Screw steamer built of wood by Ernest Wright of Tuncurry for the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. A much larger vessel than Nambucca I. In later life she was acquired by the R.A.N. and became HMAS Nambucca and finally USS YDG-5. She was burned to the waterline in Okinawa in 1946. Details are in the following album. Nambucca II
The vessel featured here was known as Nambucca II. The twin screw steamer S.S. Nambucca II was designed by Mr. James Scott, of Sydney, and built at the John Wright and Co. Ltd. shipyards by Ernest Wright, Tuncurry, for the North Coast Steam Navigation Co., Ltd. In later life she became the HMAS Nambucca and finally USS YDG-5.
The launch of the Nambucca II was a major event for the Wright shipyards as there had been no vessels constructed for 14 years. The launching ceremony was performed by Miss Joyce Wright (daughter of the builder) when a traditional bottle of wine, wrapped in Wright tartan, was broken over the bow. Appreciation was expressed of the thoughtfulness of one of the District's pioneers, Mrs. Granny Mayers, who, from the flowers in her garden, made a large, natural wreath. This was hung on the flared bow of the vessel with an appropriate expression of goodwill to all concerned, as well as for the safety of those who sail in the new Nambucca.
She left the slips on the high tide at 4:30pm on Saturday 30th May 1936. Details of this impressive vessel are:
Registration: 30468
Displacement: 489 tons
Length 164 feet overall
Beam 34ft 6in
Depth 9ft 6in.
In design the steamer was considered as modern as a hardwood vessel could be made. She had the flared bows of a latter day motor cruiser, and as clean a run aft as any of the small steam vessels engaged in the coastal trade.
Building operations on the vessel began in May, 1935. More than 400 tons of selected hardwood and 20 tons of steel and iron work were built into the hull. Less than 12 months previously, ironbark, red mahogany, brush box, teatree, and turpentine timbers that formed her frames and scantlings were standing in tree form in the adjacent forests. One superb red mahogany stick more than 100 feet in length was cut at the back of Gloucester and brought to the shipyards. Shelf pieces were cut from that faultless log. Other 90ft ironbark trees were used in the kelsons and rider kelsons. All were fashioned with axe and adze handled by experts, many of whom had not done a day's work at their trade for more than 10 years.
After the launch, Nambucca II was towed to Morts Dock in Sydney for fitting. The finished vessel has fitted with twin engines developing 420 horse power and powerful winch gear for handling heavy timber cargo. She was expected to do a point or two better than 10 knots.
The fate of the S.S. Kinchela now becomes important to the Nambucca II. She was owned by the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. She ran aground on the spit at Port Macquarie, New South Wales in March 1933 and was hulked in 1936. Part of her machinery was removed and fitted in the Nambucca II.
On 6th October 1936 Nambucca II undertook formal time trials. Mr. Ernest Wright, who built the vessel in his shipyards at Tuncurry, witnessed the trials and was pleased with the speed of the vessel, as well as her appearance.
"No wooden steamer built on the coastline in my time was ever fitted out and finished in the fashion of the Nambucca. She will do all that is asked of her." he said.
She traded regularly along the NSW North Coast until late 1939. Nambucca was requisitioned by the RAN on 7th November 1939 and converted to an auxiliary minesweeper, and commissioned on 10th January 1940 as HMAS Nambucca. An image of HMAS Nambucca is available through the Australian War Museum www.awm.gov.au/collection/301068/
She formed part of Mine-sweeping Group 50 based in Sydney, undertaking mine-sweeping activities around Wilson's Promontory and Cape Otway. In 1942 she was stationed in Adelaide and assisted in mine-sweeping activities around Kangaroo Island.
She was transferred to the United States Navy on 19th April 1943. After conversion to a degaussing vessel by Evans Deakin and Company, Brisbane, she was commissioned on 31st July 1944 as USS YDG-5. She was inspected at Okinawa in November 1945 by USS BLACK HAWK (AD-9) which reported that she required major machinery repairs, her main propulsion plant was obsolete, her capabilities as a degaussing barge were limited, her wooden hull was old and in need of recaulking, and she was not safe for sea under her own power. The Board's recommendation to strip locally and dispose of was approved by SecNav on 19 Dec 45. She was declared a total loss as of 30th Dec 1945, decommissioned on 7th February 46, and destroyed by fire on 8th February 1946. This co-incided with the year of the death of Ernest Wright (23rd January 1946) and was indeed a sad end for such a well regarded ship from the Wright Shipyard - only 10 years of age
________________________________
Image Source - Nicholson Family Collection.
All Images in this photostream are Copyright - Great Lakes Manning River Shipping and/or their individual owners as may be stated above and may not be downloaded, reproduced, or used in any way without prior written approval.
GREAT LAKES MANNING RIVER SHIPPING, NSW - Flick Group --> Alphabetical Boat Index --> Boat builders Index --> Tags List
Image replaced December 2018
This image shows Nambucca II prior to compulsory requisition by the Royal Australian Navy in 1939.
There have been a number of vessels named Nambucca.
Nambucca 1898 (1898 – 1905). Single screw steamer built of wood by David Drake of Bald Rock, Balmain. She operated out of the Nambucca River until 1902 before being sold to New Zealand operators. She was wrecked in January 1905 whilst on a voyage from Blenheim to Wellington.
Nambucca 1915 . The Nambucca was built by William Lloyd Holmes & Co, McMahons Point, Sydney, NSW, Australia. Owned by Jack Cox, she was used on the Nambucca River as a milk/cream boat to collect milk containers from dairy farmers along the river for delivery to the Nambucca Dairy Co., Ltd., (NORCO) butter factory. She was sold to interests in Sydney and converted into a ferry named Promote. She currently operates on the Hawkesbury River as a tourist ferry. Details are in the following album. Nambucca 1915
Nambucca I (1922 -1934). Twin screw steamer built of wood by Ernest Wright of Tuncurry for the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. She came to grief at the entrance to the Nambucca River in 1931 but was refloated. She was wrecked in May 1934 after running aground. Details are in the following album. Nambucca I
Nambucca II (1936 – 1946). Twin Screw steamer built of wood by Ernest Wright of Tuncurry for the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. A much larger vessel than Nambucca I. In later life she was acquired by the R.A.N. and became HMAS Nambucca and finally USS YDG-5. She was burned to the waterline in Okinawa in 1946. Details are in the following album. Nambucca II
There were two vessels called Nambucca, both built by Ernest Wright of Tuncurry. To differentiate the two vessels local people called the original Nambucca that was launched in 1922 and wrecked in 1934 as Nambucca I. The vessel featured here was known as Nambucca II. It should be noted that there was an earlier steamer, also known as Nambucca, built by Drake of Balmain in 1898. It was wrecked in New Zealand on 15th January 1902
The twin screw steamer S.S. Nambucca II was designed by Mr. James Scott, of Sydney, and built at the John Wright and Co. Ltd. shipyards by Ernest Wright, Tuncurry, for the North Coast Steam Navigation Co., Ltd. In later life she became the HMAS Nambucca and finally USS YDG-5.
The launch of the Nambucca II was a major event for the Wright shipyards as there had been no vessels constructed for 14 years. The launching ceremony was performed by Miss Joyce Wright (daughter of the builder) when a traditional bottle of wine, wrapped in Wright tartan, was broken over the bow. Appreciation was expressed of the thoughtfulness of one of the District's pioneers, Mrs. Granny Mayers, who, from the flowers in her garden, made a large, natural wreath. This was hung on the flared bow of the vessel with an appropriate expression of goodwill to all concerned, as well as for the safety of those who sail in the new Nambucca.
She left the slips on the high tide at 4:30pm on Saturday 30th May 1936. Details of this impressive vessel are:
Registration: 30468
Displacement: 489 tons
Length: 164 feet overall
Beam: 34ft 6in
Depth: 9ft 6in.
In design the steamer was considered as modern as a hardwood vessel could be made. She had the flared bows of a latter day motor cruiser, and as clean a run aft as any of the small steam vessels engaged in the coastal trade. The rounded stern was also a distinctive feature.
Building operations on the vessel began in May, 1935. More than 400 tons of selected hardwood and 20 tons of steel and iron work were built into the hull. Less than 12 months previously, ironbark, red mahogany, brush box, teatree, and turpentine timbers that formed her frames and scantlings were standing in tree form in the adjacent forests. One superb red mahogany stick more than 100 feet in length was cut at the back of Gloucester and brought to the shipyards. Shelf pieces were cut from that faultless log. Other 90ft ironbark trees were used in the kelsons and rider kelsons. All were fashioned with axe and adze handled by experts, many of whom had not done a day's work at their trade for more than 10 years.
After the launch, Nambucca II was towed to Morts Dock in Sydney for fitting. The finished vessel has fitted with twin engines developing 420 horse power and powerful winch gear for handling heavy timber cargo. She was expected to do a point or two better than 10 knots.
After the launch, the Nambucca II was towed to Mort's Dock in Sydney for fitting. The finished vessel was fitted equipped with twin engines developing 420 horse power in total and powerful winch gear for handling heavy timber cargo. She was expected to do a point or two better than 10 knots.
The fate of the S.S. Kinchela now becomes important to the Nambucca II. She was owned by the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. She ran aground on the spit at Port Macquarie, New South Wales in March 1933 and was hulked in 1936. Part of her machinery was removed and fitted in the Nambucca II.
On 6th October 1936 Nambucca II undertook formal time trials. Mr. Ernest Wright, who built the vessel in his shipyards at Tuncurry, witnessed the trials and was pleased with the speed of the vessel, as well as her appearance.
"No wooden steamer built on the coastline in my time was ever fitted out and finished in the fashion of the Nambucca. She will do all that is asked of her." he said.
She traded regularly along the NSW North Coast until late 1939. Nambucca was requisitioned by the RAN on 7th November 1939 and converted to an auxiliary minesweeper, and commissioned on 10th January 1940 as HMAS Nambucca. An image of HMAS Nambucca is available through the Australian War Museum HMAS NAMBUCCA - Aust War memorial
She formed part of Mine-sweeping Group 50 based in Sydney, undertaking mine-sweeping activities around Wilson's Promontory and Cape Otway. In 1942 she was stationed in Adelaide and assisted in mine-sweeping activities around Kangaroo Island.
She was transferred to the United States Navy on 19th April 1943. After conversion to a degaussing vessel by Evans Deakin and Company, Brisbane, she was commissioned on 31st July 1944 as USS YDG-5. She was inspected at Okinawa in November 1945 by USS BLACK HAWK (AD-9) which reported that she required major machinery repairs, her main propulsion plant was obsolete, her capabilities as a degaussing barge were limited, her wooden hull was old and in need of recaulking, and she was not safe for sea under her own power. The Board's recommendation to strip locally and dispose of was approved by SecNav on 19 Dec 45. She was declared a total loss as of 30th Dec 1945, decommissioned on 7th February 46, and destroyed by fire on 8th February 1946. This coincided with the year of the death of Ernest Wright (23rd January 1946) and was indeed a sad end for such a well regarded ship from the Wright Shipyard - only 10 years of age.
Image Source - Dallas Collection - made available by Graeme Andrews
GREAT LAKES MANNING RIVER SHIPPING, NSW - Flickr Group --> Alphabetical Boat Index --> Boat builders Index --> Tags List
Tolmie rocky clearing in December, 2014. Wildflowers include everlastins, native dogwood, teatree of 3 different species, native pelargoniums..
Xerochrysum bracteatum, commonly known as the golden everlasting or strawflower, is a flowering plant in the family Asteraceae native to Australia. Described by Étienne Pierre Ventenat in 1803, it was known as Helichrysum bracteatum for many years before being transferred to a new genus Xerochrysum in 1990. It grows as a woody or herbaceous perennial or annual shrub up to a metre (3 ft) tall with green or grey leafy foliage. Golden yellow or white flower heads are produced from spring to autumn; their distinctive feature is the papery bracts that resemble petals. The species is widespread, growing in a variety of habitats across the country, from rainforest margins to deserts and subalpine areas.
N883AA
Pilatus PC-12/47E
Teatree
Built 2009
C/N 1177
Arriving from Truckee Tahoe CA which is probably home base, departed there again via Bellingham
Tea Tree Gully Heritage Museum
Former Highercombe Hotel 1854
The Highercombe Hotel was built for publican Thomas Pearce and was designed more for guests than for bar customers with many public meeting, dances and the like held in the main downstairs room.
Re-routing of the main road disadvantaged the Highercombe Hotel which ceased to operate as a hotel in 1877.
Part of the building then became the Tea Tree Gully Post Office with the remainder used as the residence for the head teacher of Tea Tree Gully Primary School and as a classroom for a number of years.
The building was used as a post office and residence until 1934. The Post Office remained in the building until 1963 after which it was used as the Tea Tree Gully Council offices and library.
In 1967 the building was purchased and restored by the National Trust and converted into a Museum.
LOYAL HIGHERCOMBE LODGE
The anniversary dinner of the Loyal Highercombe Lodge of Oddfellows was celebrated at the Highercombe Hotel, on Wednesday, March 12. At 3 o'clock about 60 of the brethren assembled at the above hotel, after
which they marched, preceded by Schrader's band, to the chapel, at Teatree Gulley, where Brother Novis offered up prayer, and delivered a very appropriate address on the advantages resulting from Oddfellowship.
At the termination of the address the brothers again assembled and marched through the township, followed by scores of children, who seemed to enjoy the proceedings amazingly.
Precisely at 6 o'clock the brethren sat down to a first-rate repast prepared by Host Haines, Schrader's band remaining in attendance.
Toast - The health of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and the Host and Hostess were proposed and responded to: after which the meeting separated. Many of the members, however, remained till a late hour enjoying themselves with the good things provided by Host Haines. [Ref: South Australian Advertiser (Adelaide) Friday 14 March 1862]
Very small (10mm) flying beetle. Manuka Chafer Beetle. This one landed on my arm this morning - I never knew such little gems lived in NZ!! It is a native.
It has a very long ovipositor with a white tip and white patches on its legs. Feeding on Lemon-scented Teatree.
Female Gasteruptiid Wasp.
Stages of flower development in Lemon-scented Teatree Leptopspermum petersonii, my garden, Geelong. Insects love these flowers.
Quad English Electric units 2112/2114/2116/2110 pass through Tea Tree with the afternoon intermodal train, 36, northbound towards Burnie.
The setting sun highlights the shadowed Mount Dromedary as the backdrop. 7th April, 2007.
Photo By Steve Bromley
The Institute before Customs House added. [Photo from State Library of SA: B 10740]
Foundation stone 31 Oct 1874 by David Bower, architect Robert George Thomas, opened 23 Oct 1876 on site of earlier bond store. Building sold to Customs when library & nautical museum relocated Jul 1959 to St Vincent Street, transferred to Port Adelaide Corporation 1979, becoming a free library, moving to Church St 1991. First Institute opened Jul 1851 in meeting room of George Coppin’s White Horse Cellars Inn.
