View allAll Photos Tagged indication
The Thirty-Sixth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from October 17 to October 19, 2016.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Thirty-Ninth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from April 23 to April 26, 2018.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Thirty-Eighth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from October 30 to November 2, 2017.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
History of Kraków
First indications of the existence of Krakow approximately stem from the 7th century. In the next following centuries the tribe of Vistulans (Wislanie) populated Krakow, after they centuries ago in the as "Lesser Poland" or Malopolska known region had settled down. From the year 965 stems the first document from Krakow, as Abraham ben Jacob of Cordova, a Jewish merchant, in his book referred to the trading center of Krakow.
In 1000, the Diocese of Krakow was founded and in 1038 declared capital of the Piast dynasty. The Wawel castle and several churches were built in the 11th century and thus the town rapidly grew. 1241 the Mongols invaded the city and burned down Krakow without exception. 1138 Krakow became the seat of the senior prince. 1257 Kraków was awarded its town charter and a city map was drawn up, which remained until today. This one included the arrangement of the checkerboard street configuration with a centrally located market. On the market following the seat of the city government was built. From the historical trading functions until today only the Cloth Halls remained. But on the market not only trade agreements were closed but also courtly and urban festivities celebrated. Furthermore, the urban center served for executions. The defensive walls were built, which surrounded the city and linked it to the Wawel. In the south of Wawel Castle in 1335 the city of Kazimierz was created. By Royal command it was surrounded by defense walls and the churches of St. Catherine, of Corpus Christi and the "Na Skalce" were built. End of the 15th century, Jews settled the later Cracow district. 1364 the Cracow Academy of King Kazimierz Wielki was founded, the famous Polish Jagellonen-University.
With the last king of Jagellonian dynasty, Krakow flourished. The Wawel castle was rebuilt in Renaissance style, the well known Zygmunt chapel was built and the Cloth Halls as well as the patrician houses have been restored. During the reign of King Sigismund III. Vasa the baroque style received introduction in Krakow. The Baroque University Church of St. Anne and the Church of Saints Peter and Paul were built in this period. In 1607 Warsaw was declared headquarters of the King, but Krakow retained its title of the Royal capital. Furthermore, it remained the place of coronations and funerals. Middle of the 17th century, the city was devastated by the Swedes, what at the beginning of the 18th century was produced again.
After the first partition of Poland, Krakow became a frontier town. Austria declared the settlement Podgorze separated city. After the second division in 1794, began the Polish national uprising. After its decline and the third partition of Poland the town fell to the Austrians, which on Wawel Hill caused numerous devastations and adapted buildings to the wishes and needs of the Army. 1809 Cracow was affiliated to the Grand Duchy of Warsaw. After the defeat of Napoleon, Krakow in the Vienna Convention of 1815 was declared Free City of Kraków. Then the remains of folk hero Tadeusz Kosciuszko and of Prince Jozef Poniatowski were brought back to the city. 1820-1823 on the rise of St. Bronislava a hill in honor of the leader of the popular uprising was built. Instead of the city walls, which were largely destroyed, they laid out supporting beams. 1846 Krakow lost its independence and the Austrians erected again on the Wawel barracks and they surrounded the Wawel with fortification complexes. However, Austria but has proved less tyrannical and so the city enjoyed a certain degree of growing cultural and political freedom. 1918 Krakow became the independence back.
Before the outbreak of the Second World War, in Krakow lived about 260,000 inhabitants, of which 65,000 belonged to the Jewish religion. During the war, also Krakow became witness of German war crimes. The for the greater part Jewish district of Kazimierz was eradicated. The Jews from now on lived in ghettos where they either were deported from there to Auschwitz or immediately shot. In spite of the plundering of the Nazis, Krakow became no scene for military combat operations and thus the only large Polish town escaping this fate. Therefore, its old architecture still almost completely is intact.
After the surrender of Germany and the Polish liberation, hastened the Communist government to inspire the traditional life and the city with a large steel plant in Nowa Huta. But the intensive rebuilding of the economy and industry rather promoted an ecological disaster. Buildings that had survived the war undamaged were now devoured and destroyed by acid rain and toxic gases. Carbon dioxide emissions grew so powerful that this has remained a serious and grave problem of the city. After the fall of the Communists and the fall of the Iron Curtain Krakow has benefited greatly from tourism and has adapted itself to a large extent to the Western culture.
Traders indication: P13134.
The 4-door Amazon P120-series was designed by Jan Wilsgaard and introduced in 1956.
The 2-door P130-series coach was presented in Oct. 1961.
131 indicates a special version.
1986cc engine runs on LPG,
1084 kg.
Volvo P131 production: 1968-1970.
Official first admission of this car: May 22, 1968.
New Dutch license number: Autumn 1972.
Amsterdam-O., Oosterpark, Nov. 27, 2014.
© 2014 Sander Toonen Amsterdam | All Rights Reserved
Under Mary I, Sir Gawen Carew (c.1503-85) was one of the west country gentlemen who disliked government policy and resented Spanish influence, though there is no indication that his name was removed from the lists of gentlemen pensioners, even when, following Sir Peter Carew’s implication in Wyatt’s rebellion of 1554, he was put in the Tower on a charge of treason. After an absence from Parliament during Mary’s reign, he came in for Plympton Erle in Elizabeth’s first House of Commons, probably through the intervention of the end Earl of Bedford. In the following Parliament Carew was elected for the county. His only recorded parliamentary activity in his two Elizabethan Parliaments is his membership of the succession committee, 31 Oct. 1566.
With the Earl of Bedford and Sir Nicholas Throckmorton, Carew was active at the beginning of Elizabeth’s reign in helping to strengthen the new Queen’s position on the throne, he and his third wife receiving as reward in 1565 an annuity of 100 marks in survivorship. Though his name still appears on a Household list in 1559, he resided in the west country, where he was one of the radical protestants associated with the Earl of Bedford. On one occasion he and his nephew Sir Peter were together responsible at Exeter for escorting the bishop of Exeter, the ‘earnest preacher’ William Alley, to the pulpit and guarding him against the citizens, who disliked his ‘much inveighing against false doctrines’. Alley appointed both Carews overseers of his will.
Carew’s connexions with Exeter were close. In 1562 he wrote to the mayor recommending ‘my man’ for the post of keeper of the cloth hall; the following year he bought the wardship of an Exeter heir; in 1574 he was granted an annual fee of £2 by the city; and a year or so later he was authorized by the Exchequer to search into the import of wines at Exeter. When he superintended the execution of an order relating to the harbour controversy there, he was given a hogshead of wine by the city. His brother George became dean of Exeter.
In his will, made 11 Oct. 1582, Carew named Bedford as ‘ruler and overseer’, bequeathing him a cup of silver gilt ‘in token of the great love and good will that I have borne and do bear unto his lordship’. Carew left his lands, after the death of the widow, the executrix, to a relative, George Carew of Laughline, Ireland. The will was proved 30 June 1585.
Sir Peter Carew was an English soldier who was slain at the Battle of Glenmalure in Ireland. He was a member of a prominent Devonshire gentry family. He is sometimes referred to as Sir Peter Carew the younger, to distinguish him from his first cousin Sir Peter Carew of Mohuns Ottery, Luppitt, Devon. Wikipedia
Carew is associated with An extravagant two-tiered tomb monument in the Chapel of St John the Evangelist in Exeter Cathedral, of which the primary commemorative subjects are his uncle, Sir Gawen Carew (c.1508–1584), and Sir Gawen's third wife, Elizabeth née Norwich (d. 1594), a Lady of the Bedchamber to Elizabeth I. (Sir Gawen’s second wife Mary is wrongly identified on the plaque accompanying the tomb.) The monument was erected in 1589, and heavily restored in 1857. In addition to effigies of Sir Gawen and Elizabeth, it displays much strapwork decoration and heraldry, including 27 shields containing 52 distinct coats of arms marshalled in a total of 359 impalements and quarterings. The whole forms "an elaborate shrine to Carew ancestry and kinship".
A prominent Latin inscription formerly on the monument's pediment explicitly commemorated Sir Peter, but is now lost. It began "Hic scitus est praeter nobilis vir Petrus Carew eques Auratus ..." ("Here too lies the illustrious man Peter Carew, knight ..."), raising the possibility that his body, or some token part of it, was recovered from the battlefield at Glenmalure and returned to Exeter for burial.
A third effigy, occupying a recess at the base of the monument, is dressed in armour and posed in a cross-legged attitude suggestive of the 14th century; and it has long been believed that this represents Sir Peter in the guise of a fallen warrior. The identification is supported by another painted inscription, which survives in restored form running around three sides of the cornice, and which alludes to "... Sir Peter Carew Knyght, under figured ...". However, the inscription is not original to the monument (it can date from no earlier than 1605), and it now appears considerably more likely that the cross-legged figure was intended to represent Adam Montgomery de Carew, the semi-legendary progenitor of the Carew family.
An indication of the number and location of tailings dam failures since 1985.
An analysis of tailings dam failures over the last three decades, indicates that while the overall number of failures has decreased, the number of serious failures has increased (Bowker and Chambers 2016).
For any form of publication, please include the link to this page:
This photo has been graciously provided to be used in the GRID-Arendal resources library by: Kristina Thygesen
The Thirty-Ninth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from April 23 to April 26, 2018.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Thirty-Ninth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from April 23 to April 26, 2018.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Thirty-Ninth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from April 23 to April 26, 2018.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Forty-First Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from April 8 to April 11, 2019.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Thirty-Seventh Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from March 27 to March 30, 2017.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
Omgeving Rozenburg
Offshore is an indication of activities taking place at some distance from the coast, mostly focused on exploration and production of oil and gas, but increasingly also from wind. It is divided into a part of mining oil and gas platforms and a maritime section, such as diving support vessels, platform supply vessels, pipe laying vessels and crane vessels. The offshore started just after World War II, initially mostly in the Gulf of Mexico in shallow water. Nowadays, under pressure from the declining amount of oil available close to shore a shift to deep water.
