Back to album

[Volunteer Hotel, Pitt Street Sydney, ca. 1870] / New South Wales Government Printing Office

Format: Albumen photoprint

 

Notes: This building had been on the south-west corner of Pitt and Park Streets since the 1840s as a butcher’s shop. By the 1850s it had become the Butchers Arms hotel, which changed its name to the Volunteer Hotel around 1862. It was demolished in 1882, to be replaced by the Equitable Building. This became Park House, one of several buildings in the block now owned by the Sydney City Council and planned for demolition to create an open square opposite the Town Hall.

 

Find more photographs of early Sydney on Discover Collections - Sydney Exposed: www.sl.nsw.gov.au/discover_collections/society_art/photog...

 

From the collections of the Mitchell Library, State Library of New South Wales www.sl.nsw.gov.au

 

Information about photographic collections of the State Library of New South Wales: acms.sl.nsw.gov.au/search/SimpleSearch.aspx

 

Persistent url: acms.sl.nsw.gov.au/item/itemDetailPaged.aspx?itemID=412460

34,992 views
24 faves
2 comments
Uploaded on October 22, 2008
Taken circa 1870