“a number of individuals, interested in the mental improvement of the Port, met at the Court-House, to found a Mechanics' Institute and Literary Institution and Library. . . Mr. Coppin had promised them the use of the Masonic Hall, also of his large and valuable library, and even a benefit at the theatre on their paying the necessary expenses.” [Register 29 May 1851]
“A meeting. . . was held at the White Horse Cellar, Port Adelaide, on Friday, September 2, for the purpose of establishing a library and reading-room. . . About 30 persons were present.” [Advertiser 3 Sep 1859]
“Opening of the Port Adelaide Institute. -The opening soiree of subscribers and the public. . . in the large room of the White Horse Cellar, which was densely crowded by the residents of the Port and its vicinity, not less than from 400 to 500 persons being present. . . The Institution had received a good supply of periodicals and magazines through the Adelaide Institute. They had also received a quantity of books. The Government had favorably entertained an application for rooms in the present Custom-House, where, it was to be hoped, they might shortly be domiciled.” [Advertiser 18 Oct 1859]
“subscribers to the Port Adelaide Institute held their first annual meeting in the Reading-Room, White Horse Cellar. . . the total number of subscribers had been 129. . . number of books on the shelves 350.” [Advertiser 26 Oct 1860]
“The buildings formerly occupied by the Customs Department, the Local Court, and the Police Station, but rendered vacant by the erection of the new buildings, are undergoing a course of alterations to fit them for the occupation of other branches of the public service. The late Custom-House is to be transformed into a Telegraph Office. . . The old Court-House has been handed over to the Port Corporation for a Town Hall — a purpose for which it is well suited. The Port Adelaide Institute will also be allowed the use of those premises for their library and reading-room.” [Register 26 Dec 1860]
“letter from the Port Adelaide Institute, asking when it would be convenient for the Council to allow them to occupy the Council room, proposed by the Government, when not otherwise engaged. The Town Clerk was instructed to reply the Corporation had no objection to their coming in, but think the room unsuited for their purposes, and suggested their making further application to the Government for a room for themselves.” [Advertiser 23 Feb 1861]
“The annual meeting of the subscribers of the Port Adelaide Institute was held in the Institute Room, North-parade. . . Gratification was expressed at the success attending the opening of the institute during three evenings of each week, for reading, &c, to afford an opportunity to those benefitted by the early closing movement.” [Advertiser 7 Oct 1863]
“The Committee of the Port Adelaide Institute have removed their Library and Reading-room to the Town Hall, the Council having granted the use of one of the rooms on the first floor for that purpose.” [Advertiser 28 May 1867]
“A meeting of the subscribers and friends of the Port Adelaide Institute was held on Friday evening, January 20, at the new reading rooms, lately the telegraph office, to take into consideration the desirableness of altering the annual payment of £1 to 12s.” [Advertiser 24 Jan 1871]
“For some years past this institution has been in a very languishing state, but recently its management has fallen into good hands. . . The library and public reading-room have been removed from the Town Hall, and the offices that were portion of the old Telegraph Station have been fitted up for these purposes. Since the committee reduced the subscription to 12s. per annum they have had a large increase of members, 140 being at the present time. . . the reading-room has been thrown open from 10 o'clock a.m. until 10 p.m. The Committee in making these alterations have had to engage a librarian, who could devote his whole time to the services of the Institute.” [Advertiser 6 May 1871]
“Port Adelaide Institute. . . One of the most noticeable features in connection with the Institute is the museum, which now occupies the third room. . . Curios from Europe, Asia; Africa, Fiji, and various parts of Australia, are ranged round the walls; fossils, shells, corals, birds, war weapons, ornaments, articles of dress, insects, reptiles, fish, human skulls, English and foreign coins. . . The collection was initiated by the present Librarian.” [Register 15 Jan 1872]
“Mr. David Bower, of Port Adelaide, had generously offered to give the sum of £500 towards the erection of a suitable building for the Port Adelaide Institute, the only condition being that a similar amount was subscribed by other means.” [Register 17 Oct 72]
“the old bonded store on the Government Reserve, the site of which has been handed over for the site of the new Port Adelaide Institute, is in course of being pulled down, we presume to make way for the new building. The store hitherto was leased by Captain Simpson, who generously gave up the lease before expiry in order to admit of the erection of the Institute at an early date.” [Advertiser 5 Dec 1873]
“The foundation stone of the new building for the Port Adelaide Institute is to be laid with much ceremony this afternoon by Mr. David Bower, whose liberal donation was the means of initiating the movement. A procession is to be formed at the Town Hall, and proceed by way of St Vincent and Mundy streets and the North Parade to the site of the building in the Commercial-road.” [Register 31 Oct 1874]
“Port Adelaide Institute. . . has already reached the level of the ground-floor. . . The foundation-stone, which is of Macclesfield marble, is to be placed in the south-east corner. . . immediately above the freestone moulded plinth, and will serve as a rusticated quoin. . . His Worship the Mayor (Mr. J. M. Sinclair) said some of those present would remember a small wooden building which many years ago served for an Institute at Port Adelaide.” [Register 2 Nov 1874]
“The elevations are on the Venetian-Italian style. . . There being no amount available for a tower, a lookout has been provided for by constructing a mansard roof over the angle of the Commercial road and Nile-street, so that when entertainments are going on a flag can be hoisted. A niche for a statue is also provided above the doorway into the class-room facing Nile-street.” [Advertiser 24 Oct 1876]
“The materials used in the construction of the building are rubble-stone from Dry Creek, bricks and freestone from Teatree Gully, and the dressings are of Portland cement and freestone. The foundation, which is of concrete, is laid on the old level of the Port. There is an entrance from the Commercial-road and two from Nile street.” [Express & Telegraph 24 Oct 1876]
“Our first Institute was opened in a small wooden building; we migrated thence to the Town Hall, and subsequently to the Custom-House.” [Register 24 Oct 1876]
“The was a large gathering of ladies and gentlemen in the Port Adelaide Institute Lecture-hall on Tuesday afternoon, July 27, to witness the ceremony of unveiling the large oil painting which recently arrived from England, and to celebrate the inauguration of a fine art gallery for Port Adelaide. . . the splendid collection of photographs of Thorwaldsen's sculptures sent to the museum by Christian IX., King of Denmark, were exhibited. . . Mr. Huson's picture, which measures about 6 feet by 4 feet 6 inches, depicts an English country scene. The subject is ‘The Quiet Stream’.” [Advertiser 28 July 1880]
“The Museum and Art Gallery connected with the Port Adelaide Institute contains a number of valuable exhibits, and these have lately been increased by several cultural history specimens, old books, curios and pictures. . . The curators have lately added to the permanent exhibits two large paintings of the Port River in the early days.” [Advertiser 31 Oct 1896]
“Among several further exhibits which have been secured for the recently established nautical museum at Port Adelaide is a model of the British full-rigged ship Craigendarroch, and the figurehead of the barque Garthneil, one of the last of the British sailers.” [Advertiser 8 Jun 1933]
“An old fashioned ship's gun, believed to have belonged to an English frigate. It was dredged from the bottom of the Fort River several years ago, and is now in the Port Adelaide Nautical Museum.” [Advertiser 25 Jul 1933]
“Converted into a nautical museum with models, figureheads, photographs, and pictures of ships connected with early Port Adelaide as the main features, the Port Adelaide Museum has been reopened. . . Many interesting nautical .specimens have been acquired for the museum. At a recent auction sale in Adelaide, the bell of the barque County of Merioneth was bought. This ship, which is ending its days at Port Adelaide as a coal hulk, was built at Liverpool in 1880.” [News 9 Aug 1933]
“the Art Gallery has just purchased a rare and beautiful old oil painting on wood by an unknown artist, and probably of the 15th century French period. The Director (Mr. McCubbin) is very enthusiastic about the acquisition of their first example of that period, and so well preserved, too. Subject of the painting: St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas. According to Mr. McCubbin, it was in the art gallery at Port Adelaide Institute for many years, but little is known of its Australian history, how it came here, and during recent weeks it has hung on the gallery walls at North terrace, where its striking subject and rich coloring have been much admired.” [Advertiser 21 Oct 1943]
“The painting, known as 'St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas,' was purchased by the gallery Board from the Port Adelaide Institute authorities in 1943. It has now been identified by the Courtauld Institute of Art, London, as being by the 'Master of the Uttenheim Altarpiece,' Tyroleset School, and dated about 1460. . . The curator of the institute gallery (Mr. Vernon Smith) said last night that he believed the picture was found in the false bottom of a packing case among a number consigned to a printer who worked in the basement of the institute building, about the end of last century. The printer, E. H. Derrington, gave the picture to the institute. . . the painting was on exhibition at the Port Adelaide Institute's art gallery for many years, but few people knew of its existence. It was lent to the National Gallery in 1943 and subsequently purchased from the institute.” [Advertiser 23 Aug 1950]
“Port Adelaide Nautical Museum. . . Space was becoming desperately short and conditions were very over-crowded. . . New exhibits were continually being presented or lent to the museum. The museum is run and maintained by the Port Adelaide Institute. Money for its upkeep is raised by the institute's subscription library. . . The museum, which was the only one of its type in Australia.” [Advertiser 6 Jan 1954]
Foundation stone 31 Oct 1874 by David Bower, architect Robert George Thomas, opened 23 Oct 1876 on site of earlier bond store. Building sold to Customs when library & nautical museum relocated Jul 1959 to St Vincent Street, transferred to Port Adelaide Corporation 1979, becoming a free library, moving to Church St 1991. First Institute opened Jul 1851 in meeting room of George Coppin’s White Horse Cellars Inn.
“a number of individuals, interested in the mental improvement of the Port, met at the Court-House, to found a Mechanics' Institute and Literary Institution and Library. . . Mr. Coppin had promised them the use of the Masonic Hall, also of his large and valuable library, and even a benefit at the theatre on their paying the necessary expenses.” [Register 29 May 1851]
“A meeting. . . was held at the White Horse Cellar, Port Adelaide, on Friday, September 2, for the purpose of establishing a library and reading-room. . . About 30 persons were present.” [Advertiser 3 Sep 1859]
“Opening of the Port Adelaide Institute. -The opening soiree of subscribers and the public. . . in the large room of the White Horse Cellar, which was densely crowded by the residents of the Port and its vicinity, not less than from 400 to 500 persons being present. . . The Institution had received a good supply of periodicals and magazines through the Adelaide Institute. They had also received a quantity of books. The Government had favorably entertained an application for rooms in the present Custom-House, where, it was to be hoped, they might shortly be domiciled.” [Advertiser 18 Oct 1859]
“subscribers to the Port Adelaide Institute held their first annual meeting in the Reading-Room, White Horse Cellar. . . the total number of subscribers had been 129. . . number of books on the shelves 350.” [Advertiser 26 Oct 1860]
“The buildings formerly occupied by the Customs Department, the Local Court, and the Police Station, but rendered vacant by the erection of the new buildings, are undergoing a course of alterations to fit them for the occupation of other branches of the public service. The late Custom-House is to be transformed into a Telegraph Office. . . The old Court-House has been handed over to the Port Corporation for a Town Hall — a purpose for which it is well suited. The Port Adelaide Institute will also be allowed the use of those premises for their library and reading-room.” [Register 26 Dec 1860]
“letter from the Port Adelaide Institute, asking when it would be convenient for the Council to allow them to occupy the Council room, proposed by the Government, when not otherwise engaged. The Town Clerk was instructed to reply the Corporation had no objection to their coming in, but think the room unsuited for their purposes, and suggested their making further application to the Government for a room for themselves.” [Advertiser 23 Feb 1861]
“The annual meeting of the subscribers of the Port Adelaide Institute was held in the Institute Room, North-parade. . . Gratification was expressed at the success attending the opening of the institute during three evenings of each week, for reading, &c, to afford an opportunity to those benefitted by the early closing movement.” [Advertiser 7 Oct 1863]
“The Committee of the Port Adelaide Institute have removed their Library and Reading-room to the Town Hall, the Council having granted the use of one of the rooms on the first floor for that purpose.” [Advertiser 28 May 1867]
“A meeting of the subscribers and friends of the Port Adelaide Institute was held on Friday evening, January 20, at the new reading rooms, lately the telegraph office, to take into consideration the desirableness of altering the annual payment of £1 to 12s.” [Advertiser 24 Jan 1871]
“For some years past this institution has been in a very languishing state, but recently its management has fallen into good hands. . . The library and public reading-room have been removed from the Town Hall, and the offices that were portion of the old Telegraph Station have been fitted up for these purposes. Since the committee reduced the subscription to 12s. per annum they have had a large increase of members, 140 being at the present time. . . the reading-room has been thrown open from 10 o'clock a.m. until 10 p.m. The Committee in making these alterations have had to engage a librarian, who could devote his whole time to the services of the Institute.” [Advertiser 6 May 1871]
“Port Adelaide Institute. . . One of the most noticeable features in connection with the Institute is the museum, which now occupies the third room. . . Curios from Europe, Asia; Africa, Fiji, and various parts of Australia, are ranged round the walls; fossils, shells, corals, birds, war weapons, ornaments, articles of dress, insects, reptiles, fish, human skulls, English and foreign coins. . . The collection was initiated by the present Librarian.” [Register 15 Jan 1872]
“Mr. David Bower, of Port Adelaide, had generously offered to give the sum of £500 towards the erection of a suitable building for the Port Adelaide Institute, the only condition being that a similar amount was subscribed by other means.” [Register 17 Oct 72]
“the old bonded store on the Government Reserve, the site of which has been handed over for the site of the new Port Adelaide Institute, is in course of being pulled down, we presume to make way for the new building. The store hitherto was leased by Captain Simpson, who generously gave up the lease before expiry in order to admit of the erection of the Institute at an early date.” [Advertiser 5 Dec 1873]
“The foundation stone of the new building for the Port Adelaide Institute is to be laid with much ceremony this afternoon by Mr. David Bower, whose liberal donation was the means of initiating the movement. A procession is to be formed at the Town Hall, and proceed by way of St Vincent and Mundy streets and the North Parade to the site of the building in the Commercial-road.” [Register 31 Oct 1874]
“Port Adelaide Institute. . . has already reached the level of the ground-floor. . . The foundation-stone, which is of Macclesfield marble, is to be placed in the south-east corner. . . immediately above the freestone moulded plinth, and will serve as a rusticated quoin. . . His Worship the Mayor (Mr. J. M. Sinclair) said some of those present would remember a small wooden building which many years ago served for an Institute at Port Adelaide.” [Register 2 Nov 1874]
“The elevations are on the Venetian-Italian style. . . There being no amount available for a tower, a lookout has been provided for by constructing a mansard roof over the angle of the Commercial road and Nile-street, so that when entertainments are going on a flag can be hoisted. A niche for a statue is also provided above the doorway into the class-room facing Nile-street.” [Advertiser 24 Oct 1876]
“The materials used in the construction of the building are rubble-stone from Dry Creek, bricks and freestone from Teatree Gully, and the dressings are of Portland cement and freestone. The foundation, which is of concrete, is laid on the old level of the Port. There is an entrance from the Commercial-road and two from Nile street.” [Express & Telegraph 24 Oct 1876]
“Our first Institute was opened in a small wooden building; we migrated thence to the Town Hall, and subsequently to the Custom-House.” [Register 24 Oct 1876]
“The was a large gathering of ladies and gentlemen in the Port Adelaide Institute Lecture-hall on Tuesday afternoon, July 27, to witness the ceremony of unveiling the large oil painting which recently arrived from England, and to celebrate the inauguration of a fine art gallery for Port Adelaide. . . the splendid collection of photographs of Thorwaldsen's sculptures sent to the museum by Christian IX., King of Denmark, were exhibited. . . Mr. Huson's picture, which measures about 6 feet by 4 feet 6 inches, depicts an English country scene. The subject is ‘The Quiet Stream’.” [Advertiser 28 July 1880]
“The Museum and Art Gallery connected with the Port Adelaide Institute contains a number of valuable exhibits, and these have lately been increased by several cultural history specimens, old books, curios and pictures. . . The curators have lately added to the permanent exhibits two large paintings of the Port River in the early days.” [Advertiser 31 Oct 1896]
“Among several further exhibits which have been secured for the recently established nautical museum at Port Adelaide is a model of the British full-rigged ship Craigendarroch, and the figurehead of the barque Garthneil, one of the last of the British sailers.” [Advertiser 8 Jun 1933]
“An old fashioned ship's gun, believed to have belonged to an English frigate. It was dredged from the bottom of the Fort River several years ago, and is now in the Port Adelaide Nautical Museum.” [Advertiser 25 Jul 1933]
“Converted into a nautical museum with models, figureheads, photographs, and pictures of ships connected with early Port Adelaide as the main features, the Port Adelaide Museum has been reopened. . . Many interesting nautical .specimens have been acquired for the museum. At a recent auction sale in Adelaide, the bell of the barque County of Merioneth was bought. This ship, which is ending its days at Port Adelaide as a coal hulk, was built at Liverpool in 1880.” [News 9 Aug 1933]
“the Art Gallery has just purchased a rare and beautiful old oil painting on wood by an unknown artist, and probably of the 15th century French period. The Director (Mr. McCubbin) is very enthusiastic about the acquisition of their first example of that period, and so well preserved, too. Subject of the painting: St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas. According to Mr. McCubbin, it was in the art gallery at Port Adelaide Institute for many years, but little is known of its Australian history, how it came here, and during recent weeks it has hung on the gallery walls at North terrace, where its striking subject and rich coloring have been much admired.” [Advertiser 21 Oct 1943]
“The painting, known as 'St. Martin of Tours and St. Nicholas,' was purchased by the gallery Board from the Port Adelaide Institute authorities in 1943. It has now been identified by the Courtauld Institute of Art, London, as being by the 'Master of the Uttenheim Altarpiece,' Tyroleset School, and dated about 1460. . . The curator of the institute gallery (Mr. Vernon Smith) said last night that he believed the picture was found in the false bottom of a packing case among a number consigned to a printer who worked in the basement of the institute building, about the end of last century. The printer, E. H. Derrington, gave the picture to the institute. . . the painting was on exhibition at the Port Adelaide Institute's art gallery for many years, but few people knew of its existence. It was lent to the National Gallery in 1943 and subsequently purchased from the institute.” [Advertiser 23 Aug 1950]
“Port Adelaide Nautical Museum. . . Space was becoming desperately short and conditions were very over-crowded. . . New exhibits were continually being presented or lent to the museum. The museum is run and maintained by the Port Adelaide Institute. Money for its upkeep is raised by the institute's subscription library. . . The museum, which was the only one of its type in Australia.” [Advertiser 6 Jan 1954]
Tolmie rocky clearing in December, 2014. Wildflowers include everlastins, native dogwood, teatree of 3 different species, native pelargoniums..