Among offshore engineering means the design, construction and installation of artworks that serve in industrial processes or public facilities and the exploration and production of oil and gas at sea.
With all indications looking as if this was a cancelled service as the working set off 205 minutes late from the British Steel Corporation's GBRf sidings at Scunthorpe, but then reached 250 late by the time it had got to the Doncaster area after which it picked up a bit of time but still arrived at its destination in the Honeybourne area, 166 minutes late; I have no indication why it was so late setting off. This is the smartly turned out pair of Colas Rail class 56, 'Grids' again, the second set seen this time hauling a brightly coloured set of 'Departmental' wagons the 1st of which looks like a Network Rail curtained window portacabin followed by what looks lie a new crane and other newish looking 'tackle'. This is the late running 6X56, Scunthorpe B.S.C. to Long Marston working with 56302 in charge and 56087 behind it on the is short consist. 56302 has a small commemorative nameplate on the side with 'PECO' prominent at the top, 'Peco - The Railway Modeller 2016 70 Years' and 56302's 'undercarriage' looks in better shape than the one on the unit behind. Towering over the proceedings at top left is St. Thomas Church, Kilnhurst, with its bright blue pit-head wheel in its garden, overlooking the railway, as a commemoration to the miners of Kilnhurst Colliery - '1858 - 1989, They Shall Not be Forgotten', the large blue-painted pit-head gear wheels surmounting the memorial stone. Having made the effort to grab this shot and with the set very late, the working made headway straight past on its almost 7 hour journey down to Long Marston and time to grab a quick 'going away' shot, without that damned pipe across the tracks, in the way!
The Thirty-Sixth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from October 17 to October 19, 2016.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
PLACE
Devon House, Kingston See also George Steibel
Devon House in the nineteenth century, Kingston, [date unknown]
Image from the National Library of Jamaica Photograph Collection. Permission to reproduce this image must be obtained from the National Library of Jamaica
Further information - Biography
George Steibel - Jamaica's first black millionaire
There was every indication at a very early stage that George Steibel was destined to lead an intriguing life. Born to a Jamaican housekeeper and a German Jew in the 1820s, George was subject to a range of criticisms and harsh treatment from his peers as a result of his mixed parentage. School was therefore not as fulfilling an experience as it should have been, and he quit the classroom at age fourteen to become a carpenter’s apprentice. George quickly developed a flair for carpentry, and by age 19 he played an integral role in the reconstruction of the famous Ferry Inn, between Kingston and Spanish Town.
In the 1840's, George's father gave him start-up capital to purchase a ship, which he began using to transport cargo between North and South America. Shortly after he purchased two additional ships to develop his new business venture in the Caribbean, including Cuba where a revolution was in high gear. He realized that the island would be ideal to undertake a lucrative gun-trading ring. While he did manage to make respectable profits from trading guns, he also fell in trouble with the law for his activities.
In 1851, George's life took a turn for the better when he married long time sweetheart Magdalene Baker, daughter of a Moravian Missionary. Soon after their son, Sigismund, named after George's father, was born. Two years later a girl, Theresa, joined the Steibel family. Five years after their marriage, his ships were caught in a terrible storm, which destroyed the vessels. Unfortunately Steibel was aboard one of the ships which sank off the coast of Venezuela. He managed to survive the wreckage and luckily he had the foresight to secure all his money which was stored in a leather belt. Steibel's tenacity soon began to show results, because shortly after arriving in Venezuela he became a peddler, and with his savings he purchased a mule to assist in transporting his goods. His misfortune at sea quickly dulled when he began trading gold in Venezuela. He invested in a gold mine with his friends, and fifteen years later in 1873 the business was showing huge profits. George Steibel had undoubtedly made an impressive stake in the gold mining business and the accolade awarded to him as Jamaica's first millionaire of African descent seemed very deserving and appropriate. His achievements were shattered however with the death of his son, and he returned home to Jamaica.
Steibel's love for his country and sense of civic duty kicked in almost immediately after his return to Jamaica. It is reported that he purchased 99 properties (it was illegal to own 100 properties during the period) including two sugar estates, a wharf at Church Street, Great Salt Pond and a Cattle Pen named Minard, in St. Ann.
He built a lavish home at Minard, which became the family’s favorite vacation getaway. In 1881 he commissioned the services of contractor Charles P. Lazarus to build the magnificent Devon House. The house boasted a library, gaming room, ballroom, sitting rooms, a sewing room, dining room, and bedrooms. The kitchen (now occupied by the Brick Oven) was located towards the back away from the House.
In addition to investing in property in Jamaica, Steibel was a philanthropist, assisting the poor and disadvantaged, as well as exhibiting continuous interest in the socio-economic state of the country. Several civic authorities and local groups invited Steibel to sit on their Boards including the Jamaica Permanent Benefit Society, the Jamaica Co-operative Fruit Insurance Company, the Board of Education and the Kingston and St. Andrew Union Poorhouse. Steibel's most noted civic duty came when he was named a Justice of the Peace (JP) and later Custos of St. Andrew. It was during his tenure as Custos that the Great Exhibition of 1891 was staged in Kingston. The Exhibition, which sought to introduce tourism to the island, required extensive financing which the government was unable to undertake. Steibel was among a small group of entrepreneurs who loaned the Government funds to stage the exhibition. In recognition of his services in the interest of the island, Her Majesty the Queen bestowed on Steibel the honour of Companion of the Most Distinguished Order (C.M.G.).
Over the next ten years George Steibel lived happily at Devon House with his wife Magdalene, and surrounded by his grandchildren. The Steibels also did an impressive job of holding lavish parties for friends and family. It was not surprising then that they employed a large staff which reportedly included four gardeners, two house maids, a butler, cook, laundress, grooms and coachman. Servants' Quarters were located in the space now used as the property's commercial complex.
Sadness again befell Devon House when Steibel's wife Magdalene died in October 1892. Magdalene was buried at the St. Andrew Parish Cemetery under a grey granite tombstone with a white marble cross-wreathed in white marble flowers. It is said that at the time Steibel imported enough grey granite from Scotland to bury his entire family. Tragedy
continued to mark the Steibel family. In 1895 his grandson Douglas died of typhoid, and only a week later his son in law Richard Hill Jackson (who served as Mayor of Kingston) passed away.
George Steibel died in 1896 at age 75. Steibel's generous spirit lived on even after his death, as he ensured that his family was well taken care of. His daughter for example was granted an annual annuity of three thousand pounds, and she was assured a permanent place at Devon House while she was alive. A total of ten thousand pounds was to be allotted to each of his grandchildren once they turned 21. The Steibel-Jacksons occupied Devon House until 1922 following the death of Theresa Steibel-Jackson
Sources
Dello Strologo, Sergio, "Devon House: the House of Dreams" in Jamaica Journal, vol. 17, no. 2., May 1984
Devon House: National Heritage Site, The story of Devon House – accessed August 2008 www.devonhousejamaica.com/storyofdevonhousep1.htm
Senior, Olive, Encyclopedia of Jamaican Heritage. St. Andrew, Jamaica: Twin Guinep Publishers Ltd., 2003
Tortello, Rebecca, Pieces of the Past: a Stroll Down Jamaica's Memory Lane. Kingston: Ian Randle, 2007
The Thirty-Ninth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from April 23 to April 26, 2018.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Thirty-Eighth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from October 30 to November 2, 2017.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Thirty-Eighth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from October 30 to November 2, 2017.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Thirty-Seventh Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from March 27 to March 30, 2017.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Thirty-Seventh Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from March 27 to March 30, 2017.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Thirty-Seventh Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from March 27 to March 30, 2017.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
History of Kraków
First indications of the existence of Krakow approximately stem from the 7th century. In the next following centuries the tribe of Vistulans (Wislanie) populated Krakow, after they centuries ago in the as "Lesser Poland" or Malopolska known region had settled down. From the year 965 stems the first document from Krakow, as Abraham ben Jacob of Cordova, a Jewish merchant, in his book referred to the trading center of Krakow.
In 1000, the Diocese of Krakow was founded and in 1038 declared capital of the Piast dynasty. The Wawel castle and several churches were built in the 11th century and thus the town rapidly grew. 1241 the Mongols invaded the city and burned down Krakow without exception. 1138 Krakow became the seat of the senior prince. 1257 Kraków was awarded its town charter and a city map was drawn up, which remained until today. This one included the arrangement of the checkerboard street configuration with a centrally located market. On the market following the seat of the city government was built. From the historical trading functions until today only the Cloth Halls remained. But on the market not only trade agreements were closed but also courtly and urban festivities celebrated. Furthermore, the urban center served for executions. The defensive walls were built, which surrounded the city and linked it to the Wawel. In the south of Wawel Castle in 1335 the city of Kazimierz was created. By Royal command it was surrounded by defense walls and the churches of St. Catherine, of Corpus Christi and the "Na Skalce" were built. End of the 15th century, Jews settled the later Cracow district. 1364 the Cracow Academy of King Kazimierz Wielki was founded, the famous Polish Jagellonen-University.
With the last king of Jagellonian dynasty, Krakow flourished. The Wawel castle was rebuilt in Renaissance style, the well known Zygmunt chapel was built and the Cloth Halls as well as the patrician houses have been restored. During the reign of King Sigismund III. Vasa the baroque style received introduction in Krakow. The Baroque University Church of St. Anne and the Church of Saints Peter and Paul were built in this period. In 1607 Warsaw was declared headquarters of the King, but Krakow retained its title of the Royal capital. Furthermore, it remained the place of coronations and funerals. Middle of the 17th century, the city was devastated by the Swedes, what at the beginning of the 18th century was produced again.
