View allAll Photos Tagged mining
Beamish Museum have built a "Whim Gin", a man- or horse-powered winding engine used during the 1700s and early 1800s in the north east to lift coal and men out of the pits.
19/2/12, Nikon D3100, Nikon 35mm f1.8 AF-S.
Navadaville area where once bout 4000 people were here for the gold now just as few live here but area's as this still stand - it's where they used the rocks to level the ground to build there home's on.
Photographed at the Battery Hill Mine Museum. Tennant Creek has a rich history as a gold mining centre. Here was found one of the richest gold bearing seams ever mined in the world. Very remotely located in central Australian desert country, life was harsh for the people who lived here.
Mining in Mogollon started in the late 1800's and apparently was quite active only for about 20 years, to 1915. These buildings, though, seem much more modern than that and suggest a longer period of activity.
Best viewed as part of New Mexico set.
Protest rally called by Mining Dependents at Kranti Circle, KTC Panaji on 19.3.18. Supreme Court stopped all mining activities effective 16.3.18 after cancelling all mining permits. Protestors blocked traffic from both bridges and other entry points to the city. As a last resort, protestors were Lathi charged around 3pm. Video youtu.be/CzaV1Hyr8Us
The World Museum of Mining was founded in 1963 when the close of Butte's mining heyday was less than two decades away. In the end Butte Montana experienced a century of hardrock mining and earned the reputation of being home to one of the world's most productive copper mines of all time. The Museum exists to preserve the enduring history of Butte and the legacy of its rich mining and cultural heritage.
The World Museum of Mining is one of the few museums in the world located on as actual mine yard- the Orphan Girl Mine. With fifty exhibit buildings, countless artifacts, and sixty-six primary exhibits in the mine yard.
The Keweenaw Peninsula is the northernmost part of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. It projects into Lake Superior and was the site of the first copper boom in the United States.
The Keweenaw is composed of some of the oldest exposed rock in the world, dating back some 1.1 billion years, and it is mineral rich. The first great mining boom in the United States began in 1843 with the discovery, first in Copper Harbor, of the red metal – copper.
Today, the Keweenaw is marked by dramatic Lake Superior shorelines, small coastal towns, and the historic remains of the Copper Country mining boom. These images were while exploring the Keweenaw in July 2022, including these locations.
The Keweenaw National Historic Park (KNHP) preserves and shares the story of the Keweenaw’s copper booms and busts through 21 Heritage Sites, headquarted in Calumen. Each helps tell of the rise, domination and decline of this area’s copper mining industry. Embodying stories of hardship, ingenuity, struggle and success, each site explores the role mining played in people’s lives here and afar.
The Quincy Mine, located near Hancock in the Keweenaw Peninsula, ceased mining operations in 1945, but the site is preserved as a cooperating site of the Keweenaw National Historical Park. Visitors may enjoy guided tours or explore much of site above ground on their own.
The Houghton County Historical Society museum in Lake Linden has an array of historic artifacts on the grounds and exhibits inside. In nearby Tamarack City, the last of eight stamp ruins of the Ahmeek Mill sits next to the City Children's Park.
The tragic Italian Hall Disaster occurred on December 24, 1913, in Calumet. Seventy-three men, women, and children – mostly striking mine workers and their families – were crushed to death in a stampede when someone falsely shouted "fire" at a crowded Christmas party. Today, a siomber memorial marks the site where the building once stood, with only an arch remaining from the original structure.
Gay, an unincorporated community (named after Joseph E. Gay, one of the founders of the Mohawk and Wolverine Mining Companies), was home to a stamp mill built by the Mohawk Mining Company. Today, only the large smokestack and the ruins from the stamp mill remain. Gay's historic school has been restored by the Keweenaw County Historical Society and currently operates as a museum telling the story of the area.
Photographs by Kerry G. Hill, July 2022. Please don't use this image on websites, blogs or other media without my explicit permission. © All rights reserved.
Aerial view of strip mining equipment to mine for coal.
File Name: N-B412
Date: unknown
Genre: Negative
Rights: No known copyright
Preferred citation: Courtesy Galesburg Public Library Archives
Photos on Galesburg Public Library's Flickr page are low-resolution scans of photos for personal use. For high-resolution, or to get permission to publish, contact the archivist at archives@galesburglibrary.org or visit www.galesburglibrary.org
Goldfields Mining Centre, Kawarau Gorge, Otago, New Zealand.
A historic reserve showing the life of a gold miner and how they worked.
The fundamental purposes of the coal mining risk assessment are to identify the risks of coal mining at the development site. The Coal Authority is a legal consultant for any planning application within a High-Risk Zone. The coal mining risk assessment includes an assessment of the Coal Authority Mining Report. Also, a visit to the offices of the Coal Authority to assess mining plans, a review of modern and historical published geological maps, and a review of technical reports/memoirs. For more details kindly visit-https://www.earthenvironmental.co.uk/coal-mining-risk-assessment/