Native dogwood (Cassinia aculeata) - a fast-growing, hardy, narrow-leafed, open shrub grows to 4 m high.It produces a striking dense, domed spray of white flowers in summer..
Cassinia has aromatic foliage and is frequently used as a specimen plant in native gardens..
It is also often used for dried flower arrangements..
The seeds are wind dispersed and it is often a pioneer species after fire or other disturbance.
This is TGR's own take on the Back Tea Tree Road photo spot:
XA2+Y5+Y? with empty QF coal wagons, loaded bogie opens, a KFD with empty cement containers, bogie opens for superphosphate, six four-wheel opens and a DB van on an 800 ton northbound freight on a murky day in December 1968.
The image is complete with vignetting from TGR's own darkroom caused by using an enlarger lens of the wrong focal length for the size of negative...
View On Black, or View my most interesting stream ON BLACK!
The air was clean in the early morning, but the clouds were still too thick to see sunlight. We actually went to the same place again in the following morning in hopes to see sunrise, but the air quality got worse the next day. Furthermore, the tea trees in the foreground was harvested between our visits. Therefore, this shot is the best one I can get from the trip! lol...
I really want to thank my friend Miss W.R. Chen who shares the shooting spot with my sister and me to capture the early morning light of beautiful Cilin Pond during our stay in the small township, Lugu, of central Taiwan.
I learn a rough idea of how Dongding Wulong Tea is made during our 3-day trip. Dongding Mountain in Lugu Township is located at the elevation of 600 meters to 1200 meters and the Wulong Tea made within this area is named after its location "Dongding" due to its exclusivity, that is the special weather with cloud and mist all year round and rich soil in this area, If you are interested to know more about central Taiwan, welcome to check out the official Lugu Township website!
p.s. 歡迎點閱我最新的文章「也無風雨也無晴」,或是我的部落格 光影、色彩、我,關於攝影二三事!
___________________________________________________
~麒麟潭, 南投鹿谷, 臺灣~
Cilin Pond, Lugu, Nantou, Taiwan
- manually blended with two bracketing exposures
- ISO 200, F16, 13 & 30 sec, 16mm
- Canon 5D Mark II with EF 16-35mm f/2.8 L lens
- Sunrise @5.40am / Shot @ 5.32am
© copyright 2011 Hsiang Wei Chao
.|| This image may not be used for any purposes without the expressed, written permission of the photographer
Sturt’s original house restored.
First red brick house built 1840, with nursery wing added a year later, located on 390 acres taken up by Charles Sturt in the area known as Reedbeds. The home was surrounded by a large garden and an orchard of grapes, pear, plum & apple trees. The family returned to England 1853 for sons’ education and because of Sturt’s ill-health. The property was leased until sold Nov 1877 when the estate was subdivided for a township named “Grange”. Since 1908 there were calls for the house to be saved from demolition but it was not until 1956 that it was purchased by Henley & Grange Council. After restoration, Sturt’s grandchildren donated furniture, artworks, documents & artefacts and the Museum opened 1966. A detached cottage, the nursery wing, demolished by the last private owner, was rebuilt when house restored and is now used as exhibition gallery.
Charles Sturt was born 28 Apr 1795 in Bengal, India to British parents, schooled in England, enlisted in 39th Regiment, served in Pyrenees, Canada, France & Ireland. He arrived Sydney 1827 escorting convicts on “Mariner”. In Nov 1928 with Hamilton Hume, Sturt explored & named Darling River. A year later he led another expedition down the Murrumbidgee, discovering the Murray and, with 7 men in a small boat, travelled to its mouth, on their return rowing against the current. He was appointed Commandant of Norfolk Island garrison, revisiting England he published accounts of his journeys and married Charlotte Greene 1834. Returning to Sydney 1835, he settled at Mittagong. In 1838 he overlanded cattle to South Australia and decided to settle in that colony on land at the Reedbeds. Appointed Assistant Commissioner of Lands 1839, Registrar General 1841, set out on what was his final expedition north to the centre of the continent 1844.
“Captain Sturt, accompanied by Mr. Giles Strangways, may be expected overland in about ten days with a herd of fine cattle.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 16 Jun 1838]
“Captain Sturt left Adelaide on Sunday morning for Encounter Bay, to join the barque Hope for Sydney. We believe it is the Captain's intention to settle in our colony.” [Southern Australian 20 Oct 1838]
“the safe arrival of Capt. Sturt in our colony. . . He has brought overland from the Hume River between 400 and 500 head of cattle, and he performed the journey in little more than three months. Capt. Sturt is accompanied by Capt. Finniss, Mr M'Leod, Mr G. Strangways, and eleven men.” [South Australian Record 13 Feb 1839]
“We have great pleasure in announcing the arrival last night in the John Pirie of Captain Sturt, the new Surveyor-general, with his lady and family.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 30 Mar 1839]
“His Excellency the Resident Commissioner has appointed Charles Sturt, Esq., late Surveyor-General, to be Assistant Commissioner.” [Register 5 Oct 1839]
“the Governor has been pleased to appoint the Hon. Charles Sturt, Assistant Commissioner, to the office of Registrar General.” [South Australian 5 Nov 1841]
“Hunting.— The hounds meet to-morrow (Saturday), by appointment, at Grange, the residence of Captain Sturt.” [Southern Australian 27 May 1842]
“Hon. Charles Sturt, Registrar General, to be Colonial Treasurer of the Province of South Australia.” [South Australian 6 Mar 1846]
“His Excellency has accepted the resignation of Capt. Sturt as Colonial Secretary.” [Register 5 Jan 1852]
“On December 7, 1852, Sturt wrote to his son at Rugby:— ‘The Grange garden looks tolerably well, and there is a great show of grapes, pears, and apples. Apples this year have failed in consequence of a small fly getting into the blossom. Our dairy now consists of 14 quiet cows, which yield a good deal of butter, but really the annoyance of the servants may drive us to give up the pleasure of looking after these animals. We have 60 goslings and 23 young turkeys and a lot of young guinea fowls, as wild as partridges, but I have been unsuccessful with the ducks. Our bees get on famously. I am very fond of them. The boys have taken lots of fish in the creek this season.’" [Register 13 Apr 1912]
“The Henry Tanner cleared out for England yesterday, March 17th, with the Hon. Captain Sturt, our late Colonial Secretary, his family, and many other cabin passengers on board.” [Adelaide Times 18 Mar 1853]
“Death of. . . Captain Charles Sturt, one of the earliest and most distinguished of Australian explorers. . . on the 16th June, at the deceased gentleman's residence, Clarence-square, Cheltenham. . . nearly blind from ophthalmia — a malady which he had the misfortune to contract during his last exploring expedition. . . belonged to a very old Dorsetshire family, arrived in the colony of New South Wales in about the year 1825 as a captain in H.M.'s 39th Foot.” [Evening Journal 10 Aug 1869]
“Tenders are invited . . . for the Purchase of the Grange Estate, Reedbeds, adjoining Henley Beach, containing about 389 Acres.” [Evening Journal 28 Sep 1877 advert]
“the Grange. This is an estate of 380 acres, which was selected by Captain Sturt after his return from his exploring expedition in 1845 [sic]. Captain Sturt having as extensive a practical knowledge as most men of the land around Adelaide, and this estate having been selected by him for his own personal residence. . . The soil appears to be of fair quality, capable of growing lucern, fruit trees, and vegetables. . . There are fine gum-trees on the estate, and a perennial stream winds its way through the grounds, with quantities of teatree growing on its banks.” [Express & Telegraph 22 Mar 1878]
“The Grange Township. The 380 acres comprising the Grange Estate, and situated between the Semaphore and Henley Beach, is, under the direction of three enterprising Adelaide gentlemen, being rapidly transformed into what must ere long become an attractive seaside watering-place. . . The land was formerly occupied by Captain Sturt, the explorer, who selected it as a preliminary section under the land order to which he was entitled. The house occupied by the gallant explorer still remains, and is being renovated and extended by the new proprietors with a view to rendering it suitable for a temporary hotel.” [Register 14 Sep 1878]
“Mrs. M. Howard, of the Grange, gave a private continental at her residence on Saturday evening. Over 200 guests were present. The Old Grange House which was originally built for Governor [sic] Sturt and occupied for many years by David Murray, is surrounded by lovely lawns, and the grounds being decorated with hundreds of Japanese lanterns, presented a scene suggestive of fairyland. . . For the night the mosquitoes held off.” [Critic, Adelaide 14 Feb 1906]
“Sturt's home. . . The residence of the famous explorer is one of the few remaining Australian historical relics. The recent owner has done much to beautify its surroundings. . . I would suggest to the Government that they should at once purchase this interesting property to prevent its demolition, and convert it into a teahouse and gardens for the public use. Or it might be possible to find a generous spirited patriot willing to make the freehold a gift to the community under certain conditions.” [Register 20 Jun 1908 Letter to Editor]
“the Grange, the homestead owned by Capt. Sturt. . . which is now occupied by Mr. J. A. Hardy, is a short distance from the Grange Jetty. The late Capt. Dashwood, the father of the present Crown Solicitor (Mr. C. J. Dashwood, K.C.), and the late Sir Richard Chaffey Baker lived in the historic home. Capt. Dashwood was Collector of Customs at the time.” [Observer 20 Apr 1912]
“The recent demolition of the cottage at Thebarton occupied by Colonel William Light, founder of Adelaide and first Surveyor-General, created dismay among students of early South Australian history. . . thoughts have now turned to the historic home of Capt. Charles Sturt (discoverer of the River Murray), at Grange, one of Adelaide's most favored seaside resorts. That house has been in respectable occupation ever since its erection by Sturt. . . Charles Sturt resided at the Grange until March 17, 1853, when he went to England on a life pension of £600 a year, granted by the South Australian Government.” [The Mail 22 Jan 1927]
“The necessity of preserving the historic home of Captain Sturt at the Grange, known as ‘Grange House’, was brought before the Henley and Grange Town Council. . . The property consists of the large house and 7½ acres of land. The alderman stated that the property could be bought on terms for £3,000.” [Advertiser 9 Apr 1929]
“the historic home of Capt Sturt at Grange. . . The home is vacant, and vandals have made their unwelcome appearance on the property. When Mr. Mitton visited it recently he found that some of the windows had been broken. . . It has been suggested that the Tourist Bureau could advertise trips by charabanc through delightful scenery to the spot. Morning and afternoon tea could be provided.” [News 28 May 1930]
“Captain Sturt's house at the Grange was one of the first built in SA, erected about 1840. The building, which faces Mount Lofty, had an attractive rose garden in front. The explorer had a penchant for flowers and animals. . . North of Sturt's house is a cottage of three rooms. It is said that Sturt had the cottage built first and moved into the more commodious premises later, using the former as a storeroom. A number of horses that he used on expeditions ended their days on the homestead at the Grange. Particularly attracted was he to a roan horse, on which he used to ride to and from the city.” [Chronicle 31 Aug 1944]
“When the old Grange Railway Company decided to manage its own train service [c1883]. . . it was faced with the problem of finding house room for its staff. Only vacant house in the district happened to be Sturt's, known as the 'old Grange mansion', which was delapidated [sic] and a shelter for swagmen. There being no option, the two enginedrivers — the late Tom Fanning and John Chapman — reluctantly decided to make the best of a bad job by taking over the old home, and .sharing it. . . The Sturt bedrooms included a dressing room of equal size which modem owners must have regarded as so much waste space, as when I visited the place 30 years later they had been converted into separate compartments by bricking up the doorways.” [Advertiser 11 Nov 1948]
“Mr. Anthony Sturt visited the old home of his famous great grandfather, explorer Charles Sturt, at Grange today.” [News 1 Mar 1951]
“Mr. Justice Cooper lived in Capt. Sturt's home at the Grange after the family went to England. Judge Cooper had planted the palms in front of the house. Mr. Berry's father, who was Capt. Sturt's gardener, used to play with the Sturt children at a small stream on the west side of the house. . . Mr. Berry saw the Sturts leave the old home in a bullock dray over the sandhills to Port Adelaide.” [Chronicle 2 Jul 1953]
“Capt. Sturt's former home Grange, which, because of its location, condition and surrounding land, the committee did not recommend should be preserved. . . The surrounding land was lowlying and possibly liable to flooding.” [Advertiser 13 Aug 1953]
Sturt’s original house & rebuilt nursery wing.
First red brick house built 1840, with nursery wing added a year later, located on 390 acres taken up by Charles Sturt in the area known as Reedbeds. The home was surrounded by a large garden and an orchard of grapes, pear, plum & apple trees. The family returned to England 1853 for sons’ education and because of Sturt’s ill-health. The property was leased until sold Nov 1877 when the estate was subdivided for a township named “Grange”. Since 1908 there were calls for the house to be saved from demolition but it was not until 1956 that it was purchased by Henley & Grange Council. After restoration, Sturt’s grandchildren donated furniture, artworks, documents & artefacts and the Museum opened 1966. A detached cottage, the nursery wing, demolished by the last private owner, was rebuilt when house restored and is now used as exhibition gallery.
Charles Sturt was born 28 Apr 1795 in Bengal, India to British parents, schooled in England, enlisted in 39th Regiment, served in Pyrenees, Canada, France & Ireland. He arrived Sydney 1827 escorting convicts on “Mariner”. In Nov 1928 with Hamilton Hume, Sturt explored & named Darling River. A year later he led another expedition down the Murrumbidgee, discovering the Murray and, with 7 men in a small boat, travelled to its mouth, on their return rowing against the current. He was appointed Commandant of Norfolk Island garrison, revisiting England he published accounts of his journeys and married Charlotte Greene 1834. Returning to Sydney 1835, he settled at Mittagong. In 1838 he overlanded cattle to South Australia and decided to settle in that colony on land at the Reedbeds. Appointed Assistant Commissioner of Lands 1839, Registrar General 1841, set out on what was his final expedition north to the centre of the continent 1844.