After the first partition of Poland, Krakow became a frontier town. Austria declared the settlement Podgorze separated city. After the second division in 1794, began the Polish national uprising. After its decline and the third partition of Poland the town fell to the Austrians, which on Wawel Hill caused numerous devastations and adapted buildings to the wishes and needs of the Army. 1809 Cracow was affiliated to the Grand Duchy of Warsaw. After the defeat of Napoleon, Krakow in the Vienna Convention of 1815 was declared Free City of Kraków. Then the remains of folk hero Tadeusz Kosciuszko and of Prince Jozef Poniatowski were brought back to the city. 1820-1823 on the rise of St. Bronislava a hill in honor of the leader of the popular uprising was built. Instead of the city walls, which were largely destroyed, they laid out supporting beams. 1846 Krakow lost its independence and the Austrians erected again on the Wawel barracks and they surrounded the Wawel with fortification complexes. However, Austria but has proved less tyrannical and so the city enjoyed a certain degree of growing cultural and political freedom. 1918 Krakow became the independence back.
Before the outbreak of the Second World War, in Krakow lived about 260,000 inhabitants, of which 65,000 belonged to the Jewish religion. During the war, also Krakow became witness of German war crimes. The for the greater part Jewish district of Kazimierz was eradicated. The Jews from now on lived in ghettos where they either were deported from there to Auschwitz or immediately shot. In spite of the plundering of the Nazis, Krakow became no scene for military combat operations and thus the only large Polish town escaping this fate. Therefore, its old architecture still almost completely is intact.
After the surrender of Germany and the Polish liberation, hastened the Communist government to inspire the traditional life and the city with a large steel plant in Nowa Huta. But the intensive rebuilding of the economy and industry rather promoted an ecological disaster. Buildings that had survived the war undamaged were now devoured and destroyed by acid rain and toxic gases. Carbon dioxide emissions grew so powerful that this has remained a serious and grave problem of the city. After the fall of the Communists and the fall of the Iron Curtain Krakow has benefited greatly from tourism and has adapted itself to a large extent to the Western culture.
History of Kraków
First indications of the existence of Krakow approximately stem from the 7th century. In the next following centuries the tribe of Vistulans (Wislanie) populated Krakow, after they centuries ago in the as "Lesser Poland" or Malopolska known region had settled down. From the year 965 stems the first document from Krakow, as Abraham ben Jacob of Cordova, a Jewish merchant, in his book referred to the trading center of Krakow.
In 1000, the Diocese of Krakow was founded and in 1038 declared capital of the Piast dynasty. The Wawel castle and several churches were built in the 11th century and thus the town rapidly grew. 1241 the Mongols invaded the city and burned down Krakow without exception. 1138 Krakow became the seat of the senior prince. 1257 Kraków was awarded its town charter and a city map was drawn up, which remained until today. This one included the arrangement of the checkerboard street configuration with a centrally located market. On the market following the seat of the city government was built. From the historical trading functions until today only the Cloth Halls remained. But on the market not only trade agreements were closed but also courtly and urban festivities celebrated. Furthermore, the urban center served for executions. The defensive walls were built, which surrounded the city and linked it to the Wawel. In the south of Wawel Castle in 1335 the city of Kazimierz was created. By Royal command it was surrounded by defense walls and the churches of St. Catherine, of Corpus Christi and the "Na Skalce" were built. End of the 15th century, Jews settled the later Cracow district. 1364 the Cracow Academy of King Kazimierz Wielki was founded, the famous Polish Jagellonen-University.
With the last king of Jagellonian dynasty, Krakow flourished. The Wawel castle was rebuilt in Renaissance style, the well known Zygmunt chapel was built and the Cloth Halls as well as the patrician houses have been restored. During the reign of King Sigismund III. Vasa the baroque style received introduction in Krakow. The Baroque University Church of St. Anne and the Church of Saints Peter and Paul were built in this period. In 1607 Warsaw was declared headquarters of the King, but Krakow retained its title of the Royal capital. Furthermore, it remained the place of coronations and funerals. Middle of the 17th century, the city was devastated by the Swedes, what at the beginning of the 18th century was produced again.
After the first partition of Poland, Krakow became a frontier town. Austria declared the settlement Podgorze separated city. After the second division in 1794, began the Polish national uprising. After its decline and the third partition of Poland the town fell to the Austrians, which on Wawel Hill caused numerous devastations and adapted buildings to the wishes and needs of the Army. 1809 Cracow was affiliated to the Grand Duchy of Warsaw. After the defeat of Napoleon, Krakow in the Vienna Convention of 1815 was declared Free City of Kraków. Then the remains of folk hero Tadeusz Kosciuszko and of Prince Jozef Poniatowski were brought back to the city. 1820-1823 on the rise of St. Bronislava a hill in honor of the leader of the popular uprising was built. Instead of the city walls, which were largely destroyed, they laid out supporting beams. 1846 Krakow lost its independence and the Austrians erected again on the Wawel barracks and they surrounded the Wawel with fortification complexes. However, Austria but has proved less tyrannical and so the city enjoyed a certain degree of growing cultural and political freedom. 1918 Krakow became the independence back.
Before the outbreak of the Second World War, in Krakow lived about 260,000 inhabitants, of which 65,000 belonged to the Jewish religion. During the war, also Krakow became witness of German war crimes. The for the greater part Jewish district of Kazimierz was eradicated. The Jews from now on lived in ghettos where they either were deported from there to Auschwitz or immediately shot. In spite of the plundering of the Nazis, Krakow became no scene for military combat operations and thus the only large Polish town escaping this fate. Therefore, its old architecture still almost completely is intact.
After the surrender of Germany and the Polish liberation, hastened the Communist government to inspire the traditional life and the city with a large steel plant in Nowa Huta. But the intensive rebuilding of the economy and industry rather promoted an ecological disaster. Buildings that had survived the war undamaged were now devoured and destroyed by acid rain and toxic gases. Carbon dioxide emissions grew so powerful that this has remained a serious and grave problem of the city. After the fall of the Communists and the fall of the Iron Curtain Krakow has benefited greatly from tourism and has adapted itself to a large extent to the Western culture.
History of Kraków
First indications of the existence of Krakow approximately stem from the 7th century. In the next following centuries the tribe of Vistulans (Wislanie) populated Krakow, after they centuries ago in the as "Lesser Poland" or Malopolska known region had settled down. From the year 965 stems the first document from Krakow, as Abraham ben Jacob of Cordova, a Jewish merchant, in his book referred to the trading center of Krakow.
In 1000, the Diocese of Krakow was founded and in 1038 declared capital of the Piast dynasty. The Wawel castle and several churches were built in the 11th century and thus the town rapidly grew. 1241 the Mongols invaded the city and burned down Krakow without exception. 1138 Krakow became the seat of the senior prince. 1257 Kraków was awarded its town charter and a city map was drawn up, which remained until today. This one included the arrangement of the checkerboard street configuration with a centrally located market. On the market following the seat of the city government was built. From the historical trading functions until today only the Cloth Halls remained. But on the market not only trade agreements were closed but also courtly and urban festivities celebrated. Furthermore, the urban center served for executions. The defensive walls were built, which surrounded the city and linked it to the Wawel. In the south of Wawel Castle in 1335 the city of Kazimierz was created. By Royal command it was surrounded by defense walls and the churches of St. Catherine, of Corpus Christi and the "Na Skalce" were built. End of the 15th century, Jews settled the later Cracow district. 1364 the Cracow Academy of King Kazimierz Wielki was founded, the famous Polish Jagellonen-University.
With the last king of Jagellonian dynasty, Krakow flourished. The Wawel castle was rebuilt in Renaissance style, the well known Zygmunt chapel was built and the Cloth Halls as well as the patrician houses have been restored. During the reign of King Sigismund III. Vasa the baroque style received introduction in Krakow. The Baroque University Church of St. Anne and the Church of Saints Peter and Paul were built in this period. In 1607 Warsaw was declared headquarters of the King, but Krakow retained its title of the Royal capital. Furthermore, it remained the place of coronations and funerals. Middle of the 17th century, the city was devastated by the Swedes, what at the beginning of the 18th century was produced again.
After the first partition of Poland, Krakow became a frontier town. Austria declared the settlement Podgorze separated city. After the second division in 1794, began the Polish national uprising. After its decline and the third partition of Poland the town fell to the Austrians, which on Wawel Hill caused numerous devastations and adapted buildings to the wishes and needs of the Army. 1809 Cracow was affiliated to the Grand Duchy of Warsaw. After the defeat of Napoleon, Krakow in the Vienna Convention of 1815 was declared Free City of Kraków. Then the remains of folk hero Tadeusz Kosciuszko and of Prince Jozef Poniatowski were brought back to the city. 1820-1823 on the rise of St. Bronislava a hill in honor of the leader of the popular uprising was built. Instead of the city walls, which were largely destroyed, they laid out supporting beams. 1846 Krakow lost its independence and the Austrians erected again on the Wawel barracks and they surrounded the Wawel with fortification complexes. However, Austria but has proved less tyrannical and so the city enjoyed a certain degree of growing cultural and political freedom. 1918 Krakow became the independence back.
Before the outbreak of the Second World War, in Krakow lived about 260,000 inhabitants, of which 65,000 belonged to the Jewish religion. During the war, also Krakow became witness of German war crimes. The for the greater part Jewish district of Kazimierz was eradicated. The Jews from now on lived in ghettos where they either were deported from there to Auschwitz or immediately shot. In spite of the plundering of the Nazis, Krakow became no scene for military combat operations and thus the only large Polish town escaping this fate. Therefore, its old architecture still almost completely is intact.
After the surrender of Germany and the Polish liberation, hastened the Communist government to inspire the traditional life and the city with a large steel plant in Nowa Huta. But the intensive rebuilding of the economy and industry rather promoted an ecological disaster. Buildings that had survived the war undamaged were now devoured and destroyed by acid rain and toxic gases. Carbon dioxide emissions grew so powerful that this has remained a serious and grave problem of the city. After the fall of the Communists and the fall of the Iron Curtain Krakow has benefited greatly from tourism and has adapted itself to a large extent to the Western culture.
The Thirty-Seventh Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from March 27 to March 30, 2017.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Forty-Second Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from November 4 to November 7, 2019. Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Forty-First Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from April 8 to April 11, 2019.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The departure signal displays "medium turnout" with route indicator, as the sky darkens towards night.
Medium turnout is the highest turnout indication available under the NSW signalling system, and means that the next signal via the turnout route will show at least "caution" or "caution turnout". The "N" in the route indicator stands for "north fork" at this location.
The Thirty-Ninth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from April 23 to April 26, 2018.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
Under Mary I, Sir Gawen Carew (c.1503-85) was one of the west country gentlemen who disliked government policy and resented Spanish influence, though there is no indication that his name was removed from the lists of gentlemen pensioners, even when, following Sir Peter Carew’s implication in Wyatt’s rebellion of 1554, he was put in the Tower on a charge of treason. After an absence from Parliament during Mary’s reign, he came in for Plympton Erle in Elizabeth’s first House of Commons, probably through the intervention of the end Earl of Bedford. In the following Parliament Carew was elected for the county. His only recorded parliamentary activity in his two Elizabethan Parliaments is his membership of the succession committee, 31 Oct. 1566.
With the Earl of Bedford and Sir Nicholas Throckmorton, Carew was active at the beginning of Elizabeth’s reign in helping to strengthen the new Queen’s position on the throne, he and his third wife receiving as reward in 1565 an annuity of 100 marks in survivorship. Though his name still appears on a Household list in 1559, he resided in the west country, where he was one of the radical protestants associated with the Earl of Bedford. On one occasion he and his nephew Sir Peter were together responsible at Exeter for escorting the bishop of Exeter, the ‘earnest preacher’ William Alley, to the pulpit and guarding him against the citizens, who disliked his ‘much inveighing against false doctrines’. Alley appointed both Carews overseers of his will.
Carew’s connexions with Exeter were close. In 1562 he wrote to the mayor recommending ‘my man’ for the post of keeper of the cloth hall; the following year he bought the wardship of an Exeter heir; in 1574 he was granted an annual fee of £2 by the city; and a year or so later he was authorized by the Exchequer to search into the import of wines at Exeter. When he superintended the execution of an order relating to the harbour controversy there, he was given a hogshead of wine by the city. His brother George became dean of Exeter.
In his will, made 11 Oct. 1582, Carew named Bedford as ‘ruler and overseer’, bequeathing him a cup of silver gilt ‘in token of the great love and good will that I have borne and do bear unto his lordship’. Carew left his lands, after the death of the widow, the executrix, to a relative, George Carew of Laughline, Ireland. The will was proved 30 June 1585.
Sir Peter Carew was an English soldier who was slain at the Battle of Glenmalure in Ireland. He was a member of a prominent Devonshire gentry family. He is sometimes referred to as Sir Peter Carew the younger, to distinguish him from his first cousin Sir Peter Carew of Mohuns Ottery, Luppitt, Devon. Wikipedia
Carew is associated with An extravagant two-tiered tomb monument in the Chapel of St John the Evangelist in Exeter Cathedral, of which the primary commemorative subjects are his uncle, Sir Gawen Carew (c.1508–1584), and Sir Gawen's third wife, Elizabeth née Norwich (d. 1594), a Lady of the Bedchamber to Elizabeth I. (Sir Gawen’s second wife Mary is wrongly identified on the plaque accompanying the tomb.) The monument was erected in 1589, and heavily restored in 1857. In addition to effigies of Sir Gawen and Elizabeth, it displays much strapwork decoration and heraldry, including 27 shields containing 52 distinct coats of arms marshalled in a total of 359 impalements and quarterings. The whole forms "an elaborate shrine to Carew ancestry and kinship".
A prominent Latin inscription formerly on the monument's pediment explicitly commemorated Sir Peter, but is now lost. It began "Hic scitus est praeter nobilis vir Petrus Carew eques Auratus ..." ("Here too lies the illustrious man Peter Carew, knight ..."), raising the possibility that his body, or some token part of it, was recovered from the battlefield at Glenmalure and returned to Exeter for burial.
A third effigy, occupying a recess at the base of the monument, is dressed in armour and posed in a cross-legged attitude suggestive of the 14th century; and it has long been believed that this represents Sir Peter in the guise of a fallen warrior. The identification is supported by another painted inscription, which survives in restored form running around three sides of the cornice, and which alludes to "... Sir Peter Carew Knyght, under figured ...". However, the inscription is not original to the monument (it can date from no earlier than 1605), and it now appears considerably more likely that the cross-legged figure was intended to represent Adam Montgomery de Carew, the semi-legendary progenitor of the Carew family.
History of Kraków
First indications of the existence of Krakow approximately stem from the 7th century. In the next following centuries the tribe of Vistulans (Wislanie) populated Krakow, after they centuries ago in the as "Lesser Poland" or Malopolska known region had settled down. From the year 965 stems the first document from Krakow, as Abraham ben Jacob of Cordova, a Jewish merchant, in his book referred to the trading center of Krakow.
In 1000, the Diocese of Krakow was founded and in 1038 declared capital of the Piast dynasty. The Wawel castle and several churches were built in the 11th century and thus the town rapidly grew. 1241 the Mongols invaded the city and burned down Krakow without exception. 1138 Krakow became the seat of the senior prince. 1257 Kraków was awarded its town charter and a city map was drawn up, which remained until today. This one included the arrangement of the checkerboard street configuration with a centrally located market. On the market following the seat of the city government was built. From the historical trading functions until today only the Cloth Halls remained. But on the market not only trade agreements were closed but also courtly and urban festivities celebrated. Furthermore, the urban center served for executions. The defensive walls were built, which surrounded the city and linked it to the Wawel. In the south of Wawel Castle in 1335 the city of Kazimierz was created. By Royal command it was surrounded by defense walls and the churches of St. Catherine, of Corpus Christi and the "Na Skalce" were built. End of the 15th century, Jews settled the later Cracow district. 1364 the Cracow Academy of King Kazimierz Wielki was founded, the famous Polish Jagellonen-University.
With the last king of Jagellonian dynasty, Krakow flourished. The Wawel castle was rebuilt in Renaissance style, the well known Zygmunt chapel was built and the Cloth Halls as well as the patrician houses have been restored. During the reign of King Sigismund III. Vasa the baroque style received introduction in Krakow. The Baroque University Church of St. Anne and the Church of Saints Peter and Paul were built in this period. In 1607 Warsaw was declared headquarters of the King, but Krakow retained its title of the Royal capital. Furthermore, it remained the place of coronations and funerals. Middle of the 17th century, the city was devastated by the Swedes, what at the beginning of the 18th century was produced again.
After the first partition of Poland, Krakow became a frontier town. Austria declared the settlement Podgorze separated city. After the second division in 1794, began the Polish national uprising. After its decline and the third partition of Poland the town fell to the Austrians, which on Wawel Hill caused numerous devastations and adapted buildings to the wishes and needs of the Army. 1809 Cracow was affiliated to the Grand Duchy of Warsaw. After the defeat of Napoleon, Krakow in the Vienna Convention of 1815 was declared Free City of Kraków. Then the remains of folk hero Tadeusz Kosciuszko and of Prince Jozef Poniatowski were brought back to the city. 1820-1823 on the rise of St. Bronislava a hill in honor of the leader of the popular uprising was built. Instead of the city walls, which were largely destroyed, they laid out supporting beams. 1846 Krakow lost its independence and the Austrians erected again on the Wawel barracks and they surrounded the Wawel with fortification complexes. However, Austria but has proved less tyrannical and so the city enjoyed a certain degree of growing cultural and political freedom. 1918 Krakow became the independence back.
Before the outbreak of the Second World War, in Krakow lived about 260,000 inhabitants, of which 65,000 belonged to the Jewish religion. During the war, also Krakow became witness of German war crimes. The for the greater part Jewish district of Kazimierz was eradicated. The Jews from now on lived in ghettos where they either were deported from there to Auschwitz or immediately shot. In spite of the plundering of the Nazis, Krakow became no scene for military combat operations and thus the only large Polish town escaping this fate. Therefore, its old architecture still almost completely is intact.
After the surrender of Germany and the Polish liberation, hastened the Communist government to inspire the traditional life and the city with a large steel plant in Nowa Huta. But the intensive rebuilding of the economy and industry rather promoted an ecological disaster. Buildings that had survived the war undamaged were now devoured and destroyed by acid rain and toxic gases. Carbon dioxide emissions grew so powerful that this has remained a serious and grave problem of the city. After the fall of the Communists and the fall of the Iron Curtain Krakow has benefited greatly from tourism and has adapted itself to a large extent to the Western culture.
M. E. Church
Chesterton, Ind.
Date: Circa 1927
Source Type: Postcard
Publisher, Printer, Photographer: Brooks Photo (#513)
Postmark: Unknown
Collection: Mike Fleming
Remark: This photograph was taken facing northwest at the southwest corner of the intersection of Second Street and Porter Avenue. The church parsonage is visible to the far right in this image. The parsonage was later moved to a lot located on Park Avenue, just east of Eleventh Street in Chesterton, Indiana, and now serves as a residence. After the parsonage was removed, a parking lot was put into its place.
The church edifice was designed based on a nearly identical design of the Methodist Church located in Flora, Carroll County, Indiana.
------
The following news item appeared in the July 1, 1926, issue of The Chesterton Tribune:
METHODISTS TO BUILD HOUSE OF WORSHIP
Indications now are that Chesterton Methodists are to have a house of worship that will be a credit to the community, and to the congregation. For some time a committee of faithful citizens has been laboring hard on the matter of formulating plans for the building of a new church for this congregation, and are at last able to report progress.
Capital life was injected into the undertaking when J. A. Johnson and H. F. Carlson, executors of the estate of the late Par A. Johnson, made the committee a concrete offer. The executors are custodians of a fund left by the late P. A. Johnson, to be disbursed of as in their judgment seems fit, and they submitted a proposition to the church committee offering to donate $20,000 from this fund for the erection of a Methodist church edifice in Chesterton, when the congregation raises an additional $30,000. The committee, consisting of the following well known gentlemen, Charles L. Jeffrey, H. A. Flynn, C. O. Wiltfong, Roger Holcomb, Charles Smith, Ernest Lilywhite and J. A. Johnson, after investigation and consultation, accepted the generous offer.