“Captain Sturt, accompanied by Mr. Giles Strangways, may be expected overland in about ten days with a herd of fine cattle.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 16 Jun 1838]
“Captain Sturt left Adelaide on Sunday morning for Encounter Bay, to join the barque Hope for Sydney. We believe it is the Captain's intention to settle in our colony.” [Southern Australian 20 Oct 1838]
“the safe arrival of Capt. Sturt in our colony. . . He has brought overland from the Hume River between 400 and 500 head of cattle, and he performed the journey in little more than three months. Capt. Sturt is accompanied by Capt. Finniss, Mr M'Leod, Mr G. Strangways, and eleven men.” [South Australian Record 13 Feb 1839]
“We have great pleasure in announcing the arrival last night in the John Pirie of Captain Sturt, the new Surveyor-general, with his lady and family.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 30 Mar 1839]
“His Excellency the Resident Commissioner has appointed Charles Sturt, Esq., late Surveyor-General, to be Assistant Commissioner.” [Register 5 Oct 1839]
“the Governor has been pleased to appoint the Hon. Charles Sturt, Assistant Commissioner, to the office of Registrar General.” [South Australian 5 Nov 1841]
“Hunting.— The hounds meet to-morrow (Saturday), by appointment, at Grange, the residence of Captain Sturt.” [Southern Australian 27 May 1842]
“Hon. Charles Sturt, Registrar General, to be Colonial Treasurer of the Province of South Australia.” [South Australian 6 Mar 1846]
“His Excellency has accepted the resignation of Capt. Sturt as Colonial Secretary.” [Register 5 Jan 1852]
“On December 7, 1852, Sturt wrote to his son at Rugby:— ‘The Grange garden looks tolerably well, and there is a great show of grapes, pears, and apples. Apples this year have failed in consequence of a small fly getting into the blossom. Our dairy now consists of 14 quiet cows, which yield a good deal of butter, but really the annoyance of the servants may drive us to give up the pleasure of looking after these animals. We have 60 goslings and 23 young turkeys and a lot of young guinea fowls, as wild as partridges, but I have been unsuccessful with the ducks. Our bees get on famously. I am very fond of them. The boys have taken lots of fish in the creek this season.’" [Register 13 Apr 1912]
“The Henry Tanner cleared out for England yesterday, March 17th, with the Hon. Captain Sturt, our late Colonial Secretary, his family, and many other cabin passengers on board.” [Adelaide Times 18 Mar 1853]
“Death of. . . Captain Charles Sturt, one of the earliest and most distinguished of Australian explorers. . . on the 16th June, at the deceased gentleman's residence, Clarence-square, Cheltenham. . . nearly blind from ophthalmia — a malady which he had the misfortune to contract during his last exploring expedition. . . belonged to a very old Dorsetshire family, arrived in the colony of New South Wales in about the year 1825 as a captain in H.M.'s 39th Foot.” [Evening Journal 10 Aug 1869]
“Tenders are invited . . . for the Purchase of the Grange Estate, Reedbeds, adjoining Henley Beach, containing about 389 Acres.” [Evening Journal 28 Sep 1877 advert]
“the Grange. This is an estate of 380 acres, which was selected by Captain Sturt after his return from his exploring expedition in 1845 [sic]. Captain Sturt having as extensive a practical knowledge as most men of the land around Adelaide, and this estate having been selected by him for his own personal residence. . . The soil appears to be of fair quality, capable of growing lucern, fruit trees, and vegetables. . . There are fine gum-trees on the estate, and a perennial stream winds its way through the grounds, with quantities of teatree growing on its banks.” [Express & Telegraph 22 Mar 1878]
“The Grange Township. The 380 acres comprising the Grange Estate, and situated between the Semaphore and Henley Beach, is, under the direction of three enterprising Adelaide gentlemen, being rapidly transformed into what must ere long become an attractive seaside watering-place. . . The land was formerly occupied by Captain Sturt, the explorer, who selected it as a preliminary section under the land order to which he was entitled. The house occupied by the gallant explorer still remains, and is being renovated and extended by the new proprietors with a view to rendering it suitable for a temporary hotel.” [Register 14 Sep 1878]
“Mrs. M. Howard, of the Grange, gave a private continental at her residence on Saturday evening. Over 200 guests were present. The Old Grange House which was originally built for Governor [sic] Sturt and occupied for many years by David Murray, is surrounded by lovely lawns, and the grounds being decorated with hundreds of Japanese lanterns, presented a scene suggestive of fairyland. . . For the night the mosquitoes held off.” [Critic, Adelaide 14 Feb 1906]
“Sturt's home. . . The residence of the famous explorer is one of the few remaining Australian historical relics. The recent owner has done much to beautify its surroundings. . . I would suggest to the Government that they should at once purchase this interesting property to prevent its demolition, and convert it into a teahouse and gardens for the public use. Or it might be possible to find a generous spirited patriot willing to make the freehold a gift to the community under certain conditions.” [Register 20 Jun 1908 Letter to Editor]
“the Grange, the homestead owned by Capt. Sturt. . . which is now occupied by Mr. J. A. Hardy, is a short distance from the Grange Jetty. The late Capt. Dashwood, the father of the present Crown Solicitor (Mr. C. J. Dashwood, K.C.), and the late Sir Richard Chaffey Baker lived in the historic home. Capt. Dashwood was Collector of Customs at the time.” [Observer 20 Apr 1912]
“The recent demolition of the cottage at Thebarton occupied by Colonel William Light, founder of Adelaide and first Surveyor-General, created dismay among students of early South Australian history. . . thoughts have now turned to the historic home of Capt. Charles Sturt (discoverer of the River Murray), at Grange, one of Adelaide's most favored seaside resorts. That house has been in respectable occupation ever since its erection by Sturt. . . Charles Sturt resided at the Grange until March 17, 1853, when he went to England on a life pension of £600 a year, granted by the South Australian Government.” [The Mail 22 Jan 1927]
“The necessity of preserving the historic home of Captain Sturt at the Grange, known as ‘Grange House’, was brought before the Henley and Grange Town Council. . . The property consists of the large house and 7½ acres of land. The alderman stated that the property could be bought on terms for £3,000.” [Advertiser 9 Apr 1929]
“the historic home of Capt Sturt at Grange. . . The home is vacant, and vandals have made their unwelcome appearance on the property. When Mr. Mitton visited it recently he found that some of the windows had been broken. . . It has been suggested that the Tourist Bureau could advertise trips by charabanc through delightful scenery to the spot. Morning and afternoon tea could be provided.” [News 28 May 1930]
“Captain Sturt's house at the Grange was one of the first built in SA, erected about 1840. The building, which faces Mount Lofty, had an attractive rose garden in front. The explorer had a penchant for flowers and animals. . . North of Sturt's house is a cottage of three rooms. It is said that Sturt had the cottage built first and moved into the more commodious premises later, using the former as a storeroom. A number of horses that he used on expeditions ended their days on the homestead at the Grange. Particularly attracted was he to a roan horse, on which he used to ride to and from the city.” [Chronicle 31 Aug 1944]
“When the old Grange Railway Company decided to manage its own train service [c1883]. . . it was faced with the problem of finding house room for its staff. Only vacant house in the district happened to be Sturt's, known as the 'old Grange mansion', which was delapidated [sic] and a shelter for swagmen. There being no option, the two enginedrivers — the late Tom Fanning and John Chapman — reluctantly decided to make the best of a bad job by taking over the old home, and .sharing it. . . The Sturt bedrooms included a dressing room of equal size which modem owners must have regarded as so much waste space, as when I visited the place 30 years later they had been converted into separate compartments by bricking up the doorways.” [Advertiser 11 Nov 1948]
“Mr. Anthony Sturt visited the old home of his famous great grandfather, explorer Charles Sturt, at Grange today.” [News 1 Mar 1951]
“Mr. Justice Cooper lived in Capt. Sturt's home at the Grange after the family went to England. Judge Cooper had planted the palms in front of the house. Mr. Berry's father, who was Capt. Sturt's gardener, used to play with the Sturt children at a small stream on the west side of the house. . . Mr. Berry saw the Sturts leave the old home in a bullock dray over the sandhills to Port Adelaide.” [Chronicle 2 Jul 1953]
“Capt. Sturt's former home Grange, which, because of its location, condition and surrounding land, the committee did not recommend should be preserved. . . The surrounding land was lowlying and possibly liable to flooding.” [Advertiser 13 Aug 1953]
In 1883, the railway engineer Henry Deane collected this plant in northern Sydney. It then sat in the New South Wales Herbarium query box for over 100 years. Before being described by science in 1989.
In my years of trying to find rare and threatened species, I can't recall it being as easy as it was this morning to find this myrtle.
Quite common in a small area, and delight to find. Pretty flowers and interesting stringy type bark.
Growing near Middle Harbour creek in the upper reaches of the valley.Listed as "vulnerable" to become endangered. Threatened by the encroaching weed Aristea ecklonii. Deane's tea-tree is a rare species.
This porch was not part of Sturt’s original house, but added by a later owner.
First red brick house built 1840, with nursery wing added a year later, located on 390 acres taken up by Charles Sturt in the area known as Reedbeds. The home was surrounded by a large garden and an orchard of grapes, pear, plum & apple trees. The family returned to England 1853 for sons’ education and because of Sturt’s ill-health. The property was leased until sold Nov 1877 when the estate was subdivided for a township named “Grange”. Since 1908 there were calls for the house to be saved from demolition but it was not until 1956 that it was purchased by Henley & Grange Council. After restoration, Sturt’s grandchildren donated furniture, artworks, documents & artefacts and the Museum opened 1966. A detached cottage, the nursery wing, demolished by the last private owner, was rebuilt when house restored and is now used as exhibition gallery.
Charles Sturt was born 28 Apr 1795 in Bengal, India to British parents, schooled in England, enlisted in 39th Regiment, served in Pyrenees, Canada, France & Ireland. He arrived Sydney 1827 escorting convicts on “Mariner”. In Nov 1928 with Hamilton Hume, Sturt explored & named Darling River. A year later he led another expedition down the Murrumbidgee, discovering the Murray and, with 7 men in a small boat, travelled to its mouth, on their return rowing against the current. He was appointed Commandant of Norfolk Island garrison, revisiting England he published accounts of his journeys and married Charlotte Greene 1834. Returning to Sydney 1835, he settled at Mittagong. In 1838 he overlanded cattle to South Australia and decided to settle in that colony on land at the Reedbeds. Appointed Assistant Commissioner of Lands 1839, Registrar General 1841, set out on what was his final expedition north to the centre of the continent 1844.
“Captain Sturt, accompanied by Mr. Giles Strangways, may be expected overland in about ten days with a herd of fine cattle.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 16 Jun 1838]
“Captain Sturt left Adelaide on Sunday morning for Encounter Bay, to join the barque Hope for Sydney. We believe it is the Captain's intention to settle in our colony.” [Southern Australian 20 Oct 1838]
“the safe arrival of Capt. Sturt in our colony. . . He has brought overland from the Hume River between 400 and 500 head of cattle, and he performed the journey in little more than three months. Capt. Sturt is accompanied by Capt. Finniss, Mr M'Leod, Mr G. Strangways, and eleven men.” [South Australian Record 13 Feb 1839]
“We have great pleasure in announcing the arrival last night in the John Pirie of Captain Sturt, the new Surveyor-general, with his lady and family.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 30 Mar 1839]
“His Excellency the Resident Commissioner has appointed Charles Sturt, Esq., late Surveyor-General, to be Assistant Commissioner.” [Register 5 Oct 1839]
“the Governor has been pleased to appoint the Hon. Charles Sturt, Assistant Commissioner, to the office of Registrar General.” [South Australian 5 Nov 1841]
“Hunting.— The hounds meet to-morrow (Saturday), by appointment, at Grange, the residence of Captain Sturt.” [Southern Australian 27 May 1842]
“Hon. Charles Sturt, Registrar General, to be Colonial Treasurer of the Province of South Australia.” [South Australian 6 Mar 1846]
“His Excellency has accepted the resignation of Capt. Sturt as Colonial Secretary.” [Register 5 Jan 1852]
“On December 7, 1852, Sturt wrote to his son at Rugby:— ‘The Grange garden looks tolerably well, and there is a great show of grapes, pears, and apples. Apples this year have failed in consequence of a small fly getting into the blossom. Our dairy now consists of 14 quiet cows, which yield a good deal of butter, but really the annoyance of the servants may drive us to give up the pleasure of looking after these animals. We have 60 goslings and 23 young turkeys and a lot of young guinea fowls, as wild as partridges, but I have been unsuccessful with the ducks. Our bees get on famously. I am very fond of them. The boys have taken lots of fish in the creek this season.’" [Register 13 Apr 1912]
“The Henry Tanner cleared out for England yesterday, March 17th, with the Hon. Captain Sturt, our late Colonial Secretary, his family, and many other cabin passengers on board.” [Adelaide Times 18 Mar 1853]
“Death of. . . Captain Charles Sturt, one of the earliest and most distinguished of Australian explorers. . . on the 16th June, at the deceased gentleman's residence, Clarence-square, Cheltenham. . . nearly blind from ophthalmia — a malady which he had the misfortune to contract during his last exploring expedition. . . belonged to a very old Dorsetshire family, arrived in the colony of New South Wales in about the year 1825 as a captain in H.M.'s 39th Foot.” [Evening Journal 10 Aug 1869]
“Tenders are invited . . . for the Purchase of the Grange Estate, Reedbeds, adjoining Henley Beach, containing about 389 Acres.” [Evening Journal 28 Sep 1877 advert]
“the Grange. This is an estate of 380 acres, which was selected by Captain Sturt after his return from his exploring expedition in 1845 [sic]. Captain Sturt having as extensive a practical knowledge as most men of the land around Adelaide, and this estate having been selected by him for his own personal residence. . . The soil appears to be of fair quality, capable of growing lucern, fruit trees, and vegetables. . . There are fine gum-trees on the estate, and a perennial stream winds its way through the grounds, with quantities of teatree growing on its banks.” [Express & Telegraph 22 Mar 1878]
“The Grange Township. The 380 acres comprising the Grange Estate, and situated between the Semaphore and Henley Beach, is, under the direction of three enterprising Adelaide gentlemen, being rapidly transformed into what must ere long become an attractive seaside watering-place. . . The land was formerly occupied by Captain Sturt, the explorer, who selected it as a preliminary section under the land order to which he was entitled. The house occupied by the gallant explorer still remains, and is being renovated and extended by the new proprietors with a view to rendering it suitable for a temporary hotel.” [Register 14 Sep 1878]
“Mrs. M. Howard, of the Grange, gave a private continental at her residence on Saturday evening. Over 200 guests were present. The Old Grange House which was originally built for Governor [sic] Sturt and occupied for many years by David Murray, is surrounded by lovely lawns, and the grounds being decorated with hundreds of Japanese lanterns, presented a scene suggestive of fairyland. . . For the night the mosquitoes held off.” [Critic, Adelaide 14 Feb 1906]
“Sturt's home. . . The residence of the famous explorer is one of the few remaining Australian historical relics. The recent owner has done much to beautify its surroundings. . . I would suggest to the Government that they should at once purchase this interesting property to prevent its demolition, and convert it into a teahouse and gardens for the public use. Or it might be possible to find a generous spirited patriot willing to make the freehold a gift to the community under certain conditions.” [Register 20 Jun 1908 Letter to Editor]
“the Grange, the homestead owned by Capt. Sturt. . . which is now occupied by Mr. J. A. Hardy, is a short distance from the Grange Jetty. The late Capt. Dashwood, the father of the present Crown Solicitor (Mr. C. J. Dashwood, K.C.), and the late Sir Richard Chaffey Baker lived in the historic home. Capt. Dashwood was Collector of Customs at the time.” [Observer 20 Apr 1912]
“The recent demolition of the cottage at Thebarton occupied by Colonel William Light, founder of Adelaide and first Surveyor-General, created dismay among students of early South Australian history. . . thoughts have now turned to the historic home of Capt. Charles Sturt (discoverer of the River Murray), at Grange, one of Adelaide's most favored seaside resorts. That house has been in respectable occupation ever since its erection by Sturt. . . Charles Sturt resided at the Grange until March 17, 1853, when he went to England on a life pension of £600 a year, granted by the South Australian Government.” [The Mail 22 Jan 1927]
“The necessity of preserving the historic home of Captain Sturt at the Grange, known as ‘Grange House’, was brought before the Henley and Grange Town Council. . . The property consists of the large house and 7½ acres of land. The alderman stated that the property could be bought on terms for £3,000.” [Advertiser 9 Apr 1929]
“the historic home of Capt Sturt at Grange. . . The home is vacant, and vandals have made their unwelcome appearance on the property. When Mr. Mitton visited it recently he found that some of the windows had been broken. . . It has been suggested that the Tourist Bureau could advertise trips by charabanc through delightful scenery to the spot. Morning and afternoon tea could be provided.” [News 28 May 1930]
“Captain Sturt's house at the Grange was one of the first built in SA, erected about 1840. The building, which faces Mount Lofty, had an attractive rose garden in front. The explorer had a penchant for flowers and animals. . . North of Sturt's house is a cottage of three rooms. It is said that Sturt had the cottage built first and moved into the more commodious premises later, using the former as a storeroom. A number of horses that he used on expeditions ended their days on the homestead at the Grange. Particularly attracted was he to a roan horse, on which he used to ride to and from the city.” [Chronicle 31 Aug 1944]
“When the old Grange Railway Company decided to manage its own train service [c1883]. . . it was faced with the problem of finding house room for its staff. Only vacant house in the district happened to be Sturt's, known as the 'old Grange mansion', which was delapidated [sic] and a shelter for swagmen. There being no option, the two enginedrivers — the late Tom Fanning and John Chapman — reluctantly decided to make the best of a bad job by taking over the old home, and .sharing it. . . The Sturt bedrooms included a dressing room of equal size which modem owners must have regarded as so much waste space, as when I visited the place 30 years later they had been converted into separate compartments by bricking up the doorways.” [Advertiser 11 Nov 1948]
“Mr. Anthony Sturt visited the old home of his famous great grandfather, explorer Charles Sturt, at Grange today.” [News 1 Mar 1951]
“Mr. Justice Cooper lived in Capt. Sturt's home at the Grange after the family went to England. Judge Cooper had planted the palms in front of the house. Mr. Berry's father, who was Capt. Sturt's gardener, used to play with the Sturt children at a small stream on the west side of the house. . . Mr. Berry saw the Sturts leave the old home in a bullock dray over the sandhills to Port Adelaide.” [Chronicle 2 Jul 1953]
“Capt. Sturt's former home Grange, which, because of its location, condition and surrounding land, the committee did not recommend should be preserved. . . The surrounding land was lowlying and possibly liable to flooding.” [Advertiser 13 Aug 1953]
Nambucca Construction
There have been a number of vessels named Nambucca.