For some time the committee has been looking up plans for the proposed new church. Many towns were visited and churches inspected. Last Saturday the committee, accompanied by other member of the church and citizens to the number of 46, journeyed to Flora, Ind., and inspected the M. E. church edifice there. After careful inspection it was agreed that a similar building would suit the needs of the congregation here, and after this opinion was made the executors of the estate of Par A. Johnson at a quarterly conference held Monday evening of this week submitted in writing their offer.
Some of the conditions of the offer are that the new building shall be a memorial to Mr. and Mrs. P. A. Johnson. The board accepted the offer and has now set itself to work of collecting the $30,000 needed.
The new building will be erected on land immediately south of the M. E. parsonage, corner of Porter avenue and Second street. Its dimensions will be 75x80 with 17 rooms, to be used for church work and including an auditorium that will seat 450 persons, and arranged so that it many sit 600 by throwing open a connecting room. The edifice will follow the design of the building in Flora.
That the idea is taking form root in the hearts of the public is apparent in the fact that V. U. Young, of Gary, has donated a beautiful pipe organ to the congregation for the new church.
While the edifice is to be used by the M. E. church, it may also be con--?-- the church of the American --?--king protestants of this section. Besides the Lutherans and the Catholics, we have no other churches in Chesterton but the Methodists, Swedish and English. It is where people who belong to other faiths or who have no church affiliations are buried in, are married in if they have a church wedding, and go to when the want to hear the word of God. It may be called "The Little Brown Church Around the Corner." It is God's way ---?--- for the weary and oppressed. It commands the respect and support of all Chesterton needs this new place and it should be considered a privilege to be permitted to subscribe to the fund that will make it doable. The Tribune is heart and mind in the good cause, and commends it to our readers as a worthy cause.
------
The following news item appeared in the July 8, 1926, issue of The Chesterton Tribune:
SOCIAL AND PERSONAL
Architect Stephens of Huntington, Ind., has been employed to draw up a set of plans for the proposed new M. E. church to be built here. He expects to have them ready in about two weeks.
------
The following news item appeared in the July 15, 1926, issue of The Chesterton Tribune:
PLANS FOR THE NEW CHURCH ARE PROGRESSING
The Building Committee of the First Methodist church has employed an architect to draw plans and make specifications for the new church. The plans will be completed and in the hands of the committee by July 26. The committee expects to be able to submit the plans for bids on the new church at an early date.
The committee on finance has planned its work to start August first. They expect to complete the work by August 10th.
The work is progressing very satisfactorily to those who have the matter in hand and we believe August 1st will be a day of victory for the congregation of the First Methodist church.
------
The following news item appeared in the March 10, 1927, issue of The Chesterton Tribune:
SOCIAL AND PERSONAL
Contractor W. R. Duncan, of Flora, Ind., arrived in Chesterton, Monday morning, and began immediately the work of starting construction on the new Methodist church building, corner of Second street and Porter avenue. Material has been arriving on the ground for several days, and workmen began to show up on the job Tuesday. the contract calls for the completion of the job by August 1st, but the contractor says he will attempt to deliver the job to the congregation by July 1. If he does he will break some records for speed.
------
The following news item appeared in the March 31, 1927, issue of The Chesterton Tribune:
LAY CORNER STONE SUNDAY AFTERNOON
Next Sunday will be a big day in the history of the First Methodist Episcopal church when, at 2:30 in the afternoon, the cornerstone for the new church edifice will be laid with impressive services. Rev. A. E. Bagby will have charge of the services and a general invitation is extended to the public to attend. Some years ago the congregation purchased two lots at the corner of Second street and Porter avenue, and a short time later a handsome parsonage was built on the north lot and the corner reserved for a new church building, when the time came for the erection of such a structure.
The ambitions of the congregation have been realized and a handsome building is now going up on the site, and Sunday afternoon's service will mark the first service for the new structure.
Dr. B. D. Beck, of South Bend, and Rev. E. p. Swan, superintendent of the Chicago district of the Swedish M. E. church will be present and both will take part in the exercises with addresses. The following ministers from a distance have been invited to participate in the services: Rev. C. A. Brown, Rev. F. R. Briggs, Rev. H. V. Deal, Rev. F. O. Fraley and Rev. Charles Roush.
The Methodists began their work in this community in the year 1861, and Elder Daniel A. Grime was the first pastor. On Dec. 15, 1861, Pastor Grime baptized Jearard Whitmore, Mary, his wife, and their son, John. Previous to this date, on Jan. 25, 1861, Grace Pelham, James Asher, Louisa Ingraham and Lovenia C. Shoemaker were received as probationers, the first on the circuit. Louisa Ingraham was living in Calumet (now Chesterton), the others being from the Jackson Center neighborhood.
In those days the meetings were held in the homes and school buildings. The circuit rider came around once or twice a month, holding meetings on Saturday evenings, Sunday morning, Sunday afternoon and Sunday evening. The circuit was made up of McCool, Calumet, Jackson Center, Furnessville and possibly another point or two. McCool's chapel seemed to be at the head of it.
The first wedding ceremony on the circuit was performed by Pastor Grimes on Oct. 22, 1862, the contracting parties being Henry C. Richman, of Chicago, and Mary E. Drew, of Calumet.
As stated above the entire circuit had but four member in 1861. The next year they added three more to their membership and one was dropped from the list. The next year they did better and added five to the list, all of whom proved faithful. A great revival was held in 1866 and there were twenty-four named added to the records. In 1870 the circuit of four churches came into the Northwest Indiana Conference, with a membership of 83, 140 were enrolled in the Sunday school with eleven officers and teachers, and has since been known as the Chesterton circuit.
The congregation has made a steady growth in membership, until today it stands at 273, with a prospect of reaching the 300 mark by Easter Sunday of this year.
The church building at the corner of Second street and Indiana venue, occupied for many years by the congregation, was built in 1865, as a Union church. Later is was deeded to the Methodist church by the trustees. This building, just one room, heated by stoved and lighted with oil lamps, served the congregation until 1913, when under the leadership of Rev. C. A. Brown, it was raised, a basement dug underneath, a heating plant and electric lights put in. This added greatly to the space of the building, giving twice the room it formerly contained. The cost of this work was more than $2,000.
The beautiful parsonage on Second street now enjoyed by the pastor and his family, was built in 1917, at a cost of more than $6,000 under the leadership of Rev. Frank R. Briggs.
Early in 1926, at a meeting of the official board, the matter of a new church was discussed as it had been many times before. After a short discussion it was moved by one of the members of the board that a building committee be appointed to go into the matter and report to the board as to the probable cost of a building suitable to the needs of the congregation. The following committee was appointed: C. L. Jeffrey, J. A. Johnson, Chas. H. Smith, Dr. C. O. Wiltfong, H. A. Flynn, Roger Holcomb and Ernest Lillywhite. The committee organized for the task and Mr. Jeffrey was chosen as chairman, Rev. A. E. Bagby, secretary, and E. L. Morgan treasurer.
Investigations were made regarding a suitable plant a number of churches were visited. Finally a plan was outlined to Architect Stevens, of Huntington, who drew the plans for the new church. At a meeting of the quarterly conference on June 28, 1926, it was unanimously decided to build the new structure, adopting the plans drawn by Mr. Stevens. The contract was let on Aug. 2 to W. R. Dunkin & Son, of Flora, Ind., for the sum of $49,120.
A contract also has been let to Hilgren, Lane & Co., of Alliance, Ohio, for a new pipe organ to be installed in the church at a cost of $5,000. The building is to be completed by Aug. 1st of this year, at which time the congregation expects the building to be ready for dedication.
The following ministers have served the church in Chesterton since its organization in 1861:
D. A. Grimes, C. A. Jesse, Chas. S. Smith, H. C. Weston, B. W. Smith, J. S. Wright, M. B. Wood, A. G. Deutch, J. W. Harris, B. H. Beall, D. G. Lesourd, A. L. Umpleby, W. W. Jones, J. T. Stafford, J. Harrison, C. O. Smock, E. A. Andrew, Fred H. Clutton, Levi Moore, Glenn Wishard, J. B. Smith, J. E. Wilson, Wm. Crapp, C. A. Brown, Z. Lambert, F. R. Briggs, Wm. West, H. V. Deal, H. A. Lawrence, A. E. Bagby
------
The following news item appeared in the April 7, 1927, issue of The Chesterton Tribune:
CORNERSTONE LAID SUNDAY OF NEW CHURCH
A crowd of several hundred persons stood in the mist with bowed heads Sunday afternoon as simple and impressive ceremony of laying the cornerstone of the First Methodist Episcopal church in Chesterton was performed.
Intermittent spurts of rain throughout the morning and early afternoon had threatened to result in postponement of he service but shortly before the ceremony was started the sun appeared and shone like a benediction over the scene and disappeared behind the cloud again when the service was completed.
Rev. A. E. Bagby, pastor of the church, marked the laying of the stone. The dedication sermon was delivered by Rev. B. D. Beck, superintendent of the South Bent district. The congregation attended the service overflowed the intersection of 2nd street and Porter avenue.
The program started with community singing of the hymn, "I Love Thy Church, O God," led by members of the church choir, accompanied by the congregation and spectators who attended the ceremony.
Following this the ceremony of marking the stone was performed by Rev. Bagby.
Rev. Beck's sermon was concerned with the meaning behind the ceremony of the cornerstone and he briefly traced the history and symbolism of the rite which he said has come down with religious practice throughout the ages.
The elements of sacrifice and endeavor are predominantly symbolized in ceremony, the speaker said. In early times the sacrificial element was emphasized with the offering of human life, but with later enlightenment this was abandoned but the element of sacrifice is still preserved in a changed but no less real form, he said.
Christ is the chief cornerstone of life, the speaker declared, and he represents the strength, beauty and endeavor toward which all should strive.
Rev. E. P. Swan, superintendent of the Chicago district of the Swedish M. E. church, and other ministers were to have attended the ceremony but the inclemency of the weather forced them to cancel the engagement.
The building is expected to be completed by August when the dedication services will be held. The basement and first floor now are finished and the structure will be two stories high. It is estimated he total cost will be close to $60,000. The church will be equipped with a $5,000 pipe organ, a $2,000 thermostat control, a ventilation system that will cost $700 to install and improved lighting fixtures valued at several hundred dollars.
The church now has a membership of 273 but with the enrollment of a new class at Easter, it is expected the membership will be increased to 300.
With the approval of the official board of jurisdiction of the appointment of the building committee the first steps toward erecting the structure were taken early in 1926. The building committee was comprised of C. I. Jeffrey, J. A. Johnson, Dr. C. O. Wiltfong, H. A. Flynn, Roger Holcomb, Charles H. Smith and Ernest Lillywhite.
Cl. L. Jeffrey, E. L. Morgan and Rev. Bagby were chosen executive heads by the group and it was through the endeavors of the members of the committee and the executive heads that the success which has attended the undertaking was achieved.
The general contract was let to W. R. Dunkin and Sons of Flora, Ind., at a figure just under $50,000 and the excavation work was started last July.
Incased in the stone was a copper box 7x8x10 inches donated by Claude Williams and the following articles were placed within the box before being sealed up: Conference minutes of Northwest Indiana conference for 1926, Official Board Roll, names of building committee, names of officers and teachers of Sunday school, history of the church, report of Ladies' Aid, reports of Men's Aid and program of Men's Aid shows 1927, copy of Boy Scout movement, copy of Western Christian Advocate, April 2, 1927, a copy of Chesterton Tribune of March 31, 1927, population of town 2,000, bank statement of the Chesterton bank, membership roll, the pastor's bible, one that he purchased while at college, pictures of Mr. and Mrs. Par A. Johnson, copy of Methodist Discipline, 1924, Methodist Hymnal donated by Mrs. J. Castleman, Cradle Roll and the names of all the pastors that have served the church.
Rev. A. P. Hardt, of St. John's church attended the exercises and offered the prayer and Rev. Wacknitz, of Porter, gave the benediction.
In the list of ministers published in our last issue the names of two who had been in the service were omitted. They were Rev. John Ayling and Rev. O. P. Berry.
------
The following news item appeared in the May 12, 1927, issue of The Chesterton Tribune:
LOCAL-SOCIAL-PERSONAL
W. R. Dunkin & Son, who have the contract for the new Methodist church building are making rapid progress on the work and the new edifice will be ready for dedication early in August. The outside work has been practically completed and roofers started putting on the shingles Tuesday morning, laying a heavy asbestos shingle that is fire-resisting and should last for many years. The contract has been awarded for 220 individual church chairs for the auditorium and 72 opera chairs in the balcony. Room for 86 will be made in the young people's room. A layer of celotex will be laid between the false floor and the hardwood flooring of the auditorium as a noise-deadener and all outside walls will have a coat of water-proofing on the inside. Four built-in cupboards for books and Sunday school supplied will be placed in various parts of the building.
------
The following news item appeared in the October 13, 1927, issue of The Chesterton Tribune:
MANY ATTEND M. E. CHURCH DEDICATION
Last Sunday, October 9th, was a day of victory and rejoicing for the people of Chesterton, and especially the people of the Methodist church. The church building that is to be the home of the members and friends of the Methodist church was dedicated to the Service of God by beautiful ritual ceremony.
Bishop F. D. Leete, D. D., L.L. D., of Indianapolis, the Bishop of this Episcopal area, was present for this happy occasion and preached two wonderful sermons, one at 10:30 o'clock in the morning and another at 2:30 o'clock in the afternoon.
The morning service was brought to a happy climax when the pastor, Rev. A. E. Bagby, announced that the new building cost $65,100, and that $2,000 was needed to cover the cost of the building. About twenty minutes was used in securing pledges -- the congregation giving in cash and pledges, $1,915. After the Bishop's sermon in the afternoon, pledges were again called for by the pastor and more than enough to make the $2,000 was secured.
The Bishop and congregation then succeeded to dedicate the building to the Service of God. At the close of the afternoon service, Mr. and Mrs. Carl Harvil had the Bishop baptize their twin boys, Fred and George. This was a fitting climax to the service.
The evening session was a great spiritual blessing to all present. Dr. F. O. Learenby, of Hammond, in his masterful way, preached a sermon fill of truth and spiritual power.
The music of the day was wonderful, the choir, under the leadership of Mr. H. F. Carlson, sage at each service. Their music was spiritual and uplifting to all. Mr. H. F. Carlson sang a solo for the morning service, and Virginia Kinnaird, of Ft. Wayne, sang for the afternoon service, and Mr. John Nordstrom sang for the evening service.
The following ministers for out-of-town were present: Rev. F. O. Learenby, Michigan City; Rev. Chas. A. ---?---, South Bend; Rev. B. D. Beck, South Bend; Rev. F. R. Briggs, Valparaiso; Rev. H. V. Deale, Hammond; Rev. E. P. Swan, Evanston, Ill.; Rev. ?. G. Learenby, Hammond; Rev. Hardt and Rev. Ring were also in attendance.
St. John's congregation set a beautiful bouquet and with it their congratulations to the Methodist congregation and pastor.
In all there were about a thousand people in attendance at the three services of the day.
The program continues throughout the week. On Tuesday evening Rev. E. J. Gratz, D. D., of Chicago, is to speak. This services i for all, but specifically for the young people. Service begins at 7:30.
Wednesday evening is "Good Will ---?---." The church keeps open-house for the community. Everyone welcome. Come and look the building over. Rev. ?. ?. Fraley speaks at 8:00 o'clock.
Thursday evening all former pastors are expected to be present. On Friday evening the ladies serve supper from 6 to 8 in the new dining hall.
Friday evening at 8:00 o'clock, Mr. ---?--- Gerber, of Chicago, will give an organ recital on the new Hillgreen-Lane pipe organ. Mr. Gerber is an outstanding artist on the organ. Tickets on sale at $1.00.
The following out-of-town people attended the dedication services during the day and evening:
Mr. and Mrs. Kinnaird and daughter, Virginia, of Fort Wayne.
Mr. and Mrs. Roy Smith and Senator Oliver M. Holmes, of Gary.
Mrs. Sam Batsel, of Hammond.
Mrs. James Sanderson, Mrs. Martha ---son and daughter, Mrs. Henry ---?--- and daughter, Betty Jane, Mrs. Elois Neff, of Argos.
Mr. and Mrs. Mark Rockwell, Mr. and Mrs. Earl Ruth and many others from Valparaiso, Michigan City, Hobart, Wheeler, Crisman, Burdick and ---?---.
Mr. and Mrs. Heller, Plano, Ill.
Mrs. Minnie Jones, Whiting.
---?--- Seltina and Ella Jeffrey, Chicago.
Sources:
The Chesterton Tribune, Chesterton, Porter County, Indiana; July 1, 1926; Volume 43, Number 17, Page 1, Column 1. Column titled "Methodists to Build House of Worship."
The Chesterton Tribune, Chesterton, Porter County, Indiana; July 8, 1926; Volume 43, Number 18, Page 8, Column 2. Column titled "Social and Personal."
The Chesterton Tribune, Chesterton, Porter County, Indiana; July 15, 1926; Volume 43, Number 19, Page 1, Column 6. Column titled "Plans for the New Church are Progressing."
The Chesterton Tribune, Chesterton, Porter County, Indiana; March 10, 1927; Volume 43, Number 52, Page 8, Column 3. Column titled "Social and Personal."
The Chesterton Tribune, Chesterton, Porter County, Indiana; March 31, 1927; Volume 44, Number 3, Page 1, Columns 1-2. Column titled "Lay Corner Stone Sunday Afternoon."
The Chesterton Tribune, Chesterton, Porter County, Indiana; April 7, 1927; Volume 44, Number 4, Page 1, Columns 1-2. Column titled "Cornerstone Laid Sunday of New Church."
The Chesterton Tribune, Chesterton, Porter County, Indiana; May 12, 1927; Volume 44, Number 9, Page 5, Column 4. Column titled "Local-Social-Personal."
The Chesterton Tribune, Chesterton, Porter County, Indiana; October 13, 1927; Volume 44, Number 31, Page 1, Column 1. Column titled "Many Attend M. E. Church Dedication."
Copyright 2005. Some rights reserved. The associated text may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without prior written permission of Steven R. Shook.
Indications of numbers of participants +gender compositions of scenes with basic representations.
information visualization to the maximum
Gordana and Dragan Dulovic, Cheese Producers from Lipovo, Montenegro, make Kolasin Lisnati sir (layered cheese) and also offer a farm stay experience on their Dulovic Farm
In northern Montenegro, FAO and EBRD, with funding from Luxembourg, helped farmers like Gordana and Dragan Dulovic get international recognition - Geographical Indication (GI) status - for some of their foods thanks to their high quality and unique production process.
Crnogorska Goveđa pršuta (Montenegrin dried beef meat) and Crnogorska Stelja (Montenegrin dried and smoked sheep meat) received GI status in 2018.
Inspired by the project, five additional products have been registered as GI, including Kolasin Lisnati sir (layered cheese), which is produced mainly by women.
To get the GI certification, the project staff worked with farmers, food processors and local authorities to help them upgrade their products’ food safety and quality standards. This included helping producers develop and agree on a code of practice that they must respect in order to sell their products under the GI label – for example, the food must come from the designated areas, and high quality and hygiene standards must be upheld. The project has also supported policy dialogue and development of appropriate food safety standards in the meat sector at the national level, and raised producers’ and consumers’ awareness about the new standards.
The GI-labelled dried beef, for example, must be made from the best cuts of fresh beef fed mostly on grass, salted with sea salt, beechwood-smoked and dried in the mountain air. This gives the meat its distinctive dark plum colour, consistency and texture and prevents any bitter taste.
By supporting local traditions to build better livelihoods and empower communities, FAO and the EBRD are working toward a world free of poverty and hunger.
The WIPO Singapore Office participated in the fourth edition of the “An Introduction to Origin Based Quality Products: Geographical Indications in Asia” workshop, delivering a session entitled: “The International Protection of Geographical Indications, the International Registration of Appellations of Origin and the Geneva Act of the Lisbon Agreement” to an audience of 23 people consisting of IP office staff, IP donors and geographical-indication producers.