Nambucca 1898 (1898 – 1905). Single screw steamer built of wood by David Drake of Bald Rock, Balmain. She operated out of the Nambucca River until 1902 before being sold to New Zealand operators. She was wrecked in January 1905 whilst on a voyage from Blenheim to Wellington.
Nambucca 1915 . The Nambucca was built by William Lloyd Holmes & Co, McMahons Point, Sydney, NSW, Australia. Owned by Jack Cox, she was used on the Nambucca River as a milk/cream boat to collect milk containers from dairy farmers along the river for delivery to the Nambucca Dairy Co., Ltd., (NORCO) butter factory. She was sold to interests in Sydney and converted into a ferry named Promote. She currently operates on the Hawkesbury River as a tourist ferry. Details are in the following album. Nambucca 1915
Nambucca I (1922 -1934). Twin screw steamer built of wood by Ernest Wright of Tuncurry for the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. She came to grief at the entrance to the Nambucca River in 1931 but was refloated. She was wrecked in May 1934 after running aground. Details are in the following album. Nambucca I
Nambucca II (1936 – 1946). Twin Screw steamer built of wood by Ernest Wright of Tuncurry for the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. A much larger vessel than Nambucca I. In later life she was acquired by the R.A.N. and became HMAS Nambucca and finally USS YDG-5. She was burned to the waterline in Okinawa in 1946. Details are in the following album. Nambucca II
There were two vessels called Nambucca, both built by Ernest Wright of Tuncurry. To differentiate the two vessels local people called the original Nambucca that was launched in 1922 and wrecked in 1934 as Nambucca I. The vessel featured here was known as Nambucca II. It should be noted that there was an earlier steamer, also known as Nambucca, built by Drake of Balmain in 1898. It was wrecked in New Zealand on 15th January 1902
The twin screw steamer S.S. Nambucca II was designed by Mr. James Scott, of Sydney, and built at the John Wright and Co. Ltd. shipyards by Ernest Wright, Tuncurry, for the North Coast Steam Navigation Co., Ltd. In later life she became the HMAS Nambucca and finally USS YDG-5.
The launch of the Nambucca II was a major event for the Wright shipyards as there had been no vessels constructed for 14 years. The launching ceremony was performed by Miss Joyce Wright (daughter of the builder) when a traditional bottle of wine, wrapped in Wright tartan, was broken over the bow. Appreciation was expressed of the thoughtfulness of one of the District's pioneers, Mrs. Granny Mayers, who, from the flowers in her garden, made a large, natural wreath. This was hung on the flared bow of the vessel with an appropriate expression of goodwill to all concerned, as well as for the safety of those who sail in the new Nambucca.
She left the slips on the high tide at 4:30pm on Saturday 30th May 1936. Details of this impressive vessel are:
Registration: 30468
Displacement: 489 tons
Length 164 feet overall
Beam 34ft 6in
Depth 9ft 6in.
In design the steamer was considered as modern as a hardwood vessel could be made. She had the flared bows of a latter day motor cruiser, and as clean a run aft as any of the small steam vessels engaged in the coastal trade.
Building operations on the vessel began in May, 1935. More than 400 tons of selected hardwood and 20 tons of steel and iron work were built into the hull. Less than 12 months previously, ironbark, red mahogany, brush box, teatree, and turpentine timbers that formed her frames and scantlings were standing in tree form in the adjacent forests. One superb red mahogany stick more than 100 feet in length was cut at the back of Gloucester and brought to the shipyards. Shelf pieces were cut from that faultless log. Other 90ft ironbark trees were used in the kelsons and rider kelsons. All were fashioned with axe and adze handled by experts, many of whom had not done a day's work at their trade for more than 10 years.
After the launch, Nambucca II was towed to Morts Dock in Sydney for fitting. The finished vessel has fitted with twin engines developing 420 horse power and powerful winch gear for handling heavy timber cargo. She was expected to do a point or two better than 10 knots.
After the launch, the Nambucca II was towed to Mort's Dock in Sydney for fitting. The finished vessel was fitted equipped with twin engines developing 420 horse power in total and powerful winch gear for handling heavy timber cargo. She was expected to do a point or two better than 10 knots.
The fate of the S.S. Kinchela now becomes important to the Nambucca II. She was owned by the North Coast Steam Navigation Company. She ran aground on the spit at Port Macquarie, New South Wales in March 1933 and was hulked in 1936. Part of her machinery was removed and fitted in the Nambucca II.
On 6th October 1936 Nambucca II undertook formal time trials. Mr. Ernest Wright, who built the vessel in his shipyards at Tuncurry, witnessed the trials and was pleased with the speed of the vessel, as well as her appearance.
"No wooden steamer built on the coastline in my time was ever fitted out and finished in the fashion of the Nambucca. She will do all that is asked of her." he said.
She traded regularly along the NSW North Coast until late 1939. Nambucca was requisitioned by the RAN on 7th November 1939 and converted to an auxiliary minesweeper, and commissioned on 10th January 1940 as HMAS Nambucca. An image of HMAS Nambucca is available through the Australian War Museum www.awm.gov.au/collection/301068/
She formed part of Mine-sweeping Group 50 based in Sydney, undertaking mine-sweeping activities around Wilson's Promontory and Cape Otway. In 1942 she was stationed in Adelaide and assisted in mine-sweeping activities around Kangaroo Island.
She was transferred to the United States Navy on 19th April 1943. After conversion to a degaussing vessel by Evans Deakin and Company, Brisbane, she was commissioned on 31st July 1944 as USS YDG-5. She was inspected at Okinawa in November 1945 by USS BLACK HAWK (AD-9) which reported that she required major machinery repairs, her main propulsion plant was obsolete, her capabilities as a degaussing barge were limited, her wooden hull was old and in need of recaulking, and she was not safe for sea under her own power. The Board's recommendation to strip locally and dispose of was approved by SecNav on 19 Dec 45. She was declared a total loss as of 30th Dec 1945, decommissioned on 7th February 46, and destroyed by fire on 8th February 1946. This coincided with the year of the death of Ernest Wright (23rd January 1946) and was indeed a sad end for such a well regarded ship from the Wright Shipyard - only 10 years of age
Image Source - Nicholson Family Collection.
All Images in this photostream are Copyright - Great Lakes Manning River Shipping and/or their individual owners as may be stated above and may not be downloaded, reproduced, or used in any way without prior written approval.
GREAT LAKES MANNING RIVER SHIPPING, NSW - Flick Group --> Alphabetical Boat Index --> Boat builders Index --> Tags List
Drawing room with some furniture & artefacts donated by Sturt’s descendants.
First red brick house built 1840, with nursery wing added a year later, located on 390 acres taken up by Charles Sturt in the area known as Reedbeds. The home was surrounded by a large garden and an orchard of grapes, pear, plum & apple trees. The family returned to England 1853 for sons’ education and because of Sturt’s ill-health. The property was leased until sold Nov 1877 when the estate was subdivided for a township named “Grange”. Since 1908 there were calls for the house to be saved from demolition but it was not until 1956 that it was purchased by Henley & Grange Council. After restoration, Sturt’s grandchildren donated furniture, artworks, documents & artefacts and the Museum opened 1966. A detached cottage, the nursery wing, demolished by the last private owner, was rebuilt when house restored and is now used as exhibition gallery.
Charles Sturt was born 28 Apr 1795 in Bengal, India to British parents, schooled in England, enlisted in 39th Regiment, served in Pyrenees, Canada, France & Ireland. He arrived Sydney 1827 escorting convicts on “Mariner”. In Nov 1928 with Hamilton Hume, Sturt explored & named Darling River. A year later he led another expedition down the Murrumbidgee, discovering the Murray and, with 7 men in a small boat, travelled to its mouth, on their return rowing against the current. He was appointed Commandant of Norfolk Island garrison, revisiting England he published accounts of his journeys and married Charlotte Greene 1834. Returning to Sydney 1835, he settled at Mittagong. In 1838 he overlanded cattle to South Australia and decided to settle in that colony on land at the Reedbeds. Appointed Assistant Commissioner of Lands 1839, Registrar General 1841, set out on what was his final expedition north to the centre of the continent 1844.
“Captain Sturt, accompanied by Mr. Giles Strangways, may be expected overland in about ten days with a herd of fine cattle.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 16 Jun 1838]
“Captain Sturt left Adelaide on Sunday morning for Encounter Bay, to join the barque Hope for Sydney. We believe it is the Captain's intention to settle in our colony.” [Southern Australian 20 Oct 1838]
“the safe arrival of Capt. Sturt in our colony. . . He has brought overland from the Hume River between 400 and 500 head of cattle, and he performed the journey in little more than three months. Capt. Sturt is accompanied by Capt. Finniss, Mr M'Leod, Mr G. Strangways, and eleven men.” [South Australian Record 13 Feb 1839]
“We have great pleasure in announcing the arrival last night in the John Pirie of Captain Sturt, the new Surveyor-general, with his lady and family.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 30 Mar 1839]
“His Excellency the Resident Commissioner has appointed Charles Sturt, Esq., late Surveyor-General, to be Assistant Commissioner.” [Register 5 Oct 1839]
“the Governor has been pleased to appoint the Hon. Charles Sturt, Assistant Commissioner, to the office of Registrar General.” [South Australian 5 Nov 1841]
“Hunting.— The hounds meet to-morrow (Saturday), by appointment, at Grange, the residence of Captain Sturt.” [Southern Australian 27 May 1842]
“Hon. Charles Sturt, Registrar General, to be Colonial Treasurer of the Province of South Australia.” [South Australian 6 Mar 1846]
“His Excellency has accepted the resignation of Capt. Sturt as Colonial Secretary.” [Register 5 Jan 1852]
“On December 7, 1852, Sturt wrote to his son at Rugby:— ‘The Grange garden looks tolerably well, and there is a great show of grapes, pears, and apples. Apples this year have failed in consequence of a small fly getting into the blossom. Our dairy now consists of 14 quiet cows, which yield a good deal of butter, but really the annoyance of the servants may drive us to give up the pleasure of looking after these animals. We have 60 goslings and 23 young turkeys and a lot of young guinea fowls, as wild as partridges, but I have been unsuccessful with the ducks. Our bees get on famously. I am very fond of them. The boys have taken lots of fish in the creek this season.’" [Register 13 Apr 1912]
“The Henry Tanner cleared out for England yesterday, March 17th, with the Hon. Captain Sturt, our late Colonial Secretary, his family, and many other cabin passengers on board.” [Adelaide Times 18 Mar 1853]
“Death of. . . Captain Charles Sturt, one of the earliest and most distinguished of Australian explorers. . . on the 16th June, at the deceased gentleman's residence, Clarence-square, Cheltenham. . . nearly blind from ophthalmia — a malady which he had the misfortune to contract during his last exploring expedition. . . belonged to a very old Dorsetshire family, arrived in the colony of New South Wales in about the year 1825 as a captain in H.M.'s 39th Foot.” [Evening Journal 10 Aug 1869]
“Tenders are invited . . . for the Purchase of the Grange Estate, Reedbeds, adjoining Henley Beach, containing about 389 Acres.” [Evening Journal 28 Sep 1877 advert]
“the Grange. This is an estate of 380 acres, which was selected by Captain Sturt after his return from his exploring expedition in 1845 [sic]. Captain Sturt having as extensive a practical knowledge as most men of the land around Adelaide, and this estate having been selected by him for his own personal residence. . . The soil appears to be of fair quality, capable of growing lucern, fruit trees, and vegetables. . . There are fine gum-trees on the estate, and a perennial stream winds its way through the grounds, with quantities of teatree growing on its banks.” [Express & Telegraph 22 Mar 1878]
“The Grange Township. The 380 acres comprising the Grange Estate, and situated between the Semaphore and Henley Beach, is, under the direction of three enterprising Adelaide gentlemen, being rapidly transformed into what must ere long become an attractive seaside watering-place. . . The land was formerly occupied by Captain Sturt, the explorer, who selected it as a preliminary section under the land order to which he was entitled. The house occupied by the gallant explorer still remains, and is being renovated and extended by the new proprietors with a view to rendering it suitable for a temporary hotel.” [Register 14 Sep 1878]
“Mrs. M. Howard, of the Grange, gave a private continental at her residence on Saturday evening. Over 200 guests were present. The Old Grange House which was originally built for Governor [sic] Sturt and occupied for many years by David Murray, is surrounded by lovely lawns, and the grounds being decorated with hundreds of Japanese lanterns, presented a scene suggestive of fairyland. . . For the night the mosquitoes held off.” [Critic, Adelaide 14 Feb 1906]
“Sturt's home. . . The residence of the famous explorer is one of the few remaining Australian historical relics. The recent owner has done much to beautify its surroundings. . . I would suggest to the Government that they should at once purchase this interesting property to prevent its demolition, and convert it into a teahouse and gardens for the public use. Or it might be possible to find a generous spirited patriot willing to make the freehold a gift to the community under certain conditions.” [Register 20 Jun 1908 Letter to Editor]
“the Grange, the homestead owned by Capt. Sturt. . . which is now occupied by Mr. J. A. Hardy, is a short distance from the Grange Jetty. The late Capt. Dashwood, the father of the present Crown Solicitor (Mr. C. J. Dashwood, K.C.), and the late Sir Richard Chaffey Baker lived in the historic home. Capt. Dashwood was Collector of Customs at the time.” [Observer 20 Apr 1912]
“The recent demolition of the cottage at Thebarton occupied by Colonel William Light, founder of Adelaide and first Surveyor-General, created dismay among students of early South Australian history. . . thoughts have now turned to the historic home of Capt. Charles Sturt (discoverer of the River Murray), at Grange, one of Adelaide's most favored seaside resorts. That house has been in respectable occupation ever since its erection by Sturt. . . Charles Sturt resided at the Grange until March 17, 1853, when he went to England on a life pension of £600 a year, granted by the South Australian Government.” [The Mail 22 Jan 1927]
“The necessity of preserving the historic home of Captain Sturt at the Grange, known as ‘Grange House’, was brought before the Henley and Grange Town Council. . . The property consists of the large house and 7½ acres of land. The alderman stated that the property could be bought on terms for £3,000.” [Advertiser 9 Apr 1929]
“the historic home of Capt Sturt at Grange. . . The home is vacant, and vandals have made their unwelcome appearance on the property. When Mr. Mitton visited it recently he found that some of the windows had been broken. . . It has been suggested that the Tourist Bureau could advertise trips by charabanc through delightful scenery to the spot. Morning and afternoon tea could be provided.” [News 28 May 1930]
“Captain Sturt's house at the Grange was one of the first built in SA, erected about 1840. The building, which faces Mount Lofty, had an attractive rose garden in front. The explorer had a penchant for flowers and animals. . . North of Sturt's house is a cottage of three rooms. It is said that Sturt had the cottage built first and moved into the more commodious premises later, using the former as a storeroom. A number of horses that he used on expeditions ended their days on the homestead at the Grange. Particularly attracted was he to a roan horse, on which he used to ride to and from the city.” [Chronicle 31 Aug 1944]
“When the old Grange Railway Company decided to manage its own train service [c1883]. . . it was faced with the problem of finding house room for its staff. Only vacant house in the district happened to be Sturt's, known as the 'old Grange mansion', which was delapidated [sic] and a shelter for swagmen. There being no option, the two enginedrivers — the late Tom Fanning and John Chapman — reluctantly decided to make the best of a bad job by taking over the old home, and .sharing it. . . The Sturt bedrooms included a dressing room of equal size which modem owners must have regarded as so much waste space, as when I visited the place 30 years later they had been converted into separate compartments by bricking up the doorways.” [Advertiser 11 Nov 1948]
“Mr. Anthony Sturt visited the old home of his famous great grandfather, explorer Charles Sturt, at Grange today.” [News 1 Mar 1951]
“Mr. Justice Cooper lived in Capt. Sturt's home at the Grange after the family went to England. Judge Cooper had planted the palms in front of the house. Mr. Berry's father, who was Capt. Sturt's gardener, used to play with the Sturt children at a small stream on the west side of the house. . . Mr. Berry saw the Sturts leave the old home in a bullock dray over the sandhills to Port Adelaide.” [Chronicle 2 Jul 1953]
“Capt. Sturt's former home Grange, which, because of its location, condition and surrounding land, the committee did not recommend should be preserved. . . The surrounding land was lowlying and possibly liable to flooding.” [Advertiser 13 Aug 1953]
Back on Tuesday 9th April, 2002 train no 35 on its run from Burnie to Hobart derailed near Tea Tree with units DQ 2009 - QR 2102 - DQ 2006 early that morning. The units can be seen in the photo, detached from the derailed wagons later that day photographed at 14.30 with recovery operations still underway. It's interesting in that there is now a house placed almost on the site where the wagons fell off the track!!, so hope a similar occurence doesn't happen.
Photo By Steve Bromley
Bush Fly (Scaptia sp.) enjoying the sweet tea of a Tea Tree. :) Happy Fly Day Friday everyone! [Newnes, Gardens of Stone NP, NSW]
Plaque unveiled 2 Oct 1967.
First red brick house built 1840, with nursery wing added a year later, located on 390 acres taken up by Charles Sturt in the area known as Reedbeds. The home was surrounded by a large garden and an orchard of grapes, pear, plum & apple trees. The family returned to England 1853 for sons’ education and because of Sturt’s ill-health. The property was leased until sold Nov 1877 when the estate was subdivided for a township named “Grange”. Since 1908 there were calls for the house to be saved from demolition but it was not until 1956 that it was purchased by Henley & Grange Council. After restoration, Sturt’s grandchildren donated furniture, artworks, documents & artefacts and the Museum opened 1966. A detached cottage, the nursery wing, demolished by the last private owner, was rebuilt when house restored and is now used as exhibition gallery.
Charles Sturt was born 28 Apr 1795 in Bengal, India to British parents, schooled in England, enlisted in 39th Regiment, served in Pyrenees, Canada, France & Ireland. He arrived Sydney 1827 escorting convicts on “Mariner”. In Nov 1928 with Hamilton Hume, Sturt explored & named Darling River. A year later he led another expedition down the Murrumbidgee, discovering the Murray and, with 7 men in a small boat, travelled to its mouth, on their return rowing against the current. He was appointed Commandant of Norfolk Island garrison, revisiting England he published accounts of his journeys and married Charlotte Greene 1834. Returning to Sydney 1835, he settled at Mittagong. In 1838 he overlanded cattle to South Australia and decided to settle in that colony on land at the Reedbeds. Appointed Assistant Commissioner of Lands 1839, Registrar General 1841, set out on what was his final expedition north to the centre of the continent 1844.
“Captain Sturt, accompanied by Mr. Giles Strangways, may be expected overland in about ten days with a herd of fine cattle.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 16 Jun 1838]
“Captain Sturt left Adelaide on Sunday morning for Encounter Bay, to join the barque Hope for Sydney. We believe it is the Captain's intention to settle in our colony.” [Southern Australian 20 Oct 1838]
“the safe arrival of Capt. Sturt in our colony. . . He has brought overland from the Hume River between 400 and 500 head of cattle, and he performed the journey in little more than three months. Capt. Sturt is accompanied by Capt. Finniss, Mr M'Leod, Mr G. Strangways, and eleven men.” [South Australian Record 13 Feb 1839]
“We have great pleasure in announcing the arrival last night in the John Pirie of Captain Sturt, the new Surveyor-general, with his lady and family.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 30 Mar 1839]
“His Excellency the Resident Commissioner has appointed Charles Sturt, Esq., late Surveyor-General, to be Assistant Commissioner.” [Register 5 Oct 1839]
“the Governor has been pleased to appoint the Hon. Charles Sturt, Assistant Commissioner, to the office of Registrar General.” [South Australian 5 Nov 1841]
“Hunting.— The hounds meet to-morrow (Saturday), by appointment, at Grange, the residence of Captain Sturt.” [Southern Australian 27 May 1842]
“Hon. Charles Sturt, Registrar General, to be Colonial Treasurer of the Province of South Australia.” [South Australian 6 Mar 1846]
“His Excellency has accepted the resignation of Capt. Sturt as Colonial Secretary.” [Register 5 Jan 1852]
“On December 7, 1852, Sturt wrote to his son at Rugby:— ‘The Grange garden looks tolerably well, and there is a great show of grapes, pears, and apples. Apples this year have failed in consequence of a small fly getting into the blossom. Our dairy now consists of 14 quiet cows, which yield a good deal of butter, but really the annoyance of the servants may drive us to give up the pleasure of looking after these animals. We have 60 goslings and 23 young turkeys and a lot of young guinea fowls, as wild as partridges, but I have been unsuccessful with the ducks. Our bees get on famously. I am very fond of them. The boys have taken lots of fish in the creek this season.’" [Register 13 Apr 1912]
“The Henry Tanner cleared out for England yesterday, March 17th, with the Hon. Captain Sturt, our late Colonial Secretary, his family, and many other cabin passengers on board.” [Adelaide Times 18 Mar 1853]
“Death of. . . Captain Charles Sturt, one of the earliest and most distinguished of Australian explorers. . . on the 16th June, at the deceased gentleman's residence, Clarence-square, Cheltenham. . . nearly blind from ophthalmia — a malady which he had the misfortune to contract during his last exploring expedition. . . belonged to a very old Dorsetshire family, arrived in the colony of New South Wales in about the year 1825 as a captain in H.M.'s 39th Foot.” [Evening Journal 10 Aug 1869]
“Tenders are invited . . . for the Purchase of the Grange Estate, Reedbeds, adjoining Henley Beach, containing about 389 Acres.” [Evening Journal 28 Sep 1877 advert]
“the Grange. This is an estate of 380 acres, which was selected by Captain Sturt after his return from his exploring expedition in 1845 [sic]. Captain Sturt having as extensive a practical knowledge as most men of the land around Adelaide, and this estate having been selected by him for his own personal residence. . . The soil appears to be of fair quality, capable of growing lucern, fruit trees, and vegetables. . . There are fine gum-trees on the estate, and a perennial stream winds its way through the grounds, with quantities of teatree growing on its banks.” [Express & Telegraph 22 Mar 1878]
“The Grange Township. The 380 acres comprising the Grange Estate, and situated between the Semaphore and Henley Beach, is, under the direction of three enterprising Adelaide gentlemen, being rapidly transformed into what must ere long become an attractive seaside watering-place. . . The land was formerly occupied by Captain Sturt, the explorer, who selected it as a preliminary section under the land order to which he was entitled. The house occupied by the gallant explorer still remains, and is being renovated and extended by the new proprietors with a view to rendering it suitable for a temporary hotel.” [Register 14 Sep 1878]
“Mrs. M. Howard, of the Grange, gave a private continental at her residence on Saturday evening. Over 200 guests were present. The Old Grange House which was originally built for Governor [sic] Sturt and occupied for many years by David Murray, is surrounded by lovely lawns, and the grounds being decorated with hundreds of Japanese lanterns, presented a scene suggestive of fairyland. . . For the night the mosquitoes held off.” [Critic, Adelaide 14 Feb 1906]
“Sturt's home. . . The residence of the famous explorer is one of the few remaining Australian historical relics. The recent owner has done much to beautify its surroundings. . . I would suggest to the Government that they should at once purchase this interesting property to prevent its demolition, and convert it into a teahouse and gardens for the public use. Or it might be possible to find a generous spirited patriot willing to make the freehold a gift to the community under certain conditions.” [Register 20 Jun 1908 Letter to Editor]
“the Grange, the homestead owned by Capt. Sturt. . . which is now occupied by Mr. J. A. Hardy, is a short distance from the Grange Jetty. The late Capt. Dashwood, the father of the present Crown Solicitor (Mr. C. J. Dashwood, K.C.), and the late Sir Richard Chaffey Baker lived in the historic home. Capt. Dashwood was Collector of Customs at the time.” [Observer 20 Apr 1912]
“The recent demolition of the cottage at Thebarton occupied by Colonel William Light, founder of Adelaide and first Surveyor-General, created dismay among students of early South Australian history. . . thoughts have now turned to the historic home of Capt. Charles Sturt (discoverer of the River Murray), at Grange, one of Adelaide's most favored seaside resorts. That house has been in respectable occupation ever since its erection by Sturt. . . Charles Sturt resided at the Grange until March 17, 1853, when he went to England on a life pension of £600 a year, granted by the South Australian Government.” [The Mail 22 Jan 1927]
“The necessity of preserving the historic home of Captain Sturt at the Grange, known as ‘Grange House’, was brought before the Henley and Grange Town Council. . . The property consists of the large house and 7½ acres of land. The alderman stated that the property could be bought on terms for £3,000.” [Advertiser 9 Apr 1929]
“the historic home of Capt Sturt at Grange. . . The home is vacant, and vandals have made their unwelcome appearance on the property. When Mr. Mitton visited it recently he found that some of the windows had been broken. . . It has been suggested that the Tourist Bureau could advertise trips by charabanc through delightful scenery to the spot. Morning and afternoon tea could be provided.” [News 28 May 1930]
“Captain Sturt's house at the Grange was one of the first built in SA, erected about 1840. The building, which faces Mount Lofty, had an attractive rose garden in front. The explorer had a penchant for flowers and animals. . . North of Sturt's house is a cottage of three rooms. It is said that Sturt had the cottage built first and moved into the more commodious premises later, using the former as a storeroom. A number of horses that he used on expeditions ended their days on the homestead at the Grange. Particularly attracted was he to a roan horse, on which he used to ride to and from the city.” [Chronicle 31 Aug 1944]
“When the old Grange Railway Company decided to manage its own train service [c1883]. . . it was faced with the problem of finding house room for its staff. Only vacant house in the district happened to be Sturt's, known as the 'old Grange mansion', which was delapidated [sic] and a shelter for swagmen. There being no option, the two enginedrivers — the late Tom Fanning and John Chapman — reluctantly decided to make the best of a bad job by taking over the old home, and .sharing it. . . The Sturt bedrooms included a dressing room of equal size which modem owners must have regarded as so much waste space, as when I visited the place 30 years later they had been converted into separate compartments by bricking up the doorways.” [Advertiser 11 Nov 1948]
“Mr. Anthony Sturt visited the old home of his famous great grandfather, explorer Charles Sturt, at Grange today.” [News 1 Mar 1951]
“Mr. Justice Cooper lived in Capt. Sturt's home at the Grange after the family went to England. Judge Cooper had planted the palms in front of the house. Mr. Berry's father, who was Capt. Sturt's gardener, used to play with the Sturt children at a small stream on the west side of the house. . . Mr. Berry saw the Sturts leave the old home in a bullock dray over the sandhills to Port Adelaide.” [Chronicle 2 Jul 1953]
“Capt. Sturt's former home Grange, which, because of its location, condition and surrounding land, the committee did not recommend should be preserved. . . The surrounding land was lowlying and possibly liable to flooding.” [Advertiser 13 Aug 1953]
One from on the way to golf this morning. Couldn't resist pulling up and getting the camera out to capture the sun as it poked its' head above the mist on the horizon.
Australian native tree
www.sgapqld.org.au/bushtucker17.html
This tree is similar to very common Paperbark Melaleuca quinquenervia in its thick spongy bark. However, the foliage of M. leucadendra is of a brighter green and has a slightly weeping habit, and later flowering season (winter) from my observation.
I believe 99% it is Melaleuca leucadendra, though it took me a while to find out the ID for this graceful tree I found in suburban Brisbane.
It is the case when common names could be very confusing. I found the following common names for this tree:
Weeping Paperbark, Long-leaved Paperbark, Broad-leaf Paperbark, Fine Leaf Melaleuca(?!), Green-flower Paperbark, Cajuput, and even "Tea Tree" (last one is just wrong, as it does NOT have a tea-tree smell like M. alternifolia. - real Tea tree oil)
To add confusion, it is synonym of M. leucadendron , but if you look in web - you could find very different tree with fine foliage.
Fireplace in main bedroom.
First red brick house built 1840, with nursery wing added a year later, located on 390 acres taken up by Charles Sturt in the area known as Reedbeds. The home was surrounded by a large garden and an orchard of grapes, pear, plum & apple trees. The family returned to England 1853 for sons’ education and because of Sturt’s ill-health. The property was leased until sold Nov 1877 when the estate was subdivided for a township named “Grange”. Since 1908 there were calls for the house to be saved from demolition but it was not until 1956 that it was purchased by Henley & Grange Council. After restoration, Sturt’s grandchildren donated furniture, artworks, documents & artefacts and the Museum opened 1966. A detached cottage, the nursery wing, demolished by the last private owner, was rebuilt when house restored and is now used as exhibition gallery.
Charles Sturt was born 28 Apr 1795 in Bengal, India to British parents, schooled in England, enlisted in 39th Regiment, served in Pyrenees, Canada, France & Ireland. He arrived Sydney 1827 escorting convicts on “Mariner”. In Nov 1928 with Hamilton Hume, Sturt explored & named Darling River. A year later he led another expedition down the Murrumbidgee, discovering the Murray and, with 7 men in a small boat, travelled to its mouth, on their return rowing against the current. He was appointed Commandant of Norfolk Island garrison, revisiting England he published accounts of his journeys and married Charlotte Greene 1834. Returning to Sydney 1835, he settled at Mittagong. In 1838 he overlanded cattle to South Australia and decided to settle in that colony on land at the Reedbeds. Appointed Assistant Commissioner of Lands 1839, Registrar General 1841, set out on what was his final expedition north to the centre of the continent 1844.