Photo: EUIPO.
The Thirty-Seventh Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from March 27 to March 30, 2017.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Thirty-Seventh Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from March 27 to March 30, 2017.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Silverton School was built in 1889 and had several students and two teachers to a single room. An attached residence was demolished at a later date. Dame Mary Gilmore was an assistant teacher here from 1887 - 1889. With the decline in population across the Silverton township since the 1910s, the school eventually closed in 1970. A museum opened here in 2009, but with limited volunteers, the buildings purpose remains unknown.
Silverton:
The first indication of silver–lead mineralisation in the Barrier Rangers came in late 1875 with the discovery of galena by Julius Charles Nickel and Dan McLean while they were well sinking on Thackaringa Station, near the South Australian - New South Wales border.
In 1879 John Stokie established a store at Umberumberka, 19 km north of Thackaringa. He continued prospecting and discovered silver–lead veins nearby, which he pegged with Edward Pegler in November 1881. A 100 ton parcel of ore was shipped to England for a 40% profit. The following October the Umberumberka Silver Lead Mining Company Ltd was floated with nominal capital of £20 000. Umberumberka was the second area of silver–lead mineralisation discovered in the Barrier Ranges and the new company was the first to be publicly floated. The town of Silverton soon developed close to the mine and became the main settlement of the growing silver field.
Silverton was surveyed in 1883, by which time Australia had a population of 2, 250, 194. By September that year, the population of Silverton was 250, and by December 1883 it had doubled. That year the Day Dream Mine opened and attracted an additional population of 400 - 500 people. In 1884 1,222 mineral leases, 937 business permits and 114 miners' rights were issued. That same year 6,000 tonnes of ore were extracted and the town acquired its own newspaper, the Silver Age.
By 1885 - 1886 the town's population had reached 3,000. Silverton was proclaimed a township in 1885 and a municipality the following year. In 1885 a short-lived smelter was established at Day Dream Mine, operating for only a year. In 1892 the Umberumberka Mine closed, followed by the Day Dream Mine. The Pioneer Mine at Thackaringa closed in 1897. By 1901, after miners had moved to the richer fields at Broken Hill, the town went into decline and only 286 people remained. Today the town has a population of around 50 people, most of whom work in tourism.
The Silverton Tramway Company:
The Silverton Tramway Company, a rare private railway of 50klms in length, was incorporated in New South Wales October 14, 1886 and the line was completed and opened for traffic on January 12, 1888. One of only two privately owned railways in the state, the tramway was originally founded to transport ore from local mines in the Broken Hill and Silverton region into South Australia. The company soon branched out, not only carrying ore from the mines but freighted other goods and offered a passenger service which accounted for a third of their business.
The company serviced travellers on long trips heading interstate to Semaphore (Adelaide) to the Largs Bay Holiday Camp and excursions for local community groups often conveying passengers to Silverton and McCulloch Park (at Stephens Creek) for the day and returning to Broken Hill in the afternoon. When traveling to South Australia the train would travel from Broken Hill, through Silverton and then to Burns which is on the New South Wales side of the border of Cockburn (a town divided by the NSW/SA border).
In 1927 the New South Wales government completed the railway from Sydney to Broken Hill, thus joining the Silverton Tramway and completing the link from Sydney to Adelaide. It played a strategic role in the trans-Australia network until 1970, when it was surpassed by the New South Wales Government Railways (Indian-Pacific). From 1888-1970 it was critical to the economic functioning of Broken Hill, by providing the key transport of ore to the Port Pirie smelters. It played a significant role in the politics and recreation of Broken Hill, and a crucial role at times of water shortage in Broken Hill.
Today, Silverton resides in the Unincorporated Area of New South Wales (NSW) and so does not feature a City Council. It is run by the Silverton Village Committee, who to this day hold their quarterly meetings in the Silverton Municipal Chambers.
Dame Mary Gilmore:
Dame Mary Jean Gilmore (1865 - 1962), writer, was born on the 16th of August 1865 at Mary Vale, Woodhouselee, near Goulburn, New South Wales, eldest child of Donald Cameron, a farmer, born in Inverness-shire, Scotland, and his native-born wife Mary Ann, née Beattie. Her father had migrated to Australia in 1838 from Fort William, and her mother's family had come from County Armagh, Ireland, in 1842. The Camerons and Beatties owned adjoining properties.
Donald Cameron, a wanderer by nature, was in turn a farmer, mail contractor, property manager, carpenter, innkeeper, and builder, moving with his family around south-western New South Wales. Later Mary's mother lived in Sydney and wrote for the Australian Town and Country Journal and the Daily Telegraph. At 7, Mary went to school briefly at Brucedale near Wagga Wagga and at 9 to Wagga Wagga Public School. In 1877 the family moved to Houlaghan's Creek and she attended the school at Downside. For the next four years she was an unofficial pupil-teacher in small schools at Cootamundra, Bungowannah, and Yerong Creek. At 16 she passed a formal entrance examination and began as a probationary pupil-teacher at the Superior Public School, Wagga Wagga. After a period of ill health and failure in a teacher's examination in December 1884, she resigned, but was re-employed in May 1886 at Beaconsfield Provisional School. She was transferred in March 1887 to Illabo Public School. After passing the IIIA teachers' examination, Mary was appointed in October 1887 as temporary assistant at Silverton Public School near Broken Hill. She remained there until December 1889 spending the Christmas vacation of 1888 - 1889 in Sydney with her mother. Mary was transferred to Neutral Bay Public School in January 1890.
Her relationship with Henry Lawson probably began in 1890: in 1923 she recalled that 'It was a strange meeting that between young Lawson and me. I had come down permanently to the city from Silverton'. Her account of an unofficial engagement and Lawson's wish to marry her at the time of his brief trip to Western Australia (May-September 1890) could be accurate regarding dates, but there is no other corroborative evidence. There was clearly, however, a close relationship between them in 1890 - 1895, but it was broken by his frequent absences from Sydney. Mary's later comments on his career were always somewhat proprietorial but the extent of her influence on his literary talents and her contribution to his literary education remain unsubstantiated.
In May 1891, Mary was transferred to Stanmore Superior Public School. She had become involved in the increasing radicalism of the day, supporting the maritime and shearers' strikes as actively as possible for a schoolteacher subject to the strict rules of the Department of Public Instruction. It was her lifelong claim that she had, under her brother John's name, been co-opted to the first executive of the Australian Workers' Union. She assisted William Lane and the New Australia movement, and was largely responsible for overcoming the financial difficulties that threatened to prevent the departure for Paraguay of the Royal Tar on the 16th of July 1893. On the 31st of October 1895 she resigned from teaching and sailed from Sydney in November in the Ruapehu, arriving at the Cosme settlement in Paraguay in January 1896. She married fellow colonist, a Victorian shearer, William Alexander Gilmore (1866 - 1945), at Cosme on the 25th of May 1897 and their only child William Dysart Cameron Gilmore (1898 - 1945) was born on the 21st of August 1898 at Villarica, near Cosme. In August 1899 the Gilmores resigned from Cosme and Will left the settlement to work at various jobs. In November 1900 the family went to Rio Gallegos in southern Patagonia where Will worked on a ranch and Mary gave English lessons. On the 1st of April 1902 they reached England, stayed briefly with Lawson and his family in London, and arrived in Australia in the Karlsruhe in July.
Back in her familiar Sydney environment, Mary was attracted to the busy literary and political scene but, acknowledging her family responsibilities, went with her husband to Strathdownie, near Casterton in western Victoria, where Will's parents had a property. Life there was far from congenial but she had a long-sustained correspondence with Alfred George Stephens of the Bulletin and was delighted to have her life and work featured in the 'Red Page' on the 3rd of October 1903. In 1907 they moved into Casterton where Billy attended school. Mary's long connexion with the Australian Worker began in 1908 when, in response to her request for a special page for women, the editor Hector Lamond invited her to write it herself. She was to edit the 'Women's Page' until the 11th of February 1931. Mary also began campaigning for the Labor Party, helping to have its candidate for the Federal seat of Wannon elected in 1906 and 1910. Her first collection of poems, Marri'd, and other Verses, simple colloquial lyrics, written mainly at Cosme and Casterton, commenting on the joys, hopes, and disappointments of life's daily round, was published in 1910 by George Robertson & Co. Pty Ltd of Melbourne, on the advice of Bernard O'Dowd who professed to be 'simply enraptured with their lyric magic'.
The Gilmores left Casterton in 1912, Mary and her son going to Sydney where she had the security of her Worker position and Billy the opportunity of a secondary education, while Will joined his brother on the land in the Cloncurry district of Queensland. They were rarely reunited in the years that followed, but, loose and impersonal as the husband-wife relationship must have appeared to outside observers, it was always characterized by affection, respect, and abiding mutual interest.
Mary was soon involved in literary activities. A staunch supporter of journals such as the Bulletin, the Lone Hand, and the Book-fellow, she invested her own (borrowed) money in the latter to prevent its closure through bankruptcy. The accounts in 1913 - 1916 of Mary Gilmore trading as the Book-fellow and her correspondence with Stephens indicate the scope of her participation. Her second volume of poetry, the Passionate Heart (1918), reflected her horrified reaction to World War I. Poems such as 'The measure' stress the futility and waste of war, while 'Gallipoli', a deeply felt, imaginative account of that famous battlefield with its scars covered by the recurring miracle of spring, offers consolation to those grieving for the loss of loved ones. She gave the royalties from the Passionate Heart to the soldiers blinded in the war. In 1922 her first book of prose, a collection of essays entitled Hound of the Road, was published. In the early 1920s her health, never robust, became a problem. High blood pressure and heart trouble led to a stay in hospital in Sydney in 1920; she was sent to Goulburn by her doctor to escape the pressure of city life at different times between 1921 and 1924. In 1925 a third volume of verse, the Tilted Cart, appeared; the poems were accompanied by copious notes indicating her keen interest in recording the minutiae of the pioneer past.