“Captain Sturt, accompanied by Mr. Giles Strangways, may be expected overland in about ten days with a herd of fine cattle.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 16 Jun 1838]
“Captain Sturt left Adelaide on Sunday morning for Encounter Bay, to join the barque Hope for Sydney. We believe it is the Captain's intention to settle in our colony.” [Southern Australian 20 Oct 1838]
“the safe arrival of Capt. Sturt in our colony. . . He has brought overland from the Hume River between 400 and 500 head of cattle, and he performed the journey in little more than three months. Capt. Sturt is accompanied by Capt. Finniss, Mr M'Leod, Mr G. Strangways, and eleven men.” [South Australian Record 13 Feb 1839]
“We have great pleasure in announcing the arrival last night in the John Pirie of Captain Sturt, the new Surveyor-general, with his lady and family.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 30 Mar 1839]
“His Excellency the Resident Commissioner has appointed Charles Sturt, Esq., late Surveyor-General, to be Assistant Commissioner.” [Register 5 Oct 1839]
“the Governor has been pleased to appoint the Hon. Charles Sturt, Assistant Commissioner, to the office of Registrar General.” [South Australian 5 Nov 1841]
“Hunting.— The hounds meet to-morrow (Saturday), by appointment, at Grange, the residence of Captain Sturt.” [Southern Australian 27 May 1842]
“Hon. Charles Sturt, Registrar General, to be Colonial Treasurer of the Province of South Australia.” [South Australian 6 Mar 1846]
“His Excellency has accepted the resignation of Capt. Sturt as Colonial Secretary.” [Register 5 Jan 1852]
“On December 7, 1852, Sturt wrote to his son at Rugby:— ‘The Grange garden looks tolerably well, and there is a great show of grapes, pears, and apples. Apples this year have failed in consequence of a small fly getting into the blossom. Our dairy now consists of 14 quiet cows, which yield a good deal of butter, but really the annoyance of the servants may drive us to give up the pleasure of looking after these animals. We have 60 goslings and 23 young turkeys and a lot of young guinea fowls, as wild as partridges, but I have been unsuccessful with the ducks. Our bees get on famously. I am very fond of them. The boys have taken lots of fish in the creek this season.’" [Register 13 Apr 1912]
“The Henry Tanner cleared out for England yesterday, March 17th, with the Hon. Captain Sturt, our late Colonial Secretary, his family, and many other cabin passengers on board.” [Adelaide Times 18 Mar 1853]
“Death of. . . Captain Charles Sturt, one of the earliest and most distinguished of Australian explorers. . . on the 16th June, at the deceased gentleman's residence, Clarence-square, Cheltenham. . . nearly blind from ophthalmia — a malady which he had the misfortune to contract during his last exploring expedition. . . belonged to a very old Dorsetshire family, arrived in the colony of New South Wales in about the year 1825 as a captain in H.M.'s 39th Foot.” [Evening Journal 10 Aug 1869]
“Tenders are invited . . . for the Purchase of the Grange Estate, Reedbeds, adjoining Henley Beach, containing about 389 Acres.” [Evening Journal 28 Sep 1877 advert]
“the Grange. This is an estate of 380 acres, which was selected by Captain Sturt after his return from his exploring expedition in 1845 [sic]. Captain Sturt having as extensive a practical knowledge as most men of the land around Adelaide, and this estate having been selected by him for his own personal residence. . . The soil appears to be of fair quality, capable of growing lucern, fruit trees, and vegetables. . . There are fine gum-trees on the estate, and a perennial stream winds its way through the grounds, with quantities of teatree growing on its banks.” [Express & Telegraph 22 Mar 1878]
“The Grange Township. The 380 acres comprising the Grange Estate, and situated between the Semaphore and Henley Beach, is, under the direction of three enterprising Adelaide gentlemen, being rapidly transformed into what must ere long become an attractive seaside watering-place. . . The land was formerly occupied by Captain Sturt, the explorer, who selected it as a preliminary section under the land order to which he was entitled. The house occupied by the gallant explorer still remains, and is being renovated and extended by the new proprietors with a view to rendering it suitable for a temporary hotel.” [Register 14 Sep 1878]
“Mrs. M. Howard, of the Grange, gave a private continental at her residence on Saturday evening. Over 200 guests were present. The Old Grange House which was originally built for Governor [sic] Sturt and occupied for many years by David Murray, is surrounded by lovely lawns, and the grounds being decorated with hundreds of Japanese lanterns, presented a scene suggestive of fairyland. . . For the night the mosquitoes held off.” [Critic, Adelaide 14 Feb 1906]
“Sturt's home. . . The residence of the famous explorer is one of the few remaining Australian historical relics. The recent owner has done much to beautify its surroundings. . . I would suggest to the Government that they should at once purchase this interesting property to prevent its demolition, and convert it into a teahouse and gardens for the public use. Or it might be possible to find a generous spirited patriot willing to make the freehold a gift to the community under certain conditions.” [Register 20 Jun 1908 Letter to Editor]
“the Grange, the homestead owned by Capt. Sturt. . . which is now occupied by Mr. J. A. Hardy, is a short distance from the Grange Jetty. The late Capt. Dashwood, the father of the present Crown Solicitor (Mr. C. J. Dashwood, K.C.), and the late Sir Richard Chaffey Baker lived in the historic home. Capt. Dashwood was Collector of Customs at the time.” [Observer 20 Apr 1912]
“The recent demolition of the cottage at Thebarton occupied by Colonel William Light, founder of Adelaide and first Surveyor-General, created dismay among students of early South Australian history. . . thoughts have now turned to the historic home of Capt. Charles Sturt (discoverer of the River Murray), at Grange, one of Adelaide's most favored seaside resorts. That house has been in respectable occupation ever since its erection by Sturt. . . Charles Sturt resided at the Grange until March 17, 1853, when he went to England on a life pension of £600 a year, granted by the South Australian Government.” [The Mail 22 Jan 1927]
“The necessity of preserving the historic home of Captain Sturt at the Grange, known as ‘Grange House’, was brought before the Henley and Grange Town Council. . . The property consists of the large house and 7½ acres of land. The alderman stated that the property could be bought on terms for £3,000.” [Advertiser 9 Apr 1929]
“the historic home of Capt Sturt at Grange. . . The home is vacant, and vandals have made their unwelcome appearance on the property. When Mr. Mitton visited it recently he found that some of the windows had been broken. . . It has been suggested that the Tourist Bureau could advertise trips by charabanc through delightful scenery to the spot. Morning and afternoon tea could be provided.” [News 28 May 1930]
“Captain Sturt's house at the Grange was one of the first built in SA, erected about 1840. The building, which faces Mount Lofty, had an attractive rose garden in front. The explorer had a penchant for flowers and animals. . . North of Sturt's house is a cottage of three rooms. It is said that Sturt had the cottage built first and moved into the more commodious premises later, using the former as a storeroom. A number of horses that he used on expeditions ended their days on the homestead at the Grange. Particularly attracted was he to a roan horse, on which he used to ride to and from the city.” [Chronicle 31 Aug 1944]
“When the old Grange Railway Company decided to manage its own train service [c1883]. . . it was faced with the problem of finding house room for its staff. Only vacant house in the district happened to be Sturt's, known as the 'old Grange mansion', which was delapidated [sic] and a shelter for swagmen. There being no option, the two enginedrivers — the late Tom Fanning and John Chapman — reluctantly decided to make the best of a bad job by taking over the old home, and .sharing it. . . The Sturt bedrooms included a dressing room of equal size which modem owners must have regarded as so much waste space, as when I visited the place 30 years later they had been converted into separate compartments by bricking up the doorways.” [Advertiser 11 Nov 1948]
“Mr. Anthony Sturt visited the old home of his famous great grandfather, explorer Charles Sturt, at Grange today.” [News 1 Mar 1951]
“Mr. Justice Cooper lived in Capt. Sturt's home at the Grange after the family went to England. Judge Cooper had planted the palms in front of the house. Mr. Berry's father, who was Capt. Sturt's gardener, used to play with the Sturt children at a small stream on the west side of the house. . . Mr. Berry saw the Sturts leave the old home in a bullock dray over the sandhills to Port Adelaide.” [Chronicle 2 Jul 1953]
“Capt. Sturt's former home Grange, which, because of its location, condition and surrounding land, the committee did not recommend should be preserved. . . The surrounding land was lowlying and possibly liable to flooding.” [Advertiser 13 Aug 1953]
Drawing room with some furniture & artefacts donated by Sturt’s descendants.
First red brick house built 1840, with nursery wing added a year later, located on 390 acres taken up by Charles Sturt in the area known as Reedbeds. The home was surrounded by a large garden and an orchard of grapes, pear, plum & apple trees. The family returned to England 1853 for sons’ education and because of Sturt’s ill-health. The property was leased until sold Nov 1877 when the estate was subdivided for a township named “Grange”. Since 1908 there were calls for the house to be saved from demolition but it was not until 1956 that it was purchased by Henley & Grange Council. After restoration, Sturt’s grandchildren donated furniture, artworks, documents & artefacts and the Museum opened 1966. A detached cottage, the nursery wing, demolished by the last private owner, was rebuilt when house restored and is now used as exhibition gallery.
Charles Sturt was born 28 Apr 1795 in Bengal, India to British parents, schooled in England, enlisted in 39th Regiment, served in Pyrenees, Canada, France & Ireland. He arrived Sydney 1827 escorting convicts on “Mariner”. In Nov 1928 with Hamilton Hume, Sturt explored & named Darling River. A year later he led another expedition down the Murrumbidgee, discovering the Murray and, with 7 men in a small boat, travelled to its mouth, on their return rowing against the current. He was appointed Commandant of Norfolk Island garrison, revisiting England he published accounts of his journeys and married Charlotte Greene 1834. Returning to Sydney 1835, he settled at Mittagong. In 1838 he overlanded cattle to South Australia and decided to settle in that colony on land at the Reedbeds. Appointed Assistant Commissioner of Lands 1839, Registrar General 1841, set out on what was his final expedition north to the centre of the continent 1844.
“Captain Sturt, accompanied by Mr. Giles Strangways, may be expected overland in about ten days with a herd of fine cattle.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 16 Jun 1838]
“Captain Sturt left Adelaide on Sunday morning for Encounter Bay, to join the barque Hope for Sydney. We believe it is the Captain's intention to settle in our colony.” [Southern Australian 20 Oct 1838]
“the safe arrival of Capt. Sturt in our colony. . . He has brought overland from the Hume River between 400 and 500 head of cattle, and he performed the journey in little more than three months. Capt. Sturt is accompanied by Capt. Finniss, Mr M'Leod, Mr G. Strangways, and eleven men.” [South Australian Record 13 Feb 1839]
“We have great pleasure in announcing the arrival last night in the John Pirie of Captain Sturt, the new Surveyor-general, with his lady and family.” [SA Gazette & Colonial Register 30 Mar 1839]
“His Excellency the Resident Commissioner has appointed Charles Sturt, Esq., late Surveyor-General, to be Assistant Commissioner.” [Register 5 Oct 1839]
“the Governor has been pleased to appoint the Hon. Charles Sturt, Assistant Commissioner, to the office of Registrar General.” [South Australian 5 Nov 1841]
“Hunting.— The hounds meet to-morrow (Saturday), by appointment, at Grange, the residence of Captain Sturt.” [Southern Australian 27 May 1842]
“Hon. Charles Sturt, Registrar General, to be Colonial Treasurer of the Province of South Australia.” [South Australian 6 Mar 1846]
“His Excellency has accepted the resignation of Capt. Sturt as Colonial Secretary.” [Register 5 Jan 1852]
“On December 7, 1852, Sturt wrote to his son at Rugby:— ‘The Grange garden looks tolerably well, and there is a great show of grapes, pears, and apples. Apples this year have failed in consequence of a small fly getting into the blossom. Our dairy now consists of 14 quiet cows, which yield a good deal of butter, but really the annoyance of the servants may drive us to give up the pleasure of looking after these animals. We have 60 goslings and 23 young turkeys and a lot of young guinea fowls, as wild as partridges, but I have been unsuccessful with the ducks. Our bees get on famously. I am very fond of them. The boys have taken lots of fish in the creek this season.’" [Register 13 Apr 1912]
“The Henry Tanner cleared out for England yesterday, March 17th, with the Hon. Captain Sturt, our late Colonial Secretary, his family, and many other cabin passengers on board.” [Adelaide Times 18 Mar 1853]
“Death of. . . Captain Charles Sturt, one of the earliest and most distinguished of Australian explorers. . . on the 16th June, at the deceased gentleman's residence, Clarence-square, Cheltenham. . . nearly blind from ophthalmia — a malady which he had the misfortune to contract during his last exploring expedition. . . belonged to a very old Dorsetshire family, arrived in the colony of New South Wales in about the year 1825 as a captain in H.M.'s 39th Foot.” [Evening Journal 10 Aug 1869]
“Tenders are invited . . . for the Purchase of the Grange Estate, Reedbeds, adjoining Henley Beach, containing about 389 Acres.” [Evening Journal 28 Sep 1877 advert]
“the Grange. This is an estate of 380 acres, which was selected by Captain Sturt after his return from his exploring expedition in 1845 [sic]. Captain Sturt having as extensive a practical knowledge as most men of the land around Adelaide, and this estate having been selected by him for his own personal residence. . . The soil appears to be of fair quality, capable of growing lucern, fruit trees, and vegetables. . . There are fine gum-trees on the estate, and a perennial stream winds its way through the grounds, with quantities of teatree growing on its banks.” [Express & Telegraph 22 Mar 1878]
“The Grange Township. The 380 acres comprising the Grange Estate, and situated between the Semaphore and Henley Beach, is, under the direction of three enterprising Adelaide gentlemen, being rapidly transformed into what must ere long become an attractive seaside watering-place. . . The land was formerly occupied by Captain Sturt, the explorer, who selected it as a preliminary section under the land order to which he was entitled. The house occupied by the gallant explorer still remains, and is being renovated and extended by the new proprietors with a view to rendering it suitable for a temporary hotel.” [Register 14 Sep 1878]
“Mrs. M. Howard, of the Grange, gave a private continental at her residence on Saturday evening. Over 200 guests were present. The Old Grange House which was originally built for Governor [sic] Sturt and occupied for many years by David Murray, is surrounded by lovely lawns, and the grounds being decorated with hundreds of Japanese lanterns, presented a scene suggestive of fairyland. . . For the night the mosquitoes held off.” [Critic, Adelaide 14 Feb 1906]
“Sturt's home. . . The residence of the famous explorer is one of the few remaining Australian historical relics. The recent owner has done much to beautify its surroundings. . . I would suggest to the Government that they should at once purchase this interesting property to prevent its demolition, and convert it into a teahouse and gardens for the public use. Or it might be possible to find a generous spirited patriot willing to make the freehold a gift to the community under certain conditions.” [Register 20 Jun 1908 Letter to Editor]
“the Grange, the homestead owned by Capt. Sturt. . . which is now occupied by Mr. J. A. Hardy, is a short distance from the Grange Jetty. The late Capt. Dashwood, the father of the present Crown Solicitor (Mr. C. J. Dashwood, K.C.), and the late Sir Richard Chaffey Baker lived in the historic home. Capt. Dashwood was Collector of Customs at the time.” [Observer 20 Apr 1912]
“The recent demolition of the cottage at Thebarton occupied by Colonel William Light, founder of Adelaide and first Surveyor-General, created dismay among students of early South Australian history. . . thoughts have now turned to the historic home of Capt. Charles Sturt (discoverer of the River Murray), at Grange, one of Adelaide's most favored seaside resorts. That house has been in respectable occupation ever since its erection by Sturt. . . Charles Sturt resided at the Grange until March 17, 1853, when he went to England on a life pension of £600 a year, granted by the South Australian Government.” [The Mail 22 Jan 1927]
“The necessity of preserving the historic home of Captain Sturt at the Grange, known as ‘Grange House’, was brought before the Henley and Grange Town Council. . . The property consists of the large house and 7½ acres of land. The alderman stated that the property could be bought on terms for £3,000.” [Advertiser 9 Apr 1929]
“the historic home of Capt Sturt at Grange. . . The home is vacant, and vandals have made their unwelcome appearance on the property. When Mr. Mitton visited it recently he found that some of the windows had been broken. . . It has been suggested that the Tourist Bureau could advertise trips by charabanc through delightful scenery to the spot. Morning and afternoon tea could be provided.” [News 28 May 1930]
“Captain Sturt's house at the Grange was one of the first built in SA, erected about 1840. The building, which faces Mount Lofty, had an attractive rose garden in front. The explorer had a penchant for flowers and animals. . . North of Sturt's house is a cottage of three rooms. It is said that Sturt had the cottage built first and moved into the more commodious premises later, using the former as a storeroom. A number of horses that he used on expeditions ended their days on the homestead at the Grange. Particularly attracted was he to a roan horse, on which he used to ride to and from the city.” [Chronicle 31 Aug 1944]
“When the old Grange Railway Company decided to manage its own train service [c1883]. . . it was faced with the problem of finding house room for its staff. Only vacant house in the district happened to be Sturt's, known as the 'old Grange mansion', which was delapidated [sic] and a shelter for swagmen. There being no option, the two enginedrivers — the late Tom Fanning and John Chapman — reluctantly decided to make the best of a bad job by taking over the old home, and .sharing it. . . The Sturt bedrooms included a dressing room of equal size which modem owners must have regarded as so much waste space, as when I visited the place 30 years later they had been converted into separate compartments by bricking up the doorways.” [Advertiser 11 Nov 1948]
“Mr. Anthony Sturt visited the old home of his famous great grandfather, explorer Charles Sturt, at Grange today.” [News 1 Mar 1951]
“Mr. Justice Cooper lived in Capt. Sturt's home at the Grange after the family went to England. Judge Cooper had planted the palms in front of the house. Mr. Berry's father, who was Capt. Sturt's gardener, used to play with the Sturt children at a small stream on the west side of the house. . . Mr. Berry saw the Sturts leave the old home in a bullock dray over the sandhills to Port Adelaide.” [Chronicle 2 Jul 1953]
“Capt. Sturt's former home Grange, which, because of its location, condition and surrounding land, the committee did not recommend should be preserved. . . The surrounding land was lowlying and possibly liable to flooding.” [Advertiser 13 Aug 1953]
The Women’s War Memorial, usually referred to as the Cross of Sacrifice, was the idea of SA women soon after WWI ended. Funds were collected from women as a tribute to the British, French & Allied troops lost in the war; 10,000 subscribers contributed over £3,000. The first stage was the Cross of Sacrifice, a replica of the cross designed by Sir Reginald Blomfield which stands over war cemeteries. It was built by Walter Torode of Unley using Tea Tree Gully stone from the St Peter's College quarry. The cross foundation stone was laid 4 Aug 1920 by the Governor, Sir Archibald Weigall. On 24 Mar 1922 Ethel Wyatt, who originated the idea of a women’s memorial, placed under the shaft of the cross the names of men who died serving in the war. (The women refused to include names of nurses lost.) The cross, facing east, with a bronze crusaders sword attached, was unveiled 25 Apr 1922. The Stone of Remembrance at the eastern end of the Memorial Garden was unveiled 26 Apr 1923. Based on that of Sir Edward Lutyens, it is a 5-ton block of Palmer stone, also built by Walter Torode. The Garden of Memory was laid out in the shape of a cross with hedges of olive as suggested by Herbert Baker, one of the three principal architects for the War Graves Commission. The Eternal Flame & Ataturk’s Tribute were added 11 Nov 2008. The Anzac Day March traditionally leaves the SA National War memorial and ends at the Cross of Sacrifice where a Remembrance Service is held.
“A large number of women war workers assembled in the Mayor's Parlor on Wednesday afternoon to consider a suggestion for the establishment of a women's war memorial. . . it is a fitting sequel to women's work and sacrifice that the women of South Australia shall erect, as a memorial to the sailors and soldiers who have laid down their lives in this war, some monument, to be placed in a prominent site, and demonstrate publicly for all time their reverence for the spirit of sacrifice which filled their men and their own humble pride in sharing that sacrifice." [Advertiser 13 Mar 1919]
“it was Miss E. Wyatt's idea, and that the committee grew out of the League of Loyal Women's organization. Public meetings were held, and women everywhere joined in to help.” [Register 17 Apr 1923]
“the women were not erecting the memorial to their own work as seemed to be the idea in some quarters. The women . . . have stood behind their men and cared for them in camps, hospitals, and trenches and welcomed them home, and their memorial is just a tribute to the men who have passed beyond their care. . . it is proposed by the promoters that the form of the memorial should be one of two alternatives, a simple rough stone cross or some piece or group of statuary in bronze. The exact size and form will of necessity be determined by the amount subscribed.” [Daily Herald 1 May 1919]
“The national memorial is to be erected, or, at any rate, subsidised by a Government grant, which is perfectly proper, but we want ours to be absolutely distinct — a spontaneous gift, erected in that 'give because it is a pleasure and a privilege' spirit which makes the humblest tribute acceptable.” [Advertiser 1 May 1919]
“Mr. Herbert Baker, well known in the architectural world, has rendered a great service in advising the committee and planning the scheme which will be carried out under the supervision of Mr. Alfred Wells. . . letter from Mr. Baker: — 'I have so much appreciated your sensible and excellent ideas in such a good cause that I will gladly give you some suggestions. . . . I have suggested laying out part of the garden along the axis of the Cathedral. . . I have placed the war stone in the apse, as it were, formed of a cut hedge of dark green. . . The centre path would run straight down to the cross at the far end, and which would be on a circular stone-paved platform, two or three steps up. I suggest that the stone should be framed with spiral trees, and the cross with spreading trees.’” [Register 3 Mar 1920]
“There was a large gathering of women at the laying of the foundation stone of the Women's War Memorial at Pennington terrace, North Adelaide, on Wednesday. The ceremony was performed by the Governor (Sir Archibald Weigall). Over 1500 women war workers marched from Victoria square to the site of the memorial, the procession being headed by the band of the R.S. and S. League. . . Numbers of the Cheer-Up Society in uniform were present, and a guard of honor composed of army nurses under Matron Davidson.” [Daily Herald 5 Aug 1920]
“His Excellency the Governor (Sir Archibald Weigall) laid the foundation stone of the Women's Memorial, and another of the stone bearing the inscription 'To the glory of God and the imperishable memory of the men who gave their lives in the great war, 1914-1920. The tribute of the women of South. Australia'.” [Register 12 Aug 1920]
“A formidable sword, of ancient design, which would be serviceable only in the hands of a Goliath, was among the recent imports to South Australia from England. It is a Crusader's sword, made of bronze, and will figure on the face of the tall white stone cross which is to be erected in Pennington Gardens, North Adelaide. . . It was expected that the parts of the cross would be ready for assembling this mouth, but owing to the difficulty in obtaining stone of uniform color and the required durability the work has been delayed. The cross will be the dominant feature of an elaborate scheme. The entire garden will be transformed, in accordance with a plan gratuitously provided by Mr. Herbert Baker (designer of the City of New Delhi, and a member of the Imperial War Graves Commission), and the memorial column will look down upon a low shrine of remembrance, the design for which has been supplied by Sir' Edward Lutyen, who was the designee of the London Cenotaph.” [Advertiser 2 Apr 1921]
“After many months of research since the foundation of the Women's Memorial Cross at Pennington Gardens, North Adelaide, was completed, the full number of special sized stones have been quarried, and the contractor, Mr. Walter Torode, is in a position to arrange for the completion of the memorial. The stone is from St. Peter's College quarry, Teatree Gully.” [Register 29 Aug 1921]
“Excellent progress is being made in the work of laying out the garden near Pennington-terrace east for the women of South Australia's memorial to the men who gave their lives in the war. The hedge forming the enclosure has been planted, and preparations are being made for forming the flower-beds and paths in accordance with the design. . . some people did not approve of the choice of an olive hedge, but the opinion of experts had been obtained, and the question carefully gone into before it was decided upon. The committee had had to bear in mind the fact that owing to the nature of the subsoil cupressus and other types of hedge would require replacing from time to time, whereas the olive would be practically everlasting. It was, moreover, a most beautiful hedge when properly cut and looked after, and was also decidedly appropriate, through its historical association with the Crucifix. . . The monolith, or Stone of Remembrance, similar to those placed in the war cemeteries abroad, was not likely to be finished until later, as it was difficult to procure a perfect large block from which could be cut in one piece, but the material was understood to be now in sight, and the work in relation to it would, proceed with the least possible delay.” [Advertiser 13 Oct 1921]
“Women's Memorial in Pennington Gardens. When the foundation stone was laid offerings were brought and laid on the stone, and into the little violet linen bags which held each offering a card or slip of paper with the name of a soldier who had given his life for our sakes was slipped. These have been saved and put into a jar, which is to be buried beneath the cross.” [The Journal 25 Mar 1922]
“the site of the Women's Memorial to the Fallen in the Great War at Pennington Gardens . . . the placing of an urn in the base of the cross. . . Miss Ethel Wyatt placed the urn, which was enfolded in the Union Jack, inside the base of the cross. . . The names enclosed in the receptacle were those of British, French, and Allied fighters in the Great War; and were received on the day that the foundation stone was laid, The women who desired to assist in the movement brought offerings in little violet bags, and each contained the name of some loved one, who had given his life in the defence of womanhood and for all that it enshrined.” [Register 25 Mar 1922]
“Viewed from the centre of the pathway a trinity of crosses is seen, for the crosses on the spires of St. Peter's Cathedral are seen as in guardianship, on either side of the Memorial Cross.” [The Journal 26 Apr 1922]
“the beautiful monument just unveiled, had been erected not only to the soldiers of their great British Empire, but also to the memory of the soldiers of the Allies who had fallen in assisting to win the war. It was another example-of the splendid loyalty and aid given by the women of the Empire to soldiers, not only while abroad, but since their return. All the money for that memorial had been subscribed voluntarily by the ladies of South Australia.” [Register 26 Apr 1922]
“the annual Violet Memory Day ceremonies in Adelaide in honour of those who died in the Great War. The Exhibition Building was crowded. . . It was in July, 1915, that the first gathering was held in honour of those who had fallen in the fighting and as a public means of affording some comfort to the bereaved. . . there was a great and charming free contribution of violets (which were subsequently placed on the Women's Memorial at North Adelaide and on the soldiers' graves at the West Terrace Cemetery).” [Register 31 Jul 1922]
“The ‘stone of remembrance’, which has been designed as part of the Women's Memorial on Pennington terrace, embarked upon the last stage of its journey — from Martin's monumental works, on the Hyde Park road, to the site of the memorial . . . was seen passing through King William street on a low-wheeled vehicle drawn by four stalwart horses. The block is of Palmer stone, weighs five tons, is 11 ft. 7 in. long by 2 ft. 4 in. high, and 2 ft. 4 in. broad, with a total measurement of 60 cubic feet, and, with the exception of the inscription, ‘Their name liveth for evermore’ on one side, is free from all adornment.” [The Journal 18 Apr 1923]
“The Cross, which faces east, has been constructed immediately in front of a massive Moreton Bay figtree, behind which the towers and spires of St. Peter's Cathedral raise their hallowed peaks. . . The Cross of Sacrifice is from the design of Sir Reginald Blomfield, R.A., of London, and the Stone of Remembrance is from an English plan by Sir Edward Lutyens, R.A. Mr. Herbert Baker, who planned the New Delhi, gave his advice concerning the lay-out of the garden scheme, the planting of which has been superintended by the Adelaide City Gardener (Mr. Pelzer). The honorary architect was Mr. Alfred Wells. The real work of construction of the Cross and the Stone was executed under the direction of Mr. Walter Torode.” [Register 26 Apr 1923]
Shrine of St Patrick, gift of Kathleen Brewer in memory of her husband William. Windows designed by Cedar Prest 1979.
Foundation stone 17 Mar 1856 by Fr Michael Murphy, opened 11 Jul 1858 with small sanctuary, nave of 5 bays & 2 narrow side aisles. Extensions (sanctuary, Lady Chapel, side chapel & sacristy), designed by Charles Hanson of Clifton, supervised by George Kingston, opened 11 Nov 1860. Extensions (eastern side) foundation stone 7 Nov 1886 by Bishop Reynolds using a “handsome trowel made of Silverton silver with a Burra malachite handle, chastely worked”, architect E. J. Woods, dedicated 15 Aug 1887. Extensions (western side & northern end of tower & present facade), foundation stone 21 Oct 1923 by Archbishop Spence, architect W H Bagot, opened Apr 1926. Corner stone of bell tower laid 18 Sep 1887, lower part built 1923-26, completed 1996 enabling dedication 11 Jul 1996. Finished building has 7 bays, 7 side windows, 7 doors.
“On the arrival of Dr. Murphy to take possession of the new See of Adelaide he found no ecclesiastical building in existence and was glad to secure the use of a vacant shop, formerly used by a blacksmith. In this he celebrated Mass until the school room at St. Patrick's West Terrace, was erected. . . In March, 1856, work was commenced. . . In July, 1858, the portion then complete, consisting of about 80 feet of the nave and aisles, was blessed and opened by the Very Rev. Fr. Smyth, V.G., the Bishop having died a few weeks previously, and been buried in the unfinished church.” [Southern Cross 26 Oct 1923]
“The structure is designed on the model of Byland Abbey Church, Yorkshire, which is in the early English style of architecture. . . The structure will consist of uncoursed stone rubble, with cut stone facings of fine freestone from Teatree Gully. The foundation stone, from the same quarry . . .” [Register 18 Mar 1856]
“The wall of the eastern aisle was taken down and rebuilt about 12 feet further out, thus giving an extra space of about 1,200 square-feet. In consequence of the increased width of the aisle through this extension the character of the roof of this portion of the building has been completely changed, and instead of being a plain lean-to, it has been broken into a number of pitched or valley roofs, with gables at the ends, the portion next to the nave wall being hipped to give light to the clerestory windows. . . The whole of the dressings, both inside and outside, are of Murray Bridge freestone. . . Mr. E. J. Woods, the architect, has superintended the work. [Register 25 Jul 1887]
“Dr. Reynolds therefore consulted while he was in England, with the famous firm, Pugin & Pugin, the greatest authorities then living on the remodelling and reconstruction of Gothic structures. They provided Dr. Reynolds with sketches of the proposed enlargement of the Cathedral, which were placed in the hands of the late Mr. E. J. Woods, who completed drawings of the alterations on the new lines. . . During the operations St. Francis Xavier's Hall was used as a church.” [Southern Cross 26 Oct 1923]
The architectural blot caused by the disproportion between the aisles is to be removed by extending the western aisle to the same width as the eastern; and the base of the tower, the front of the church, and a new choir gallery will be built The spire of the tower, the new sacristies and sanctuary, the chapter room, and other works at the rear will be left for the future.” [Southern Cross 12 Oct 1923]
This seasonal wetland is one of the largest and most diverse freshwater lagoon systems in southern Australia.
A new hybrid form of the white flowering native NZ 'Tea tree" or Manuka. (Leptospermum)
Title ideas welcome
Tea cultivation plantation garden Tee Pflanze Munnar Kerala India - (C) Fully copyrighted. No use of any image whatsoever without written royalty agreement. No answer = no permission at all. - (C) Verwendung generell nur nach schriftl. Honorarvereinbg. Keine Antwort = keine Freigabe.
2010 - 2138 - 2100 - 2134 crawl through the crossing loop at Tea Tree on Friday 26th August, 2011.
Photo By Steve Bromley
4178.
Divining a fortune from tea leaves has probably been around as long as there has been tea - over five thousand years. Tea Leaf reading is also known as Tasseomancy or Tasseography and probably had its origins in ancient China. The Chinese would often read the dredges of their cups for symbols, omens or unusual patterns.
I used an acai pomegranate green tea for this, hoping that I would also be abe to stretch it to be my 'purple' picture of the day. It is a purple colour as you can see from the dregs, but not really purple enough for the purple theme.
ODC: Group 1: 2/14/2013: At the bottom.