Mary Gilmore's final years with the Worker were not placid: she resigned at the end of January 1931. Her book of verse, the Wild Swan, had been published in 1930; its radical themes, together with its anguish over the ravaging of the land by white civilization and the destruction of Aboriginal lore, making it her most impressive work to that point. It was followed in 1931 by the book of largely religious verse, the Rue Tree, which she claimed was a tribute to the Sisters of the Convent of Mercy at Goulburn, and in 1932 by Under the Wilgas. Her twin books of prose reminiscences, Old Days, Old Ways: a Book of Recollections and More Recollections were published in 1934 and 1935. In them she recaptures the spirit and atmosphere of pioneering. These anecdotal accounts which present 'Australia as she was when she was most Australian' are lively and attractive examples of her skill as a prose writer and, although unreliable and romanticized, have become invaluable sources of the legend of the pioneer days.
Over the years Mary Gilmore campaigned in the Worker and any other available forum for a wide range of social and economic reforms, such as votes for women, old-age and invalid pensions, child endowment, and improved treatment of returned servicemen, the poor and deprived and, above all, of Aboriginals. She wrote numerous letters, as well as contributing articles and poems, to the Sydney Morning Herald on these causes and such diverse subjects as the English language, the Prayer Book, earthquakes, Gaelic and the immigration laws, the waratah as a national emblem, the national anthem, and Spanish Australia. All her life she encouraged young writers and enthused over their work. She carried on a prolific correspondence with many friends including Dowell O'Reilly, Hugh McCrae, Nettie Palmer, George Mackaness, Alec Chisholm, and Robert FitzGerald. In 1980 a selection of her letters was published posthumously. She was a founder of the Lyceum Club, Sydney, a founder and vice-president in 1928 of the Fellowship of Australian Writers, an early member of the New South Wales Institute of Journalists and life member of the Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals.
To mark the considerable public acclaim for her literary and social achievements, she was appointed D.B.E. in 1937. Thereafter she was a celebrated public figure. She published a new volume of poems, Battlefields, in 1939. The title referred to her own radical campaigns. During World War II, perched in her Kings Cross flat at 99 Darlinghurst Road, she anathematized German and Japanese ambitions of world domination. She recognized the growing threat to Australia in her stirring call to Australian patriotism, the poem 'No Foe Shall Gather our Harvest', while she castigated Allied incompetence and corruption in the poem 'Singapore', just after its fall. In 1945 her husband and son both died in Queensland.
From 1952 Mary Gilmore was associated with the Communist newspaper Tribune, largely because of her pacifism and her anger at the government's attitude to the Youth Carnival for Peace and Friendship then being staged in Sydney. Her Tribune column 'Arrows' appeared regularly until mid-1962, commenting on contemporary Australian and world affairs. In 1954, as she approached her ninetieth year, she published her final volume of poetry, Fourteen Men. The Australasian Book Society commissioned William Dobell to paint her portrait for her 92nd birthday in 1957. She strongly defended the controversial portrait because she felt it captured something of her ancestry; she donated it to the Art Gallery of New South Wales.
Her last years were made memorable by ever-increasing signs of public esteem. Her birthdays were celebrated publicly by Sydney literati and ordinary folk alike; streets, roads, schools, old people's homes were named after her; literary awards and scholarships were given in her name; visitors from Australia's literary and political world, and overseas admirers, made regular pilgrimages to her; her pronouncements were highlighted by the media; she made television and radio appearances; she led May Day processions as the May Queen. She died on the 3rd of December 1962 (Eureka Day) and, after a state funeral at St Stephen's Presbyterian Church, Macquarie Street, was cremated, her ashes being buried in her husband's grave in the Cloncurry Cemetery, Queensland; she was survived by a grandson. Her estate was valued for probate at £12,023.
Mary Gilmore's significance is both literary and historical. As poet and prose writer she has drawn considerable praise from such connoisseurs of literature as McCrae, FitzGerald, Judith Wright, Douglas Stewart, and Tom Inglis Moore. She wrote too much (often on ephemeral trivia) and too hastily, but her best verse—brief lyrics such as 'Nationality', 'Eve-Song', 'The Tenancy', 'Never Admit the Pain', 'Gallipoli', 'The Flight of the Swans'—are among the permanent gems of Australian poetry. As patriot, feminist, social crusader, and folklorist she has now passed into Australian legend.
Besides the Dobell portrait of Dame Mary Gilmore, the Art Gallery of New South Wales holds one by Joshua Smith and a bronze head by Rayner Hoff; portraits by Eric Saunders and Mary McNiven are held by the National Library of Australia, Canberra.
Source: Silverton NSW (www.aussietowns.com.au/town/silverton-nsw), New South Wales Heritage Register, Discover Broken Hill (discoverbrokenhill.com.au/silverton-nsw/historic-building...), "The pathway to Broken Hill: Early discoveries in the Barrier Ranges, New South Wales, Australia" by Kenneth George McQueen, and 'Aplin, Graeme; S.G. Foster; Michael McKernan, eds. (1987). Australians: Events and Places. Broadway, New South Wales, Australia: Fairfax, Syme & Weldon Associates. p. 97' & Australian Dictionary of Biography.
A train passes the signal. Once it has passed the block joint beyond the signal (usually about 10-30 metres beyond), the signal automatically changes to stop.
Indication: STOP
Meaning: STOP.
From the rules: "Rail traffic must stop before a signal at STOP.
"Drivers or track vehicle operators must keep the signal indication clearly in view."
NSW double light colour indication system.
The Thirty-Ninth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from April 23 to April 26, 2018.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Thirty-Ninth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from April 23 to April 26, 2018.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
The Forty-First Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from April 8 to April 11, 2019.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.
If the precision applied to making this sign is any indication I'd be concerned about getting my hair cut here! Walsenburg CO.
History of Kraków
First indications of the existence of Krakow approximately stem from the 7th century. In the next following centuries the tribe of Vistulans (Wislanie) populated Krakow, after they centuries ago in the as "Lesser Poland" or Malopolska known region had settled down. From the year 965 stems the first document from Krakow, as Abraham ben Jacob of Cordova, a Jewish merchant, in his book referred to the trading center of Krakow.
In 1000, the Diocese of Krakow was founded and in 1038 declared capital of the Piast dynasty. The Wawel castle and several churches were built in the 11th century and thus the town rapidly grew. 1241 the Mongols invaded the city and burned down Krakow without exception. 1138 Krakow became the seat of the senior prince. 1257 Kraków was awarded its town charter and a city map was drawn up, which remained until today. This one included the arrangement of the checkerboard street configuration with a centrally located market. On the market following the seat of the city government was built. From the historical trading functions until today only the Cloth Halls remained. But on the market not only trade agreements were closed but also courtly and urban festivities celebrated. Furthermore, the urban center served for executions. The defensive walls were built, which surrounded the city and linked it to the Wawel. In the south of Wawel Castle in 1335 the city of Kazimierz was created. By Royal command it was surrounded by defense walls and the churches of St. Catherine, of Corpus Christi and the "Na Skalce" were built. End of the 15th century, Jews settled the later Cracow district. 1364 the Cracow Academy of King Kazimierz Wielki was founded, the famous Polish Jagellonen-University.
With the last king of Jagellonian dynasty, Krakow flourished. The Wawel castle was rebuilt in Renaissance style, the well known Zygmunt chapel was built and the Cloth Halls as well as the patrician houses have been restored. During the reign of King Sigismund III. Vasa the baroque style received introduction in Krakow. The Baroque University Church of St. Anne and the Church of Saints Peter and Paul were built in this period. In 1607 Warsaw was declared headquarters of the King, but Krakow retained its title of the Royal capital. Furthermore, it remained the place of coronations and funerals. Middle of the 17th century, the city was devastated by the Swedes, what at the beginning of the 18th century was produced again.
After the first partition of Poland, Krakow became a frontier town. Austria declared the settlement Podgorze separated city. After the second division in 1794, began the Polish national uprising. After its decline and the third partition of Poland the town fell to the Austrians, which on Wawel Hill caused numerous devastations and adapted buildings to the wishes and needs of the Army. 1809 Cracow was affiliated to the Grand Duchy of Warsaw. After the defeat of Napoleon, Krakow in the Vienna Convention of 1815 was declared Free City of Kraków. Then the remains of folk hero Tadeusz Kosciuszko and of Prince Jozef Poniatowski were brought back to the city. 1820-1823 on the rise of St. Bronislava a hill in honor of the leader of the popular uprising was built. Instead of the city walls, which were largely destroyed, they laid out supporting beams. 1846 Krakow lost its independence and the Austrians erected again on the Wawel barracks and they surrounded the Wawel with fortification complexes. However, Austria but has proved less tyrannical and so the city enjoyed a certain degree of growing cultural and political freedom. 1918 Krakow became the independence back.
Before the outbreak of the Second World War, in Krakow lived about 260,000 inhabitants, of which 65,000 belonged to the Jewish religion. During the war, also Krakow became witness of German war crimes. The for the greater part Jewish district of Kazimierz was eradicated. The Jews from now on lived in ghettos where they either were deported from there to Auschwitz or immediately shot. In spite of the plundering of the Nazis, Krakow became no scene for military combat operations and thus the only large Polish town escaping this fate. Therefore, its old architecture still almost completely is intact.
After the surrender of Germany and the Polish liberation, hastened the Communist government to inspire the traditional life and the city with a large steel plant in Nowa Huta. But the intensive rebuilding of the economy and industry rather promoted an ecological disaster. Buildings that had survived the war undamaged were now devoured and destroyed by acid rain and toxic gases. Carbon dioxide emissions grew so powerful that this has remained a serious and grave problem of the city. After the fall of the Communists and the fall of the Iron Curtain Krakow has benefited greatly from tourism and has adapted itself to a large extent to the Western culture.
The Thirty-Sixth Session of WIPO's Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks, Industrial Designs and Geographical Indications (SCT) took place in Geneva, Switzerland from October 17 to October 19, 2016.
Copyright: WIPO. Photo: Emmanuel Berrod. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 IGO License.